Is water heater safe to use?
ozak
Jul 27 2016, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 27 2016, 05:18 PM) Then these manufacturers should at least warn or give instructions to install it with RCCD Mine dont use heating elements but heats up the water using condensing coils. I wonder got worries or not? Electricity only runs to the compressor (black thing) You know water and electric is enemy each others. Always remember this. As long as your compressor side unit is protected, than should be no problem. Even your condenser side have no heating element, current just flow from the compressor unit side. If that unit have some leakage problem. The piping copper and condensor is a electric conductor.
atah
Aug 23 2016, 03:55 PM
Hi guys, Going to replace my heater and come across this post. My current heater wiring is directly from the heater switch outside the bathroom to the water heater directly. And there's no dedicated RCD between the heater switch and the main DB. So now I'm planning to install a 10mA RCD for this heater, but in order to simplify the installation, is it possible to install this RCD next to the heater (i.e. existing cable from the heater switch will go into the RCD first then new cable from RCD to the water heater), instead of the recommended one of having the RCD between the heater switch and the main DB? Simple illustration is shown in the picture below, instead of the default positioning of the RCD, to put it right before the water heater.
sharethebest
Sep 8 2016, 12:53 AM
In my opinion, this is the correct method. Correct me if I am wrong.
This post has been edited by sharethebest: Sep 8 2016, 12:54 AM
Richard
Sep 9 2016, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(atah @ Aug 23 2016, 03:55 PM) Hi guys, Going to replace my heater and come across this post. My current heater wiring is directly from the heater switch outside the bathroom to the water heater directly. And there's no dedicated RCD between the heater switch and the main DB. So now I'm planning to install a 10mA RCD for this heater, but in order to simplify the installation, is it possible to install this RCD next to the heater (i.e. existing cable from the heater switch will go into the RCD first then new cable from RCD to the water heater), instead of the recommended one of having the RCD between the heater switch and the main DB? Simple illustration is shown in the picture below, instead of the default positioning of the RCD, to put it right before the water heater.
Thanks Yes.. That's the best.. You can tidy up the wiring by removing the 3 pin socket, recess in it's place a 4" pvc box, attach a DIN rail then you can clip on the RCD on the rail, make a cut out of the 4" pvc box cover for RCD switch/push button and you have double safety protection.. 10mA trip on the heater and another 100mA on the main DB..
Dwango
Sep 11 2016, 08:22 AM
For those who have phobia using water heaters due to safety issue, can avoid water heaters. Just buy a medium-sized pail to store water. Whenever you want to take a warm shower, just boil some hot water using a kettle and pour the hot water into the pail of water. Just use a small bucket for scooping up the water from the pail to take a shower.
ozak
Sep 11 2016, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Sep 11 2016, 08:22 AM) For those who have phobia using water heaters due to safety issue, can avoid water heaters. Just buy a medium-sized pail to store water. Whenever you want to take a warm shower, just boil some hot water using a kettle and pour the hot water into the pail of water. Just use a small bucket for scooping up the water from the pail to take a shower. So phobia meh. Install another rcd near heater is good enough. Or use solar heater. But without the heater.
Dwango
Sep 11 2016, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 11 2016, 10:46 AM) So phobia meh. Install another rcd near heater is good enough. Or use solar heater. But without the heater. Some people can have this phobia of electrocuted by these water heaters as there are cases. Solar heater is only practical to be installed at landed property, double storey homes or something similar. Not feasible for condominiums or apartments.
sharethebest
Sep 11 2016, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Sep 11 2016, 10:59 AM) Some people can have this phobia of electrocuted by these water heaters as there are cases. Solar heater is only practical to be installed at landed property, double storey homes or something similar. Not feasible for condominiums or apartments. Individual RCD should be installed in wet area such as in the bathroom. If too troublesome to install, buy instant water heater with built-in RCD or ELCB safety device.
ozak
Sep 11 2016, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(Dwango @ Sep 11 2016, 10:59 AM) Some people can have this phobia of electrocuted by these water heaters as there are cases. Solar heater is only practical to be installed at landed property, double storey homes or something similar. Not feasible for condominiums or apartments. The feeling will be gone once you install additional rcd.
ozak
Sep 11 2016, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(sharethebest @ Sep 11 2016, 03:29 PM) Individual RCD should be installed in wet area such as in the bathroom. If too troublesome to install, buy instant water heater with built-in RCD or ELCB safety device. All the heater already have rcd. Don't think you can get a heater without it nowadays. Rcd shouldn't install inside the bathroom. Humid and hot stim can corrode the contact and mechanism.
Dwango
Sep 12 2016, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(sharethebest @ Sep 11 2016, 03:29 PM) Individual RCD should be installed in wet area such as in the bathroom. If too troublesome to install, buy instant water heater with built-in RCD or ELCB safety device. QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 11 2016, 06:56 PM) The feeling will be gone once you install additional rcd. Okay. Don't know what is RCD though. Although the water heater comes with built-in RCD, there is a need to install an additional RCD so that the risk of being electrocuted by the water heater will be minimized to zero? Looks like additional cost to get the electrician to work on this apart from the additional cost in the RCD and the hacking of walls and stuff. So troublesome.
idoblu
Sep 12 2016, 12:14 PM
ozak
Sep 12 2016, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 12 2016, 12:14 PM) Same function. But you can't use this for heater. Max amp is 10A or 13A. I m using this.  Slowly will change all the socket to this rcd type.
idoblu
Sep 12 2016, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 12 2016, 01:30 PM) Same function. But you can't use this for heater. Max amp is 10A or 13A. I m using this.  Slowly will change all the socket to this rcd type. This is nice! Where to buy? Is it necessary to change all, whole house?
ozak
Sep 12 2016, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 12 2016, 01:46 PM) This is nice! Where to buy? Is it necessary to change all, whole house? Can get it from lelong. But no ready stock. Take some time to order. Not a common thing. http://www.lelong.com.my/e8215drc-pieno-1-...7-01-Sale-I.htmThat depend your safety level. You can use on those socket that you use frequent. The electrical thing that you touch and outdoor. I realize I have few rcd type in my home. Built in, double socket and this latest. I think I m phobia.
idoblu
Sep 12 2016, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 12 2016, 02:08 PM) Can get it from lelong. But no ready stock. Take some time to order. Not a common thing. http://www.lelong.com.my/e8215drc-pieno-1-...7-01-Sale-I.htmThat depend your safety level. You can use on those socket that you use frequent. The electrical thing that you touch and outdoor. I realize I have few rcd type in my home. Built in, double socket and this latest. I think I m phobia.  This MTIS what also dun have wan. Last time tried to buy from them before. Also Pieno range Maybe See Wide got. Anyway my house all Pieno so matches very well, only thing expensive.
ozak
Sep 12 2016, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 12 2016, 02:27 PM) This MTIS what also dun have wan. Last time tried to buy from them before. Also Pieno range Maybe See Wide got. Anyway my house all Pieno so matches very well, only thing expensive. I m using pieno also. But they are the fastest I can get. I order outside, take me a month. And mostly just don't want do. So get online lor. Yup. Expensive. Just install at those socket that you have to touch everyday. Since it is expensive, slowly replace lor.
idoblu
Sep 12 2016, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 12 2016, 02:41 PM) I m using pieno also. But they are the fastest I can get. I order outside, take me a month. And mostly just don't want do. So get online lor. Yup. Expensive. Just install at those socket that you have to touch everyday. Since it is expensive, slowly replace lor. Maybe for hair dryer 🤔 Those breakers at the fuse box not enough meh?
ozak
Sep 12 2016, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 12 2016, 03:05 PM) Maybe for hair dryer 🤔 Those breakers at the fuse box not enough meh? What we have in home and the fuse box is minimum safety level or pretty basic. We are not rich country. So the design safety is minimum to meet the std here. Otherwise you have to pay high house price. Have you ask why people still die since the fuse box there. Why the heater have a built in rcd or elcb if the house already have. Don't they want to save some cost? Can't the house rcd to the job? Why people still die since the heater have rcd/elcb. And why the fuse box rcd doesn't kick in if the heater rcd/elcb fail to protect.
sharethebest
Sep 26 2016, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 12 2016, 04:18 PM) What we have in home and the fuse box is minimum safety level or pretty basic. We are not rich country. So the design safety is minimum to meet the std here. Otherwise you have to pay high house price. Have you ask why people still die since the fuse box there. Why the heater have a built in rcd or elcb if the house already have. Don't they want to save some cost? Can't the house rcd to the job? Why people still die since the heater have rcd/elcb. And why the fuse box rcd doesn't kick in if the heater rcd/elcb fail to protect. Dear Bros, I have just bought a Panasonic instant water heater DH-3 HT model and I am going to install by this week. Just want to seek some advice whether the following cable is suitable for installation from the 20A Junction Box. The cable length from the junction box to the instant water heater is about 2 feet. The PVC flexible 3 core cable is Keystone BS 2004 70/0.0076. Your input are very much appreciated. Thank You.