Nov 25 2013, 09:03 PM
1,600 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 25 2013, 06:39 PM) hello me first time invest in gold, Although No one can guarantee what will happen but based on the trend, the price of gold seems will go down somemore. By then, rm130.80/g consider high. Some say this trend will remain till mid or end of 2014. As long as u have the holding power, u won't lose anything.opened a gold SA with UOB today. start with 40gm today at RM130.80. Am i taking too high a risk buying now?? |
Nov 25 2013, 09:30 PM
Below 1230/oz now... 1229/oz
Nov 25 2013, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 25 2013, 10:20 PM) Gold's worth how much is based on fiat money term. U may disagree with me but this is what I think.Money can be used to buy properties, invest in stock market, can be used to open up business to buy goods, to pay wages for workers, to buy burger at roadside store, can buy candy. But gold cannot without changing to fiat money term first. If gold price doesn't go up like from 80's to 2000, then gold "worth" also being 'eaten" by inflation. Gold is not a money since it doesn't be used as a medium of exchange. When gold cannot buy candy, burger, house, car, shares, how can it be classified as "money", so more "honest money". Debts increasing is not a concern as long as those debt can be serviced and fiat money works well until my last breath. Let's say 1 oz of gold is worth rm4000. And if u only can choose between 1 oz of gold and rm4000, which one would u choose? I'll choose the gold coz it might appreciate above rm4000 worth but whereas the value of rm4000 will depreciate. I disagree that "Gold is not a money since it doesn't be used as a medium of exchange". I would love to accept gold rather than fiat money as an exchange to my goods and services. Just that ppl are afraid that the gold might not be genuine and it's a hassle to test every gold during each transaction. |
Nov 25 2013, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(DLeom Vault @ Nov 25 2013, 11:45 PM) Thanks to banking creations such as gold derivatives, gold futures and options, and gold exchange traded funds (ETF), tonnes of gold and silver has been 'bought to existence' out of thin air, just like how paper currency is created. These banking products allows clients to invest in gold and silver, but you seldom get to 'cash out' in physical gold and silver, because there might not be any in the first place! U sound like mike Maloney This is why gold and silver prices have been very volatile in recent decades, because the prices not only account for the available physical gold and silver on the surface of this planet, but also 'non-existent gold and silver' created by these banking products. Thus gold prices are very 'sensitive' to financial news because of the above reason, as much as currency exchange rates. This month the US central bank, the Federal Reserve is in the discussion of tapering or reducing its monthly purchases of treasury bond, in other words print less money out of thin air, thus reducing inflation rate. A reduction in inflation rate means USD will devalue in a slower rate, thus USD's value in terms of gold 'logically' should increase in a slower rate. This news thus induced a gold 'selling' pressure, and further amplified by the banking creations (gold derivatives, gold futures and options) mentioned above. |
Nov 26 2013, 12:51 AM
Nov 26 2013, 02:55 AM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 26 2013, 12:47 AM) If some gold is 'bought to existence' out of thin air, then gold is good as fiat money if you are referring to paper gold then yes, u r right. But not for physical gold. Tell me how to bring gold into existence? unless u mine them For those who bought gold in the last few years, believe their gold holding loss a lot more than RM depreciation. then what about those who bought gold in the early 2000? When price was still 200/oz. one of our member here bought his gold at that time and happily seeing his money appreciate. Of course, you won't earn a dime unless u sell it. If the price is always up without down, everyone would have earn a living by buying/selling gold. No need to work anymore. |
Nov 26 2013, 10:26 AM
Slowly climbing up to 1253/oz now
Nov 26 2013, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(chongliherng @ Nov 26 2013, 10:20 AM) Hello to all the gold sifu here, im a newbie who yet to have a gold account. I have a few question here 1) I know by far UOB offer the best buy/sell difference , but due to inconvenience ( no online purchase, branches are quite far from my place), isit better to open at other bank? depends on how u see it. The spread might be the closest but convenience is also important. Price could change in seconds and by the time u travel to the bank, the price might not favour u anymore. 2) What are the factors that influence the price of gold everyday. Or what are the mechanism of gold price? There cant be a wizard behind controlling the gold price everyday XD demand supply. And demand could easily affected by news from the fed. Maybe some sifus can add more |
Nov 26 2013, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(chongliherng @ Nov 26 2013, 10:41 AM) Thank you for your reply. 1 more doubt, the bank they will update the gold price from time to time, or they have a specific time to update the gold price? depends on banks. maybank updated their price at 8:50 morning and 2pm. sometimes only in the morning. not sure abour uob |
Nov 26 2013, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 26 2013, 10:43 AM) Likewise for other minerals like copper, aluminum. However, 90% of gold produced are still in circulation and available for recycle, the more it is mined, the higher the chance it will devalue. true. that is why some ppl think that silver has more potential than gold. |
Nov 26 2013, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 26 2013, 10:49 AM) I choose stock, properties that can yield dividend, rental, as well as capital appreciation. well, gold was a form of money back in many years ago. mike maloney was saying that gold was used in the form of money and it could be in the future if fiat money keeps depreciate. if u ask me, i dont know. i cant predict what's going to happen in the future but i'm just keeping some physical with me in case it really happens. I am not advocate to tell people to keep RM4000 cash. It is not wise to keep Rm4000 cash, put inside FD, bond does yield 3-4% currently. Money = medium of goods exchange. If it is not used as medium of exchange, then it is not a "money". If gold is money, so does property but nobody said property is "money", right? yes, i agree stock, properties are a good form of investment coz they can yield dividend, rental etc. i understand that there's capital gains and monthly cash flow. gold definitely can't give u monthly cash flow. u only earn ur capital gains when u SELL. no matter how high the price, if u dont sell, u are not profiting. but for me, i want to diversify my portfolio. and keep some metal in case of paper money become worthless.. i will still think gold is money. it was before.... |
Nov 27 2013, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 27 2013, 12:39 AM) you would be surprised. UOB gold prices are changing every few minutes. I was there yesterday and the person in front of me bought RM131.xx, but when i bought it it was RM130.80. Then only i found out the price is live from the UOB screen. Ooh... It would be perfect if the transaction can be done online |
Nov 27 2013, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(hcstwb @ Nov 27 2013, 09:44 AM) If you are buying paper gold, that's mean you view gold as an investment. In that case, gold is currently in a down trend. Although it is good to buy at low price, don't forget low can get lower. Furthermore gold tend to stay in one direction for years, so prepare to hold your paper gold for years before gold price rise again. Nowadays many people has started to invest in gold, this in a way make gold prices fluctuated much like an equity stock. It's exactly what I'm thinking. But too bad, I come to realising it after I bought my 1st paper gold. Waiting to sell off when the price is up and buy physical instead.However if you are one of the fans to believe that the something bad is gonna happen tomorrow (war, market crash, etc), you should stock physical gold instead. Because when the worst happens, I bet most of the banks will be in deep shit and don't forget your paper gold is not protected by PIDM. So, paper gold is a no no for me at this moment. |
Nov 27 2013, 05:22 PM
Nov 29 2013, 09:20 PM