141 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

shinjun
post Mar 13 2007, 11:46 PM

2,247 posts

bottom right of the right satelite biggrin.gif

hz428
post Mar 14 2007, 05:18 AM

1,056 posts

using atp3 for 6 years!! still a good speaker!

i bought a new atp3 last year, and it dont sound like the old 1, damn!!!!

wat altec did???
Aquanox28
post Mar 14 2007, 08:25 AM

1,168 posts

Some said they changed the components in the speaker. The old ATP3 is heavier than the newer ones. Probably because of their cost-cutting strategy in the eexpense of the sound quality.. sweat.gif
Faint
post Mar 14 2007, 03:24 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 14 2007, 05:18 AM)
using atp3 for 6 years!! still a good speaker!

i bought a new atp3 last year, and it dont sound like the old 1, damn!!!!

wat altec did???
Before i bought Altec MX5021, my relative told me nowadays Altec had cut cost on ATP3, subwoofer don't have too big different, but the satellite got big different. Old one is quite heavy and nice sound but the nowadays one is very light. sweat.gif
DotA 5.84C -AR
post Mar 14 2007, 04:54 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 14 2007, 03:24 PM)
Before i bought Altec MX5021, my relative told me nowadays Altec had cut cost on ATP3, subwoofer don't have too big different, but the satellite got big different. Old one is quite heavy and nice sound but the nowadays one is very light.  sweat.gif
that is the reason why i am no longer a altec lansing fan though last time i was a super altec fan. i hate this kind of company, altec lansing betray us. cut cost is the most stupid thing altec do, they thought consumer's ear is stupid also. i rather they sell at expensive price like last time i dont mind, what i want is quality only. i believe most of the forummer also have the same mind set like me... come on we are even affortable to buy a aegoM, what the hell altec go to cut cost, they thought we are not affortable? one more thing altec lansing so stupid is... their old product is far better than their new product, but they go to stop producing the good one, and now come with all cheaper quality one... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by DotA 5.84C -AR: Mar 14 2007, 04:56 PM
yukihatsu
post Mar 14 2007, 05:02 PM

672 posts

hihi... add me to the club... i'm a VS2121 user....
yrh0413
post Mar 14 2007, 05:15 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(DotA 5.84C -AR @ Mar 14 2007, 04:54 PM)
that is the reason why i am no longer a altec lansing fan though last time i was a super altec fan. i hate this kind of company, altec lansing betray us. cut cost is the most stupid thing altec do, they thought consumer's ear is stupid also. i rather they sell at expensive price like last time i dont mind, what i want is quality only. i believe most of the forummer also have the same mind set like me... come on we are even affortable to buy a aegoM, what the hell altec go to cut cost, they thought we are not affortable? one more thing altec lansing so stupid is... their old product is far better than their new product, but they go to stop producing the good one, and now come with all cheaper quality one...  shakehead.gif
I won't say so. Indeed i don't agree on their move to "downgrade" the atp3, but AL does rolled out quite a number of decent speakers. MX5021, CS21... a handful of them worth mentioning. These newer high-end ALs have much better build than my atp3.

Just accept it: all our atp3s are made from plastic especially the sats. Only the sub is made from MDF boards.
killdavid
post Mar 14 2007, 08:06 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

I feel that Altec did something very silly here. The old batch of ATP3 were nice sounding speakers and they were best sellers too. What did Altec do then ? They 'downgrade' ATP3 to a lesser built and components.

1. People are misled to thinking they are buying they same quality speakers with cheaper price.

2. They destroy the good name that the ATP3 name had gained. Now the new ATP3 is synonymous with mediocre sounding speakers.

I saw someone recently describe ATP3 a legendary speakers doh.gif Is it like Hang Tuah legendary as in a has been but not anymore ?
DotA 5.84C -AR
post Mar 14 2007, 08:21 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Mar 14 2007, 08:06 PM)
I feel that Altec did something very silly here. The old batch of ATP3 were nice sounding speakers and they were best sellers too. What did Altec do then ? They 'downgrade' ATP3 to a lesser built and components.

1. People are misled to thinking they are buying they same quality speakers with cheaper price.

2. They destroy the good name that the ATP3 name had gained. Now the new ATP3 is synonymous with mediocre sounding speakers.

I saw someone recently describe ATP3 a legendary  speakers doh.gif  Is it like Hang Tuah legendary as in a has been but not anymore ?
this is really dishonest, thats why i damn look down to altec lansing name now. the only product is acceptable to me is just MX5021. other than that other all product is just shit, totally unable to compete with their old product quality. bad news is MX5021 also going to phase out. sorry to altec fans, i am just trying to point out the truth... is time to leave altec such a cheap brand already

This post has been edited by DotA 5.84C -AR: Mar 14 2007, 08:23 PM
Edifier
post Mar 14 2007, 09:35 PM

Store Representative
9,171 posts

Fr what i know is AL no longer focus on the 2.1 & 5.1 system anymore. They are more focus on their iPod speaker nowaday cause the US iPod market is very huge and also margin very high.
yrh0413
post Mar 14 2007, 09:53 PM

12,214 posts

weird enough, i compare my atp3 (new version) with AL's newer speakers like VS4121, the atp3 has more refine sound and does not exhibit bloated bass like the 4121
pky
post Mar 15 2007, 03:12 AM

558 posts

Planning to get a MX 5021, should i wait until PC fair?

Does anyone know when MX5021 going to phase out?

This post has been edited by pky: Mar 15 2007, 03:14 AM
KilJim
post Mar 15 2007, 07:40 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Mar 14 2007, 09:53 PM)
weird enough, i compare my atp3 (new version) with AL's newer speakers like VS4121, the atp3 has more refine sound and does not exhibit bloated bass like the 4121
Not really weird, they're both catered for different tastes
Many ppl will still prefer the 4121 (techno ah bengs biggrin.gif )
nocar
post Mar 15 2007, 01:41 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 15 2007, 07:40 AM)
Many ppl will still prefer the 4121 (techno ah bengs  biggrin.gif )
That's why i bought the ATP3 - the new products all aiming for big boom-boom bass.

how much you guys paid for the old generation ATP3 when it just launch?
hz428
post Mar 15 2007, 03:38 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 14 2007, 03:24 PM)
Before i bought Altec MX5021, my relative told me nowadays Altec had cut cost on ATP3, subwoofer don't have too big different, but the satellite got big different. Old one is quite heavy and nice sound but the nowadays one is very light.  sweat.gif
icic, ya, the old 1 is heavier

QUOTE(nocar @ Mar 15 2007, 01:41 PM)
That's why i bought the ATP3 - the new products all aiming for big boom-boom bass.

how much you guys paid for the old generation ATP3 when it just launch?
i bought it at rm350, i think when just launch is around 399 right?

not keeping my eye on s2000 icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by hz428: Mar 15 2007, 03:40 PM
nocar
post Mar 15 2007, 08:54 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 15 2007, 03:38 PM)
icic, ya, the old 1 is heavier
i bought it at rm350, i think when just launch is around 399 right?

not keeping my eye on s2000 icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif
i bought it for rm170. half price from the initial price - kinda beliveable if AL put cheaper components in it to stay competitive. but if the quality drop by 25% with price drop by 50% - i'm ok with that. It is still give you bang for the buck for the price that i'm paying. thumbup.gif
narkon
post Mar 16 2007, 04:23 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 13 2007, 08:17 PM)
You can send a PM to Narkon, he's a proud user of CS21. You can ask him to reconfirm.
weeee....on the right satelite...the one with the power button...sure u will found it la....or juz read the manual lor...so easy la.... smile.gif

QUOTE(shinjun @ Mar 13 2007, 11:46 PM)
bottom right of the right satelite biggrin.gif

nice man... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

long time i didnt enter dis thread...huhu...when ms5021 will be phased out???...izzit true that cs21 also will be abolish??...and wats the differences between vs4221 and 4121??only the remote?

out of topic a bit...R sonic gear speaker bad??...coz i dun get any recomendation for the speaker from that company...y ya.... hmm.gif hmm.gif

Added on March 16, 2007, 4:27 am
QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 15 2007, 07:40 AM)
Many ppl will still prefer the 4121 (techno ah bengs  biggrin.gif )
true2....the bass superb for all ah bengs.... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by narkon: Mar 16 2007, 04:36 AM
Faint
post Mar 16 2007, 02:42 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

Hard to give recommend. During PC Fair, you can test all sonic gear speaker gao gao!
nocar
post Mar 16 2007, 06:18 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 16 2007, 02:42 PM)
Hard to give recommend. During PC Fair, you can test all sonic gear speaker gao gao!
I don't think you can test speakers during PC Fair? The place is damn noisy. But it is a great place to test headphone with noise cancelling feature.
wills
post Mar 16 2007, 07:48 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Mar 14 2007, 08:25 AM)
Some said they changed the components in the speaker. The old ATP3 is heavier than the newer ones. Probably because of their cost-cutting strategy in the eexpense of the sound quality.. sweat.gif
Correct me if I'm wrong but one of my pals say AL are very prone to these kinda things. Their first batch would be super good and the following batch will have the components replaced by cheaper ones. I'm not sure whether he implied only a few specific models or all AL models.

141 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:32 AM