Outline · Standard · [ Linear+ ]

> Ideas to Increase Fuel Efficiency, Combat fuel price hike with normal car

TSefaceninja
post Sep 15 2013, 10:54 AM, updated 13y ago

Facing with the raising petrol price, i think its good time to discuss about how to increase the fuel efficiency of our car. I'm not talking about driving behaviour (ie light foot driving style), because that is commonly known already. What would like to discuss are other methods.

1) Engine Oil.

2) Tyre Pressure.

3) Low Rolling Resistance Tyre. (LRR)

4) Use of friction reducing Engine Oil Additives

5) Myth Fuel Saving Devices.

6) Updated: Iridium Spark Plug

7) Updated: High Flow Air Filter

My setup currently:
1) Shell Helix HX-7E 5w-30 SS (next candidate: LM MOS 10w30 SS)
2) 36-37 psi (my car's recommended pressure is 33-35 psi. pump over a bit because tyre is 'hot' when arrive at petrol station)
3) Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 165/65R14 (i heard that Mirage comes with EP150 as OE tyre. I bet it is one of the factor to achieve its claimed 21km/l icon_idea.gif )
4) Bluechem Oil System Care
5) duh. none.

The problem is I've serviced the car with HX-7E, changed to EP150, and used the EO additive in a relatively short period. So if the FC has improved, i dun really know which is the contributing factor.. tongue.gif note that all the calculations above are assumptions only... please take it with a pinch of salt. if got mistake.. please point it out and forgive me ya.

so guys.. any comment, disagreement, or better suggestion?? or do you think those i invested is more costlier than the fuel saved? opinion opinions

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Dec 4 2013, 03:30 PM
4 Pages « < 2 3 4 
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Replies(60 - 74)
TSefaceninja
post Sep 18 2013, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(jolokia @ Sep 17 2013, 06:58 PM)
Fuel efficiency had turn into complex physics calculations ...lol...
hahahha just reading back today. perfect gas equation also come out. so in the end, still over inflate a little bit, when tyre is hot.

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Sep 17 2013, 07:40 PM)
Driving slowly will just be annoying to everyone else (unless you're doing it for safety reasons like carrying a s***load of durians at the back seat, then carry on).
very very agree. and btw, shouldn't you put durians at the trunk? Imagine if you really unlucky get into car collision, then all the thorns flying in your car...

QUOTE(yamato @ Sep 17 2013, 08:13 PM)
fuel saving topic is nothing new.

9 basic steps if you really into it:
http://www.wikihow.com/Save-Petrol
So far most of the thread here talk about drive gently etc etc to save fuel.

That is what WE can do to save fuel.
So how about.. what our CAR can do to increase FC???
For example to avoid traffic jam, sometimes really hard to do. Only thing to rely is probably waze? Then, if really stuck in jam already, isn't the last thing that can probably can save/reduce fuel is a duper good engine oil?
So far i've done (and monitoring) the 4 thing mentioned in the first post.
Vervain
post Sep 19 2013, 12:30 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

erm. 13.5 is rich.

changing to a much fuel efficient car is better than installing those fuel saving device. IMO
NINJIAO
post Sep 19 2013, 07:45 AM

214 posts

Take rm5k, buy a used kancil. U save not only fuel but also cheaper tyre, cheaper service, cheaper parts, cheaper road tax, cheaper insurance and look cheaper. But hey u save tons of hard earn cash yo.
Dwango
post Sep 19 2013, 07:49 AM

491 posts

1. Motorcycle
2. Find a new home nearer to your workplace, perhaps walking distance if possible.
kadajawi
post Sep 19 2013, 01:38 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(NINJIAO @ Sep 19 2013, 07:45 AM)
Take rm5k, buy a used kancil. U save not only fuel but also cheaper tyre, cheaper service, cheaper parts, cheaper road tax, cheaper insurance and look cheaper. But hey u save tons of hard earn cash yo.
But if you have an accident you are more likely to end up disabled (unable to work) or dead. Sometimes there is a thing like being too cheap (of course, if you have to, then you have to, but if you have the choice better get something a bit safer).

Another option is the F30 BMW 320d. Super low fuel consumption, better than Kancil. Or BMW i3. No fuel consumption thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Sep 19 2013, 01:38 PM
NINJIAO
post Sep 21 2013, 10:09 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 19 2013, 01:38 PM)
But if you have an accident you are more likely to end up disabled (unable to work) or dead. Sometimes there is a thing like being too cheap (of course, if you have to, then you have to, but if you have the choice better get something a bit safer).

Another option is the F30 BMW 320d. Super low fuel consumption, better than Kancil. Or BMW i3. No fuel consumption thumbup.gif
Wah.....BMW so expensive, the expensive-ness can cover donno how many decades of full tank fuel liao. laugh.gif

Sometimes really fated liao, some drive entire life motorbike oso no die, some drive super safety car also still die. If drive kancil, drive slow slow lor.
kadajawi
post Sep 21 2013, 12:22 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(NINJIAO @ Sep 21 2013, 10:09 AM)
Wah.....BMW so expensive, the expensive-ness can cover donno how many decades of full tank fuel liao.  laugh.gif
Sometimes really fated liao, some drive entire life motorbike oso no die, some drive super safety car also still die. If drive kancil, drive slow slow lor.
Then buy a Saga SV or Executive over a Vios, even if the Vios saves a bit.

You can move your luck into your favour though. Drive a safe car, and drive it sensibly. If you drive like an idiot you can't be saved. Of course there is no 100% guarantee you will not die in an accident, but if you look at worldwide statistics you will see that Europeans are much less likely to die on the road than Malaysians. There are various reasons for that, like drivers behaviour/education and the cars driven (also what they are focused on... Only if a car has absolutely everything will it also get safety features. Overseas it is the other way round... Even an empty car with steel rims will have ESP and 6 airbags).
VagueConcerns
post Sep 24 2013, 10:52 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Sep 18 2013, 10:42 PM)

very very agree.  and btw, shouldn't you put durians at the trunk?  Imagine if you really unlucky get into car collision, then all the thorns flying in your car...
So far most of the thread here talk about drive gently etc etc to save fuel.

A few days ago I saw a Kancil full of durians at the back seat. laugh.gif
VagueConcerns
post Sep 24 2013, 11:08 AM

888 posts

I've read somewhere that the rear ventshades can be taken off if you travel at the highway often. You can leave the front ones on as the shape of them and the way they face the wind doesn't make them as detrimental.

There is some modification that could be done to the front, such as making a vertical slot at the rear-most part of the front ventshades, closest to the B-pillar. You'd have created a slot for trapped air to get out of while still protecting the interior from getting wet.

No scientific testing has been done about that but they guy who did it (IIRC) did notice a fair degree of wind noise reduction.

I'd test it myself but the tape they are so well put on after 8 years they still stick like new, I'm afraid that I'llcrack them and have to buy a new one. tongue.gif

Other things you could do to your car:

1. Tint your windows (legally).
2. Fix any dents on the body.
3. Change mudflaps. Those square flat ones aren't good in the wind, and there are alternatives that provide the same protection. Ones on newer cars, those small stiff plastic things are good and they curve into the shape of the under-body for better aerodynamics.
4. Better air filter. Though this can be a bit expensive and if not chosen properly can provide no additional benefit. What you may get is better performance with the same fuel economy (not actually increasing it).

Things like CAI may only be useful if your engine is running super hot, and a bit lean I think. The cold air just makes it a tiny bit more difficult for fuel to vaporize. Unless you want to go full on racing and heat the fuel pre injection. laugh.gif Dangerous by the way, and expensive. Don't do it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by VagueConcerns: Sep 24 2013, 11:34 AM
mikehwy
post Sep 24 2013, 12:27 PM

17,100 posts

This one looks very real, and my BLM saliva also come out.
Really can or not? Will sifus give some ideas please? these shd benefit many of us here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ra03WLtfTug

VagueConcerns
post Sep 24 2013, 03:09 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Sep 24 2013, 12:27 PM)
This one looks very real, and my BLM saliva also come out.
Really can or not? Will sifus give some ideas please? these shd benefit many of us here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ra03WLtfTug
There are too many variables in play there. He could be having head/tail wind on either trip, and the test was done in one day, while these real world FC test should be done in weeks preferably.

There are also too many ways to cheat. He could've pushed the car hard for the first run, and then drove lightly for the second. And the way to measure the fuel was crap. The proper way is to have a small amount of fuel from a separate container which contains a certain number of litres of fuel (10 maybe), not relying on the reading from the fuel pump which may have slight errors. Then after each run pour the fuel out and measure what's left. And this should be done preferably in a test environment like a circuit, or even better a rolling road.
amad108
post Sep 26 2013, 01:34 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

try drive consistent speed for a very long time.. but in city area sure hard to do..
khangsiang90
post Sep 26 2013, 03:02 PM

Perodua Kenari can use 5w30 oil???
sg999
post Sep 26 2013, 07:37 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(khangsiang90 @ Sep 26 2013, 04:02 PM)
0w20
megat89
post Sep 26 2013, 08:28 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(khangsiang90 @ Sep 26 2013, 03:02 PM)
can..

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0230sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:29 PM