Hobbies The 麻將Mahjong麻雀 Thread:, Does anyone here play this game?

TSfujkenasai
post May 30 2006, 07:40 PM, updated 5y ago

1,137 posts

Mahjong (Traditional Chinese: 麻將; Simplified Chinese: 麻将; Pinyin: m�ji�ng; Cantonese: m�hjeung; or Chinese: 麻雀; Pinyin: m�qu�; Cantonese: m�hjeuk; other common English spellings include mahjongg, majiang, and hyphenated forms such as mah-jong or mah-jongg) is a game for four players that originated in China. It is a game of skill, intelligence, calculation and luck. Depending on the variation which is played, the amount of luck may vary from 20 to 80 percent. In China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan, and other countries mahjong is often used for gambling. The Chinese word 麻将 literally means "hemp general". In Cantonese an alternate writing, 麻雀, is more common (the same kanji are used in Japanese). In Cantonese this literally means "sparrow", while in Japanese it means "hemp sparrow", and is pronounced mā-jan.

again I copied it from wikipedia.
Mahjonguser posted image

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Jun 2 2009, 02:58 PM
TSfujkenasai
post May 30 2006, 07:44 PM

1,137 posts

I was really into this game two years ago when my friends were still with me and I played two different rules of mahjong with two group of friends. One was the rule that is being used in China for competition and the other was a compromised miniscule rule that is being played by people in our region.

This game is adictive as we played for the whole night like for six hours straight and then we go to sleep after that. Does anyone else play this game?
someone83
post May 30 2006, 07:47 PM

36 posts

are u goin to teach us how to play?
TSfujkenasai
post May 30 2006, 07:55 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(someone83 @ May 30 2006, 07:47 PM)
are u goin to teach us how to play?
Yar why not.
jojoko1982
post May 30 2006, 08:01 PM

399 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by jojoko1982: Apr 24 2012, 09:44 AM
TSfujkenasai
post May 30 2006, 08:58 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(jojoko1982 @ May 30 2006, 08:01 PM)
wahahaha..im GOD of mahjung~~~!!!
but i onli play 3 peoples mahjung..coz is faster and more challenging~~
come come!!!
GOD OF GAMBLER competition!!!!
4 people mah jiong is more challenging, more strats and skills involved.
tuRtL3
post May 31 2006, 01:21 PM

674 posts

3 person mahjong very fast can eat..
Can play more games in 1 night
TSfujkenasai
post Jun 1 2006, 02:35 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(tuRtL3 @ May 31 2006, 01:21 PM)
3 person mahjong very fast can eat..
Can play more games in 1 night
Want to play eating game play 2 people, and try to get 8 folds and above before you can eat see how many games you can play at 1 night.
ashburn98
post Jun 11 2006, 01:28 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Yahoo! Games has Mahjong (online) if you need a quick fix. They have four sections there. The expert section there plays with three 'fan' rules and people there are usually from HK and China.

I used to hang out there many years back, when I was overseas.
SUSHaM7
post Jun 11 2006, 01:45 PM

Team Eclipse = Geng Team!!
39 posts

yea i guees most of the chinese play, it's a chinese game
ericklim
post Jul 9 2006, 01:22 PM

i love this veri much

learned fr hong kong's fren while studying in aussie

we used to play for 3 days 3 night.....all 3 day s only mahjong
of course, makan, tidur, mandi as usual la, just din go out, coz that time winter, damn cold.............

alwizs "***" ppl one, play with hong kie veri funny one, they will scold all sorts of funny rude word one.

eg,
when they want to discard "8 tong"..(know as "hak cheh"(black car, coffin, undertaker car) they will say...nah, "pei lei fen" meanings...give u sit inside.

"3 suk" ...known as underwear...they will say " wash ur underwear"

canton mahjong veri nice....got da shan yuan, shi san yau, qing yi se...etc

1 suk(the one wif bird" ...they will say "lo hoi hum"....take it and suck it!!!

chastise
post Jul 10 2006, 10:19 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

interesting!
my family's fav alltime game! not to mention rammi as well!
jcheok2
post Jul 11 2006, 11:38 AM

858 posts

hey anybody in seremban can teach this game ?? or got interactive online tutorial ?? hehe i only can play 3kaki 1 ...and that also im not very good..i can play basic only..but when i play with friends, they play til pro , somehow they can name out all the cards im waiting 1...dont know how they so geng...they say by seeing i throw what cards every turn they know liao ... swt..thats y i cannot gamble mahjong, if not lose money til pants drop
chastise
post Jul 11 2006, 05:44 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(jcheok2 @ Jul 11 2006, 11:38 AM)
hey anybody in seremban can teach this game ?? or got interactive online tutorial ?? hehe i only can play 3kaki 1 ...and that also im not very good..i can play basic only..but when i play with friends, they play til pro , somehow they can name out all the cards im waiting 1...dont know how they so geng...they say by seeing i throw what cards every turn they know liao ... swt..thats y i cannot gamble mahjong, if not lose money til pants drop
hahaha! when you practice enough or seasoned mahjong player...will know..
cos if 3 ppl mahjong...tiles are limited...
handsomeprof
post Aug 8 2006, 11:55 AM

I play majong too... but in diff kind of majong it's call lami...
like the card games...
2 pack of card game combine 1 n make it like majong...
it's fun... i'm not really know how to play majong...
but this lami... i can call pro la...
when it's CNY i play wif my family member all lose accept me...
bet wif oly RM1 i also can win till RM 60~80...
it's also a psywar games... majong also right?
i think this 2 games r nearly the same la...
but majong more hard to play izit?
bcos lami is jus follow the number to play... thumbup.gif
darrencw
post Aug 8 2006, 12:59 PM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

4 ppl mahjong is dem headache la..i prefer 3 ppl coz can chit chat and its faster.

4 ppl mahjong comes with extra "sok chi" and "man chi".imagine la how many extra combinations and extra thinking needs to be done.zzz.somo if 4 ppl mahjong got big "fan" sure lose like hell.if play 3 ppl mahjong 10cents/20 cents at most lose rm8 only if char wu.(don't count fei along la,different ppl different price for fei)

skincladalien
post Aug 8 2006, 01:50 PM

Densha Otaku
1,913 posts

i like to play also, prefer 4 person one cuz more strategy and combinations. 3 ppl ones are boring.

btw i dont play for $$, just for fun.
microbe
post Aug 9 2006, 12:31 PM

255 posts

but if no play $$ will feel bored ?
get 大三元,大四喜 also nothing after finish the game....
anyway... bet is not a good habit la...
小赌移情,大赌就..... rclxub.gif
sayming
post Nov 15 2006, 09:42 PM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,405 posts

So how many rules are there all in all..
How much does 3 people or 4 people game rules differ from each other?
I'm also interested in learning how to play :-)
alanyuppie
post Nov 16 2006, 01:09 PM

2,791 posts

4 ppl game 1 round can take hours!

i prefer 3 player game.. much faster to "eat yam"
HAHA
Lucifer_Light
post Nov 16 2006, 03:09 PM

74 posts

Aiya... play 3 ppl depend a lot on luck la. I no luck wan, so seldom win. But when come to 4 ppl, sap sam yu also can get easily. Haha. (That shows how unlucky I am).

@sayming: rules got standard rules used by everyone, and got rules we personally make before starting the game. It differs from ppl to ppl, so make sure you talk it over first.

3 kaki, 4 kaki: difference is 4 kaki got extra bamboo and tenthousands. So harder cos got more combi to make. So very hard to predict wat your opponents have. And the hua/flower also got different wan. Talk and teach very hard la, must play and teach only shokk!

And 4 kaki got special rules of counting fan. I play 4 kaki for so long dee, but still donno how to count points. Can count fan only, no double double and all that advance style. Payout is by how many fan, if get big big, just pecah lor. Can teach how to count points?

Everybody must play mahjong!!!

Shu guang, du guang, wei guo chen guang.
Translated:
Lose money, bet money,
contribute to country's economy.
TSfujkenasai
post Dec 8 2006, 02:41 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Aug 8 2006, 01:50 PM)
i like to play also, prefer 4 person one cuz more strategy and combinations. 3 ppl ones are boring.

btw i dont play for $$, just for fun.
yeah 3 people is boring and depending on luck only if like that better bet on tossing the coin can bet 1000 rounds in 15 min.
devil_corp@hotmail.com
post Jan 16 2007, 08:15 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 8 2006, 02:41 PM)
yeah 3 people is boring and depending on luck only if like that better bet on tossing the coin can bet 1000 rounds in 15 min.
Since there are so many gamblers here i might as well give it a shot. Anyone here into Texas Hold'em? In case anyone is wondering, its a popular form of poker. You can check out PokerMalaysia for more details. Cheers!
TSfujkenasai
post Mar 16 2007, 10:36 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(devil_corp@hotmail.com @ Jan 16 2007, 08:15 PM)
Since there are so many gamblers here i might as well give it a shot. Anyone here into Texas Hold'em? In case anyone is wondering, its a popular form of poker. You can check out PokerMalaysia for more details. Cheers!
Mah Jiong is more fun lar.
tester1979
post Mar 22 2007, 02:29 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

i am looking for the mahjong tiles....anyone know where got sell good ones.....i am looking for the biggest size one.....thanks......
fruitie
post Mar 23 2007, 04:58 AM

Rise and Shine
67,988 posts

Just saw this thread doh.gif
I'm a Mahjong freak, learnt when I was studying in high school from my best friend, she is now in France under JPA scholarship. Hehe. Too bad. tongue.gif
When she's back, we are forced to play 4 players mahjong but when she's not around, it's our world! We play 3 players mahjong!! rclxm9.gif Superbly in love with 3 persons mahjong. laugh.gif So fast can game the game with maximum "fan".
What is your longest duration of mahjong marathon?
Mine is around 48 hours but with breaks in between for meals and toilet. tongue.gif When mahjong's show time, I won't feel sleepy simply because it's too excited. tongue.gif
TSfujkenasai
post Jul 31 2007, 01:34 PM

1,137 posts

I prefer 4 player mah jiong more strategy and skill rather than just luck.
ychwang
post Jul 31 2007, 06:30 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

play once before during CNY when kids, but now forget how to play already
post Jul 31 2007, 09:21 PM

1,445 posts

lol mahjong is fun remember playing it when i was still in my primary school!!! Back then onli know to eat "chicken Wu"!!! Now know how to play liao but still not really very sure how to count how much i win!
TSfujkenasai
post Aug 1 2007, 10:51 PM

1,137 posts

Same here Im lousy at mental maths thats why when we play we used to use excel to calculate the winnings/losses. Lazy bastards right, well we have like 6-7 lappy when we play mah jiong so mind as well. Some do work, 1 for calculation, 1 for music really nice. We have wine during sessions too how I miss those those days.
jasontan6
post Dec 30 2007, 11:56 PM

15 posts

Does anyone know of a computer game for 3-player mahjong (on Wikipedia it's called "Malaysian Mahjong") ? Been wanting to practise but barely get to play with family members.
Seaedge
post Jan 2 2008, 03:23 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

lol... i played this game.. usually 3 players bcoz not many youngster wanna play 4 person. if 4 person, i only play either online or ppc. tongue.gif addictive and lucrative too if your luck is in for that day
zoidx_chung
post Jan 2 2008, 04:11 PM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

only play 3 ppl mahjong...
fast & challenging...

u know what i have,
i know what u want,

shinobikit
post Jan 29 2008, 01:36 AM

Honey Bunny
900 posts

CNY coming soon.... let's talk about MAHJONG!!!!!!!!!
z3r0717
post Jan 29 2008, 01:37 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

yea... play more then sent to jail n cut botak. laugh.gif
bearbear
post Jan 29 2008, 01:46 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,058 posts

i only know 3 person wan

when dun play money, wah my luck, win until the other 2 nothing to say

when play money, always lose doh.gif doh.gif
zoidx_chung
post Jan 29 2008, 01:56 AM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jan 29 2008, 01:37 AM)
yea... play more then sent to jail n cut botak. laugh.gif
already botak,so no different
z3r0717
post Jan 29 2008, 11:53 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

lol... but u nid to stay in jail for few nites. brows.gif
shinobikit
post Jan 29 2008, 09:08 PM

Honey Bunny
900 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jan 29 2008, 11:53 AM)
lol... but u nid to stay in jail for few nites. brows.gif
if send into jail... find michael chong, he sure will help wan since election coming soon... XD

or lim kit siong also can, let them shoot government gao gao... XD

Added on January 29, 2008, 9:10 pm
QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 29 2008, 01:46 AM)
i only know 3 person wan

when dun play money, wah my luck, win until the other 2 nothing to say

when play money, always lose doh.gif  doh.gif
3 person rules almost base on 4-person mahjong, just a little bit modification only..

This post has been edited by shinobikit: Jan 29 2008, 09:10 PM
biebie
post Jan 31 2008, 11:43 PM

111 posts

wa.... fuj, u also know the mahjong game !! i hope to learn it next time.
yoko
post Feb 1 2008, 10:13 PM

85 posts

only know how to play 3 peoples mahjong, quiet fun, but when ur luck is bad, it is so bad that I cant even eat at all haha
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 2 2008, 11:08 AM

1,137 posts

3 people mah jiong is boring lar, simply can wu already.
ken811
post Feb 2 2008, 11:33 AM

here mostly all play 3 people...
4 people most of them dunno how to count the 'fan'

i played the 4 people online mahjong.
forgot the website di.
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 2 2008, 05:43 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(ken811 @ Feb 2 2008, 11:33 AM)

forgot the website di.
The fan is what makes the game intresting.
darkages
post Feb 2 2008, 05:47 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

There's no thinking needed for the 3 person game. You basically know what the other 2 are holding. Whereas for 4 player game, there's more challenge.

Btw, anyone here knows where to get a better quality mahjong table, I don't want those sold in Giant, Tecso or Jusco
shinobikit
post Feb 2 2008, 07:16 PM

Honey Bunny
900 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Feb 2 2008, 05:47 PM)
There's no thinking needed for the 3 person game. You basically know what the other 2 are holding. Whereas for 4 player game, there's more challenge.

Btw, anyone here knows where to get a better quality mahjong table, I don't want those sold in Giant, Tecso or Jusco
just a normal table + mahjong paper... voila... can play dy...

Added on February 2, 2008, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(ken811 @ Feb 2 2008, 11:33 AM)

forgot the website di.
very easy to count only....
play more will get used to it and know how to count already...+-

This post has been edited by shinobikit: Feb 2 2008, 07:17 PM
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 2 2008, 08:55 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Feb 2 2008, 05:47 PM)

You want those tables that shuffle tiles?
darkages
post Feb 2 2008, 09:05 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 2 2008, 08:55 PM)
You want those tables that shuffle tiles?
No. Just better quality ones.
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 3 2008, 10:34 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Feb 2 2008, 09:05 PM)
No. Just better quality ones.
Hmmm, Ive not seen any around. I think my parents got theirs from hong kong.
pangping1510
post Feb 3 2008, 11:45 PM

1,007 posts

have anyone seen a green mat for mahjong...?
shinobikit
post Feb 4 2008, 03:49 AM

Honey Bunny
900 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Feb 3 2008, 11:45 PM)
have anyone seen a green mat for mahjong...?
velvet map?

i also looking for 1...
Y.K.
post Mar 5 2008, 08:33 PM

371 posts

anyone know any websites offer free online 3 person mahjong game?
been looking for a while already but seems there are none /swt
d@redevil
post Apr 24 2008, 08:26 PM

anyone know where to get the automated mahjong table in klang valley? Also, the price...thx
ahthien
post Apr 30 2008, 10:46 AM

176 posts

dear all,
very new in this thread.. smile.gif
i found 1 4 person free mahjong game http://www.allmj.com/game.php

enjoy ya..
anyone know that where can get a mahjong table?
thanks! cos i planning to buy 1 in kl.. smile.gif
im in pj area..
any place nearby can get that? thanks a lot
bearbear
post May 1 2008, 05:40 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,058 posts

Well it's kinda rare to see people selling Mahjong and table in KL, the only place i saw it was the shop that sells those funky stuff in MV. Forgot what's the shop name.

My parents got a set of Mahjong and table for around Rm250, the mahjong is meant for 4 kaki wan no animal and ghost for 3 kakis

Have to use the empty tile as ghost and 9 sok as animal blush.gif laugh.gif
TSfujkenasai
post May 2 2008, 02:43 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 1 2008, 05:40 PM)
Well it's kinda rare to see people selling Mahjong and table in KL, the only place i saw it was the shop that sells those funky stuff in MV. Forgot what's the shop name.

My parents got a set of Mahjong and table for around Rm250, the mahjong is meant for 4 kaki wan no animal and ghost for 3 kakis

Have to use the empty tile as ghost and 9 sok as animal blush.gif  laugh.gif
Its not fun to play with all those animals and stuff la, no skill.
oRoXoRo
post May 2 2008, 04:37 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,628 posts

woot finally found 1 mahjong thread. Im all into mahjong(c my pic) tongue.gif
who know how to play taiwan mahjong?

Added on May 6, 2008, 8:23 amno animals? ur mahjong set not good..my mahjong set can be used for 4 "ka" or 3"ka"

This post has been edited by oRoXoRo: May 6 2008, 08:23 AM
TSfujkenasai
post May 7 2008, 04:28 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ May 2 2008, 04:37 PM)
woot finally found 1 mahjong thread. Im all into mahjong(c my pic) tongue.gif
who know how to play taiwan mahjong?

Added on May 6, 2008, 8:23 amno animals?  ur mahjong set not good..my mahjong set can be used for 4 "ka" or 3"ka"
My set have everything just that I dun use animals and flower more skill la.
jerseybuyer
post Sep 5 2008, 08:23 PM

63 posts

.. lol i alway play 3 kaki mahjong in ss2 ceaser club, 50 sen 1 dollar ,
any1 wan challenge can pm me ..^^
wimk
post Sep 6 2008, 12:54 AM

32 posts

i like mahjong... but i don't really know how to play... i got collect one set... play stacking only... hehe
SUSclimax003
post Sep 10 2008, 04:11 PM

Can anyone list the rules to play 3 ka mahjong?
davymalkavian
post Sep 11 2008, 08:57 AM

where can i get a set of mahjong with black tiles instead of white ones?
partycoke
post Sep 11 2008, 11:10 AM

159 posts

look like most of 3 ka players is playing the new version of 3 ppl mahjong ...

anyone player the tradition 3-ka mahjong ...

old version need more skill where is no different wif 4-ka mahjong ...

really hard to find ppl playing the old version ... LOL ...

onli play once a yr during chinese new yr with bro & sis at home ...
lkh78
post Oct 20 2008, 11:16 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(partycoke @ Sep 11 2008, 11:10 AM)
look like most of 3 ka players is playing the new version of 3 ppl mahjong ...

anyone player the tradition 3-ka mahjong ...

old version need more skill where is no different wif 4-ka mahjong ...

really hard to find ppl playing the old version ... LOL ...

onli play once a yr during chinese new yr with bro & sis at home ...
What are the differences between new and old version? Please share, am keen to understand more.

I don't agree with some above that 3 kaki need no skill, 4 kaki fan mahjong need a lot of luck because the number of tile is larger, the possibility of getting bad cards is higher, if 1 out of 4 get a decent hand, can win quite easily.

3 ppl fan need more thinking and not all about wining, it is also fun when you have bad luck and use your skill to min the loses or play till the last tile!

eds2303
post Oct 25 2008, 12:42 AM

24 posts

Is there anyone know where got sell Mah Jong that is black color?
CloudDave
post Nov 30 2008, 01:49 PM

174 posts

Yo dudes. I come to KL once in awhile and hands get itchy! Anyone play during the weekends? My MSN is davidchiang@hotmail.com. Setup table! smile.gif
digitax
post Dec 1 2008, 08:00 PM

512 posts

btw, where can i buy mahjong tiles in Klang Valley ? Any good place to recommend ?
sakpn2000
post Dec 2 2008, 12:48 AM

238 posts

hi,
3-kaki mahjong mainly played by penang ppl(i think) n its fun! my kl frens said they nvr heard of 3 kaki 1 leh.
i like to play 3-kaki myself but havent learn 4-kaki, so, still atas pagar regarding which 1 is better.
any1 knw the full rules of 4 kaki? any link in english? i 1 2 learn the 4 kaki 1.
then i can compare...hehe!
CloudDave
post Dec 3 2008, 10:04 PM

174 posts

Hmmmm seems there are a few ppl looking for a sifu! I am not one yet but I think I'm good enough to teach a little. cool2.gif Anyone interested? We could have a small gathering without money. whistling.gif That way no lose ma, just learning session only. Once they "suk" the playing style already then can discuss further rolleyes.gif So how? Whose place can? PM me or something. I will be down for the shopping spree early this January! Bring some peanuts along brows.gif "sau tou tai" Hahahaha! Oh and in the meantime if anyone is looking for good mahjong sets only in novelty shops got. Like 1-utama there is one antique-y looking shop can;'t remember name. Sunway pyramid also I recall seeing one. But malaysia is hard la cause of strict laws. Better get one from HK. I got relatives there........anyone want PM me I can try to find. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by CloudDave: Dec 3 2008, 10:50 PM
partycoke
post Dec 3 2008, 11:08 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(davymalkavian @ Sep 11 2008, 08:57 AM)
where can i get a set of mahjong with black tiles instead of white ones?
i saw Pasar Malam got sell it ...

Added on December 3, 2008, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(lkh78 @ Oct 20 2008, 11:16 PM)
What are the differences between new and old version? Please share, am keen to understand more.
I don't agree with some above that 3 kaki need no skill, 4 kaki fan mahjong need a lot of luck because the number of tile is larger, the possibility of getting bad cards is higher, if 1 out of 4 get a decent hand, can win quite easily.

3 ppl fan need more thinking and not all about wining, it is also fun when you have bad luck and use your skill to min the loses or play till the last tile!
the old version one dun haf joker or 'Fei' ... and got 'suok ji' ...

actually both 3 & 4 need skill ... the older version of 3 kaki one harder to play as compare to the new 3 kaki ver ...

most of the ppl like new ver coz it is a faster game ... old ver slower ... old version u can end up a few round ended draw ... this is why most ppl shift to new version ...

Added on December 3, 2008, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(sakpn2000 @ Dec 2 2008, 12:48 AM)
hi,
3-kaki mahjong mainly played by penang ppl(i think) n its fun! my kl frens said they nvr heard of 3 kaki 1 leh.
i like to play 3-kaki myself but havent learn 4-kaki, so, still atas pagar regarding which 1 is better.
any1 knw the full rules of 4 kaki? any link in english? i 1 2 learn the 4 kaki 1.
then i can compare...hehe!
KL got many ppl play the new version 3-kaki mahjong too ...

all i know is most of the ppl at sabah play 3-kaki ... new & old version ...

myself like to play the old version ... but sometime during chinese new yr when i play the auntie n granny laugh at us coz still play the old ver ... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by partycoke: Dec 3 2008, 11:15 PM
sinclairZX81
post Dec 4 2008, 02:10 PM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

Wao, mahjong also got own thread. thumbup.gif

Used to play a lot, now getting old ady. sad.gif
CloudDave
post Dec 5 2008, 11:40 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Dec 4 2008, 02:10 PM)
Wao, mahjong also got own thread.  thumbup.gif

Used to play a lot, now getting old ady.  sad.gif
sweat.gif Well it helps avoid Alzheimer's. tongue.gif So it's a good idea to pick it up again. Well I think a lot of ppl like to play but it's gonna be hard to have a group organise one due to everyone's schedule I guess. Haiz! Ah well can't say I didn't try. whistling.gif Anyone who wants to talk mahjong and organise please add me in MSN davidchiang@hotmail.com icon_rolleyes.gif
maisechn
post Dec 7 2008, 01:31 PM

i dunno how to play mahjong.. its fun to see u all posting here... can learn a lot.. as i'm still learning... laugh.gif
sakpn2000
post Dec 8 2008, 05:52 PM

238 posts

overview of mahjong:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahjong

HK mahjong scoring:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Kong_Mahjong_scoring_rules

enjoy guys!
kokuryo
post Dec 13 2008, 12:03 PM

587 posts

yo yo 麻將 kaki.. chiense new year is near and this thread will be bz.. smile.gif

If any of you looking to own a NEW IMPORTED set of mahjong, you can PM me..
It's come with veli nice Wooden Box..

you can view pic from link below:-

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d139/kokuryo/_MG_4793.jpg
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d139/kokuryo/_MG_4795.jpg
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d139/kokuryo/_MG_4797.jpg
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d139/kokuryo/_MG_4799.jpg

WIN WIN WIN...!!
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kokuryo: Dec 13 2008, 02:51 PM
LilBot
post Dec 18 2008, 12:13 AM

Harlow.

I also want to play 3 ka mahjong

This post has been edited by LilBot: Dec 18 2008, 12:32 AM
kokuryo
post Dec 20 2008, 01:32 PM

587 posts

hahaha... i tot u wanna get 1 set tim... tongue.gif
TSfujkenasai
post Jan 5 2009, 11:39 PM

1,137 posts

I love playing 4 kaki mahjong didn like 3 people I do not find much strategy in it.
z1lch
post Apr 2 2009, 11:32 PM

172 posts

any place to play online rami?
Chickrice
post Nov 12 2009, 02:11 PM

hey where can i get mahjong tiles in kl??
benjinfw
post Jan 7 2010, 04:43 PM

Hi all,
i have found this singapore web site selling nice mahjong sets..
looks nice but abit expensive at SGD 88
http://impressionplus.50webs.com/

anyone have been to genting sky way ? i believe i have saw a show selling mahjong and transparent dices, dont know buying mahjong there will be cheaper then the site above..

anyone can confirm the price there at genting?

cup_mee88
post Jan 11 2010, 08:15 PM

got anyone selling manjong for 4 person one? i want 2nd hand in good condition.. price range not more than rm100!! pls pm me! XD
babygirl55
post Feb 2 2010, 01:57 PM

60 posts

hi all
I like to play Mahjong. Feel relax and fun. :-P
I want to buy Mahjong set with colour but not sold here. HK hv.

For those who buy mahjong sets:-
1) One small shop in Kompleks Selangor nearby Petaling Street. There are having 3 persons or 4 persons. Only 4 mahjong sets with white only between RM 185- RM 285. For rich, can buy it la.

2) Another shop in Kepong which sell many mahjong sets and lami too. The shop opposite Tai Thong Odeon Rest (Kepong Baru). Good Quality. Above RM200 i think so.

3) Any hypermarket like Tesco, Giant or Carrefour sell cheap Mahjong sets and table too. Poor quality. I bought it last time bcoz of CHEAP PRICE. After use, don't like it bcoz of smell dirty when play. I never buy it anymore.

I give advise. Buy Good Quality Mahjong Set la.

SpiderXman
post Feb 7 2010, 06:27 PM

19 posts

hey guys.. instead of whole set of mahjong.. where can i find those selling the case only? cause my case is going to break soon.. wanna find a better quality casing.. thx..
Chickrice
post Feb 20 2010, 06:12 PM

hello everyone.. does anyone know where to buy good quality mahjong set?? preferably in pj?? lazy travel far far to buy
pewfy
post Jul 20 2010, 11:34 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Chickrice @ Feb 20 2010, 06:12 PM)
hello everyone.. does anyone know where to buy good quality mahjong set?? preferably in pj?? lazy travel far far to buy
hi. i do sell majong (new) or used set.
Please call me if you are interested.
Luminax
post Aug 13 2010, 12:52 AM

I can only play Japanese mahjong sad.gif currently playing in Janryumon (google and thou shalt hit it) and Hangame.

anyone interested in real-life mahjong ? I'm near nilai if anyone's interested, willing to learn any rules.... though I'd have to say 3-players mahjong is kinda boring (sanma, too quick. especially if it's east-wind only).
FirstNoob
post Aug 15 2010, 04:25 PM

232 posts

hey all mahjong kakis out there.. i have a question bout 4 ppl mj.. Does 4 player mj comes with 4 fei ? is malaysia mj same as singapore mj ??
p/s: i know how to play 3 player but i would like to proceed with 4 players mj.. =)
Weelar
post Feb 8 2011, 02:56 PM

128 posts

Hi all,

found this guide for 3 persons mahjong but it is in chinese tongue.gif
http://zhidao.baidu.com/question/49138799

and for 4 persons mahjong:
http://ezmjtw.tripod.com/

Hope this help smile.gif
seanlara
post Feb 9 2011, 07:42 PM

29 posts

mahjong is interesting lol, just learn how to play yesterday biggrin.gif
winter-X
post Jun 21 2011, 10:16 AM

458 posts

where can i buy lami new set?
jimmykhoo
post Aug 21 2011, 05:26 PM

81 posts

where in puchong area have sell nice mahjong set?do share plz...thanks...
TSfujkenasai
post Aug 22 2011, 01:13 AM

1,137 posts

lol all comming here to ask for mahjong set lol
Mr.Khoo
post Sep 4 2011, 10:47 PM

which kind of rules are you following? I'm playing Malaysia+Hongkong majong with my friends...cos we are using "飞" lol
zero_cool81
post Apr 1 2012, 11:54 PM

32 posts

hi, any recommendation on where to buy mahjong table near cheras? went to giant but they said out of stock..sea park selling for rm 120...any other suggestions?
gcooi90
post Apr 3 2012, 03:45 PM

Anyone knws where can I get new set in Penang Island?

Added on April 3, 2012, 4:11 pm1. 清一色全童对对糊为四番 清一色全童子为两番
this seems a bit diff. coz we play all "tong zi" means 2fan only regardless of what(ie chi, dui-dui). +game(sek wu) then = 3fan. need at least 2 flowers to sek ler.

2. 小三元(中发白中的两个有三张及一对)加一番
this one we count as 4 fan le.. lol. +game = 5fan + fan from flowers

3. 小四喜(东南西北中的三个各有三张及一对)加一番
this we count as 5 fan le.. +game = 6fan + fan from flowers

This post has been edited by gcooi90: Apr 3 2012, 04:11 PM
heretic6
post Apr 3 2012, 08:12 PM

192 posts

Cheap mahjong sets can be found at pasar malams in the Klang Valley area...SS2, Taman Megah etc.
gcooi90
post Apr 3 2012, 10:42 PM

Mahjong set Penang Island, where can i get? Help @@
ngaisteve1
post Apr 24 2014, 08:43 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Anyone knows where to get Riichi (Japanese) Mahjong set in KL/PJ here?
TSfujkenasai
post Aug 25 2014, 11:12 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Apr 24 2014, 08:43 PM)
Anyone knows where to get Riichi (Japanese) Mahjong set in KL/PJ here?
nvr heard of em in malaysia
Yyw3780
post Feb 24 2018, 01:08 PM

Am looking for kakis for friendly mahjong game..... anyone interested?
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 24 2018, 01:15 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Yyw3780 @ Feb 24 2018, 01:08 PM)
Am looking for kakis for friendly mahjong game..... anyone interested?
Where?
Yyw3780
post Feb 24 2018, 01:25 PM

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 24 2018, 01:15 PM)
Where?
Are Damansara PJ
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 25 2018, 05:06 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Yyw3780 @ Feb 24 2018, 01:25 PM)
Are Damansara PJ
Far sad.gif
zXJaMeSXz
post Feb 8 2019, 03:18 PM

670 posts

Looking for Mahjong table anybody knows where I can find a high quality wood one around PJ area?
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 9 2019, 11:17 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Feb 8 2019, 03:18 PM)
Looking for Mahjong table anybody knows where I can find a high quality wood one around PJ area?
motorised ones?
zXJaMeSXz
post Feb 12 2019, 03:47 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 9 2019, 11:17 AM)
motorised ones?
Nah... just a good wood one with smooth surface, good quality drawers and stable legs
plouffle0789
post Jan 24 2020, 09:57 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Feb 8 2019, 03:18 PM)
How to play mahjong card with 1 person??
plouffle0789
post Jan 24 2020, 09:58 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 30 2006, 07:44 PM)
I was really into this game two years ago when my friends were still with me and I played two different rules of mahjong with two group of friends. One was the rule that is being used in China for competition and the other was a compromised miniscule rule that is being played by people in our region.

This game is adictive as we played for the whole night like for six hours straight and then we go to sleep after that. Does anyone else play this game?
Mahjong competition???
TSfujkenasai
post Feb 7 2020, 12:26 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jan 24 2020, 09:58 PM)
Mahjong competition???
Kinda
plouffle0789
post Oct 2 2023, 01:04 AM

1,031 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4859938/+200

Mahjong thread as well

Rules also

0.0460sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled