6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V5, 4.3 incoming and wait for kit kat, 4.4

Cavino
post Aug 22 2013, 12:30 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 22 2013, 11:00 AM)
Ikr. From one of the youtube channel. Anyways, I think they meant that there's no anti chip feature so yeah.
Nope, not the anti-chip feature. Browsing thru google and saw in one of the forum where there is a spigen moderator responding to a question, does nano help preventing gorilla glass breaking if phone is drop...

Answer is something like, "No, Nano does not help in absorbing impact of gorilla glass breaking but our Slim TR do as its thicker glass helps."

disclaimer, not in exact words and don't know what forum....
Cavino
post Aug 22 2013, 01:29 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 22 2013, 12:34 PM)
Wah dunno wat forum, and u can still share?
I masuk lots of sites on Nano before buying, if cannot remember what site but gain some insight there, cannot share meh. That's why I put disclaimer mah and I'm not quoting, just re-word it. No proof tho, believe at your risk. whistling.gif

I myself was disappointed when I see that post, so re-read to make sure.

On oleo coating, I believe you're right but while it last, I can still enjoy. Since I'm using the Slim View cover when I receive call, minimize oil sticking on the screen, thus less rubbing on the coat, hopefully can last longer.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 22 2013, 02:00 PM
Cavino
post Aug 22 2013, 01:57 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Aug 22 2013, 01:42 PM)
so which means nano spigen is not really good?
The primary feature of Glass SP is much harder scratch resistance, did not impede gorilla clear and sharp display and ultimately provide the smoothest touch screen similar to gorilla glass. It's one of the best here.

If want to anti-break glass, no its not. I don't think any other SP serve as anti-break protector either. You can always buy those car anti-break tint and DIY... sweat.gif

Oleo coating will wear out eventually on all SP, so its a secondary feature only, enjoy while it last tho.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 22 2013, 02:01 PM
Cavino
post Aug 23 2013, 09:32 AM

842 posts

I'm using china-based Maxthon Cloud Browser since S2. Feature rich cloud features including auto-syn and support flash and html 5. Auto sync my links from S2. Has privacy mode like those on PC. Small footprint and does not makan memory.

Did not compare speed but its fast with a feature that load pages ahead of links, whatever that is, but its fast. For my S2, the latest version seems look take a couple more second to start....slow but once started, browsing is fast. On S4, it started immediately without issue.
Cavino
post Aug 26 2013, 08:33 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Aug 26 2013, 12:26 AM)
Anyone hav any idea wic spigen sp Shud I go for? As mentioned here that nano not good and can go for normal spigen sp.
Nano is NOT no good lar

I think you guys have to understand the weakness of all SP, glass or plastic. Unlike normal SP, glass SP with a much higher hardness rating, can withstand sharp object like knife, keys, screwdriver, etc.

However its seems that NO SP, glass or plastic has been able to withstand sands. It was mentioned all over the forums on practically all glass SP as sand is the bane of all SP.

Thus my reluctant earlier on get casing without frontal covering even with glass sp although I've been looking at Neo for a while. It was not until Slim Armor View appearing that trigger my immediate purchase of glas.T Nano along with the casing, after that the phone itself.
Cavino
post Aug 26 2013, 08:37 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 25 2013, 06:24 PM)
Well it depends to the individual. Just like SP. As u said Rm30 good SP like yours, people will consider whether to get it as some people would not spend a Rm30 on the plastic. Same thing goes to the Glass series.
Its the same philosophy of some ppl buying a ride, mentioned, any good value for money working car with 4 wheel that can reach their destination safely will do. But lots of ppl still goes for premium ride. A matter of perception, taste and willingness to spend more dough for that premium "feeling".
Cavino
post Aug 26 2013, 08:49 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Aug 24 2013, 09:37 PM)
So it's not worth it to buy?
There are many other alternative cheaper S-View cover outside. Also got more expensive ones like the SGP ones with much more drop protection. Samsung ori S-View like most S-View casing outside do protect against accidental scratching on front screen but has minimal drop protection. A bit overprice but then again all branded casing also overprice but the original Samsung S-View with minimal protection, feels more so.

Personally, I find S-View function very useful. You do not need to flip open cover to receive call (have to open cover to initiate call tho). I have an oily face, usually after calls, my screen got oil stain all over, wiping it off is sometimes a hassle as the oil stain don't go off easily unless you're using oleo sp (coating only last a while tho).

You still stain the outer cover but at least when you want to browse your phone, it remains oil free (from face oil). Also I used the phone alarm everyday as my wakeup call, also can switch off or snooze thru S-View.
Cavino
post Aug 26 2013, 09:15 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(yyt @ Aug 26 2013, 01:26 AM)
hope this help.

CODE
I'm getting a new Android. How do I move my chat history over?
Summary:

Backup your chats on your old phone.
       Go to WhatsApp > [Menu Button] > Settings > Chat settings > [Backup conversations].
   Transfer your microSD card to your new phone.
       Please see below if your phone only has internal memory.
   Install WhatsApp on your new phone.
   Click [Restore] when prompted to restore your message history.

Note: You cannot restore chat history from any other phone type to Android, or from Android to another phone type.
Details:

You can transfer chats from one Android phone to another. To do so, please follow these steps:

To start, make a back-up of your most recent chats.
       Go to WhatsApp > [Menu Button] > Settings > Chat settings > [Backup conversations].
   Next, transfer this backup to your new Android phone.
       If your phone has an external microSD card, take the microSD card out of your old phone, and pop it into your new one.
       For phones that have an internal memory / internal SD card (most Samsung phones have this), you will need to transfer the /sdcard/WhatsApp/ folder from your old phone to the same folder of your new phone. There are a couple of ways you can do this. You can use a file explorer or even transfer the backup files to your computer.
       If you are unsure about what kind of SD card you have, we recommend checking your phone specifications on your phone manufacturer’s website.
   Once you have safely transferred your backup, you can install WhatsApp on your new Android phone.
   During the installation process, WhatsApp will automatically find your backup and ask you if you would like to restore it. Once restored, your old chats will reappear, on your new phone.

Having problems with phone number verification? Check out this article.

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team

As mentioned, backup your chat history first. Here's what I did after that.

Use myfiles app that comes with all touchwiz to copy the entire WhatsApp folder in your device base storage to your computer using the USB cable. If you are re-using your external SD card, you can also copy the whatsapp folder into your SD card instead.

On your S4, before installing WhatsApp, copy the entire Whatsapp folder from computer or SD card back to the device base storage. The proceed download and install Whatsapp, it will automatically look for and ask if you want to restore history in the same Whatsapp Folder.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 26 2013, 09:15 AM
Cavino
post Aug 26 2013, 10:11 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 26 2013, 09:53 AM)
As mentioned. Only the Korea version will come with a SP in it and also an additional hole at the top of the case. For us version, you won't be getting SP nor the additional hole on top. Prices are the same.
Yeah, I would prefer the US version without hole on top right as it exposed a corner liao in case of drop. However I think for some SGP casing, its thick enuf to prevent the exposed phone itself from touching the ground if drop. However if it happens to hit on a smaller jutting rock or something, its will still hurt....if you're so unlucky.

However if you wanted the SP, the Korean version is more value for money if you don't mind the hole.

In case for those that is not sure, Mstore1 sold the US version, at least for Slim Armor View . View has no SP either in Korean version, both have the cover screen SP, so US version is THE only one to go for this model.

ps. for those not in the know, ALL KOREAN casing, from SGP Korean version to Mercury branded (Korean casing manufacturer) has an additional hole on the top right corner for TV antenna ONLY for all Samsung Korean smartphone version.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 26 2013, 10:18 AM
Cavino
post Aug 26 2013, 10:28 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Aug 26 2013, 10:20 AM)
What hope in top right your talking about? Is it d it receiver one?
You can go to Korea Spigen Site.

http://www.spigen.co.kr/

Look at all the casing pics there. Its top right (rear) casing has an expose hole that has no purpose for our phone but was needed for Korean smartphone version.
Cavino
post Aug 26 2013, 04:08 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(romeo57 @ Aug 26 2013, 03:57 PM)
Where did you get the SGP Slim Armor View?
Finding one.
Mstore1

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry60313393
Cavino
post Aug 27 2013, 07:23 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 27 2013, 06:20 PM)
means the button area is quite thick eh?
blink.gif rclxub.gif sweat.gif doh.gif rclxms.gif
Cavino
post Aug 27 2013, 07:27 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 27 2013, 07:24 PM)
okay. blush.gif

still quite thick though with an aluminium button on top of the original button.
If you have a front cover, it might have a bump there. The button will be best installed with Glas.TR as it make up for the 0.4 recess at the button area.
Cavino
post Aug 28 2013, 01:13 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 28 2013, 12:43 PM)
err did u turn off the sync ?
Switching off Google Now if you have enable it.
Cavino
post Aug 28 2013, 02:08 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 28 2013, 02:00 PM)
you can monitor from your s4 as well, just set a limit and warning, the difference between the counter and actual from telco is not that much.
Although I'm using a very detailed counter 3G Watchdog Pro brought over from my S2, I find the S4 stock data usage counter quite close the Telco data as well.

Can set limit also. Unless you wanted to track in detail, then those apps like Watchdog, data counter might be more useful, otherwise, use the S4 stock data usage counter. Just set the data limit, change the date cycle from the day you start, etc.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 28 2013, 02:12 PM
Cavino
post Aug 28 2013, 03:35 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Aug 28 2013, 03:20 PM)
how to uninstall it? i don't really understand
No need uninstall unless you want to root.

Just switch off all smart functions from the shortcuts. For me, I just leave sync and rotate on only. Smart View, air view, all switch off.

For google now (the major juice sucker), if you on it, switch it off by pressing long pressing menu capacitive button (left one beside the home button). In google now, make sure it is not running.
Cavino
post Aug 28 2013, 03:51 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Aug 28 2013, 03:43 PM)
alright then i already force stop a lot unwated apps.. recently my phone keep freeze.. getting lagger day by day
You should check what is running in the background thru combination GSam Battery Monitor and Watchdog Lite (CPU). Some apps such as games, chat apps (line, wechat) might runs in background. Force close using task killers, etc might also cause freezing due to possibility of related functions killed.

Watchdog lite also kills but I don't use the kill function, just monitor real time CPU usage during the lags and see what causes it from CPU consumption.

For eg, during my S2 time, after and OS update, super lag and found out thru Watchdog Lite when it lags, Swype CPU consumption goes sky high. Once disabled Swype, lags solved. Monitoring using these apps do help to identify what causes those lags.
Cavino
post Aug 29 2013, 09:30 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 28 2013, 08:22 PM)
How to switch off Google Now? I found out the Sync function is the major juice sucker, the thing is when I turn it off, I won't be getting Gmail sync, is there a way to have an option to off everything except email ?
Try cancelling all the sync except for email in the Setting->Accounts first. See if it helps.

Cavino
post Aug 30 2013, 08:42 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(gigante1312 @ Aug 30 2013, 02:04 AM)
guys..wanna ask.. is slim armor view and glass T nano slim from Mstore1 is a genuine or it a fake? anyone buy from them? im interested to buy from him. but want to make sure first..
Upon Edwin recommendation, I bought Amor View (black) and Nano glass from him too. Confirmed genuine.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 30 2013, 08:46 AM
Cavino
post Aug 30 2013, 08:52 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Aug 29 2013, 08:10 PM)
after looking more detail, need to purchase at least 20pcs.
but i do saw the same item sell about rm70 also if u purchase single pcs, dono real o nt

this one cheaper lagi
http://list.qoo10.my/item/CLASS10-MICRO-SD...MSUNG/410065290
IMO, from what I can see, its "For Samsung Mobile", its not Samsung SD Card. Its probably a fake. Samsung ori card, usually just a have a single Brand Name on top, "Samsung", either in white or black depending on card color.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0500sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:26 AM