Hobbies The 麻將Mahjong麻雀 Thread:, Does anyone here play this game?
TSfujkenasai
May 30 2006, 07:40 PM, updated 6y ago
 Mahjong (Traditional Chinese: 麻將; Simplified Chinese: 麻将; Pinyin: m�ji�ng; Cantonese: m�hjeung; or Chinese: 麻雀; Pinyin: m�qu�; Cantonese: m�hjeuk; other common English spellings include mahjongg, majiang, and hyphenated forms such as mah-jong or mah-jongg) is a game for four players that originated in China. It is a game of skill, intelligence, calculation and luck. Depending on the variation which is played, the amount of luck may vary from 20 to 80 percent. In China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan, and other countries mahjong is often used for gambling. The Chinese word 麻将 literally means "hemp general". In Cantonese an alternate writing, 麻雀, is more common (the same kanji are used in Japanese). In Cantonese this literally means "sparrow", while in Japanese it means "hemp sparrow", and is pronounced mā-jan. again I copied it from wikipedia. Mahjong This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Jun 2 2009, 02:58 PM
TSfujkenasai
May 30 2006, 07:44 PM
I was really into this game two years ago when my friends were still with me and I played two different rules of mahjong with two group of friends. One was the rule that is being used in China for competition and the other was a compromised miniscule rule that is being played by people in our region.
This game is adictive as we played for the whole night like for six hours straight and then we go to sleep after that. Does anyone else play this game?
TSfujkenasai
May 30 2006, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(someone83 @ May 30 2006, 07:47 PM) are u goin to teach us how to play? Yar why not.
TSfujkenasai
May 30 2006, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(jojoko1982 @ May 30 2006, 08:01 PM) wahahaha..im GOD of mahjung~~~!!! but i onli play 3 peoples mahjung..coz is faster and more challenging~~ come come!!! GOD OF GAMBLER competition!!!! 4 people mah jiong is more challenging, more strats and skills involved.
TSfujkenasai
Jun 1 2006, 02:35 AM
QUOTE(tuRtL3 @ May 31 2006, 01:21 PM) 3 person mahjong very fast can eat.. Can play more games in 1 night Want to play eating game play 2 people, and try to get 8 folds and above before you can eat see how many games you can play at 1 night.
TSfujkenasai
Dec 8 2006, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(skincladalien @ Aug 8 2006, 01:50 PM) i like to play also, prefer 4 person one cuz more strategy and combinations. 3 ppl ones are boring. btw i dont play for $$, just for fun. yeah 3 people is boring and depending on luck only if like that better bet on tossing the coin can bet 1000 rounds in 15 min.
TSfujkenasai
Mar 16 2007, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(devil_corp@hotmail.com @ Jan 16 2007, 08:15 PM) Since there are so many gamblers here i might as well give it a shot. Anyone here into Texas Hold'em? In case anyone is wondering, its a popular form of poker. You can check out PokerMalaysia for more details. Cheers! Mah Jiong is more fun lar.
TSfujkenasai
Jul 31 2007, 01:34 PM
I prefer 4 player mah jiong more strategy and skill rather than just luck.
TSfujkenasai
Aug 1 2007, 10:51 PM
Same here Im lousy at mental maths thats why when we play we used to use excel to calculate the winnings/losses. Lazy bastards right, well we have like 6-7 lappy when we play mah jiong so mind as well. Some do work, 1 for calculation, 1 for music really nice. We have wine during sessions too how I miss those those days.
TSfujkenasai
Feb 2 2008, 11:08 AM
3 people mah jiong is boring lar, simply can wu already.
TSfujkenasai
Feb 2 2008, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(ken811 @ Feb 2 2008, 11:33 AM) here mostly all play 3 people... 4 people most of them dunno how to count the 'fan' i played the 4 people online mahjong. forgot the website di. The fan is what makes the game intresting.
TSfujkenasai
Feb 2 2008, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(darkages @ Feb 2 2008, 05:47 PM) There's no thinking needed for the 3 person game. You basically know what the other 2 are holding. Whereas for 4 player game, there's more challenge. Btw, anyone here knows where to get a better quality mahjong table, I don't want those sold in Giant, Tecso or Jusco You want those tables that shuffle tiles?
TSfujkenasai
Feb 3 2008, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(darkages @ Feb 2 2008, 09:05 PM) No. Just better quality ones. Hmmm, Ive not seen any around. I think my parents got theirs from hong kong.
TSfujkenasai
May 2 2008, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(bearbear @ May 1 2008, 05:40 PM) Well it's kinda rare to see people selling Mahjong and table in KL, the only place i saw it was the shop that sells those funky stuff in MV. Forgot what's the shop name. My parents got a set of Mahjong and table for around Rm250, the mahjong is meant for 4 kaki wan no animal and ghost for 3 kakis Have to use the empty tile as ghost and 9 sok as animal  Its not fun to play with all those animals and stuff la, no skill.
TSfujkenasai
May 7 2008, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ May 2 2008, 04:37 PM) woot finally found 1 mahjong thread. Im all into mahjong(c my pic)  who know how to play taiwan mahjong? Added on May 6, 2008, 8:23 amno animals? ur mahjong set not good..my mahjong set can be used for 4 "ka" or 3"ka" My set have everything just that I dun use animals and flower more skill la.
TSfujkenasai
Jan 5 2009, 11:39 PM
I love playing 4 kaki mahjong didn like 3 people I do not find much strategy in it.
TSfujkenasai
Aug 22 2011, 01:13 AM
lol all comming here to ask for mahjong set lol
TSfujkenasai
Aug 25 2014, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Apr 24 2014, 08:43 PM) Anyone knows where to get Riichi (Japanese) Mahjong set in KL/PJ here? nvr heard of em in malaysia
TSfujkenasai
Feb 24 2018, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(Yyw3780 @ Feb 24 2018, 01:08 PM) Am looking for kakis for friendly mahjong game..... anyone interested? Where?
TSfujkenasai
Feb 25 2018, 05:06 AM
QUOTE(Yyw3780 @ Feb 24 2018, 01:25 PM) Far