Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 01:32 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 10 2013, 01:08 PM)
well i believe mine's a 11 - 30t with a front 53t that gives me a 33 - 90 GI if i read the info correctly..

i can cycle up even to air itam dam but i'd like to make it easier for climbing

then again i also want the wheel to be smoother too tongue.gif

any idea which shld i upgrade first n how much would they cost respectively? assuming i'm just going for the decent-enough entry level components

the reason y i wanna get a trigger shifter first is bcuz i wanna change the stock grip to one with bar end, also because trigger feels nicer la

so i'm guessing u'd either recommend to stick to 7 speed n add a dual chainring first OR change the wheelset plus upgrade to 9/10 speed..?

2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 02:40 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Oct 10 2013, 02:01 PM)
At least u guys can change to dual chain ring. Mine Ugo can't change and if I really wan to, then need to potong some of the frame structure cause no space for FD.
that tight? not even with a FD hanger like litepro's?

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 10 2013, 02:30 PM)
Internal 11 speed is cost  a bomb here smile.gif some one quoted me rm 2.2k for shimano internal 11 speed, so i go for internal 8 speed which cost half smile.gif
old doesn't means poor, i still have my 20+ year old racing bike with first generation Shimano 105 component smile.gif
i thought it was an el cheapo bike that i wanted to discard already, until i notice the carbon design n all the deore xt/lx component

luckily i din sell it off to the recycling center tongue.gif
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 02:58 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 10 2013, 02:46 PM)
no those generation xt/lx tak boleh pakai want, u need new version ......
* Btw u need some one collect ur rubbish ? i'm free to do it smile.gif heheehhe
well my 'rubbish' can overtake lotsa 10Ks bikes on the way up to itam dam so i'm more than happy with it biggrin.gif
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 03:01 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 10 2013, 02:48 PM)
dont want gripshift anymore le tongue.gif
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 03:12 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 10 2013, 03:06 PM)
can buy the wheel set with gear...
last I asked..the owner said so
rm500 eh.. now still deciding whether to upgrade the foldie or get a proper mtb bike first, cannot have both sad.gif
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 03:33 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 10 2013, 03:20 PM)
bro 2kia..

if yo want to buy a mtb..I have 1 for sale...
jamis durango comp 2012..
bought due to itcheee finger..but never ridden before..
I ride minivelo and foldie must of the time...

come...come... buy from me so that I can apply from my financial controller to buy the jetstream from bbs... tongue.gif
haha not gonna buy that soon la bro.. still deciding cuz scared new job might not allow me to ride as often as i'd like cry.gif
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 05:19 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 10 2013, 03:58 PM)
same here...
I only have time to ride during night time...
soo... usually I ride from my factory...victoria st...
using pengkalan weld to lebuh light..sultan ahmad shah to jln larut..anson rd to perak rdthan turning to jln dato keramat to komtar..
using penang rd to burma rd..turn in jln nagor to jln hutton crossing to cambell st..carnrvonst st turn to lim chwee leong back to pengkalan weld..

its a 9+km ride... just do it on time trail..
did it on my mu uno (52tx18T) with 20-25min per round for 3 round (my max round per hour)
I ride on every tue and thu..9pm to 10pm..

my mu uno during morning is my chicken rice bike...used to tau pau lunch...
hmm maybe one of the tues i'll join u laa, most probably cycle from paya terubong then join u then cycle back biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mbax @ Oct 10 2013, 04:20 PM)
ur rubbish mtb can do the job then it should be sufficient alrd lah bro, no need new one i oso have 1 old mtb upgrade some of the part ride it sometime but it collect dust most of the time rclxub.gif .. if time premit i will ride my foldie more than mtb thumbup.gif .. i will only be able to ride in d morning coz start work at 2pm until 11pm.. my route will be from sg ara-bayan lepas-bayan baru (pit stop at market for breakfast or sometime to office) then back to sg ara....
well mine's a 1990s n very hard to source for the parts that needs replacement, i.e the headset that has gotten stiff

no tabs to install disc brake so i cant follow others up to very steep hills.. can cycle up but coming down is downright dangerous according to em as v-brakes can overheat

what day do u normally cycle?

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Oct 10 2013, 04:23 PM)
Need to potong this part
[attachmentid=3668979]

To something like this. Notice the cut joint? Not sure it it's safe to cut jes like that.  rclxub.gif
It's the body frame joint  sweat.gif

[attachmentid=3669000]
it does indeed looks dangerous, haha

where did u found the modified pic's picture? locate n ask the owner's opinion perhaps?
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 05:20 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Oct 10 2013, 01:32 PM)
well i believe mine's a 11 - 30t with a front 53t that gives me a 33 - 90 GI if i read the info correctly..

i can cycle up even to air itam dam but i'd like to make it easier for climbing

then again i also want the wheel to be smoother too tongue.gif

any idea which shld i upgrade first n how much would they cost respectively? assuming i'm just going for the decent-enough entry level components

the reason y i wanna get a trigger shifter first is bcuz i wanna change the stock grip to one with bar end, also because trigger feels nicer la

so i'm guessing u'd either recommend to stick to 7 speed n add a dual chainring first OR change the wheelset plus upgrade to 9/10 speed..?
etigge, any idea on which to upgrade first? blush.gif
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 05:42 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(andythology @ Oct 10 2013, 05:36 PM)
off-topic:
How do you all do the username tagging? Does the person being tagged get notify? smile.gif
test test

u tell us

andythology tongue.gif

not sure if i even use it correctly but yeah, each time someone tags me i get notified
2kia
post Oct 10 2013, 06:46 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 10 2013, 06:06 PM)
I think go for the wheelset and 9 speed first. This will ease your ride a lot and also tackle more hilly roads. Later can go for the dual or triple chain rings.  icon_rolleyes.gif
hmm okay la, wheelset n cassette it is first then! how much r we looking at first though? wheelset itself shld be a lot of money d right?
2kia
post Oct 11 2013, 02:37 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Oct 10 2013, 07:08 PM)
not fixed bro, now whenever not rain i will ride and also if i did not work late the day before, i still use v-brake on the mtb for me i think it is better than cheapo/low end disc brake as the surface heat disbursement is wider (whole rims). coming down vbrake will be faster (if brake not applied) bcoz there is nothing touching the rims compared to the low end disc whereby one side of the pad will be touching the disc.
i see.. gonna start new job next mon so dunno when ni i get to ride as well, haih

would prefer to ride in group going places cuz riding alone at night can be a bit boring n dangerous

as for the brake i'll try to source for the kool stop salmon, reviews say it's rather good even in wet condition

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 10 2013, 08:40 PM)
don't kacau market smile.gif  he need new one so rubbish for me (cheap cheap, i see most bike shop do this and i learn from there) ......

btw anyone able to find this basket ?
anyone need jagwire cable i have 4 set extra smile.gif
[attachmentid=3669422]
haha sorry bro but i'm definitely keeping it, everything still works well n shifts even better than my barely 1 year old dahon

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 10 2013, 09:21 PM)
Are you interested in a pair of Kinetix Comp from the Tern P9s? PM robyn, he's selling it and also there's another extra pair too. They are going for Lite Pros.
okok noted, thanks
2kia
post Oct 15 2013, 06:57 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

so envy u guys la got etigge over there

btw speaking of etigge, did you DIY ur truing stand??

2kia
post Oct 15 2013, 07:51 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 15 2013, 07:41 PM)
yes, I did!  tongue.gif  Needs to dish the rims on a bike itself though.
i see.. is it hard to make?

otherwise i'll just go to the bike shop n use theirs each time i needa true my wheels

btw i ordered this shifter below, shldnt have any compatibility issue right?

link
2kia
post Oct 15 2013, 08:29 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 15 2013, 08:18 PM)
Nolarr , not really hard to make. Just buy a few brackets from Daiso and a pair of shelf supports from Ikea for the arm. Then a long nut and bolt to act as the position indicators and  an angle bracket for the truing indicator. I think the pictures is in the earlier treads.
hmm kay la, then i'll give it a try!

ordered avid SD 5 brake n FR5 lever as well, so wanna true my wheel before they reach me biggrin.gif

anyway could u pls help me clarify this question below?

before i make payment tonight tongue.gif

QUOTE(2kia @ Oct 15 2013, 07:51 PM)
i see.. is it hard to make?

otherwise i'll just go to the bike shop n use theirs each time i needa true my wheels

btw i ordered this shifter below, shldnt have any compatibility issue right?

link
2kia
post Oct 15 2013, 08:42 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 15 2013, 08:33 PM)
Although SRAM and Shimano have indexing issues, they seem to work with each other until 9 speed. I think the components can accept a bit of tolerances. Only in the 10 and 11 speed that the adjustments are so minute they give problems. So, you are quite safe in using the Shimano shifters on any RDs and FDs.
is it due to the 2:1 shimano n sram 1:1 pull ratio issue or smthg else altogether?

well i just wanna change the gripshift to trigger, that's all biggrin.gif
2kia
post Oct 15 2013, 09:00 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 15 2013, 08:45 PM)
Just buy the shifters. No worries lah. In the event that it's not usable, sell it to me. HAhaha. What RDs are you using anyway?
haha okay u said wan ha

i'm using the original Neos RD that came with the boardwalk d7 lu..

the shifter is just temporary, till i upgrade the wheelset along with new RD n shifter for 9 or 10 speed blush.gif

2kia
post Oct 20 2013, 02:46 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 19 2013, 09:30 PM)
Exotic stuffs like that, I don't think our importer (GH Cycles or rather Gin Huat Cycles ) wants to entertain. Why don't you try calling them up and see if they have it. I recalled seeing it somewhere but can't remember where. hmm.gif
boss, i cant seem to find the pic of ur DIY truing stand

can post some pics n instructions? wanna make one too!

thanks in advance ha! tongue.gif
2kia
post Oct 22 2013, 07:21 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 21 2013, 01:13 PM)
If you don't mind the wait, I can lace up a Weinmann 20inch with Novatec sealed bearings wheelset for RM400 a pair. I have to order from China though. Takes 3 weeks time. The Litepro seatpost plus the wheelset plus detachable pedals should come to about RM600 plus minus RM100. With that I can throw in a 9 speed upgrade with SRAM Attack gripshifters for another RM150 (all inclusive, shifter, Neos 3.0 RD and cassette but you need to have the wheelset to accommodate). All are from the Tern P9s who have modded up.  icon_rolleyes.gif
i want eh! soon laa.. throw in a double compact as well can ah? tongue.gif

n any tentative date n time for ur penang ride?

i did n went n check out the bike trail at pulau betong some time early this year but nvr go all the way cuz i was literary alone in the entire trail not knowing where it leads to
2kia
post Oct 22 2013, 08:19 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 22 2013, 08:04 PM)
A double crank cost about RM250 ( an acceptable one lah!  nod.gif ) then FD and adapter, cable and housing and the shifter. That's another RM550 to RM600. If you want a double or triple chainring cranks, you can't use Neos derailleurs. You have to go for Shimano Altus or X4 RDs depending on your shifters. The Neos have super short cages, that's why when they do 27 speeds or 24 speeds they use a 3 geared internal hub together with the conventional RDs and cassette. When they started using Neos for 18 speed setup like Dr.Hon  Dash 2013 and Dr. Hon Visc P18, the Neos failed big time. They still didn't change back to Shimanos but altered the cage shape to prevent the chain from getting jam and pulled the whole RD apart. Still, the RDs are not really smooth and till today, if you back pedal , the chain get stuck. Try it!  nod.gif

I will be riding in Penang on the 9th November and staying the night in Balik Pulau before continuing the next day. Let's explore the Gertak Sanggul to Pulau Betong together. It's good for you too, right?  thumbup.gif
hmm.. more decisions to make! isk

guess i'll take it step by step to appreciate the different quality level as i upgrade

first will be the wheelset!

anyway u're gonna cycle in the mrng right?

i might have to work thru weekends but if the dates r confirmed i'll try to take a day off laa..
2kia
post Oct 27 2013, 02:18 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 26 2013, 05:24 PM)
2 black rims with black hubs and 1 red rims with red hubs. All spokes are black though. They are 28 spokes for the rear and 20 spokes for the front.
can lace up some red spokes in between like this wan ah? tongue.gif

Tern

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0445sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:14 AM