Travel Passport & Visa Application, Validity, & related issues. Discuss here

nugget
post Oct 8 2006, 03:30 AM

1,001 posts

hi all forumers...

incase u need any info regarding visa n passport requirement when u travel abroad...post here...maybe I can help u with...

cheers....travel genuine
owenwong84
post Oct 16 2006, 06:41 PM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

hi nugget..
I stay at KL rigt now. I orginally from Sabah..
If i register passport at kl? need how long? 1 day can receive?
My birth cert left at Sabah, can i use IC only to register?
nugget
post Oct 19 2006, 04:33 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Oct 16 2006, 06:41 PM)
hi nugget..
I stay at KL rigt now. I orginally from Sabah..
If i register passport at kl? need how long? 1 day can receive?
My birth cert left at Sabah, can i use IC only to register?
I m not so sure bout loal malaysia law lar....wht I are good is when u travel abroad...overseas...

but as my passport kena snacth last two year...they require my birth cert.
u can go reapply at G hospital...coz now everything are computerize...if not mistaken my fren applied it in kedah b4.

or u have to currier it to kl lar from sabah.

all the best wink.gif
spacepilot
post Oct 27 2006, 02:27 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Oct 8 2006, 03:30 AM)
hi all forumers...

incase u need any info regarding visa n passport requirement when u travel abroad...post here...maybe I can help u with...

cheers....travel genuine
I need to apply for a US Visa and have completed most of the process including an appointmet on next week and paid US100 to RHB.
The only things that I am not sure is about the Issuance Fee. I have no idea what is the Issuance Fee is all about and how should it be done, also can I take my photograph at other location instead of only at the recommended US Visa photograph shop which is at Ampang Park?

nugget
post Oct 28 2006, 09:39 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(spacepilot @ Oct 27 2006, 02:27 PM)
I need to apply for a US Visa and have completed most of the process including an appointmet on next week and paid US100 to RHB.
The only things that I am not sure is about the Issuance Fee. I have no idea what is the Issuance Fee is all about and how should it be done, also can I take my photograph at other location instead of only at the recommended US Visa photograph shop which is at Ampang Park?
issuance fee is the fee tht u need to pay for the visa lar.and if u don't mind to travel again to the us embassy...u can try other shop ma.actually,photo for visa require your face.which ears are not covered by hair,white background if posible...my opinion is go to ampang n take lar.since u live in kl.
all other visa are ok..only US are so MA huan...
spacepilot
post Oct 29 2006, 10:23 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Oct 28 2006, 09:39 PM)
issuance fee is the fee tht u need to pay for the visa lar.and if u don't mind to travel again to the us embassy...u can try other shop ma.actually,photo for visa require your face.which ears are not covered by hair,white background if posible...my opinion is go to ampang n take lar.since u live in kl.
all other visa are ok..only US are so MA huan...
Have you been to an US visa interview? what will they ask you?
I thought Issuance Fee is only paid after the application is successfull isn't it ?
SUSsanook
post Oct 29 2006, 10:35 AM

880 posts

TAKE NOTE, THE USD100 IS NOT AN ISSUANCE FEE. IT IS AN APPLICATION FEE FOR US VISA. SO, THE AMOUNT IS NOT REFUNDABLE EVEN IF YOUR VISA APPLICATION IS UNSUCCESSFUL.

why do they have such policy? your guess is as good as mine but I am pretty certain that their desire to stop frivolous application and unwanted people from making countless application for VISA has a lot to do with it.

but generally, if you are young; in your teen or 20 something, you really should have enough supporting documents in your application. it is important to present to the embassy a valid reason for your trip, including academic study, business trip or company assignments, or if it is a for holiday purpose, sufficient documentary evidence to show you are capable of surviving in America and have a decent, well-paid job or solid properties in Malaysia that you will not abandon. it helps if you are working in a major local companies or multinationals and you have a letter from your employer testifying that you are working for them in a sufficiently important position.

This post has been edited by sanook: Oct 29 2006, 10:43 AM
theodore_kh
post Oct 29 2006, 11:26 AM

It's me again !
1,294 posts

The time taken to apply a passport is much shorter now.
It took me one week to apply few months ago at Damansara Height

Besides, if your passport has a 'chip' inside, you don't have to queue up long. There is a machine downstairs which you can do it there.

And, the application for passport form is FREE. I went there to get it last time and the Reception wanted to charge me RM2.

This post has been edited by theodore_kh: Oct 29 2006, 11:26 AM
spacepilot
post Oct 29 2006, 05:45 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(sanook @ Oct 29 2006, 10:35 AM)
TAKE NOTE, THE USD100 IS NOT AN ISSUANCE FEE. IT IS AN APPLICATION FEE FOR US VISA. SO, THE AMOUNT IS NOT REFUNDABLE EVEN IF YOUR VISA APPLICATION IS UNSUCCESSFUL.
Issuance Fee is defineitely not the USD100 fee, its called Machine Readable Visa (MRV) fee and my question was "What is an Issuance fee and how much?"
Anyone here who have the experienced in applying a US Visa and what to expect during the interview?
BTW, thanks for the long story sanook.
nugget
post Oct 30 2006, 11:59 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(spacepilot @ Oct 29 2006, 05:45 PM)
Issuance Fee is defineitely not the USD100 fee, its called Machine Readable Visa (MRV) fee and my question was "What is an Issuance fee and how much?"
Anyone here who have the experienced in applying a US Visa and what to expect during the interview?
BTW, thanks for the long story sanook.
as I do not have much contact with the US embassy..I do not know wht they will interview u...
from my xpirience its more to security question will impose to u ....
such as...
1.how long your stay in us
2.purpose of visit
3.whre u stay..
4.who what when where why
thts all I can help u
owenwong84
post Oct 31 2006, 08:31 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

Alright, here is for Sabahan make passport at KL.
The officer told me that the fastest is 1 month- 3 month can complete.
They also look my birth cert. Photocopy 1. The others remain same.
spacepilot
post Nov 3 2006, 02:54 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Oct 30 2006, 11:59 PM)
as I do not have much contact with the US embassy..I do not know wht they will interview u...
from my xpirience its more to security question will impose to u ....
such as...
1.how long your stay in us
2.purpose of visit
3.whre u stay..
4.who what when where why
thts all I  can help u
I thought you say you know any regarding visa application..nvm, its more like it anyway.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Nov 4 2006, 11:01 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

yeap... basically is that... d guy asked me a few extra... coz mine is special J-1 visa

pls remember 2 bring all ur forms n documents b4 hand

1) are u gonna over stay?
2) how are ur grades in uni
3) do u have any relatives in d states

if u get d officer on d left... with d mic... gluck 2 u tongue.gif
nugget
post Nov 5 2006, 11:41 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(spacepilot @ Nov 3 2006, 02:54 PM)
I thought you say you know any regarding visa application..nvm, its more like it anyway.
I did say visa n passport requirement.(means 4 those who will travel to any foreign country) not all visa application....
if I work as travel agent runner then I know all lar....cheers....
SpectacularButter
post Nov 9 2006, 12:22 AM

229 posts

Hi, this might sound silly but my passport expired many years ago and i want to make a new passport. Where do i go to do it? staying in pj..heard can do in subang airport?

What must i prepare and how much?
juichuan
post Nov 9 2006, 08:36 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,634 posts

thread merge with passport thread in pinned section
kevlim7
post Nov 11 2006, 05:09 PM

ได้ยินไหม
781 posts

i'm quite confusing here,
do we need valid passport if wana travel to Sarawak or Sabah?

nugget
post Nov 12 2006, 04:35 PM

1,001 posts

ya u need even u are a malaysian....reason I dunno y...

kevlim7
post Nov 13 2006, 01:51 AM

ได้ยินไหม
781 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Nov 12 2006, 04:35 PM)
ya u need even u are a malaysian....reason I dunno y...
oh? blink.gif how come my friend ( KL people )
just bring along IC only without any passport
when he traveled to Sarawak recently.. sweat.gif
spacepilot
post Nov 13 2006, 06:23 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(kevlim7 @ Nov 13 2006, 01:51 AM)
oh? blink.gif  how come my friend ( KL people )
just bring along IC only without any passport
when he traveled to Sarawak recently.. sweat.gif
Well...if I could remember last time my friend a Sarawakian no need passport to go to Sarawak. biggrin.gif

164 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:14 PM