5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V18, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

jolmy
post Mar 12 2014, 07:11 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Mar 12 2014, 01:20 PM)
I dont know if really need extra router or not since i only get 3 full signal on my wifi and not 5 full bar signal for my devices...
WiFi signal is a very tricky thing. First, if you are staying in a double-storey house, it's best to place the wireless router on the upper floor. Depending on the size of your house, it should be able to cover mostly entire house provided the router is placed around the middle of the house. If you stay in those 2 1/2 or 3-storey house, it will get even more tricky.

But have you considered a different technology called HomePlug (a.k.a. Powerline adapter)? I have basically given up on Wi-Fi to connect my laptop/PC to the network since I am facing serious interference with Wi-Fi due to many neighbouring Wi-Fi access points as I stay in a condo. Now I use HomePlug to connect them, leaving the Wi-Fi only for mobile devices such as smartphones.
jolmy
post Mar 12 2014, 07:28 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Mar 12 2014, 07:19 PM)
hello guys i have a question guys . can one apartment supports 2 unifi ?? and tingkat 9
Unfortunately NOPE, as there is usually only one phone socket in each unit.
jolmy
post Mar 12 2014, 07:36 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Mar 12 2014, 07:31 PM)
how about streamyx  icon_rolleyes.gif

one use unifi one use streamyx
Well, NOPE too! For apartment buildings, UniFi is provided using VDSL2, instead of fiber, so that one phone socket in your unit can only be used for either Streamyx or UniFi, but not both at the same time.
jolmy
post Mar 12 2014, 07:44 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Mar 12 2014, 07:37 PM)
so best for me to share lah ni sad.gif
If you have a 10Mbps UniFi that is good for sharing unless you have an uncooperative user who overuse it for heavy downloading. Then in that case you probably need to have a deal with that guy like set some time each day he is allowed to do so.
jolmy
post Mar 12 2014, 07:54 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Mar 12 2014, 07:49 PM)
rite now 5
that's a lot! But sharing 10Mbps with 5 people is still better than sharing 1Mbps with 3 people
jolmy
post Mar 13 2014, 08:11 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Mar 12 2014, 07:44 PM)
What u suggest get another wifi router or used my existing router that tmnet provided connect with my TPlink router...

Btw how many MB u are using?
You can try using the existing router provided by TM & see if the wireless signal is good. Remember to connect Ethernet (LAN) cable from the 841ND LAN port 2, 3 or 4 (do NOT connect to Port 1 for IPTV) to the LAN port on the router provided by TM (do NOT connect to the IPTV port on the other router too). Remember to disable DHCP & uPnP in the other router.

If it doesn't work well, then perhaps you try get another router, a new 841ND can do the job!

Btw, I am using 10Mbps.
jolmy
post Mar 13 2014, 01:55 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Mar 13 2014, 09:07 AM)
new 841ND cost around RM 79 and its one of the cheapest router out there now...

I am too using 10mb and think is too much for me now since upgraded from 5mb as current offer from Unifi will get free upgrade if subscribe to hpytv..
I too upgraded from 5Mbps, but under a different promotion - they call me to upgrade with RM30 discount, hence paying only RM169 instead of RM199, but no HyppTV pack.
jolmy
post Mar 13 2014, 07:27 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Mar 13 2014, 06:48 PM)
later they will confuse..  tongue.gif
i think should state with hyppTV but without those 'extra' hyppTV channel package.
If not mistaken the RM169 promotion has ended some time ago.
jolmy
post Mar 13 2014, 11:14 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Mar 13 2014, 07:51 PM)
You have any picture to show how did u connect this 2 Tplink 841ND router?
As attached.

NOTE: I am using WR-4300 as the main wireless router and WR-841ND to extend my wireless coverage. Do take note that on the device that act as access point, you must disable DHCP & uPnP (this only required to enable on the main router) and also you should select "Normal Mode" in the WAN settings of the 2nd router so that you can use all 4 Ethernet LAN ports.

As for Wireless config, make sure the 2 wireless access points are configured on different non-overlapping channels, i.e. Channel 1, 6, or 11. Do not use the same channel on both, & do not use any other channels other than these three. Also do NOT use auto-channel selection.

This post has been edited by jolmy: Mar 13 2014, 11:20 PM

jolmy
post Mar 14 2014, 04:29 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Mar 14 2014, 02:03 PM)
Is it TP-Link WDR-4300? If it is, how stable is this router?
yes, guess I missed out the "D" in the model code.

Stability of the router is good, but for wireless signals, if it's in a crowded environment (lots of neighboring access points) then it may not perform well.
jolmy
post Mar 23 2014, 09:42 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Mar 23 2014, 12:17 AM)
Is that VDSL will get a higher PING compare with fibre ?
Thankyou
Yes, using VDSL the ping is around 30ms to 50ms.
jolmy
post Mar 24 2014, 12:13 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Mar 23 2014, 10:13 AM)
Atm, I'm using streamyx but somehow the ping is around 26-30ms only.  MDF/telephone room have fibre to TM exchange alre right ? Thus, I think my ping wont have any improvement.  Correct me if I'm wrong.
yes, all the MDF connects to exchange via fibre. In fact, TM uses MSAN in the MDF where on the same equipment, they can provide VDSL (UniFi), ADSL (Streamyx) & other services such as phone to customers.

Regarding the ping, it depends, as VDSL & ADSL are 2 different technologies though...

jolmy
post Mar 26 2014, 12:36 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

It's quite frequent I hear many people here complain their UniFi becomes slow at certain times.

I am curious, for those of you facing slow problem, are you connected via Ethernet cable or via Wireless?
jolmy
post Mar 28 2014, 10:24 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(impeesa @ Mar 28 2014, 06:55 PM)
i would like to ask all d sifu here....
for the past 3 weeks,
i keep on having a disconnection issue with my unifi
i didn have this issue for past 1 year...

unifi technician come 3 times for the past 2 weeks,change total 3 diff modem .. and last time they come they change the port at the main cable,as advised by them
i am staying on the highest floor,9th floor

yet prblem still persist,
the modem will alws lose the DSL lite...

any sifu will know what is the prob?
it could be a faulty batch of VDSL modem I supposed? I used to have this problem for months with many modems changed. Then later on they changed me with another batch of same VDSL modem & the problem goes away.
jolmy
post Mar 28 2014, 11:16 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(impeesa @ Mar 28 2014, 11:10 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif
hmnnnn tmr technician come again hopefully no need wait fr mnthss
thanks bro ,,,
hopefully oni modem issue...
btw which modem they gave you? the Huawei (black) or ZTE (white, standing) one?

I initially got many Huawei one replaced with the same problems repeatedly until later they changed to one which I used for months without any problem. However, later they changed mine to the ZTE when I had another problem unrelated to modem (they thought it's the modem problem)
jolmy
post Mar 29 2014, 03:56 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(impeesa @ Mar 29 2014, 07:45 AM)
hmnn
for the past 1 year .. i am using the standing modem ...
as of recently.. they change to the grey colour one,with a big tm logo on top....
cant search for the pic,google don have, so cant show u ...

but just a simple question,
will old phone cable be an issue in connection?
cz now the tecnician saying it might be because of my old phone cable rclxub.gif
Hmm... grey modem... that must be a new one that I have never seen. If you can take a picture of it later, do share it here.

Well, old cable could be an issue, but how old is your cable? (it should be as old as when your apartment/condo was built)

Mine is 11 years but no issues.
jolmy
post Mar 30 2014, 12:14 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Mar 29 2014, 11:19 PM)
Some experience for TL-WRD4300. So far this router is quite stable. Just that the wireless coverage is weaker than the 1043ND and the 5Ghz coverage is seriously a joke. Really weak 5Ghz coverage. Also I do get ping spike TPLink router where my ping can suddenly go to 999 than drop back to normal regardless of online or LAN gaming.
I am also getting ping spikes that not only suddenly goes to 999, it can also be 1000 or 2000++. But I am getting this only when connected on Wi-Fi, and had experienced the same problem with WDR-4300, WR-841ND & even the TM DIR-615 (UniFi stock router). However, no such problem on Ethernet (cable).

In my case I am staying in a high rise with lots of neighbouring wireless access points. Are you in such a situation too?
jolmy
post Mar 30 2014, 05:42 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Mar 30 2014, 04:33 PM)
Yup it only happen on Wifi but after I change from WRD-4300 to Asus RT-AC68U don't have this problem anymore. There are a lot of wireless access points in my area but not sure if that cause the ping spike or not. After upgrade no more this problem so far.
In my case it still happens once a while, whether on WDR-4300 or WR-841ND (I have both on with the 841ND being used to extend the wireless).

Basically I gave up on wireless (only use it for connecting smartphone now) and resort to use HomePlug (powerline Ethernet)
jolmy
post Mar 31 2014, 11:46 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Mar 31 2014, 08:42 AM)
hi guys

am wondering if the VIP5, i do not want the hyppTV, can i reduce the monthly bill amount?
QUOTE(Hico @ Mar 31 2014, 10:48 AM)
my fren called to unifi cs to ask if he does not wan the hypptv, can he get some discount, the cs told him the discount only valid if he upgrade to vip10 or vip20 biggrin.gif ...
Unfortunately, VIP5/10/20 is bundled with HyppTV & you cannot unbundled it. This is the reason why Maxis Fibre subscription price is lower as it does not bundle any IPTV service (on Maxis you can have Astro IPTV with standard Astro subscription rate if you choose to)
jolmy
post Mar 31 2014, 11:59 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Mar 31 2014, 11:51 AM)
hmm.. yeah. but I read several bad reviews on Maxis home fibre such as their FUP and low speed after 8PM.
Also had bad experience on their mobile broadband (Biz68). A bit sceptical in maxis offerings now on..
That is why I am staying on with TM UniFi rclxms.gif
In fact I was offered an upgrade from VIP5 to VIP10 with RM30 discount (hence only RM169/month, this offer no longer available) but contract renewed for another 24 months, discount is valid even after contract. And I accepted this upgrade.

I have heard much horror stories with Maxis Fibre like what you mentioned above, and to add to what you said, there have been so much complaints of poor customer service as well.

As I am myself also a Maxis Mobile subscriber (voice & mobile data), I have been getting call from Maxis sales team to take up their fibre service more than 3 times, even when I said I am still on UniFi contract, they still try their way to convince me that the RM500 penalty I have to pay can be offset with their price savings! (Marketing gimmick in fact) shakehead.gif

Oh btw, while many think that the HyppTV service is useless to them, well, it suits me anyway. I don't really watch TV often, but when I do, watching the free HyppTV channels (well, not really free, it's included in the monthly subscription fee anyway) is good enough - not to mention crystal clear video display from our 6 free to air channels.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0236sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:56 AM