17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 11:55 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 22 2013, 11:30 AM)
what if i go back to the place where i bought it and ask them to change it for me hmm.gif
They will probably tell you that the upgrade is at your own risk, just like all the other sellers hmm.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 01:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kykyky007 @ Sep 22 2013, 12:47 PM)
1) MSI, Apple, Dell
2) < Rm 5000
3) Max 3 Games ( Dota2, Blackshot, ...) and Normal use for coursework.
4) 15 to 17. Prefer Slim model.
Can forget about Apple if you are into gaming nod.gif

Definitely these brows.gif
17.3"
MSI
GS70-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4699[2.66kg][Dynaudio], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB
GS70-2OD (Stealth)-096MY, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX756M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4899, 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB

Slimmest and lightest 17 incher at the moment brows.gif
Nothing from Dell at the moment that can do you justice haha tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 02:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 22 2013, 02:12 PM)
i wish to know for S410P without touch screen functions...is it 1.8KG?
QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 22 2013, 02:28 PM)
Which version of windows 8 installed for Lenovo S410P, Lenovo S410P Touch and Lenovo Y410P?
Please refer to sellers at Garage Sales for more details nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 02:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kykyky007 @ Sep 22 2013, 02:46 PM)
I don't think I can play many games when I enter Uni.. So, still worth it?
Why Apple cannot game at all?
Well, with that spec, you can even play Dota 3, 4, 5 etc. laugh.gif Its a powerful machine~
And depending on your course, some i.e. Engineering, 3D protein simulating, 3D design etc., the dedicated GPU will come in handy as well nod.gif

Apple is not that well supported for games la lol, everyone knows that laugh.gif

If you are not really keen on getting such a powerful machine, you can opt for much cheaper ones, RM3k or so is good enough already I would say, save the money for something else nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 03:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(SoyaCencalok @ Sep 22 2013, 03:02 PM)
Err any suggestion for 1.5k budget?
Please follow the format on the 1st page man, much easier for the sifus to recommend icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(kykyky007 @ Sep 22 2013, 03:02 PM)
Haha~ thanks for the advice
As long the laptop looks super good then I will buy it.
I'm comparing the Gs70 and Macbook pro. rclxub.gif
Can you help me by listing down the pros and cons? thumbup.gif
The MBP 15 costs more than RM5k right? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 05:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kykyky007 @ Sep 22 2013, 03:24 PM)
I can increase my budget for Apple product only. flex.gif
QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Sep 22 2013, 03:46 PM)
choose ur priority, if gaming go for msi/lenovo/alienware/illegear/ if u want looks but low spec buy apple,
+1, just get an Apple if you really want one lol, most importantly is that you are happy with it laugh.gif

Though you can just consider the MBA 13 or MBP 13 or MBP RD 13, those are within your budget. Don't really need a 15 incher unless if you are into designing etc. hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 06:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 22 2013, 03:41 PM)

correct , for some people , its easy , for some , its hard, just caution, dont take risk wub.gif
You mean don't buy? haha laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 06:38 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 22 2013, 06:15 PM)
biggrin.gif i mean if try to upgrade laptop;s with warranty void sticker label, dont take risk if you not confident to do that . laugh.gif
Aiyo, you are pretty much the most expert one here at upgrading lei, U say don't take risk people sure won't take one laugh.gif laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 11:13 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 22 2013, 10:45 PM)
After a day in lowyat, i understand the miserable most people who are not exposed to forum felt.

The aim was to source for best deal on Lenovo S300 - 1007u spec. End up none carry and they are selling the Pentium 997 spec.

Fyi 1007u spec RM1099 on Lenovo brochure, best price i was offer for P997 spec - RM1400. Both inclusive of Window 8.

Best part was there's this guys selling Lenovo notebooks on the center area of Lowyat - I ask for S300 - the response is i should go for G405 (Remind me so much of someone here sharing his story about this). Turn me off immediately!

Now looking at the older spec of Vostro 5460 as the price is slight upgrade over the S300 but with I3. wink.gif
Sorry that you have to went through all that. But I'm glad to know that you didn't fell for their tricks icon_rolleyes.gif
Do take note that the Vostro 5460 has a pretty weak WiFi card ya, will be a problem if the router is far away.
Though there was a case that a customer managed to ask Dell to replace it with a Realtek WiFi card which solved the problem instantly icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 11:17 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Sep 22 2013, 11:12 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - around 1.8k -2.3k
3. Usage - web browsing, very light gaming (league of legends etc)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15.6"

If possible, other preferences also include:
- anti glare, 1600x900 screen if possible
- 7200rpm hdd

Thanks a lot for the help!  smile.gif
Newer budget notebooks don't come with 7200rpm HDD anymore unfortunately sad.gif
Closest would be this one:
15.6"
Asus S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8

The 500GB HDD is still 5400rpm, but having a 24GB mSATA SSD will speed things up a lot nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 11:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 22 2013, 11:35 PM)
i know more as you guys share alot here notworthy.gif

only one customer managed that? sweat.gif
Yeah, some of the sifus here are really, really pro thumbup.gif

Yeah, just one at the moment. I'm helping my friend to "fix" hers as well laugh.gif
Will update if it works~

Otherwise, perhaps can consider the 5470? Or perhaps other brands? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2013, 11:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 22 2013, 11:44 PM)
budget is the issue, just want something that is slight more than 1k. Earlier model considered was Lenovo S300 with Window which is expected to be about 1k mark.

The older spec of 5460 with I3-3110 fits in perfectly. That is if i can still find any.

Want it light and fit slight more than 1k budget is tough biggrin.gif
Ya, I know what you mean laugh.gif
The 5460 is pretty much the only choice there I suppose hmm.gif
Managed to find remaining stocks in Garage Sales? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2013, 12:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 23 2013, 12:07 AM)
some out of stock...

on the extended warranty - i was told below;

within 3 months of purchase - same price as when you purchase the laptop
after 3 months it will cost more to buy - correct of BS?
I'm not sure whether its within 2 weeks, 1st or 3 months after purchase, but there is such a thing nod.gif
Probably because the start of warranty will be from the day the warranty is purchased? hmm.gif

Dell also offers warranty extension for units that are about to become out-of-warranty icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2013, 05:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(faiz293 @ Sep 23 2013, 05:22 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: none
2. Budget: 3k. will consider if exceed a bit
3. Usage: for my father. do her office work. most of the time using microsoft office application only. But hoping with that budget can get a good laptop that can play latest games.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13.3" and below.

This was proposed by one of the forumer:

credit to Unseen83
Just curious, what's the point of getting a notebook that can play games but not using it to play games? laugh.gif
Can consider the following (non-gaming premium notebook):
13"
Dell XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3199[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit

Samsung
Series 7 Ultra, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999[JBL][1.46kg], 4GB, W8

Sony
Vaio SVT13126CVS, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch) + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.66kg], 4GB, W8; color: silver; Vaio carrying case
Vaio SVT13136CVS, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch) + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.66kg], 4GB, W8; color: silver; Vaio carrying case

*prices in RRP, negotiable~
All these sport an SSD which will significantly boost computing experience icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2013, 06:08 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(chriscrossx @ Sep 23 2013, 06:05 PM)
Hi guys! I'm new to these things and I need a few advices from some sifus here!  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

1. Dell, Lenovo, Asus or Toshiba
2. Around RM2000 - RM 2300
3. For multimedia and graphic design course and also gaming ( games like minecraft and DOTA 2 only )
4. 14'" or 15" with W8 and optical drive
So far I have in mind are these laptop:
DELL
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

LENOVO
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed

TOSHIBA
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white
So which one do u guys think is the best?

Need some advices about their warranty claims and heating issues too! (Heard that Asus got bad warranty service)
Touchscreen is pretty overrated for normal notebooks, so please consider this one instead nod.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

Use remaining budget to extend your warranty to 3 years on-site (~RM250) and you are good to go thumbup.gif
*Dell offers the best warranty service in the country at the moment, coming over to fix your notebook within 1-2 working days after remote diagnosis rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 23 2013, 06:09 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2013, 08:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(robeng @ Sep 23 2013, 08:12 PM)
1. Toshiba
2. 1.5k
3. Internet
4. Dun mind

Tq in advance
How about this one?
14"
Toshiba Satellite C40-A103E, Pentium 2020M + Intel HD4000@RM1449, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; color: black

Use remaining budget to upgrade to 4GB RAM or higher brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2013, 10:26 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lityan52520 @ Sep 24 2013, 10:21 AM)
Preferred brand: Dell/sony/lenovo
Use for: college assignment/ daily internet use
Budget: 2.4k
Screen size: 14/13.3" with touchscreen 'window 8'
Assuming your college assignments involve only office tasks nod.gif

Can consider these:
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1888[2.33kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1988 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

Lenovo Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony SVF14217SG, i3-3227U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors:black/white/pink

* prices in RRP, negotiable
* If you are not into gaming, there's no real need for the Nvidia GT740M nod.gif
I would recommend going for the RM1888/1988 variants of the Dell, and use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years, and get an SSD. That will give you a much larger boost in terms of speed and peace of mind icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2013, 10:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 24 2013, 09:51 AM)
Notebook hardware warranty typically will not be impact by the software user install on the notebook  doh.gif  (unless you install some software that aim to control the hardware (eg. overclocking) and somehow fried it  whistling.gif

1. Big difference.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html
(btw, don't tell us you don't know how to understand the benchmark, just look at the numbers and see the difference, ok?  icon_rolleyes.gif )

2. No.

3&4. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2851949
ytlay sifu has very nicely put up all the Lenovo pamphlet on the 1st post. Read and pick it up lah.
Alternatively, go to the garage sales thread to ask the re-sellers.
Aiyo nexus2238 sifu, why you keep spoonfeeding? laugh.gif laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2013, 12:13 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 24 2013, 10:44 AM)
TS has a lot of questions to ask i think.

jiant further questions can be ask through PM or open a new topic. the suggestion thread is not for asking/discussing about warranties and questions regarding laptops other than suggestions.
Aiyo, 19 posts already man laugh.gif
Asking a lot of questions which can be easily found by a simple Google search sweat.gif
You are right, better open thread to ask those questions, see how the other forumers respond laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2013, 02:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 24 2013, 02:28 PM)
Found this on garage sales from one of the reseller.

Dell Vostro 5460-1245SG

I3-3120M / 4GB / 500GB / Intel HD / uBuntu - RM1350 [RM200 off from Dell online]
Seemed pretty decent? Well, at least better than not finding anything laugh.gif
But please do make sure that its not refurbished units ya icon_rolleyes.gif

17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0557sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:58 PM