pushup hand position
TSchinti
Sep 27 2013, 10:20 AM, updated 13y ago
hi, just wondering what is the proper way to do pushup? i check out a lot of youtube video and i still cant figure out their hand position when they lower their body. it seems like their hand always go up when they lower their body while mine always go outward instead of up. when my body is down, it looks like a T-shape from above, its like bench press position. am i doing it right or wrong?
SUSMrUbikeledek
Sep 27 2013, 10:30 AM
To built your triceps, put your hand closer together. To built your chest, put it further apart.
TSchinti
Sep 27 2013, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Sep 27 2013, 10:30 AM) To built your triceps, put your hand closer together. To built your chest, put it further apart. i cant do a single one if i put it close to my chest. so as long as my whole body slowly down n not banana shape then im doing it right? This post has been edited by chinti: Sep 27 2013, 10:41 AM
SUSMrUbikeledek
Sep 27 2013, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 27 2013, 10:33 AM) i cant do a single one if i put it close to my chest. so as long as my whole body slowly down n not banana shape then im doing it right? Put you palm on the floor at the level of your chest. try to get your palm to lay parallel to your body.
VaLeNrUdOn
Sep 27 2013, 10:54 AM

IMO, it doesn't really matter. As long as u maintain a locked lower back, it don't really matter if it's wide, narrow, flared, ..knuckle, palm down, finger elevation...doesn't matter. do it diligently and you'll see results. Results are subjective though..some ppl might gain some muscle mass, some might gain strength, some plyometrics improvement..etc..
Amedion
Sep 27 2013, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 27 2013, 10:20 AM) hi, just wondering what is the proper way to do pushup? i check out a lot of youtube video and i still cant figure out their hand position when they lower their body. it seems like their hand always go up when they lower their body while mine always go outward instead of up. when my body is down, it looks like a T-shape from above, its like bench press position. am i doing it right or wrong? Elbow out (your pushup) :- » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Elbow in ("hand always go up when they lower the body" like u said) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The proper technique is elbow in. Elbow out is bad for your shoulder BUT that doesn't mean you cannot do it. For people who had shoulder injury is advisable not to do it. I had shoulder dislocation several times but I still do it. Elbow out and wider hand position target more to ur chest. Elbow in and closer hand position target triceps (If you cant get even a single rep on this one means your triceps haven't built up to the strength yet. Do more push up with elbow tucked in and try a closer hand position everytime until you can form a diamond shape.)
TSchinti
Sep 27 2013, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 27 2013, 12:09 PM) Elbow out (your pushup) :- » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Elbow in ("hand always go up when they lower the body" like u said) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The proper technique is elbow in. Elbow out is bad for your shoulder BUT that doesn't mean you cannot do it. For people who had shoulder injury is advisable not to do it. I had shoulder dislocation several times but I still do it. Elbow out and wider hand position target more to ur chest. Elbow in and closer hand position target triceps (If you cant get even a single rep on this one means your triceps haven't built up to the strength yet. Do more push up with elbow tucked in and try a closer hand position everytime until you can form a diamond shape.) ah ya, those image is exactly wht im talking about. now i get it, thanks a lot everyone. gonna try harder
feikai
Sep 27 2013, 12:47 PM

then push up... u can feel chest pressed or triceps pressed...
u can feel de ma.... which part kena then ma which part lo
TSchinti
Sep 27 2013, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(feikai @ Sep 27 2013, 12:47 PM) then push up... u can feel chest pressed or triceps pressed... u can feel de ma.... which part kena then ma which part lo i feel it at the chest but i scare i do wrongly n hurt other parts of my body
feikai
Sep 27 2013, 12:50 PM

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 27 2013, 12:47 PM) i feel it at the chest but i scare i do wrongly n hurt other parts of my body wont de la...when u doing push up... only the chest part and should part kena only ma.... and if ur muscle pain mean u gain ma... NO PAIN NO GAIN , YEAH BABE!!!!!!!
TSchinti
Sep 27 2013, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(feikai @ Sep 27 2013, 12:51 PM) post up ur body photo come , we diagnostic it  aha, this one still need another few months, but this past few weeks i definitely seeing changes d
feikai
Sep 27 2013, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 27 2013, 12:52 PM) aha, this one still need another few months, but this past few weeks i definitely seeing changes d should take before & after photo to impress ur self to having hard on it
TSchinti
Sep 27 2013, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(feikai @ Sep 27 2013, 12:53 PM) should take before & after photo to impress ur self to having hard on it i did, i take every 2 weeks
feikai
Sep 27 2013, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 27 2013, 12:54 PM) i did, i take every 2 weeks okie...
mikehuan
Sep 27 2013, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(feikai @ Sep 27 2013, 12:51 PM) post up ur body photo come , we diagnostic it  QUOTE(feikai @ Sep 27 2013, 12:53 PM) should take before & after photo to impress ur self to having hard on it Post yours. We wanna "diagnostic" you too
feikai
Sep 27 2013, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Sep 27 2013, 01:35 PM) Post yours. We wanna "diagnostic" you too eh... ok.... post at here or https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2779655 here?
mikehuan
Sep 28 2013, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(feikai @ Sep 27 2013, 02:02 PM) Wherever u want
DT1
Sep 28 2013, 08:53 PM
Keep your arms close to your body and don't let the elbow flare outwards. You'll noticeably feel a difference with more engagement of the chest instead of the shoulders and rotator cuff region.
TSchinti
Sep 29 2013, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(DT1 @ Sep 28 2013, 08:53 PM) Keep your arms close to your body and don't let the elbow flare outwards. You'll noticeably feel a difference with more engagement of the chest instead of the shoulders and rotator cuff region. i tried but my arm just keep going outward...its hard to keep it straight