86 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 >Bottom

LYN DashCam Discussion V1 | DashCam Talk Malaysia, Ask/discuss anything related to dashcam!

blurjoey
post Feb 12 2019, 12:32 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Feb 12 2019, 10:38 AM)
Depends on your car.
SUV or MPV normally RM150-250, while sedan should be cheaper, RM100-150 or so.
Those freelancers might charge you cheaper if you know where to find them
Sedans are easy to install. Can DIY.

SUV/MPV are a real headache for the rear cam.
blurjoey
post Feb 13 2019, 01:22 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Feb 13 2019, 10:37 AM)
Any good stand-alone rear dashcam in the market? I'm already using the 70Mai Pro for the front and thinking of adding one to the rear of my sedan.

Is the Blueskysea B1W's form factor suitable as a rear dashcam?
B1W is good as the rear cam.
blurjoey
post Feb 13 2019, 02:58 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Feb 13 2019, 02:15 PM)
I remember coming across 70mai rear dash cam. Not sure if it can be integrate or how it work. You can google a bit and see if it can addon to your 70mai pro then it would be good.
You mean this?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-Xiaomi-70mathese dashcamsng-Rear-Camera-BLACK/32888152076.html

Only can work with these dashcam but only for reversing I think...
blurjoey
post Feb 16 2019, 09:29 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 16 2019, 03:40 AM)
dont think seek for upgrade
but i am thinking other than plug power bank
got other alternative way to turn on 24 hours for dash cam
Best not to use a powerbank with a dashcam as there are cases of the powerbank exploding inside the car. Also, any lithium ion batteries are not good in hot weather.

Please don't run dashcam without parking mode function 24/7. The dashcam will overheat and dies immaturely.

If you want to use parking mode, best to invest in a Korean dashcam like Thinkware with true parking mode and get their battery pack using iron phosphate. Their battery pack can last continuously for about 36-48 hours running parking mode.

If without their parking mode and you hardwire to your car fusebox, max is about 12-24 hours which depends on your car battery condition, power level, etc. Thinkware dashcam has car battery protection which prevents battery drain.
blurjoey
post Feb 17 2019, 09:08 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 17 2019, 01:49 AM)
wao
now i know
cause i use xiao yi so far so good
just the thing i am complain
is after off my car
then the thing no run
Because Yi dashcam doesn't have parking mode function.

The battery inside is just to make sure the last video file is saved in the microSD and the settings are saved. Not for recording when the engine is off.
blurjoey
post Feb 17 2019, 10:07 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 17 2019, 10:02 AM)
I have a question. Are all dashcam able to withstand the heat in Malaysia? If we always park the car at an open space, will it reduce the lifespan of the dashcam?
Experienced before Yi dashcam can last about 1.5 years until it cannot hold a charge anymore. Everyday park outside in the sun and rain. But this mostly depends on the brand and quality of the dashcams.

Issues with lithium-ion batteries will differ. 1) Some cannot charge any more 2) gets bloated 3) starts leaking 4) worst case explodes.

Best to go for dashcams using supercapacitor as they'll last longer than those dashcams using lithium-ion batteries.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 17 2019, 10:08 AM
blurjoey
post Feb 17 2019, 04:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 17 2019, 10:31 AM)
If the battery can't hold charge, it can still be used provided it is always plugged into the power outlet?
Can still use but the settings will reset to factory default every time you power off. The battery is there to keep the settings until you power on the car.

Also, the last video file might be gone as there is no power to save the last video file when you off your engine.
blurjoey
post Feb 22 2019, 03:47 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 22 2019, 03:10 PM)
The last video will be saved? What about the current video that's rolling?
The supercapacitor in the A119 has enough power to save the current video files before turning off itself after you have your engine (aka the last video file) and also keep your settings like date and time until you start your engine the next time.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 22 2019, 03:49 PM
blurjoey
post Feb 22 2019, 03:49 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Feb 22 2019, 03:13 PM)
He mean the video that recording before you shutoff engine will saved. If got parking mode it will go into parking mode record. If not dashcan turn off itself after save.
Yes will go into parking mode when the engine is off but the dashcam must have parking mode feature and also hardwired to the car fuse box via BATT & ACC to work parking mode.
blurjoey
post Mar 11 2019, 10:03 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(dlttdltt @ Mar 11 2019, 05:25 AM)
Anyone knows when the new 2019 Thinkware models is coming to Msia ?  Looking forward to the f800 pro replacement.
I just got these new models yesterday from Sicurez.

But the Q900 or F900 is still in the wild. Should be this year. I'm waiting for it also to upgrade my F800 Pro.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 11 2019, 10:04 AM
blurjoey
post Mar 11 2019, 10:19 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Mar 11 2019, 10:07 AM)
Looking forward to your review on these new units!  biggrin.gif
Installed the X700 this morning 😋

blurjoey
post Mar 11 2019, 08:56 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(FollowMeRogerThat @ Mar 11 2019, 05:02 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Planning to get a set of Viofo A129 Duo (front+rear) for my Dad.

Can anyone please recommend me your go-to shop that has this model with installation services in Johor Bahru.

Another model that I could find locally was iRoad x9 (RM1320 including installation. Any positive/negative feedback about this model?

Not sure about JB though.

iRoad is a Korean dashcam. It's one of the premium dashcams. But iRoad last time lots of issues. Not sure about the latest models though.

But I prefer Thinkware also Korean. You can go look see in Kings Motorsport in JB.
blurjoey
post Mar 12 2019, 10:45 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(heart strings @ Mar 12 2019, 12:11 AM)
the cable management is bad... doh.gif
Yeah... Very bad cable management sweat.gif

This is as of yesterday evening laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 12 2019, 12:23 AM)
You must be new here and not know who blurjoey is.. What you see as bad cable management was probably done on purpose.. Check out his signature for a hint as to why sometimes he really shouldn't bother with best wiring practices...  smile.gif

Unless you are referring to the cables that shipped with and the placements on the unit itself... In which case, ride on..
innocent.gif

Anyway, 3 cables going to the dashcam... Power, rear cam and GPS... Wish they didn't take out the GPS module...

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Mar 12 2019, 01:31 AM)
Which dash cam is the best?

Thinkware launching their new Q800 pro to replace f800 pro so pointless to buy now

How about blackvue ? any new model coming out ?
I'm in the waiting list for the Thinkware's 4K dashcam laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Read in other forums that Blackvue is having overheat issues.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 12 2019, 10:50 AM
blurjoey
post Mar 12 2019, 10:53 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Mar 12 2019, 10:51 AM)
LOL. That cable I won't call it cable management at all. All cable just hanging there.....
My x9 installer done nice job on cable. Only 2 short cable can seen. But that also hide behind mid mirrior
Only can see 2 cables to my F800 Pro from the top if there aren't any other dashcams laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I DIY install the F800 Pro...

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 12 2019, 10:57 AM
blurjoey
post Mar 12 2019, 10:57 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Mar 12 2019, 10:55 AM)
I try take Pic later I drive. See it make sense or not..
But much worry cable length if later change suv.. LoL
Should be long enough with a 5 meters rear cable. Unless Vellfire then maybe harder.

How's your X9? I don't like the JDR file format iRoad is using. Very hard to extract out videos sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 12 2019, 10:58 AM
blurjoey
post Mar 12 2019, 11:00 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Mar 12 2019, 10:58 AM)
Work well. But now my phone can't connect via wifi. But didt pop out any error. Going to installer this evening.
I suspect the USB wifi dongle got problem...
blurjoey
post Mar 12 2019, 11:32 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Mar 12 2019, 11:21 AM)
Possible. Does the dongle included in x9 same like pc using one?

Then I can unplug it test on pc? And buy pc one for x9?
Not sure if it is the same but I guess better get the installer to test with another USB dongle on your X9.
blurjoey
post Mar 12 2019, 01:24 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Mar 12 2019, 11:39 AM)
Yea. Later I go installer there.
But replace USB dongle will be costly ithink.
Should be under warranty
blurjoey
post Mar 12 2019, 01:40 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(FollowMeRogerThat @ Mar 12 2019, 11:51 AM)
Thanks for recommendation BlueJoey  rclxms.gif

any Thinkware model for recommendation for combo front and rear?

my quoted price so far
iRoad Q7 = RM980
iRoad X9 = RM1300
includes installation
X550 if still have, X700 is latest, F770

The price of Thinkware is higher if compared to iRoad. Currently, Korea domestic market share is held by iNavi (Thinkware parent company) at 55%. Blackvue at 5% and iRoad at 9%.

Best you go over to the JB shop and check it out.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 12 2019, 02:09 PM
blurjoey
post Mar 14 2019, 11:00 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kahjun @ Mar 14 2019, 09:43 AM)
Between viofo a129 duo & the DDPai x2 Pro, which is is better ya ?
X2 Pro rear cam 720p and it's using lithium-ion battery. DDPai has a better app though.

A129 Duo is 1080p and using a super capacitor.

86 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 >Top

0.0798sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:34 AM