16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Is water heater safe to use?

David_78
post Sep 26 2016, 10:21 PM

140 posts

Go for Joven only double elcb , inside the copper heating element is coated with fire resistance plastic. Even the copper leaking never go thru the plastic coating will keep the water inside and change new unit every 4 year

This post has been edited by David_78: Sep 26 2016, 10:22 PM
ozak
post Sep 26 2016, 11:02 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sharethebest @ Sep 26 2016, 10:14 PM)
Dear Bros, 

I have just bought a Panasonic instant water heater DH-3 HT model and I am going to install
by this week. Just want to seek some advice whether the following cable is suitable for installation
from the 20A Junction Box.  The cable length from the junction box to the instant water
heater is about 2 feet. 

The PVC flexible 3 core cable is Keystone BS 2004  70/0.0076. 

Your input are very much appreciated.  Thank You.
The wire can support up to 18A.

The heater max at 15A.

But I guess you not run your heater max. And not long length. So should be ok.

If you want safe, than get a 4mm wire.
nanadeadbeat
post Jan 6 2017, 04:45 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 11 2016, 06:59 PM)
All the heater already have rcd. Don't think you can get a heater without it nowadays.

Rcd shouldn't install inside the bathroom. Humid and hot stim can corrode the contact and mechanism.
Ozak bro, i am looking for water heater so i came through this thread.

After some survey some of the sales mention panasonic using mechanical type ELB.

However i did not found any RCB in the heater.

In this case, is this Panasonic Heater safetier than those normal electronic type ELB like Alpha? (of course i will change every 5-6 years, what i means in technical way)

From the description, does it include RCD?

ozak
post Jan 6 2017, 05:39 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(nanadeadbeat @ Jan 6 2017, 04:45 PM)
Ozak bro, i am looking for water heater so i came through this thread.

After some survey some of the sales mention panasonic using mechanical type ELB.

However i did not found any RCB in the heater.

In this case,  is this Panasonic Heater safetier than those normal electronic type ELB like Alpha? (of course i will change every 5-6 years, what i means in technical way)

From the description, does it include RCD?

Mechanical is definitely safer and more reliable than electronic.

All the house here either RCD or ELCB is using mechanical type for the electrical short circuit trip.

Like your house, how long is your RCD/ELCB run without change?
Richard
post Jan 6 2017, 09:14 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 6 2017, 05:39 PM)

All the house here either RCD or ELCB is using mechanical type for the electrical short circuit trip.

Just to be clear an RCD(Residual current device) and a Voltage operated ELCB (Earth Leakage circuit breaker) functions very differently

The former is current operated the later is Voltage operated..

An RCD operates on an imbalanced current through a coil and operates with Phase/Neutral only..

For water heater a 30 mA difference between the supply live(L) and the return (N) will trip the device

The ELCB operates on a Live wire fault to earth.. The difference in Voltage then trips the device ..

Which btw voltage operated ELCB's are prohibited from installation by ST..

This is because without a good earth a Voltage operated ELCB sometimes will not trip..

Edit *

An electronic solid state Relay has no moving parts (It operates magnetically and instantaneous)..

A mechanical Relay requires springs and contact points (It operates via bimetalic thermal heat) ..

This post has been edited by Richard: Jan 6 2017, 09:21 PM
imoogi99
post Jan 7 2017, 11:26 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Sep 12 2016, 12:08 PM)
Okay. Don't know what is RCD though. Although the water heater comes with built-in RCD, there is a need to install an additional RCD so that the risk of being electrocuted by the water heater will be minimized to zero? Looks like additional cost to get the electrician to work on this apart from the additional cost in the RCD and the hacking of walls and stuff. So troublesome.
As far as I know, all instance water heater comes with ELCB. Even the Alpha 18i smart water heaters comes with ELCB. This is what is told by the supplier. So installing and RCD does help. As explained by Richard above, RCD and ELCB works differently.
Richard
post Jan 8 2017, 10:19 AM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(imoogi99 @ Jan 7 2017, 11:26 PM)
As far as I know, all instance water heater comes with ELCB. Even the Alpha 18i smart water heaters comes with ELCB. This is what is told by the supplier. So installing and RCD does help. As explained by Richard above, RCD and ELCB works differently.
I was looking for a voltage operated ELCB but all I found was current operated type..

Current flows though the live (L) wire must return to the neutral (N) and trips if any imbalance..

All water heaters nowadays operate with this type device and some call it an ELCB but there is no an earth wire connected to it..

meaning current operated ELCB but even if the fault current flows from someone touching a live wire and draining 30mA through his body the device will trip..

It is confusing as the term is used loosely..
kb24
post Jan 8 2017, 10:18 PM

139 posts

Hi i just install water heater today but during usage of heater, i heard my main mcb has buzzing sound. When turn off heater, the buzzing went off. Is it normal? Thanks
ozak
post Jan 8 2017, 10:32 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(kb24 @ Jan 8 2017, 10:18 PM)
Hi i just install water heater today but during usage of heater, i heard my main mcb has buzzing sound. When turn off heater, the buzzing went off. Is it normal? Thanks
Change the MCB.

The MCB contact is dirty.
kb24
post Jan 8 2017, 10:36 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 8 2017, 10:32 PM)
Change the MCB.

The MCB contact is dirty.
Ok sure, will do. Thanks for advise ☺
nanadeadbeat
post Jan 9 2017, 03:30 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 6 2017, 05:39 PM)

Thank you for the explanation, my house is new condo unit. So in this case i am recommended to have this kind of Instant Water Heater + RCD switch outside the bathroom. Is that what you means?
Richard
post Jan 10 2017, 08:55 AM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(nanadeadbeat @ Jan 9 2017, 03:30 PM)
Thank you for the explanation, my house is new condo unit. So in this case i am recommended to have this kind of Instant Water Heater + RCD switch outside the bathroom. Is that what you means?
If that is your decision, you need to purchase a 20 Amp water heater with built in RCD..

However it is a redundancy option (meaning it is not required) as the water heater itself already has the ELCB,

assuming it is current operated which almost all new units are, seeing that ST(Suruhanjaya Tenaga) has prohibited the use of Voltage operated ELCB ..
DecaPix
post Jan 10 2017, 09:47 AM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

QUOTE(nanadeadbeat @ Jan 9 2017, 03:30 PM)
If your condo is new unit then most probably it comes with RCD for the water heater point.
It's part of ST requirement for water heater point to come with RCD.
Just go check the DB to confirm.
If unsure, just snap a picture and post here.
Plenty of sifu here to help. rclxms.gif
nanadeadbeat
post Jan 10 2017, 09:59 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jan 10 2017, 09:47 AM)
If your condo is new unit then most probably it comes with RCD for the water heater point.
Plenty of sifu here to help.  rclxms.gif
i dont think they provide, they dont even provide the water heater switch.
i will check again and update you all.

Thank you ya
alexander3133
post Jan 10 2017, 10:07 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jan 10 2017, 09:47 AM)
Plenty of sifu here to help.  rclxms.gif
My condo which less than 2 years old, does not have an individual RCD for water heater point in DB, only one for the whole house.
Planning to install two 10mA RCD and change to a bigger DB.

sharethebest
post Jan 15 2017, 04:55 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 10 2017, 10:07 AM)
My condo which less than 2 years old, does not have an individual RCD for water heater point in DB, only one for the whole house.
Planning to install two 10mA RCD and change to a bigger DB.

This is a Panasonic instant water heater (with built-in ELCB) which I installed by myself 3 months ago.

So far so good with the water pressure.

This post has been edited by sharethebest: Jan 29 2017, 10:12 PM
sharethebest
post Feb 4 2017, 06:10 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(sharethebest @ Jan 15 2017, 04:55 PM)
This is a Panasonic instant water heater (with built-in ELCB) which I installed by myself 3 months ago. 

So far so good with the water pressure.

Powerbreaker is now available online

http://my.rs-online.com/web/p/fused-spurs/1579636/

This post has been edited by sharethebest: Feb 4 2017, 06:14 PM
amenlo9
post Feb 5 2017, 02:36 PM

2,627 posts

What type of water heater to buy if i want connect and supply hot water to bathtub?
ozak
post Feb 5 2017, 03:47 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Feb 5 2017, 02:36 PM)
What type of water heater to buy if i want connect and supply hot water to bathtub?
For bathtub size, you need a tank heater or solar heater.
amenlo9
post Feb 5 2017, 09:11 PM

2,627 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 5 2017, 03:47 PM)
For bathtub size, you need a tank heater or solar heater.
I think tank heater for whole house supply. I just need hot water in master bathroom for shower and bathtub. Found these common point of use heater from oversea website

http://m.homedepot.com/p/EcoSmart-2-5-Gal-...I-2-5/205610802

This post has been edited by amenlo9: Feb 5 2017, 09:49 PM

16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:59 AM