PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

lAh0S
post Dec 4 2006, 12:02 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 3 2006, 11:39 PM)
owh...hihihihi...i dunno...i change the equalizer dy but now the sound become not nice dy... sad.gif  sad.gif
Depends... know what you want to achieve n know what you are doing...
Anyway, winamp very own EQ isnt tad good after all...

But if your option are limited, you can opening Volume Control panel and turn on advance controls, see if the bass n treble setting is available. If not then just alter winamp EQ la.

For a start, if you wanna lower singer voice, can do so by reducing EQ ranges from 1k, 2k, and 4k. If you wanna lower those tingling equipment, then reduce 12k, 16k and 20k. Not necessary need to have a V shaped. Just lower it enough not to degrade the original song too much. Honestly dont lower 500Hz too much... it also effect the vocal. Male singer will sound a bit like female losing the bassy vocal that many males singer has.

Oh.. dont forgot to adjust the bass knob behind the subwoofer to around 1 or 2 o'clock position...

This post has been edited by lAh0S: Dec 4 2006, 12:05 AM
lAh0S
post Dec 4 2006, 08:07 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

Actually like Ati Bob said, can be used on all model...
Becos you complained about bass being overpowered, thus I recommend that you turn it up a little bit more. Turning up even more like to maximum level is not recommended, but it can be done. Just scare it will haf damaging effect if used for long time (becos when set too high n being played loud, once it cross the border of what it can achieve, all it does is burrrp,burrrp...). I haf used several AL model like ACS45.1, ACS 48, and MX5021. If you set it to around half or less, it plays nice if you play loud but when you play it loud, the sub already capped by the knob thus it's thumping only increased to a level the knob permits.
lAh0S
post Dec 4 2006, 09:39 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

I dont think there's enough power to drive those bigger driver. Besides, you would also need to build a bigger box which add to extra cost. If you feed a driver with less than sufficient power, it doesnt sound like it should.
lAh0S
post Dec 5 2006, 06:26 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

I suggest you go n try it out yourself...
The cone that MX5021 is using isnt the same paper cone like many speaker are using. It makes it sound brighter a little bit, and also reduces a lot of bassy vocal from a male singer. So some singer esp those english rock songs like air supply etc sounds a bit weird. But having said that, not all songs are affected, only a small amount of them. It plays well with most if not all of female vocal.
lAh0S
post Dec 31 2006, 12:45 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Dec 30 2006, 11:46 PM)
u in miri now? I'm staying in sarawak too.. but not Miri ler.. tongue.gif maybe need ur suggestion to replace the cable connecting the sats to the sub of the MX5021.. notworthy.gif
You just need a stereo to stereo cable, correct me if i'm mistaken.
I'm using a MX5021 too, with PcWork stereo to stereo cable, attached to an Audigy 2 ZS.
I'm very happy with the sound, compare to the stock cable of course.
When i'm playing NFS:C, the engine sound go boom boom laugh.gif
lAh0S
post Dec 31 2006, 09:31 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

Go for ATP3, at around RM165~RM170.
The other baki i think you can get a Philips PC805.
With this combo you can get a very nice sound quality on music playback.

p/s: ATP3 banzai~~ laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lAh0S: Dec 31 2006, 09:34 AM
lAh0S
post Dec 31 2006, 02:35 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 31 2006, 11:35 AM)
tongue.gif you guys here never stop promoting atp3 laugh.gif it has been such a looooooooong time since atp3 was announced and released!
Who care if it is an old speaker.
Good speaker is a speaker, don't care if it is a old or new production.
lAh0S
post Dec 31 2006, 04:24 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

But at last i also invest in MX5021, and gave my ATP3 to my gf.
My gf also love ATP3 very much, i mean love me more la, ATP3 lesser a bit. tongue.gif
When i ask why, she said don't know. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lAh0S: Dec 31 2006, 04:24 PM
lAh0S
post Jan 1 2007, 10:53 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 31 2006, 10:21 PM)
afaik there are 2 batches of atp3, the former with higher power output. But nowadays all atp3s in the market are lower power ones. My atp3 is 3 years old, still working fine. Cheap plastic? Nope they seems durable to me. Cheap SQ? Yea, my SR80 and LD2+ beats the crap out of it. But RM170 VS RM800, atp3 still wins with its price/performance ratio.
1 thing to clearify.
Which part of the plastic you mean?
The sub-woofer using WOOD leh, if you're refering to the sub la.

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 1 2007, 12:36 AM)
Glad that you're happy with the speakers, I'm also using MX5021 too.  rclxms.gif
Just wondering bro, which sound card you pair your MX5021 with?
lAh0S
post Jan 2 2007, 12:59 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 1 2007, 11:55 PM)
No special sound card actually, I'm using my mobo's built in sound card. Kinda surprised, huh? But I'm being very honest but it sounded good enough for me so I don't see why I needed a better sound card. Well, I've changed my original AL MX5021 wiring to Van den Hul CS122 Hybrid speaker cables, 1m around RM65. I've changed the wiring inside the subwoofer as well. The bass is now tighter and the midrange and highs sounded less restraint, more open and less dry. I know the speaker cables cost a bomb but I'm happy with my DIY project, I'm using this cables for my HT set so I'm quite pleased with the sound quality.  smile.gif
Okay, troubles occured, i mean me.
What's a Van den Hul CS122 Hybrid speaker cable?
In simple is it a Stereo to Stereo cable?
If yes, i also changed it already.
I use PcWork DIY cable, the name show be Carane, or something like that.
And how you changed the wiring inside the subwoofer?
Very interested to know.
lAh0S
post Jan 3 2007, 12:29 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

IMO, get FX6021 instead.
Cause more cables choice, can use stereo output, and RCA output.
I think RCA would be nicer than stereo.
lAh0S
post Jan 23 2007, 09:13 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 22 2007, 06:03 PM)
Btw, has anyone compared MX5021 and the new Edifier S2.1MKII? Need to know how the MX5021 perfom compared to the S2.1MKII. Thanks  smile.gif
Words can't compare to your ear.
Go audition yourself, the result would be better.
I believe ALL IT has both of them.
lAh0S
post Jan 24 2007, 10:02 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 23 2007, 02:19 PM)
Anyone know what type of better quality cables(which has reasonable price) that can be used to replace the MX5021's stock cables? Thanks.  smile.gif
I'm using a DIY staquad.
Really come compare to the stock cable.
Ask from EFN, he's doing this cable.
Suggest you call him, he rarely online one.
lAh0S
post Jan 25 2007, 12:18 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 25 2007, 12:05 AM)
Thanks for the recommendation. Btw, I still do not know how the DIYed cables work. Is it ok for you to post some pics to show how do they look like connected to your MX5021. Btw, normally how many meters needed? Thanks.  smile.gif
Look like a normal cable only.
Just different in quality.
You can check the DIY Cable thread for more pictures.
About the length, depend on you lo.
2 meters normally is enough already.
lAh0S
post Jan 28 2007, 11:21 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Jan 28 2007, 10:18 PM)
Seems like the price had been hiked a little compared to last year.. doh.gif

Little Dot 2+? I thought it's an headphone amp?

In my opinion, you should pair it to an amp that has more midrange and treble warmth since MX5021 has a little too much treble and mids emphasis to my taste.. so it's more listen-able all-rounder..  tongue.gif

Probably I'm just not used to speakers emphasising on mids and treble.. biggrin.gif
LD2+ is a pre-amp, correct me if i'm mistaken.
I wanted to test it out also, going to loan from yeah_guyz see he want to borrow or not.
If he don't want, then it can't be helped already, i'll just rob him. brows.gif
lAh0S
post Jan 29 2007, 12:06 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jan 28 2007, 11:55 PM)
wrong wrong wrong laugh.gif
LD2+ is a headamp, and it can be used as pre-amp too. the primary usage of ld2+ is still a headamp although it can be used as pre-amp.

anyway, it's not recommended to use a pre-amp to power up an active speaker. active speaker already came with built-in amp to power them up with sufficient gain. adding another pre-amp may over-amplify the multimedia speaker and then cause the sound to become over-whelming. however, i have tried using ld2+ as pre-amp with my s4.1. the pre-amp of ld2+ seems to be quite low-powered and it introduced some 'warm' (valve) sound to my speaker. eventually they sounded nice to my ear.
That's why LD2+ not in my list after all. laugh.gif
Sorry yeah_guyz. cool.gif

This post has been edited by lAh0S: Jan 29 2007, 12:07 AM
lAh0S
post Feb 14 2007, 11:24 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(delon85 @ Feb 14 2007, 04:22 AM)
i got my mx5021 a while ago b4 i stumble upon this thread
when i got it, it made my day ever since biggrin.gif

now if only i can get a good soundcard to pair with it.
thinking of getting the PCMCIA audigy 2 zs since im using a lappie now.
I wanna ask 1 question, you do gaming more or music more?
If gaming, then i no comment.
But if music, you can save half(i think) of the price of audigy thingy to get a Philips PSC805 Aurilium.
Its an USB sound card, that work perfectly for music.
lAh0S
post Mar 7 2007, 12:56 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(player13 @ Mar 7 2007, 12:18 AM)
Does logitech has 5.1 wireless speakers?
This is an Altec Lansing Fans Club and you're asking LOGITECH here? doh.gif
lAh0S
post Mar 18 2007, 07:05 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

Okay since you all talking about ATP3, i'm going to tell the owners something really cool.
Do you all notice that when you all listening on someone singing, the singer sounded like he/she is having a running nose? laugh.gif
Try on some high vocal tracks, you all will notice it.
lAh0S
post Mar 19 2007, 11:32 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 19 2007, 06:53 PM)
Anyone know where can buy altec lansing speaker stand?
Speaker stand?
For your MX5021 ah? sweat.gif

0.0476sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:17 AM