141 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

narkon
post Dec 3 2006, 02:31 PM

647 posts

ooo...like dat r...ok2...now i understand....im very noob...thanx 4 de knowledge...expensive r the external sound card???
sunauto
post Dec 3 2006, 09:38 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

If you say this speaker not loud enough then something wrong with you lah, it has a power rating higher than my MX5021 ler, even for my MX5021, my mother keeps on telling me to lower the volume whenever I play my games. doh.gif You sure you have cranked up the volume for your sound card, ar?

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 3 2006, 01:01 PM)
yup....alo of noise...i turn the vol not to loud la...average
exergy
post Dec 3 2006, 09:51 PM

6,079 posts

if the sound chip and all of its required components are integrated onto the motherboard, then it isnt a sound card anymore, is it? laugh.gif

i think what it is called [onboard audio] is a more accurate description [instead of onboard soundcard].

the philips aurilium is an external sound card and if im not mistaken it costs around 150-250bucks. there's also an external 0404 though i doubt it'd be suitable for most speakers out there...

good luck

ATI.Bob
post Dec 3 2006, 09:52 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

I think what he meant is that here's a lot of 'noise' even when he didn't crank up the volume... laugh.gif

noise... that's weird.. sweat.gif
sunauto
post Dec 3 2006, 11:10 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I might have misunderstood him but honestly, his speakers are good, got nothing to complain lah, not everybody can own it mah. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Dec 3 2006, 09:52 PM)
I think what he meant is that here's a lot of 'noise' even when he didn't crank up the volume... laugh.gif

noise... that's weird.. sweat.gif
ATI.Bob
post Dec 3 2006, 11:23 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 3 2006, 11:10 PM)
I might have misunderstood him but honestly, his speakers are good, got nothing to complain lah, not everybody can own it mah.  tongue.gif
Excessive noise from a 400 bucks Altec speakers... man... sweat.gif Altec must be going bust to produce such an equipment.. sweat.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Dec 3 2006, 11:23 PM
narkon
post Dec 3 2006, 11:30 PM

647 posts

nooo...loud is not the prob la...the sound is very2 loud....thats for sure la...but noisy=treble r to high....so if i turn out the volume high,the bass tenggelam abit bcoz of the noise(high treble)...there is no button to slow down the treble...i wanna play d techno song dat habe bass like boomm3!!!...so treble a bit only...k,thats wat i mean...thanx smile.gif
ATI.Bob
post Dec 3 2006, 11:36 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 3 2006, 11:30 PM)
nooo...loud is not the prob la...the sound is very2 loud....thats for sure la...but noisy=treble r to high....so if i turn out the volume high,the bass tenggelam abit bcoz of the noise(high treble)...there is no button to slow down the treble...i wanna play d techno song dat habe bass like boomm3!!!...so treble a bit only...k,thats wat i mean...thanx  smile.gif
Treble is treble lah.. noise is noise... sweat.gif

cannot mix this two things together lah.. sweat.gif laugh.gif

use EQ to reduce the 'clanging' treble then.. smile.gif
sunauto
post Dec 3 2006, 11:38 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Does he mean noise = distortion? Hmmm...... dun think so ..... ahhh ..... I'm tired of guessing, hopefully, he'll reply and let us know what he meant by noise here. icon_question.gif

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Dec 3 2006, 11:23 PM)
Excessive noise from a 400 bucks Altec speakers... man...  sweat.gif  Altec must be going bust to produce such an equipment.. sweat.gif  laugh.gif
narkon
post Dec 3 2006, 11:39 PM

647 posts

owh...hihihihi...i dunno...i change the equalizer dy but now the sound become not nice dy... sad.gif sad.gif
lAh0S
post Dec 4 2006, 12:02 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 3 2006, 11:39 PM)
owh...hihihihi...i dunno...i change the equalizer dy but now the sound become not nice dy... sad.gif  sad.gif
Depends... know what you want to achieve n know what you are doing...
Anyway, winamp very own EQ isnt tad good after all...

But if your option are limited, you can opening Volume Control panel and turn on advance controls, see if the bass n treble setting is available. If not then just alter winamp EQ la.

For a start, if you wanna lower singer voice, can do so by reducing EQ ranges from 1k, 2k, and 4k. If you wanna lower those tingling equipment, then reduce 12k, 16k and 20k. Not necessary need to have a V shaped. Just lower it enough not to degrade the original song too much. Honestly dont lower 500Hz too much... it also effect the vocal. Male singer will sound a bit like female losing the bassy vocal that many males singer has.

Oh.. dont forgot to adjust the bass knob behind the subwoofer to around 1 or 2 o'clock position...

This post has been edited by lAh0S: Dec 4 2006, 12:05 AM
narkon
post Dec 4 2006, 12:09 AM

647 posts

if the bass i put more than 1/2 oclock??...is it ok???....thanx 4 de guide...
downcreek
post Dec 4 2006, 01:36 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Dec 4 2006, 12:02 AM)
Depends... know what you want to achieve n know what you are doing...
Anyway, winamp very own EQ isnt tad good after all...

But if your option are limited, you can opening Volume Control panel and turn on advance controls, see if the bass n treble setting is available. If not then just alter winamp EQ la.

For a start, if you wanna lower singer voice, can do so by reducing EQ ranges from 1k, 2k, and 4k. If you wanna lower those tingling equipment, then reduce 12k, 16k and 20k. Not necessary need to have a V shaped. Just lower it enough not to degrade the original song too much. Honestly dont lower 500Hz too much... it also effect the vocal. Male singer will sound a bit like female losing the bassy vocal that many males singer has.

Oh.. dont forgot to adjust the bass knob behind the subwoofer to around 1 or 2 o'clock position...
this setting is for what model ar???? adjust the bass knob behind the subwoofer to around 1 or 2 o'clock position... <<<< sweat.gif
or can use for all AL model ??? rclxub.gif

narkon
post Dec 4 2006, 02:47 AM

647 posts

for my cs21 i think....
ATI.Bob
post Dec 4 2006, 02:59 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

nope... it's on a general basis..

usually the 50-300Hz frequencies are reproduced by the sub-woofer unit.. 500Hz - 3kHz ranges are usually reproduced by mid-range drivers.. and 10k-20+kHz frequencies are reproduced by tweeters.. thus adjusting these respective bands on the EQ will affect the frequency response of the speakers..
narkon
post Dec 4 2006, 03:13 AM

647 posts

i think u missunderstood...he ask about the 1/2 o clock bass thinggy....
lAh0S
post Dec 4 2006, 08:07 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

Actually like Ati Bob said, can be used on all model...
Becos you complained about bass being overpowered, thus I recommend that you turn it up a little bit more. Turning up even more like to maximum level is not recommended, but it can be done. Just scare it will haf damaging effect if used for long time (becos when set too high n being played loud, once it cross the border of what it can achieve, all it does is burrrp,burrrp...). I haf used several AL model like ACS45.1, ACS 48, and MX5021. If you set it to around half or less, it plays nice if you play loud but when you play it loud, the sub already capped by the knob thus it's thumping only increased to a level the knob permits.
ATI.Bob
post Dec 4 2006, 08:44 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Dec 4 2006, 08:07 AM)
Actually like Ati Bob said, can be used on all model...
Becos you complained about bass being overpowered, thus I recommend that you turn it up a little bit more. Turning up even more like to maximum level is not recommended, but it can be done. Just scare it will haf damaging effect if used for long time (becos when set too high n being played loud, once it cross the border of what it can achieve, all it does is burrrp,burrrp...). I haf used several AL model like ACS45.1, ACS 48, and MX5021. If you set it to around half or less, it plays nice if you play loud but when you play it loud, the sub already capped by the knob thus it's thumping only increased to a level the knob permits.
Come to think of it, Altec should have used a larger bass driver since there's still amp power to drive larger speakers. laugh.gif
lAh0S
post Dec 4 2006, 09:39 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

I dont think there's enough power to drive those bigger driver. Besides, you would also need to build a bigger box which add to extra cost. If you feed a driver with less than sufficient power, it doesnt sound like it should.
narkon
post Dec 4 2006, 01:49 PM

647 posts

i just download dfx for windows media player....the sound become superb...but is it dangerous for my speaker??....my fren said dat it can make my speaker sound "pecah" coz it over limit the speaker ability...

141 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:25 AM