12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL & FLX Rojak Thread V49, Poor people car everyday need to fix

Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 12:49 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(blau-saga @ Aug 12 2013, 10:10 PM)
after few almost 1k kms with cdrive2 tyres, and 3max bars, change stock brake pads, why i found it's easier for the tyre to give screeching sound when hard braking (straight road, jam brake for traffic light, slow cars or speed hump) and fast junction entering? emm, i'm not sure front (cdrive2) or rear (old goodyear)
maybe brand new brake pads, locks wheels/slows rotors faster than the tire can cope.
functions, due to the bars, they WILL work your suspension/tires harder (which is good)

i would not be too surprised if it's the c drive 2 as they are comfort tires, however if you are having mixed tires, best if you can first identify where is the source of the screech. and to be honest, better if you practice changing all 4 tires instead of 2/pair, while practicing good tire rotations for even wear on all 4 tires.
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 05:30 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Aug 13 2013, 10:36 AM)
Arr. after changed to bendix metal king brake pad. Its giving me scratching rotor sound on my left side. The longer period i use the higher scratching sound.
didn't give you enough clues?
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 05:32 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Aug 13 2013, 12:42 PM)
bendix metal king isn't that good either on genting roads, especially downhill... fade out quite fast when reaching its temperature threshold.
i've heard good reviews that it is rather fade resistant.

however with the rotor wear and noise, naw i'll pass on it.
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 05:33 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(r3apers @ Aug 13 2013, 12:45 PM)
hmm.gif my collegue husband use it on genting road its a mit lancer while stoping gotong jaya, there are sum smoke coming frm the brake area...  sweat.gif
not sure about BMK, but i used rapid stop 500c pads, down hill smoked like hell and fade until no more brakes, had to stop at the side of karak letting the car slowly roll till a flat terrain and stop to cool down the pads. the smoke was even blurring my wind screen.

and with the wear it did to my rotor, insane brake dust.

never again. lol.
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 05:34 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Maxwell6635 @ Aug 13 2013, 01:45 PM)
try Rapid Stop brake pad 500C...is already sufficient for daily usage and aggresive braking  smile.gif
try EBC greenstuff la. lol.
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 05:36 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(TitanRev @ Aug 13 2013, 03:52 PM)
Change brake pads, rotor need to skim. Reason for skimming is because at times you will notice that the rotors has some grooves in it shallow one or deep one that is due to debris stuck between the rotors and the pads. The naked eye see is even but it's actually not. That's why after you change a pad without a skim disc you will notice the rotors some area got contact some area don't have. It's very visible if you wash the car and the rotor got slight rust on it and you go drive around and see some area the rust gone and some still there. For me I only practice skimming the same disc twice only. Then change the rotors.
personally, id go with this:
if got sound before changing pads - skim
if your fingers can feel grooves - skim

otherwise, leave it. skim too many times = rotor replacement = hassle + money
and yes, skim disc 2/3 times max then have to change, cuz too thin already.
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 07:06 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Aug 13 2013, 06:43 PM)
Re Front Disc Pads/Rotors, my old gen Saga nvr had 2skim rotors...
Juz changed pads nia...
lines/shallow grooves got but no sounds...

Wat me do is remove brake pads at regular intervals & sand them flat b4 putting back...
Works 4that ride...
you shouldn't do that, as it re creates uneven braking surfaces in which you originally eliminated with your brake pads/rotor running in for the first 1-2k km.

that is only "acceptable" if you have noise/braking jutters however you don't want to skim the rotors and your pads are not due to replace yet.

it works for you most likely because you don't even brake that hard to begin with and it was never an issue on extreme thermal expansion/distribution.
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 10:46 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(goohtj @ Aug 13 2013, 07:40 PM)
consulted my spare part man he said can use Detron III / same as ATF III used in auto Gear box..
anyone using?
can is can, however better on following specification of Mitsu/proton SPIII instead of dextron III smile.gif
specifications are there for a reason, no?
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 10:55 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Aug 13 2013, 07:56 PM)
Cos a higher grade fluid is normally backward compatible IINM...  smile.gif
that is true for the most part. however have to make sure the spec/data sheets are the same/similar, like how some gear/atf oils have high viscosity/low viscosity specifications. difference quite huge btw and if you don't follow, even if it has no issue, it may potentially cause faster wear/tear in the long run.

examples:
http://www.torcousa.com/technology/HiVis_ATF_Torco.pdf
http://www.torcousa.com/technology/LoVis_ATF_Torco.pdf

high viscos (thicker) for mitsu SPII / III
low viscosity for mitsu SP IV

another example would be DOT5 brake fluid being silicone based, are NOT compatible with DOT3/DOT4/DOT5.1 smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 11:04 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Aug 13 2013, 08:14 PM)
Was wondering if yu can share yr informative & experienced views on how one can improve the braking system of our Gagas w/o ABS/EBD, etc?

Wld the following be of any help? And in what order of action if done in stages (due to budget probs?)?

Changing to :
1. Dbl Diaphragm Brake Servo
2. Larger Master Brake Cylinder
3. Stainless Steel Reinforced Brake pipes eg Pro RS...
4. Better/Larger Disc Rotors
5. Better Disc Calipers
personally, i do Plug and play products, so my opinions can be a bit... how should i put it "not efficient" ?
i tend to pay more however i get less hassle since my upgrades are all EASILY reversible and removable should i want to sell/don't like.

while cheaper/more efficient options would be things like sifu davidke20 mentioned, using half cuts from other cars, modify/replace the knuckle so on and so forth.

personally i run on:

- IMP slotted/x drilled rotors skimmed once no f***ing thanks to rapid stop doh.gif
now the slots are barely there. if need to skim again i'll be selling it instead (im sure there are people out there who don't mind some brake jitters/noise) :/

- IMP stainless steel brake hoses with DOT 5.1 brake fluid, very snappy braking response lol

- EBC Green stuff (RRP is 320 for iswara lol)
if you dont mind brake dust, consider going EBC ultimax (their basic product) thats around 160-170 or so RRP

if you're going the route as you listed, best if you 1 shot do all minus item 3, because they come in a set. having larger rotors/calipers (and/or additional pistons aka 2/3 pots etc) without the appropriate servo/cylinder you'll be getting VERY poor braking performance.
like wise, go the other way around of item 1/2 first, you'll easily lock your wheels and you'll be in a very dangerous situation.
so 1-5 minus 3 has to be done all together.
now you can see why i don't even bother them and kept stock ROFL! there WILL be trial and error and you'll need a LOT of patience for this. i use my car as a daily ride, not a track car that tends to sit in the workshop more than the road, so i won't have such patience hence my choice on upgrades.

ps: i got news that LKC bought satria liao, the RVR braking system is for sale and im f***ing tempted tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 11:13 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(sahar @ Aug 13 2013, 10:43 PM)
betul ke?
once use FS EO, tak boleh down grade after that. Engine will have problem if downgrade EO to SS.
salah.
you downgrade to mineral also no problem. if you heard that from magician, change magician.
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2013, 11:18 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(goohtj @ Aug 13 2013, 11:08 PM)
Young men, Boot can put 2 x 12" subwoofer...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 12:59 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

davidke20

i still proceed to give the rear apm lowered springs a try, much stiffer, absolutely hate it on humps/potholes aka malaysian roads.

however the stability is there, i tried to press it from outside, as you said, only 1 bounce or barely much as the absorbers are full time engaged as the spring's much shorter than the H&R's and the absorbers, being sports oriented short stroke, it is stiff as f*** lol. http://www.thousand.com.my/index.php?m=pro...yID=41&proID=75

additionally, i've advanced my distributor ignition timing by 3-5 degrees
my mechanic help me advanced it and said right now it's the max for Ron 95, not sure how true is that, but damn my car suddenly become damn powerful lol. 130-140km/h can still see it climb decently compared to before rofl.
i think during the gymkhana sessions i could perhaps sit in 2nd gear without first gear for torque as that could upset the car balance/tires.

just tested the route from my house to kl sentral, decent twisties between duta - mahameru, averaging 130-160km/h.
feedback is really good, the stiffness really shines here, and thankfully it did not scrape the rear fenders unlike previously, probably because the absorbers are much better this time around.

it still hops a little if i throttle steer too much/too fast, however overall it's a lot more stable than before. i still prefer the old setup on a daily ride basis, however for track days, it is no doubt the current springs should fare much better. we'll see how it goes this sunday, if its really positive, i'll decide to keep the rear springs, probably have to end up keeping everything because i doubt anyone will buy the fronts only rofl. actually it does make sense though, if you have passengers at the rear, iswaras tend to sink quite a bit on stock spring/absorber setups and some humps will scrape similar to wira's.
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 02:06 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Aug 14 2013, 01:27 AM)
Me might juz keep 2same Dot 4 fluid since Dot 4 & 5.1 not compatiblenor mixable. Flushing the brake sys fully clean of Dot 4 wld b a prob...

2. To do 1 - 5 (minus 3 ) together wld also b a prob...financially...besides being a lot of hassle... sweat.gif
Moreover a sudden brake lock situation is LESS preferable to a progressive/ controllable albeit weaker braking performance. True?
DOT4 and 5.1 can mix, although not recommended since your DOT5.1 is wasted lol (after mixture it'll still perform as a DOT4, so there is no point to mix).

and yes, true. once you lock, its up to tire performance already and chances are if you're driving on comfort based tires/drifting tires ala silverstones, you better start praying early lol.

and you're welcome smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 02:10 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 14 2013, 01:42 AM)

You're ready to go yawn.gif Back to sleep, waifu will be wondering make milk make half an hour for the son yawn.gif
notworthy.gif
many more questions liao lol

- how come the spring will fly out, too short than stock settings?

- what is that orange thing, some kinda wheel? lol

and lol 30mins milk making laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 02:56 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

"Fat Otaku heaven" (Y)
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 07:49 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 14 2013, 07:36 AM)
1) Ya

2) Ya
what size is that wheel o_O
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 07:56 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 14 2013, 07:53 AM)
I have the exact same unit. Magician GAVE it to me back in 2004 if not mistaken. We bought a halfcut, the sparewheel goes to me. 16"
hmm so you're recommending me to upsize my rear to 16"?
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 08:10 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 14 2013, 08:07 AM)
Change the ori spare tayar out lar laugh.gif Btw, accidentally digged out an old photo of my Iswaga. Lurv it wub.gif
ohh basically lighten the rear la? (might as well just remove? lol)
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2013, 03:35 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Darrenkls @ Aug 14 2013, 08:54 AM)

then fruitie's car will become taxi in future  laugh.gif
she taxi'd other peoples' cars for so long, now her turn to return the favor la w

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0440sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:37 AM