127 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V49-+♠+-, Latest Persona Variant: Persona SV

noobie1
post Sep 26 2013, 03:08 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 26 2013, 03:01 PM)
There is no specific mileage to clean as fubar mentioned. When you feel like your car no power, then try cleaning (I know stock PE pun no power liao but you can compared it vs new).

If you use those un-recommended mesh wire filter (it WAS discontinued by ALL car manufacturers in 70s for that reason), cuci very very early. Your engine lube pun got lots of dirts. Same with open pod filter.

Performance oiled paper filter is better, but still lots of micro dust get thru, probably need service before 60-80k mileage. For stock paper, you can last all the way to 80K, no problem. Just clean if you feel loss of power. Car with stock filter sometime never clean until 100K also no prob.
your mesh wire filter is plain mesh wire filter right? not those k&n and work filter?
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 26 2013, 03:12 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 26 2013, 03:07 PM)
I'm talking abt cleaning tb lar. Paper filter, I usually change at 10K to 15k mileage. Cheap cheap only. Less than RM20 but the air flow gave more power to engine. Those who wants to save to last 20K, no problem but frankly, the loss of power thus indirectly FC, won't make up for the abt RM5 that you save.
Ooooo. Ok. I plan to change the filter every 5K KM. About RM13 around my place.
Fubar20
post Sep 26 2013, 03:14 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 26 2013, 03:02 PM)
???? Stock paper filter until 80k? I reach 5k KM only and it's already more than half black.
U masuk hutan meh? whistling.gif
Fubar20
post Sep 26 2013, 03:15 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Sep 26 2013, 03:08 PM)
your mesh wire filter is plain mesh wire filter right? not those k&n and work filter?
Mine one is Works. blush.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 26 2013, 03:16 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 26 2013, 03:14 PM)
U masuk hutan meh?  whistling.gif
I think cus I always stop like a feet or two away from the car in front, and cus of a lot of stop start traffic, so have to sniff the fumes day in day out.
Fubar20
post Sep 26 2013, 03:18 PM

1,187 posts

And I use Signal oil on the filter. ph34r.gif
Cavino
post Sep 26 2013, 03:19 PM

842 posts

Yes. K&N and Works drop in filter already much better than those mesh but still filteration is actually much weaker than stock although on paper it says it filters better. There is no 2 ways to it, faster air flow comes with more dirt getting thru. The price to pay to increased performance but long term wise, as TB get burden, performance will drop until you clean tb. For stock filter, you should be able to maintain consistent performance if you change by 10K mileage without getting tb clean. It will still accumulate carbon and dirt deposit but at a much much slower rate thus performance remain high for much longer.

ps. Since fuber using singer oil.....need to mention this. It was a well known fact that once reoil was done, its performance WILL drop as its oiling evenness can never match factory oiled standard. Lets hope singer oil never drop inside tb...(oiling too much).

This post has been edited by Cavino: Sep 26 2013, 03:21 PM
Fubar20
post Sep 26 2013, 03:23 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 26 2013, 03:19 PM)
Yes. K&N and Works drop in filter already much better than those mesh but still filteration is actually much weaker than stock although on paper it says it filters better. There is no 2 ways to it, faster air flow comes with more dirt getting thru. The price to pay to increased performance but long term wise, as TB get burden, performance will drop until you clean tb. For stock filter, you should be able to maintain consistent performance if you change by 10K mileage without getting tb clean. It will still accumulate carbon and dirt deposit but at a much much slower rate thus performance remain high for much longer.

ps. Since fuber using singer oil.....need to mention this. It was a well known fact that once reoil was done, its performance WILL drop as its oiling evenness can never match factory oiled standard. Lets hope singer oil never drop inside tb...(oiling too much).
dry.gif Apa ni, fuber? And I use Signal oil and not Singer oil. Got difference yo. mad.gif vmad.gif
Cavino
post Sep 26 2013, 03:29 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 26 2013, 03:23 PM)
dry.gif Apa ni, fuber? And I use Signal oil and not Singer oil. Got difference yo.  mad.gif  vmad.gif
Oops.....tot you really use singer oil but to cheapskate to say it.... doh.gif ...sorry.

Apa itu signal oil...
jasonloh7906
post Sep 26 2013, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(fatani @ Sep 26 2013, 02:29 PM)
for a/c, recommended to service it every 30k km..mine at 40k km edi not too cold..

and for tb, what's the recommended mileage to clean it? im already reaching 50k km, never once clean TB..what is the symptom of a dirty TB?
you takut panas sangat kut?
mine 100k km still cold de? but then not that cold now actually. going to service it soon. haha~~

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 26 2013, 02:37 PM)
Slow response when u press the throttle pedal. Not instantaneous at all.
Or u take out ur air filter box which connect to TB and see there.
QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 26 2013, 02:45 PM)
Loss of power. I know when my TB was just cleaned last time the whole engine felt very light and was rather unsettling.
really ah? I got feeling my car will feel damn light after TB cleaning drool.gif

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 26 2013, 03:12 PM)
Ooooo. Ok. I plan to change the filter every 5K KM. About RM13 around my place.
no need for that lah. when your air filter is very clean, you change also won't improve airflow. not really worth if you ask me. but then if you change it every 10k km i think still ok.
Fubar20
post Sep 26 2013, 03:47 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 26 2013, 03:29 PM)
Oops.....tot you really use singer oil but to cheapskate to say it.... doh.gif ...sorry.

Apa itu signal oil...
Oil from Mr DIY. ph34r.gif
TSckdenion
post Sep 26 2013, 03:56 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Sep 26 2013, 02:29 PM)
for a/c, recommended to service it every 30k km..mine at 40k km edi not too cold..

and for tb, what's the recommended mileage to clean it? im already reaching 50k km, never once clean TB..what is the symptom of a dirty TB?
symptom of dirty TB difficult to know as u adapt to your car throttle response as u drive...it gets dirtier everyday and as u drive, u get used to it...for me i will do every 50000km lo... laugh.gif

and Works drop-in filtration not as good as K&N...shud b re-oil issue... K&N with proper re-oil kit will give good filtration but moneyflies.gif
Cavino
post Sep 26 2013, 04:02 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Sep 26 2013, 03:56 PM)
symptom of dirty TB difficult to know as u adapt to your car throttle response as u drive...it gets dirtier everyday and as u drive, u get used to it...for me i will do every 50000km lo... laugh.gif

Precisely why I mentioned the accumulated loss of power as it get dirtier negate the initial increase power and possibly fc saving early on. As it drags on and loss of power comes in gradually, the stock paper with much cleaner tb gradually exceeded drop in performance until you clean the tb. Stock paper cheap only while reoiling is still too much of a work. The same can't be said for stock paper of more higher end car, very expensive, (ie...city original stock cost abt RM70 now in SC) so for some saving cost using drop in makes sense.
V12Kompressor
post Sep 26 2013, 04:03 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

cheap and works the same as regular reoil kit.
TSckdenion
post Sep 26 2013, 04:07 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 26 2013, 04:02 PM)
Precisely why I mentioned the accumulated loss of power as it get dirtier negate the initial increase power and possibly fc saving early on. As it drags on and loss of power comes in gradually, the stock paper with much cleaner tb gradually exceeded drop in performance until you clean the tb. Stock paper cheap only while reoiling is still too much of a work. The same can't be said for stock paper of more higher end car, very expensive, (ie...city original stock cost abt RM70 now in SC) so for some saving cost using drop in makes sense.
wow...expensive! but still, stock filter filtration is d best wad... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 26 2013, 04:03 PM)

cheap and works the same as regular reoil kit.
tak pernah re-oil my filter before... icon_question.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 26 2013, 04:11 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Sep 26 2013, 04:07 PM)
wow...expensive! but still, stock filter filtration is d best wad... biggrin.gif
icon_question.gif Need to cut out the dirty section liao. icon_question.gif
Fubar20
post Sep 26 2013, 04:12 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Sep 26 2013, 04:07 PM)
Try Signal Oil. Cheap and cheerful. biggrin.gif
nickyclp
post Sep 26 2013, 04:14 PM

hahaha nice.. u all reli take good care of ur car..

i feel like revving with & without aircond hv some diff in power..
iskazulka
post Sep 26 2013, 04:16 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 26 2013, 05:12 PM)
Try Signal Oil. Cheap and cheerful.  biggrin.gif
i know what u did there... laugh.gif
Fubar20
post Sep 26 2013, 04:21 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Sep 26 2013, 04:16 PM)
i know what u did there...  laugh.gif
sad.gif Why u dun belip ah?

127 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:05 AM