129 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

Judecat
post Nov 30 2013, 07:31 PM

17 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Anything, last choice Acer.
2. Budget: About 3.5k. Max 4k.
3. Usage: Gaming (Bioshock Inf, etc.), PS, AE, Il, movies and internet surfing.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14/15 inches. Lightweight with good battery life and cooling system. Touchscreen maybe but I'm getting wacom so if not, it's alright.

My last one was Vaio and it was really great and lasting but I'm aware Vaio is pretty expensive sweat.gif At first i thought of getting Mac Pro but don't know if good for gaming.

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Judecat: Nov 30 2013, 07:47 PM
Woopy_901
post Nov 30 2013, 08:23 PM

87 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Asus, lenovo or dell
2. Budget: RM 2000-2300
3. Usage: Watch Movie, Web surfing, movie streaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" and above
5. Personal preference: thin and light weight (this is the main factor im looking for)

thanks guys!
ha12am
post Nov 30 2013, 08:28 PM

1. Preferred Brand - Lenovo, Dell or Acer maybe
2. Budget - RM1800
3. Usage - Bit of gaming(fifa14 most probably), web surfing, watching movies and student use
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - at least 14"

looking for the best one that worth the money.. hope the sifuss here can guide me wink.gif
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 01:54 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Nov 30 2013, 10:40 AM)
can let me know where you get this price?
every famous IT retailer are selling the SSDs around this price range. note the point +/-
goods one will be around 400 though.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 01:56 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Poison-artz @ Nov 30 2013, 09:18 AM)
1.any brand except Acer.
2.rm2000
3.internet,movie,play lite game.
4.14inchi
5.must be lite,no heavy(less that 1.5kg)*
6.ssd .
7.with or without os.
no matchable option for you within this price range. however, you may consider this :

Dell
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 02:07 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Nov 30 2013, 10:28 AM)
1.) VOSTRO 5470 5470-20452G-DOS – 14” / i5-4200U / 4GB / 500GB / GT740M 2G / DOS
2.) Inspiron 7437 Ultrabook - 7437U-2065SG-W8 – 14” / i5-4200U / 4+2GB RAM / 500GB + 32MSSD / HD4400 / W8
3.) Inspiron 7537 - 7537T-2067SG-W8 – 15.6” Touch / i5-4200U / 4GB + 2GB RAM / 750GB / HD4400 / W8

anyone know how long those 2 battery can last?
the ram/hdd upgradeable?
how the screen?
for inspiron 7437, is there any model the screen is FHD with IPS?
thanks.
we dont know how long can the battery last or you might need to check internet reviews. however, i can tell you based on the specs.
the Inspiron 7437 has the best battery life but upgrade ability is less compared to the other 2.
Vostro 5470's battery life is okay and its the lightest among these 3.
Inspiron 7537 has average battery life (could last about 4-5 hours).
all these 3 models, the screens are tip-top in colour quality but my winner goes to Inspiron 7437 and 7537.

for the 7437, there are no full HD with IPS models. all Dell's laptops comes with their own TN panel technology called True Life but the colour quality is almost the same as an IPS screen.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:29 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(deadboy 164 @ Nov 30 2013, 12:00 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Tosiba, Dell
2. Budget: RM 2000
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: -
5. Personal preference: HDMI port, light weight
QUOTE(Woopy_901 @ Nov 30 2013, 08:23 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus, lenovo or dell
2. Budget: RM 2000-2300
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" and above
5. Personal preference: thin and light weight (this is the main factor im looking for)

thanks guys!
Dell
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

this is the only best option to fit your usage. price is RRP and negotiable.
jslyrocker
post Dec 1 2013, 08:34 AM

Hai there..i'm glad that i found this forum and hopefully i can get recommendations from sifu-sifu icon_question.gif
1. any reliable brand
2. Below 3300
3. main purpose for gaming
4. i7, and good graphic card
5. 15"

Questions
the price given is the exact price in selling?how far we can get the discount since u mention
the prices are negotiable?and im not expert in hardware..what determine gaming performance better?

Thank you so much smile.gif

raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:38 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(serjtankian57 @ Nov 30 2013, 05:09 PM)
Sifu appreciate if you could help me  notworthy.gif

1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Dell
2. Budget: RM 2500
3. Usage: gaming full spec if possible (FIFA & FM)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: the bigger the better?
5. Personal preference: HDMI port, light weight
the bigger the laptop, the heavier the laptop. the thinner the laptop, the more heat the laptop will trap. since the games you mentioned is not performance hungry, an integrated graphics can even do the job much more better. anyway, your options :

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Vostro 5470, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2249, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

ASUS
K451LB-WX071H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199, 4GB, 750GB, W8
A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: black/red/white
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499, 4GB, W8

however, you might consider Lenovo ones :

Lenovo
Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

prices are RRP and negotiable. use the remaining budget to extend the warranty to 3 years on-site. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:54 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Judecat @ Nov 30 2013, 07:31 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Anything, last choice Acer.
2. Budget: About 3.5k. Max 4k.
3. Usage: Gaming (Bioshock Inf, etc.), PS, AE, Il, movies and internet surfing.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14/15 inches. Lightweight with good battery life and cooling system. Touchscreen maybe but I'm getting wacom so if not, it's alright.

My last one was Vaio and it was really great and lasting but I'm aware Vaio is pretty expensive sweat.gif At first i thought of getting Mac Pro but don't know if good for gaming.

Thanks smile.gif
when we talk about cooling system, it is the best to get a thick laptop but it might be heavier. thinner ones look compact and easy to hold but thinness can trap lots of heat, which may result to uncomfortable usage after long hours (if no sufficient cooling was provided, might ended up hardware damage). and to advice, dont get touchscreen laptops, they are very useless and you might dont even use it after you purchased it.
for the screen, it is best if you could go for IPS screens or 90% NTSC gamut screens, since it is useful for your PS and Illustrator works. the laptops that have average screen colour quality to the best :

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

ASUS
N56JR-S4018H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT760M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

prices are RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:57 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ha12am @ Nov 30 2013, 08:28 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Lenovo, Dell or Acer maybe
2. Budget - RM1800
3. Usage - Bit of gaming(fifa14 most probably), web surfing, watching  movies and student use
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - at least 14"

looking for the best one that worth the money.. hope the sifuss here can guide me wink.gif
Dell
Inspiron 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699 [1.99kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8.1SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M @RM1699[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8.1SL@RM1899

Acer
E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8
E1-472G-54204G50, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

nexus2238
post Dec 1 2013, 09:03 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jslyrocker @ Dec 1 2013, 08:34 AM)
Hai there..i'm glad that i found this forum and hopefully i can get recommendations from sifu-sifu  icon_question.gif
1.  any reliable brand
2.  Below 3300
3.  main purpose for gaming
4.  i7, and good graphic card
5.  15"

Questions
the price given is the exact price in selling?how far we can get the discount since u mention
the prices are negotiable?and im not expert in hardware..what determine gaming performance better?

Thank you so much smile.gif
The price listed are the price sifus found on brands' brochure. Re-sellers normally will sell lower than that price.
How much discount you can get is based on your negotiation skill smile.gif (and stock availability, or special promotion, or pending replacement by new model, or how much the re-sellers like your face tongue.gif ...). Also pay attention and make sure you get local set with proper warranty support.
Gaming performance, at your budget, is still capped by the GPU in the laptop, which in your case is Nvidia GT750M.
Another main bottleneck in laptop performance is the slow HDD, which you can speed up by upgrading to SSD when you have more budget (256G ~ RM600).

Acer
V5-573PG-74504G50r, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

HP
Envy Touchsmart 15-J053TX, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080;touch)@RM3499[2.56kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

jslyrocker
post Dec 1 2013, 09:13 AM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 1 2013, 09:03 AM)
The price listed are the price sifus found on brands' brochure. Re-sellers normally will sell lower than that price.
How much discount you can get is based on your negotiation skill smile.gif (and stock availability, or special promotion, or pending replacement by new model, or how much the re-sellers like your face  tongue.gif  ...). Also pay attention and make sure you get local set with proper warranty support.
Gaming performance, at your budget, is still capped by the GPU in the laptop, which in your case is Nvidia GT750M.
Another main bottleneck in laptop performance is the slow HDD, which you can speed up by upgrading to SSD when you have more budget (256G ~ RM600).

Acer
V5-573PG-74504G50r, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2899, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Asus

HP
Envy Touchsmart 15-J053TX, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080;touch)@RM3499[2.56kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

Thank you so much nexus..appreciate your quick response...ur recommendations are useful thumbup.gif
gona do makeup 1st b4 meet the sellers.. biggrin.gif
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 09:17 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 1 2013, 09:03 AM)
how much the re-sellers like your face  tongue.gif 
to add, some resellers dont give cheaper price by just the face, some judge it by the tone of the customer (my type). if you sounded angry towards them, maybe you dont get the desired price. laugh.gif
jslyrocker
post Dec 1 2013, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 1 2013, 09:17 AM)
to add, some resellers dont give cheaper price by just the face, some judge it by the tone of the customer (my type). if you sounded angry towards them, maybe you dont get the desired price. laugh.gif
Noted..thanks Raymond ..tips for negotiating..pretty useful..haha..if u have more recommendations about my requirements..pls recommend to me..the more is better..thank you so much icon_idea.gif
SinKaWong
post Dec 1 2013, 09:30 AM

24 posts

I am looking for a laptop, need all sifu advice:
1) Any reliable brand
2) Budget: +- 2k
3) Excel & Surfing
4) i3/i5
5) prefer 15">14">13"

*prefer slim/light ard 2kg.

Thanks!
mudkipryan94
post Dec 1 2013, 09:55 AM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(SinKaWong @ Dec 1 2013, 09:30 AM)
I am looking for a laptop, need all sifu advice:
1) Any reliable brand
2) Budget: +- 2k
3) Excel & Surfing
4) i3/i5
5) prefer 15">14">13"

*prefer slim/light ard 2kg.

Thanks!
Maybe u can look for this
Dell
Inspiron 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699 [1.99kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8.1SL@RM1899
ciahcra
post Dec 1 2013, 10:00 AM

Always hungry
897 posts

Hi sifu, I'm looking for a laptop with a following spec:

1. Any EXCEPT Acer

2. +- 2k

3. MS Office, some charting software for trading forex/stockmarket, maybe Dota, but I don't need to have really good graphic

4.> 13" would be good

5. Good battery life

6. Good warranty and support

TQ sifu!
Judecat
post Dec 1 2013, 10:10 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 1 2013, 08:54 AM)
when we talk about cooling system, it is the best to get a thick laptop but it might be heavier. thinner ones look compact and easy to hold but thinness can trap lots of heat, which may result to uncomfortable usage after long hours (if no sufficient cooling was provided, might ended up hardware damage). and to advice, dont get touchscreen laptops, they are very useless and you might dont even use it after you purchased it.
for the screen, it is best if you could go for IPS screens or 90% NTSC gamut screens, since it is useful for your PS and Illustrator works. the laptops that have average screen colour quality to the best :

Lenovo

Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

ASUS
N56JR-S4018H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT760M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard

Acer

Thanks for the reply notworthy.gif

Lightweight is important to me, preferably around/< 2kg cause my Vaio is 2.7kg and it's really heavy to carry around sweat.gif Looks like my only option is Acer V7-582PG-74508G52k, it has great specs, FHD screen and lighter than the rest but I've bad experience with Acer before, it broke in <2 years so I don't know how reliable to go with it now unsure.gif
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 10:26 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Judecat @ Dec 1 2013, 10:10 AM)
Thanks for the reply  notworthy.gif

Lightweight is important to me, preferably around/< 2kg cause my Vaio is 2.7kg and it's really heavy to carry around sweat.gif Looks like my only option is Acer V7-582PG-74508G52k, it has great specs, FHD screen and lighter than the rest but I've bad experience with Acer before, it broke in <2 years so I don't know how reliable to go with it now  unsure.gif
Acer's quality is pretty good recently, especially their ultrabook lineups.

129 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:16 AM