Fundsupermart.com v4, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

SUSyklooi
post Aug 16 2013, 07:45 PM

8,188 posts

Should You Be Concerned About Monetary Tightening? August 16, 2013
An interest rate hike is typically negative for equity markets, as it tends to raise the cost of borrowing and hence is widely believed to curb investment incentives
Selected emerging economies have started to raise interest rates to relieve pressures from currency depreciation and capital outflows. Despite fears of monetary tightening, we believe investment opportunities are still abound.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...?articleNo=7037
SUSyklooi
post Aug 16 2013, 11:15 PM

8,188 posts

Investments For The Brave [16 August 13]
present to investors 3 segments which have taken a beating in recent times, or that could be taking one soon.....
Coupled with the fact that mortgage rates are beginning to trend up, and with looming interest rates hikes by the Fed around 2016 (coinciding with the end of the locked-in first 2 year interest rate quantum as per most mortgage agreements), it would take an extremely brave soul to begin or continue investing in investment properties.......
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=8585
SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2013, 10:51 AM

8,188 posts

week end to think about....
I suspect most of us know someone who is a bit like Bob.
every day, Bob would, without fail, open the lid of his lunchbox and let out a deep sigh. The expression on his face said it all. He would, with a heavy heart, moan to his friends about how uninteresting the content of his lunchbox was.
Then one day, one of Bob’s colleagues asked him why he didn’t ask his wife to make him something different for lunch. He looked quizzically at his friend and said: “What do you mean? My wife doesn’t make my sandwiches, I do.”

I wonder how many of us are a bit like Bob when it comes to managing our investments. We moan about the unappetising returns we are earning and yet, we rarely do anything about it. Instead, we just carry on salting away money in our savings accounts that pay us next to nothing in interest.......
http://www.fool.sg/2013/08/17/can-bob-impr...s76yhocs0070001
(click "refresh" if cannot access)
SUSyklooi
post Aug 18 2013, 01:22 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 18 2013, 11:52 AM)
My IRR is now about 1%, will dump on the next REIT rally, park in CMF first. Will top up on OSK-UOB GEYF and Hwang Select Asia Opportunity slowly with the money.
another lesson that I learnt.....
a got Hwang Sel Asia infrastructure at - 6% in June, waiting for it to go back to "0" SC in June,
was thinking of switching to EI China fund but hesitated, was waiting for a small rally in HSAInf,
EI China goes up +8% in 2 mths, hwang is still -6%....
he who hesitate is lost.....well it might go the other way

SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ezral007 @ Aug 19 2013, 02:26 PM)
Im planning to keep it for more than 10 years. Hopefully things works out well biggrin.gif
some things to consider in Unit trusts: Let’s take a look at $10,000 invested over 30 years with an average annualized gain of 10%.
If you invested in an exotic mutual fund with an expense ratio of 2.5%, you would have only $87,550 and paid a whooping $86,944 (almost 50%) in expense fees. Ouch! sweat.gif
http://www.moolanomy.com/20/how-expense-ra...nt-performance/
still a good investment vehicle for 10 years? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 19 2013, 02:29 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:31 PM

8,188 posts

Every publicly listed company has to prepare three financial statements: the Income Statement; Cash Flow Statement; and Balance Sheet. All three have to be studied together to paint a holistic picture of a company’s financials and business condition.

Pink,
can we get these 3 info from the annual reports of unit trust funds ?
can we get these 3 info from the annual reports of Stock that we purchase from Bursa?
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 19 2013, 02:32 PM)
Time to move to stocks slowly... ;P
yes, but it is a whole new ball games rclxub.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 02:37 PM)
Yes and yes
wow, how to attend a short course to understand these lor.....
Every publicly listed company has to prepare three financial statements: the Income Statement; Cash Flow Statement; and Balance Sheet. All three have to be studied together to paint a holistic picture of a company’s financials and business condition.

That’s important for every investor – not just for dividend investors – to keep in mind.

http://www.fool.sg/2013/08/19/two-numbers-...s76yhocs0070001
click "refresh" if prompted to sign up

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 19 2013, 02:44 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 03:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 02:59 PM)
Buy my ACCA old textbooks? tongue.gif
rclxms.gif wow, if can 100% become cleverer after reading these books, then i think it will be a GOOD investment.
start the bidding war now....i start with 10 whistling.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 10:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 19 2013, 08:41 PM)
I also have good feeling on Thai market..
latest news:
Economic growth outlook lowered sweat.gif sweat.gif
Published: 19 Aug 2013
The state think-tank lowered its growth projection for 2013 to between 3.8% and 4.3% from the previous prediction of between 4.2% and 5.2%, due to a slower than expected global economic recovery
The agency also cut its annual investment forecast from 7.9% to 6%, while domestic consumption is now expected to grow 2.6%, down from the previous prediction of 3.2%.
NESDB also cut the export target for the current year to 5% from 7.6% and the import target to 6.5% from 7.6%.
http://www.bangkokpost.com/business/news/3...indicators-fall
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 11:21 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Anythinglah @ Aug 19 2013, 11:02 PM)
.......recommend me on how much % should I allocate to each fund house so that itll be diversified please? I've already a plan in my mind ,fund houses are; hwang quantum, Hwang opportunity, osk emerging unit trust,alliance global equity, kenaga growth. .......
do you trust FSM analysis? if yes, try study this 1st, http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tarRatings.svdo,
then refer to each of the fund factsheet/ annual reports to see where the fund allocate the money to where and how much by %
I suggest you use excel to formulate.
then decide where and how much you want to allocate
example, kenaga growth is HEAVY on Malaysia, if you like you can increase the % of money, if you don't like Malaysia you can reduce the % of money to reduce the diversification in your portfolio.

btw, did you consider bond as part of portfolio diversification?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 19 2013, 11:27 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 11:39 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Anythinglah @ Aug 19 2013, 11:25 PM)
Because for what I know,investing in Malaysia is [B]less volatile right [/B]? Does this mean, for a start, it's safe to say I should put more in Malaysia until I get familiarized with the market? What do you think? Thanks for your suggestion though.
[B]less volatile right [/B] by how many % are you ready to lose? can you not touch the fund if the price dropped for 30% and stayed there for 3 ~4 years?.
go goggle "KLSE Stock index chart" and do some back tracking to see how much it did drop and for how long it stayed there,......but past performance May not be an indicator of future performance.

SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 10:39 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 20 2013, 10:34 AM)
Yeah... look like this selldown is targeting ASEAN market... china/brazil/india/russia all long time crash already.
doh.gif OMG, alamak, oouch! vmad.gif
just last week switched my fund to 8% china and 10% Asia ex Jpn. sweat.gif sweat.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 12:39 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 20 2013, 12:35 PM)
Capital Flows Back to U.S. as Markets Slump Across Asia
URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-08-19/c...ck-to-u-s-.html
OSK-UOB US FOCUS Equities fund or /and RHB GS US Equities Fund? whistling.gif nod.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 12:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 20 2013, 12:42 PM)
OSK-UOB Global Equity Fund has broader coverage and risk is lower than US focused!
every 1k would be 490 in US, Jpn 44 and UK 140 only.....not much impact in % of portfolio allocation......
hit and run, hit and run??
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 12:51 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 20 2013, 12:43 PM)
I am eyeing Aberdeen World equity fund... still hesitating to enter...
that is the fun things, enter, no enter, enter, no enter....(i too have this dilemma feelings at times)
uncle gark always reminded, look for mkt valuation and invest for long terms, enter bit by bits.
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 12:56 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 20 2013, 12:50 PM)
Single country fund is always risker as risk is localized.

Unless you're super confident with US market for the next 6 months. Then, you may go for US focused funds.
hmm.gif rolleyes.gif thinking, thinking.......
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 01:00 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 20 2013, 12:58 PM)
RHB-GS US Equity Fund is small & mid cap based US fund like HQAF.
wow, lagi volatile...up very fast and down also very fast. sweat.gif sweat.gif
thks for info

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 20 2013, 01:04 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 01:13 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(genesic @ Aug 20 2013, 01:12 PM)
so now is the good time to buy US fund ? which one would you select and why ?  hmm.gif
i just realised i dont have US exposure  cry.gif
read previous few postings
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2013, 06:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 20 2013, 06:48 PM)
Hang Seng and Nikkei dropped > 2%
time to consider at 1%Sc closing 30 August
EASTSPRING INVESTMENTS DINASTI EQUITY FUND
EASTSPRING INVESTMENTS GLOBAL EMERGING MARKETS FUND
sweat.gif sweat.gif