101 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V3, Manually Flash your Lumia 920 with Amber

fixgd
post Oct 12 2013, 04:37 PM

3,882 posts

is there any way i could get the vibrating sensation for typing without increase the ringing volume up to 30?

i notice that the vibration only increases when the ringing volume increase, when below than 20, cannot feel the vibration already
JasonWilton
post Oct 12 2013, 05:25 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Oct 12 2013, 10:30 AM)
No it really isn't.
We've always needed to push the power button (or double tap in our case) to wake the phone. No changes here.

The glance screen has always been just a screen to show us the time (and notifications in the future). Nokia is just giving us the choice to make it look better. You can always choose to turn it off.

If something as simple as this is confusing you, I think it's better to just turn it off. The point is we have the choice.
yes mate i understand, but i just don't see the need for a picture for the glance screen, the main purpose of the glance screen for me is to see the time, date and notifications, that's all hmm.gif
dgboy
post Oct 12 2013, 06:03 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Oct 12 2013, 05:25 PM)
the main purpose of the glance screen for me is to see the time, date and notifications
totally agreed, the function of glance is to provide information

the only use for a picture is perhaps as a fancy clock on the desk or bedside

anyway glance background is just a beta right now

since Nokia plans to add more notifications to glance, the glance screen may ultimately replace the lockscreen entirely and provide an always-on notification centre

This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 12 2013, 09:03 PM
xcen
post Oct 13 2013, 01:41 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Guys, are there still any sellers selling cheap new Ativ S or 8X?
chanchiew
post Oct 13 2013, 08:44 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Oct 12 2013, 07:43 AM)
Just bug fixes

I still have problems uploading photos directly to the fb albums
No problem for me, I can upload photo to this FB Beta rclxms.gif
lcy851031
post Oct 14 2013, 08:47 AM

741 posts

First Custom ROM for WP8 in Samsung Activ S. ohmy.gif

Features:

-Unlock / Interop Unlock / Relock prevent
-Volume limit disabled
-No prepinned tiles of Samsung apps
-Some of Samsung apps removed
-Full access to APNs and Internet Sharing brows.gif
-Two search providers: Yandex and Google. Both can launch its app from search key (if app is installed). Here're those apps: Yandex, Google.

http://www.wpcentral.com/custom-rom-baked-...s-released-wild

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2480510
ahnien
post Oct 14 2013, 09:55 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Oct 14 2013, 08:47 AM)
First Custom ROM for WP8 in Samsung Activ S.  ohmy.gif

Features:

-Volume limit disabled
-Two search providers: Yandex and Google. Both can launch its app from search key (if app is installed). Here're those apps: Yandex, Google.

...................... thumbup.gif

sadly... i think most lumias in malaysia are boot-locked rclxub.gif
xSean
post Oct 14 2013, 12:01 PM

2,767 posts

http://windowsphone.uservoice.com/forums/1...ndows-phone-8-1

please vote...
LightningZERO
post Oct 14 2013, 04:44 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Oct 14 2013, 12:01 PM)
lol....I think back+window button+search is a good layout

They should have done more for the search button
ashdwoers
post Oct 14 2013, 07:39 PM

Newb
2,234 posts

QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Oct 14 2013, 08:47 AM)
First Custom ROM for WP8 in Samsung Activ S.  ohmy.gif

Features:

-Volume limit disabled

ohmy.gif

lumia when? laugh.gif
lcy851031
post Oct 14 2013, 08:38 PM

741 posts

WP8 GDR3 Incoming:

-Support for 1080p display for new devices like the Lumia 1520
-Support for new processors including Qualcomm’s Snapdragon MSM8974 quad-core CPU
-Driving Mode: Turns of all notifications except texts and phone calls when you're driving. You can also turn calls and texts off completely or set Driving Mode to text and automatic reply like "Hey, I am driving right now. I'll reply you later." Driving Mode can start automatically when your phone connects to a Bluetooth device.
-New accessibility features: new update for Mobile Accessibility
-Improved Internet Sharing: No need to enter a password or dig out your phone and turn on Internet Sharing—it's done for you.
-More useful ringtones: With Update 3, you can use custom ringtones for more things—including instant messages, emails, voicemails, and reminders. You can also assign custom ringtones to contacts for text messages, so you'll know who's texting you without even looking.
-No more twist and shout: Does your screen keep spinning when you’re trying to read emails in bed? Use the new rotation lock option to keep it fixed in place.
-Better storage management: New storage settings make it easier to free up space on your phone and manage temporary files. A new category view shows what's taking up space at a glance.
-Easily close apps: Now you can use the App switcher to quickly close apps when you're finished with them.
-Wi-Fi access out of the box: You can now connect to Wi-Fi during phone set up, so you can start conserving cellular data right out of the box.
-Better Bluetooth: The team made a bunch of improvements to improve connection quality for Bluetooth accessories.

Developer can get GDR3 early.

http://blogs.windows.com/windows_phone/b/w...ew-program.aspx
LightningZERO
post Oct 14 2013, 09:57 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

We know about this for some time now, but good to see confrimation
s7ran9er
post Oct 14 2013, 10:17 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

better bluetooth eh? Hopefully this update will improve the fitness accessories!
donizback
post Oct 14 2013, 11:06 PM

And honey, you should see me in a crown!
1,474 posts

Any idea on when will the update be released? Will it take same like months to roll out like the Amber update???
dgboy
post Oct 14 2013, 11:20 PM

5,074 posts

still waiting for GDR2 on Samsung Ativ S SME set

This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 15 2013, 09:54 AM
-ahtiang-
post Oct 15 2013, 08:46 AM

435 posts

Guys & gals, GDR3 preview for developer is out and those whom have registered as Developer can now download the GDR3 directly via this app from Microsoft... However, this is only updating the core OS and any firmware specific update from phone manufacturer is not included e.g., Bittersweetshimmer.. (if your phone currently has AMBER they mentioned it will still be there on your phone post upgrade) and you cannot downgrade the OS once you upgraded to GDR3 preview, one can only wait for the newer version until GDR3 hit RTM or GOLD...

If you wanna try but not registering yourself as a full developer with a whopping USD 99 or USD 19 (unlock up to 3 devices for developer), you can go to Windows Phone App Studio to register yourself as a developer with 1 device activation to get the GDR3 preview...

You will continue to receive the official update (and firmware) when they become publicly available, so there is no missing out of features, nor will you ever be behind

This will void your device warranty

Please read the Terms and Condition carefully before going for the GDR3 preview ya icon_rolleyes.gif (my L920 warranty gonna end this December anyway so let's have a go!)

Downgrade?! For Nokia Device Back to GDR2 AMBER?!

A user in wpcentral managed to downgrade back from GDR3 to GDR2 AMBER on his Nokia at here... although Microsoft specifically mentioned you cannot downgrade the OS once you upgraded to GDR3 preview... that user is using Nokia Care Suite for the job! thumbup.gif

Have fun..

P/S: Once you choose the Windows Phone App Studio route (free mar), you need to download the whopping 1.6GBSDK 8.0 + 960MB SDK 8.0 Update rclxub.gif shakehead.gif to register your phone as a developer phone to side lock... If you wanna do some extras reading how to register your phone to become developer phone, then hit this site

Upon successful registering your device as a Developer Phone, you will also received an e-mail to install a Microsoft Certificate which will allow your phone to accepts sideload or OTA from Microsoft preview channel

Once the above is done, scan this app below to get it OTA to your phone...

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Oct 16 2013, 08:12 AM
-ahtiang-
post Oct 15 2013, 03:34 PM

435 posts

OK, GDR3 is up on my phone hehehe...
lcy851031
post Oct 16 2013, 12:19 AM

741 posts

Nokia IPod/Zune? hmm.gif

http://www.wpcentral.com/new-leak-sees-nok...le-music-player
dgboy
post Oct 16 2013, 07:03 AM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Oct 15 2013, 03:34 PM)
OK, GDR3 is up on my phone hehehe...
Is there an option to disable haptic feedback on the three control button?
-ahtiang-
post Oct 16 2013, 08:02 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Oct 16 2013, 07:03 AM)
Is there an option to disable haptic feedback on the three control button?
I dun think you can disable that feature

101 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:20 PM