5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 12 2010, 07:03 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ Aug 12 2010, 06:49 PM)
if i were to mod it, i gonna change the fitering first before changing the opamp la... atlease easier to detect if something went wrong...

and no im not gonna make my satellite shake my table... im focusing on the bass driver now... think of ditching the satellite mod (for now) coz its gonna cost alot and furtile if the source that feed the satelite isnt good
this is what i had in my mind too... change the signal path caps leading to sub amp chip, powerfilter cap and opamp for bass unit
oh btw, is it good to change opamp for the sub at such early stage ?

coz im gonna use my sennheiser headphone to drive mid and treable...
heh in that case... you can just change ONLY the caps in the signal path towards teh sub amp chip
stock 4558 good enough. no need to change opamp because you ditched your sats, you will not hear anything?
powerfilter? naw... you don't need it... the original will do.... go look at the price of the signal path caps first
if you want to change the paria 'maxcaps' or caps like that, forget it... duneed to mod lah =)

headphones?? roflt you gonna use the sub just for vibrator? hahahaha ok still your choise hahah hahaaa =DDDd

actually, if you are super noobs like me.
i will, open sub count how many caps of what value write on a paper....
then... i go check the price online first befoe i go thinking about modding
befcause if you m'sian, you will spend more than 50% of the modding time looking for parts than modding it

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Aug 12 2010, 07:09 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 13 2010, 09:16 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ Aug 12 2010, 11:44 PM)
Thanks for the advise.
hehe np, i love modding anything altec anyways =)
good luck modding your stuff and show us your mods! i wanna see oso

QUOTE(visualex @ Aug 13 2010, 09:02 AM)
it was very easy with 2 speakers("just join wire") and workin perfectly!!!
other 2 speakers I have connected in parallel
//Altec Lansing Audio Management Software for XP/2000
http://rs334.rapidshare.com/files/12212599...ker_Drivers.exe
Thanks to Rick Manwell
its digital controls version?
wow thanks for tracing the outputs!
do you have ideas on 4100 and atp5?
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 14 2010, 10:52 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 14 2010, 12:32 AM)
Sorry for the slow reply...

It is either no subwoofer sound at all or have subwoofer  sound, sometimes I hv to play heavy bass sounds to kick the low freq sound in..

these days, totally no subwoofer sound... satellite speakers no issues at all ( of coz sometimes the on / off switch a but malfunction but not an issue ... )

sub volume control... turn to extreme right, middle or extreme left...also no sound.. no cracking sound...

I did change to another working 3.5mm cables.. or plug to other sound source to eliminate the cable issue.. both cables is clean and nice...
When you mentioned solder is dry, what do you mean ? How to check it ? Which parts to check for this ??
no saund??? O_O habis la got burn smell anots? smell the bass hole and see
hard to identify your poroblem di now, too many possibilities. unless you opem the sub inside and take picture both sides i cannot really halp yoo
solder dry means the solder inside old di tercabut lo because vibrate by bass saund
if not is broken trace also common poroblem isnside the altecs
open and check for burn marks first?!! then watch for pregnant caps and see the trace side for boroken trace or dry soldah

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Aug 14 2010, 11:30 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 15 2010, 02:55 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 15 2010, 01:45 AM)
Ok, here are the pics on both sides of the board...

I did not smell burnt stuff... most probably loose connections or dry solder..

What do you mean broken trace ??

Nowdays, only stereo sound.... no subwoofer sound at all...

[attachmentid=1726705]
[attachmentid=1726707]
ENEMY SPOTTED!
reflow the dry soldah there!!!
the output from your 7370b is loooooooooooose
while you are at it, reflow the rest circled too for insurance =)
QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 15 2010, 07:55 AM)
broken trace means the circuit line on PCB (green color board) putus

beggarmaster2000, got any idea to mod a CS21?
very good sound but i want more rolleyes.gif
it looks similar to 4100 inside but unfortunately i am not much of a help =(
this place has a better idea for you http://duskblue616.pixnet.net/blog/post/14507867
looks like you'll need a major recap for the all the caps inside is lausy make in taiwan/china
as usual my idea of mod always starts at recapping the signal path first, powerfilter 2nd last and opamps last
cables and interconnects optional =) unless faulty

also, if you manage to get your hands on 50v 2.2uf elna,nichicon audio grade caps, and around selangor area i wanna bulk with yoo =)
because when i change the value, the sounds kelong

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Aug 15 2010, 03:45 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 15 2010, 05:11 PM

1,254 posts

thanks to your awesome pictures i can see the rosak part =)
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 16 2010, 12:58 AM

1,254 posts

=(
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 16 2010, 02:19 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(visualex @ Aug 16 2010, 02:03 PM)
Altec Lansing Audio Management Software for XP/2000
=http://rs334.rapidshare.com/files/122125990/ACS_495_Altec_Lansing_Speaker_Drivers.exe

Yes, it is digital controls via USB for Windows OSR2/98/2000/XP/Server 2003
compatible with ADA-305,ADA-310,ADA-355,ADA-600, may be more, I do not know

http://www.fixya.com/support/t156007-wirin..._lansing_avs500
thanks for your software, unfornately it did not help me solve my poroblem. both models i mentioned is not usb controlled
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 16 2010, 08:08 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ Aug 16 2010, 06:46 PM)
if u found any source too.. let me know biggrin.gif
i got some from here and here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1484676
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1484987
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 21 2010, 10:44 PM

1,254 posts

nothing special, but even regular ones beat the stock ones flat
today, i went to get some =) found some =) buying oledi
this where i go buy
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 21 2010, 10:53 PM

1,254 posts

i already have this...
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 21 2010, 11:01 PM

1,254 posts

erm.. what about this one?
it killed my granddad, my uncle, a few more other relatives and friends and now its slowly killin me =)
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 26 2010, 03:28 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Aug 26 2010, 11:39 AM)
my budget would be around 200~300 >.<
sit teksi goto lauyat....
go to upstairs shop.....
hello, my budget is around 200~300 for altec speker...
vroooom~~ vroom~~~ sit teksi go home with new speaker =)
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 28 2010, 10:43 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 28 2010, 08:33 PM)
bad:
"pak pak pak" sound for each volume step i increase or decrease rclxub.gif dulu don't have
tweeter response dragggg...... a bit "slower" become harsh

now let it run for a few hours, hope to see improvement biggrin.gif
why la no pics =( faster go open balik

are you sure you used the correct/still good condition components? you shouldn't get pak pak and slow tweets if good mod
if using 2nd hand components no need to burn/run in. should be good to go

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Aug 28 2010, 10:44 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 29 2010, 12:06 AM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Aug 29 2010, 12:02 AM)
what speaker model is that?
cs21 =)
not much ppl own that model....

hehe went to klang at lunch break stumbled across
what a great way to spend my saturday
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
didn't get to finish my recap cause i got a new toy to recap
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 30 2010, 04:56 PM

1,254 posts

yay! almost done now
anyone got any idea on replacing that thorn? 16v 0.1uf?
i got nothing that value.... what to replace it with?
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 31 2010, 10:50 PM

1,254 posts

hello everyone! today, i bought some goodies =)
ADA885 sub only
and ACS495 sub only
bukak time!
anyone got the fullset wanna share the rest of the circuit i'm missing?
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 2 2010, 01:26 AM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Sep 1 2010, 12:15 PM)
ADA885 is great. it has dual 'amp', the one beside the cone and inside the cabinet. the sub has dual voice-coil too... but easily get hot when idle...
hmmnn yeah i noticed the same thing for the ada305@acs495
new toys =)
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 2 2010, 05:05 PM

1,254 posts

ada 885 got double amp... one inside and one outside.... the one outside is cooled by the bass tube... the sub one inside as pictured above gets minimal cooling, which can get hot fast.... adding a fan is useless in this case... probably changing the the heatsinks to larger copper plates works better
then again at the end of the day... too much work/$ involved unless you want to fully overhaul your treasurebox
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 4 2010, 11:32 PM

1,254 posts

hey guys =) have you tried plugging it into another source? it might be your tv for all you know?

my guess is....
if it comes from pc fair it should be old stock or slightly defective product
my best guess is that 1 or more (plik plak suond)signal path capacitor is dead, hissing sound most likely come from power filter cap, so changing/upgrading it will be a good idea... dry solder might also be present in such situation
if i wouldn't ask for help here if i am no good with a solder and don't know how to pull your set apart... and most importantly we all need pictures of the insides before guess work =)
try your warranty first before attempting to cure it yourself unless you super confident =)

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Sep 4 2010, 11:35 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 6 2010, 08:55 AM

1,254 posts

low frequency sound should do, try benny bennasi... hehe if your caps dead sure bbbrrriik brrack

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:57 AM