Any people know how to play mahjong?, 148 tiles or 144 tiles?

nihility
post Feb 8 2022, 06:27 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Jan 26 2022, 08:07 PM)
4 kaki game is too tactical for me

3 player is fast pace and more exciting
Tactical is actually the purpose of the game. The fast pace is purely gambling.

There are actual life lessons can be learned from the tactical game :-

1) In real life, your competitions / enemies will come from multiple angles. There is no such thing as 1 on 1 fight. Hence, in life, be it in the business, office politic, love rival, street fight, real war - expect multiple angles threat. 4 players give the closest simulation to the scenarios on the decision to be made. Our daily live involves decision making at every moments with multiple considerations.

2) When in favor position, go full offense mode to score the max (inflict the maximum damage) to your opponents, while keeping an eye on the other 3 players attempt to jeopardize your plan or forms temporary alliance against you.

3)When already in losing position, find way to minimize loses ( don't let the winner inflict maximum damage ) - cut loss / damage control.

4) Winning or losing a game is only temporary, there will be new games set to begin - achievement or failure in life at certain stage of life is only temporary, there will be new phase of life to be experienced as we journey on this life. ** this message to the one who gave up after experiencing the failure in academic / failure in their 1st love.
carloz28
post Feb 8 2022, 08:32 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 8 2022, 06:27 AM)
Tactical is actually the purpose of the game. The fast pace is purely gambling.

There are actual life lessons can be learned from the tactical game :-

1) In real life, your competitions / enemies will come from multiple angles. There is no such thing as 1 on 1 fight. Hence, in life, be it in the business, office politic, love rival, street fight, real war - expect multiple angles threat. 4 players give the closest simulation to the scenarios on the decision to be made. Our daily live involves decision making at every moments with multiple considerations.

2) When in favor position, go full offense mode to score the max (inflict the maximum damage) to your opponents, while keeping an eye on the other 3 players attempt to jeopardize your plan or forms temporary alliance against you.

3)When already in losing position, find way to minimize loses ( don't let the winner inflict maximum damage ) - cut loss / damage control.

4) Winning or losing a game is only temporary, there will be new games set to begin - achievement or failure in life at certain stage of life is only temporary, there will be new phase of life to be experienced as we journey on this life. ** this message to the one who gave up after experiencing the failure in academic / failure in their 1st love.
Wtf man, I came to post about mahjong but now I got Wong Fei Hung life lessons from u lel

This post has been edited by carloz28: Feb 8 2022, 08:32 PM
TSplouffle0789
post May 30 2023, 11:42 PM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jan 25 2022, 12:13 PM)
SEA not play 144 la...

really sohai.
How many for asia?
ScooterBoi
post May 31 2023, 04:17 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Milupa @ Feb 6 2022, 05:53 PM)

QUOTE(Milupa @ Feb 6 2022, 10:23 PM)
Japan more professional in Mahjong wink.gif
Can consider them as beginners and amateurs dy...

The really pro don't arrange the tiles, as you arrange the tiles, it will show how good your hand (of tiles) you are holding.

2nd, when you take a new tile, you don't move it along your tiles and then decide whether to keep it or not, as shown in the video. You are unknowingly giving clues to others what tiles you are holding.

Also it is the speed in discarding a tile, take tile then keep or discard. If pause too long, it can give away clues what tiles you're holding since you can't decide and have to pause and think.

3rd the discarded tiles are so neatly arranged. 1st time I'm seeing this. The discarded tiles should not be neatly arranged because the game is in remembering who discarded which tiles and when it was discarded.

TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2023, 01:05 AM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ May 31 2023, 04:17 AM)

The really pro don't arrange the tiles, as you arrange the tiles, it will show how good your hand (of tiles) you are holding.

2nd, when you take a new tile, you don't move it along your tiles and then decide whether to keep it or not, as shown in the video. You are unknowingly giving clues to others what tiles you are holding.

Also it is the speed in discarding a tile, take tile then keep or discard. If pause too long, it can give away clues what tiles you're holding since you can't decide and have to pause and think.

3rd the discarded tiles are so neatly arranged. 1st time I'm seeing this. The discarded tiles should not be neatly arranged because the game is in remembering who discarded which tiles and when it was discarded.
My parents going to retired..

I hope they can play well with my grandma

I plan to buy second hand carlsberg or tiger beer mahjong set from carousell

https://www.carousell.sg/p/guinness-mahjong...&t-tap_index=18

20sgd guiness stout

30sgd

Or 40sgd

https://carousell.app.link/WTYB2gUYxDb

https://www.carousell.sg/p/carlsberg-mahjon...&t-tap_index=13

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Oct 2 2023, 01:09 AM
ScooterBoi
post Oct 2 2023, 09:11 AM

1,372 posts

Playing mahjong keeps the mind active. Keeps away senility.

I liked to sit and watched my grandma playing mahjong with her friends/relatives. The banter during the game, sometimes so funny.

Really missed my grandma and her friends/relatives playing mahjong.

SUSandylyc
post Oct 2 2023, 09:13 AM

27 posts

4 kaki mahjong much easier to play.

China version the toughest to play.
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 3 2024, 07:13 AM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(andylyc @ Oct 2 2023, 09:13 AM)
4 kaki mahjong much easier to play.

China version the toughest to play.
在標準的144張麻將牌中,除了136張常規牌外,還多了8張花牌(春、夏、秋、冬、梅、蘭、竹、菊),通常作為附加的花牌存在。

這些花牌在一般的胡牌計算中不參與組合,而是為了額外加分,並不直接影響胡牌組合。

標準的144張麻將牌包括:

1)數字牌(萬、條、筒):
每種花色各36張(1到9各4張),共108張。

2)風牌(東、南、西、北):
每個風牌4張,共16張。

3)字牌(中、發、白):
每個字牌4張,共12張。

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
136張基本牌(萬、條、筒、數字牌、風牌、字牌)

8張花牌(春、夏、秋、冬、梅、蘭、竹、菊)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

誰知2003年自由行來到,把內地的「碰槓牌」也帶來了香港,這也重新帶旺麻雀館,擁有牌照者又發過豬頭,這真的是令人意想不到的意外。順帶一提,以前香港麻雀館打的是「一一制」,即對對胡和混一色均是一番,最大也不過是一番,但現在已全變成了「碰槓牌」了。

新冠肺炎疫情時,沒有內地人來港,麻雀館又苦不堪言。現在非但復甦了,而且還有新發明,就是「百搭」。要知道,有百搭,雀友胡出的速度快得多,麻雀館抽水更快,收入更多!

In 2003, when independent travel to Hong Kong began, mainlanders brought with them the “Pong-Kong Pai” mahjong style, which unexpectedly revitalized local mahjong parlors. Those with licenses profited beyond expectation.

Traditionally, Hong Kong parlors played with the “One-One system,” where both “All Pairs” and “Half Flush” hands counted as a single point, with the maximum score being one point. However, this has now fully transitioned to the “Pong-Kong Pai” style.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, without mainland visitors, mahjong parlors suffered greatly.

But now, not only have they rebounded, but a new feature, “Joker tiles,” has emerged.

With Joker tiles, players win much faster, allowing parlors to take commissions more quickly and increase their revenue!

Do you know the joker tiles?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 3 2024, 07:39 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 3 2024, 07:31 AM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Oct 2 2023, 09:11 AM)
Playing mahjong keeps the mind active. Keeps away senility.

I liked to sit and watched my grandma playing mahjong with her friends/relatives. The banter during the game, sometimes so funny.

Really missed my grandma and her friends/relatives playing mahjong.
Now she no more play mahjong?

ScooterBoi
post Nov 3 2024, 01:45 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 3 2024, 07:31 AM)
Now she no more play mahjong?
🥴🤔😆

I was talking about watching them playing mahjong when I was a preschool kid. Many moons ago. Lol.

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 08:45 PM

1,816 posts

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 24 2024, 08:49 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 21 2025, 03:09 AM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ May 31 2023, 04:17 AM)

TVB come out mahjong drama !!!
vhs
post Aug 21 2025, 06:29 AM

90 posts

2025 why still not play against AI on mobile phone or with live opponents via 5G?
Justin.Loong
post Aug 21 2025, 12:49 PM

8,317 posts

ScooterBoi
post Aug 21 2025, 02:10 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 21 2025, 03:09 AM)

TVB come out mahjong drama !!!
Yes, been watching the show since episode 1. The background story is on mahjong parlours. Mentioned in the show was that 144 licenses were given and matching the number of tiles. Not sure whether it is true or not that each license holder can open branches. (This opening of new branches/parlours is the gist of the show... setting up a new parlour in wanchai.)

This is from a news article... "But the number of parlours has dwindled to about 66 as of last November, down from the original 144 when the establishments were first legalised in 1956. The number of licences is a nod to the 144 tiles in a mahjong set, and the legal entitlements can only be passed down through next of kin."

https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/society...es-beloved-game

In one of the episode, the tiles (held by the player) were played face down, nobody else can see what tiles they're holding. And the player don't see what tile he picked up, he 'see' the tile by touch.

keyibukeyi
post Aug 21 2025, 02:21 PM

149 posts

i remember my mom play mahjong when she is single, she also play it when my father is around, back then they is only couple as gf bf, the old single makcik told my mom, that my dad is calm and good have stronk EQ and the rest is history, they both live happily ever after.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 21 2025, 02:32 PM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Aug 21 2025, 02:10 PM)
Yes, been watching the show since episode 1. The background story is on mahjong parlours. Mentioned in the show was that 144 licenses were given and matching the number of tiles. Not sure whether it is true or not that each license holder can open branches. (This opening of new branches/parlours is the gist of the show... setting up a new parlour in wanchai.)

This is from a news article... "But the number of parlours has dwindled to about 66 as of last November, down from the original 144 when the establishments were first legalised in 1956. The number of licences is a nod to the 144 tiles in a mahjong set, and the legal entitlements can only be passed down through next of kin."

https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/society...es-beloved-game

In one of the episode, the tiles (held by the player) were played face down, nobody else can see what tiles they're holding. And the player don't see what tile he picked up, he 'see' the tile by touch.
Not sure whether it is true or not that each license holder can open branches.

i think it is true....

I check before they have branches

https://kaikeemahjong.com/shop_kt.php

http://hkmahjong.com.hk/%e8%81%af%e7%b5%a1...88%91%e5%80%91/

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 21 2025, 02:38 PM
xHj09
post Aug 21 2025, 02:43 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts