Depression

TSLazyKurosaki
post Aug 14 2013, 10:26 AM, updated 13y ago

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

Does depression causes permanent changes in personality of a person?
For example, someone who had depression for a while, after he/she fully recovered from depression, will he/she become totally another person? Changes in personality, thoughts etc.

Is it possible that making someone happy for a long time be a natural treatment for depression?

This post has been edited by LazyKurosaki: Aug 14 2013, 10:30 AM
sweet_pez
post Aug 14 2013, 02:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Aug 14 2013, 10:26 AM)
For example, someone who had depression for a while, after he/she fully recovered from depression, will he/she become totally another person? Changes in personality, thoughts etc.

Is it possible that making someone happy for a long time be a natural treatment for depression?
Why do you ask this question anyway? Care to explain?

Anyhow, it depends on the person's personality. There are people who is depressed but able to hide it very well, causing others around him/ her unable to detect that the said person is having a problem.

When one recovers from depression, the assumption is that this person is happier and more fulfilled so naturally he/ she will be more jovial but totally change to another person... it depends on your definition of "change".

How to make someone happy for a long time?

Treatment for depression - you need to understand the cause of depression in the first place.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 14 2013, 02:39 PM
leah235
post Aug 14 2013, 02:53 PM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

If a person recovers from depression, he/she normally become more mature and cautious.

Regarding changing in behaviour, it could be positive changes and more sensitivity towards surroundings.
TSLazyKurosaki
post Aug 14 2013, 03:18 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 14 2013, 02:38 PM)
Why do you ask this question anyway? Care to explain?

Anyhow, it depends on the person's personality. There are people who is depressed but able to hide it very well, causing others around him/ her unable to detect that the said person is having a problem.

When one recovers from depression, the assumption is that this person is happier and more fulfilled so naturally he/ she will be more jovial but totally change to another person... it depends on your definition of "change".

How to make someone happy for a long time?

Treatment for depression - you need to understand the cause of depression in the first place.
cause one of my fren had major depression before due to bullying in high school.

So the question pop up whether does a person personality changes once/after they recover from it..

My friend is very paranoid and always like to compete with people.. low self-esteem also..

She is still on medication. I saw her taking the medicine.. Since whenever we hangout, she feels very happy and we hangout often, that's why i'm wondering if making someone happy for a period of time will actually cure the mild depression or at least decreases it

Actually I also had depression before. 2 times last year but I recovered edi. I had suicidal thoughts that time but managed to control it. I feel that my behavior/personality has changed. I don't seems like the person I was before..

This post has been edited by LazyKurosaki: Aug 14 2013, 03:19 PM
TSLazyKurosaki
post Aug 14 2013, 03:20 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Aug 14 2013, 02:53 PM)
If a person recovers from depression, he/she normally become more mature and cautious.

Regarding changing in behaviour, it could be positive changes and more sensitivity towards surroundings.
Well, I guess then my friend have not fully recover from depression as she is still on medication..
chiahau
post Aug 14 2013, 03:31 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Depression is more of a mental thing than a physical thing.

It's not easy to cure depressions, and medications are used to contain it, rather than to effective treat it.

To overcome depression, I guess it's up to the individual to fight their way out of it.

It's hard to overcome depressions, best thing to do is refer to a psychologist, and check into therapy.

It does not mean one will recover fully, nor one would change.

Some people just grow out of depressions, some fallen even deeper and etc. It's different for every different individual.
scribbliciousss
post Aug 14 2013, 04:44 PM

31 posts

I highly recommend visiting a psychologist or psychiatrist. The stereotype that it's only for crazy/sad people drive me crazy, because psychologist are there to help and guide EVERYONE. I believe prevention is always better than cure.

I love this quote i found in this page in FB: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=686...&type=1&theater

I hope it encourages you!
SUSslimey
post Aug 14 2013, 04:46 PM

6,914 posts

do consult a professional.
i am not even sure if the person has "clinical" depression.
zachozoi
post Aug 14 2013, 05:15 PM

u come at the king, u best not miss
748 posts

this kinda situation do consult a doc
pkiensing
post Aug 14 2013, 05:16 PM

[Richfag]
824 posts

depression is a sickness or mood swing...
nothing to do with the personality...
TSLazyKurosaki
post Aug 14 2013, 05:23 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

Guys, im nt hving depression edi.. jz dat my fren is... she is on medication now.. becuz she is so paranoid about many things, i tot it is becuz of d major depression she had last time and dat now she dun hv major depression, it makes a someone who paranoid bout so much things

Is there any other way to cure depression other than medicine since her depression is btr nw?

This post has been edited by LazyKurosaki: Aug 14 2013, 05:29 PM
TSLazyKurosaki
post Aug 14 2013, 05:25 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(scribbliciousss @ Aug 14 2013, 04:44 PM)
I highly recommend visiting a psychologist or psychiatrist. The stereotype that it's only for crazy/sad people drive me crazy, because psychologist are there to help and guide EVERYONE. I believe prevention is always better than cure. 

I love this quote i found in this page in FB: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=686...&type=1&theater

I hope it encourages you!
Yes true. Psychologist and psychiatrist are there to help people... not only for crazy ppl.. but i believe sooner or later, the society will b more open to psychologist n psychiatrist without hving any sterotype
chiahau
post Aug 15 2013, 02:07 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Aug 14 2013, 05:23 PM)
Guys, im nt hving depression edi.. jz dat my fren is... she is on medication now.. becuz she is so paranoid about many things, i tot it is becuz of d major depression she had last time and dat now she dun hv major depression, it makes a someone who paranoid bout so much things

Is there any other way to cure depression other than medicine since her depression is btr nw?
Medicine can't cure depression.

It only suppresses it.

Get that fact correctly.

Best thing for you to do as a Friend is to be supportive. That's all.
danny_sp15
post Aug 15 2013, 08:09 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Aug 14 2013, 03:18 PM)
cause one of my fren had major depression before due to bullying in high school.

So the question pop up whether does a person personality changes once/after they recover from it..

My friend is very paranoid and always like to compete with people.. low self-esteem also.. 

She is still on medication. I saw her taking the medicine.. Since whenever we hangout, she feels very happy and we hangout often, that's why i'm wondering if making someone happy for a period of time will actually cure the mild depression or at least decreases it
Actually I also had depression before. 2 times last year but I recovered edi. I had suicidal thoughts that time but managed to control it. I feel that my behavior/personality has changed. I don't seems like the person I was before..
that's normal. even people with no depression changes. people change all the time. even 2 years ago im not the same person i am now.
Junrave
post Aug 15 2013, 08:26 AM

43 posts

yea..sometimes I suffer from depression and anxiety too... Both are linked actually, when you fall in depression more deeper, you will be slowly having anxiety such as keep on worrying things that have happened in the past or may happen in the future. You will feel that your heart pulse is rapidly beating.

It's not easy to cure this mentally problem. I am suffering from this now too. You tends to avoid it but you cant control. So, you have to always make yourself busy such as working, playing, watching television to draw your attention.

I used to enjoy much of my life. But recently because of my sickness, I indirectly feel depressed and anxiety sometime. Trust me, make yourself busy, orself the problem will affect your life.

scribbliciousss
post Aug 15 2013, 10:16 AM

31 posts

Well, if you're looking for more, things like FAMILY and FRIENDS support is also important. Sometimes all it takes is people believing in you and helping you change your perspective.

Find out what is the root cause of that depression, dissect the issue and tell yourself - you have the ability to change that. Most of us feel condemn and small, but WE are MADE to rise above our circumstances and must believe there are NO dead ends (unless we think that way). There's always a way out. Keep your chin up smile.gif or help them keep their chin up.

Erm, also feel spiritual support helps... ie, praying for a friend.

bigbangformula
post Aug 15 2013, 05:39 PM

1,872 posts

I did have some health issues a year ago, and ever since then, I have been thinking a lot about my health, and anything that can affect it. So even the smallest things can make me feel worried. Even now I'm worrying about few things regarding health. And it so happens that the things that make me worried are things that I cannot control or change. Imagine how that feels?

At least if it's something u can do, like if a girl reject you, just don't care about it. But this involves HEALTH, LIFE. It's not easy to just say, oh, it's ok. Nothing would happen. Because it can happen.

Maybe it's because I'm the kind of person that only think alot about myself? So u can say, oh, don't care so much about what happen to urself, get a girlfriend, then u won't bother so much about ur health anymore. Well that's not easy because my motivation in life comes from within myself.

This post has been edited by bigbangformula: Aug 15 2013, 05:42 PM
activexxx
post Aug 15 2013, 09:21 PM

445 posts

You guys should read this book --> How to Stop Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie
Username_Taken
post Aug 15 2013, 09:30 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Aug 14 2013, 10:26 AM)

I have experience with a loved one who has depression, there definitely will be changes in the personality. The depression itself leaves mental scars that dont fully fade away. But, that is not to say that the person will be worse after the depression, its all down to how the person recovers from it.

There are two kinds of people; those that get stronger and more positive through experience, and those who get weaker or more fearful. Their character will determine which one they are.
Username_Taken
post Aug 15 2013, 09:37 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Aug 15 2013, 05:39 PM)
I did have some health issues a year ago, and ever since then, I have been thinking a lot about my health, and anything that can affect it. So even the smallest things can make me feel worried. Even now I'm worrying about few things regarding health. And it so happens that the things that make me worried are things that I cannot control or change. Imagine how that feels?

At least if it's something u can do, like if a girl reject you, just don't care about it. But this involves HEALTH, LIFE. It's not easy to just say, oh, it's ok. Nothing would happen. Because it can happen.

Maybe it's because I'm the kind of person that only think alot about myself? So u can say, oh, don't care so much about  what happen to urself, get a girlfriend, then u won't bother so much about ur health anymore. Well that's not easy because my motivation in life comes from within myself.
What you are going through is likely anxiety. It's not easy, because the best way to deal with anxiety is to let your worries go completely. If you try to sit down and think and analyze on it, it will only make you worry more, because your mind will create new theories/assumptions and possibilities based on your object of worry.

QUOTE(activexxx @ Aug 15 2013, 09:21 PM)
You guys should read this book --> How to Stop Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie
Thats a good book! biggrin.gif

0.0658sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:52 PM