Gold Investment Corner V7, all about gold

hey_there
post Feb 8 2014, 02:21 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Feb 8 2014, 02:10 PM)
what are the minimum age and requirements to buy those physical golds?

I heard that you need to open an account in Public Bank if you intend to buy from them.

FYI , I'm just 16 y/o.

And how many grams are the minimum requirement?

Can I buy just 5 grams?

What are some examples of reputable jewellery shops in Subang area?

What should I be careful of while purchasing these goods ?
I see a lot of goldsmiths in malls selling 5g gold bars. U can hop from shops to shops to do ur survey or bargain for the cheapest price. That's the easiest way to do. Try not to touch jewellery. Just the bar will do. They are on display at almost all goldsmith shops in malls.

This post has been edited by hey_there: Feb 8 2014, 02:23 PM
SUSY.J.S
post Feb 8 2014, 03:14 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Feb 8 2014, 02:21 PM)
I see a lot of goldsmiths in malls selling 5g gold bars. U can hop from shops to shops to do ur survey or bargain for the cheapest price. That's the easiest way to do. Try not to touch jewellery. Just the bar will do. They are on display at almost all goldsmith shops in malls.
what do you mean malls? Shopping malls like Sunway Pyramid, Summit USJ, Mid Valley KL and Pavillion ?
enriquelee
post Feb 8 2014, 04:48 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 6 2014, 05:44 PM)
I never scare gold price drop, I mostly concern is gold repeating its own history from 1980's to 2000.
What is the story of gold during this period of time?
SUSY.J.S
post Feb 8 2014, 05:51 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Feb 8 2014, 04:48 PM)
What is the story of gold during this period of time?
The link's here rolleyes.gif

hey_there
post Feb 8 2014, 08:41 PM

1,600 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Feb 8 2014, 03:14 PM)
what do you mean malls? Shopping malls like Sunway Pyramid, Summit USJ, Mid Valley KL and Pavillion ?
Yes
icemanfx
post Feb 8 2014, 09:34 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 8 2014, 10:55 AM)
My personal view
U still need to practice diversification
Unless one's portfolio is worth over us$1m, it is meaningless and not worth the hassle to have diversified portfolio.

GoldChan
post Feb 8 2014, 10:15 PM

451 posts

well don;t get me wrong!
if you still low in gold and silver then buy now. but do cost averaging... maybe 1 oz per week etc..

If you already have achieve your gold oz and silver oz target then you may 1 2 hold as you never know how long the pricing like this going to last. At the mean time you may lose out on some other opportunities that come along.

E.g in mid 2011 should have sold all PM for a piece of land or property. now price is land + property high, price of PM goes down. cry.gif
or at least if I sold a bit portion of PM in exchange for some numis stuff I still win.... like coin card , any old bank notes etc..

the loan stuff is for investor turn trader.

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 6 2014, 04:42 PM)
This time around, I believe those who actually own gold are the ones who will be well prepared. So yes, maybe if crash comes, prices of gold will go down. But, people who are well prepared will buy on the drop so the drop will not be so significant this time around.

Secondly, maybe gold will start to go up to a certain level before the crash.

Well. There is a risk in everything. But what is important here is risk management. The thing is yes, there is a possibility that gold will go down. But by how much? Do you seriously think that it will go down less then 900 or 850 this time around?

You see friend. You need to see things from a longer term perspective. The drop in prices act to drive out people who are buying gold to make a quick profit. The people who buys into gold for long term investment are probably even prepared to pay Storage Cost for the next few years. On the other hand, short term thinkers are always thinking in the short term. The moment price drops, they become scared. And using loan to buy gold is not a good idea because gold is not something that can produce income. By borrowing, you are now incurring storage cost + interest. That is not good financial planning. A person who is good in financial planning has to always be prepared for interest rate hikes etc. You have to always be prepared for negative consequences.

Now that the price is lower then 2 years ago, you tell people not to buy. So if the price suddenly goes up. I am sure you will be asking people to buy. That is what I call "herd" mentality.
GoldChan
post Feb 8 2014, 10:27 PM

451 posts

got one friend he said he already brought 200K of gold back in 2011.
another 100K of silver i think.
so do U think he should buy somemore.
he oso have stock property etc. + loan.
for him if net worth around 1 million, i think it's enough already.

he already finished his bullet.. Just don;t underestimate the 2011 bull ride, lot of investors already lost their bullet.... some even future bullet. some susah2 hold until today, they have missed out on real estates, some stocks and numismatic. or some $cash for travelling. 2 years ago travel should be cheaper than now.

so, how to ask them to buy somemore.? their face oledi red black oledi. vmad.gif
that why I said if U already reach your gold/silver target then keep some cash! that what I meant. hope I clarify everybody.

now, cash out on spare property then buy gold/silver may be a good strategy.
however i 'm not a real estate expert do your own due dilligent.

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 6 2014, 04:42 PM)
This time around, I believe those who actually own gold are the ones who will be well prepared. So yes, maybe if crash comes, prices of gold will go down. But, people who are well prepared will buy on the drop so the drop will not be so significant this time around.

Secondly, maybe gold will start to go up to a certain level before the crash.

Well. There is a risk in everything. But what is important here is risk management. The thing is yes, there is a possibility that gold will go down. But by how much? Do you seriously think that it will go down less then 900 or 850 this time around?

You see friend. You need to see things from a longer term perspective. The drop in prices act to drive out people who are buying gold to make a quick profit. The people who buys into gold for long term investment are probably even prepared to pay Storage Cost for the next few years. On the other hand, short term thinkers are always thinking in the short term. The moment price drops, they become scared. And using loan to buy gold is not a good idea because gold is not something that can produce income. By borrowing, you are now incurring storage cost + interest. That is not good financial planning. A person who is good in financial planning has to always be prepared for interest rate hikes etc. You have to always be prepared for negative consequences.

Now that the price is lower then 2 years ago, you tell people not to buy. So if the price suddenly goes up. I am sure you will be asking people to buy. That is what I call "herd" mentality.
ipins
post Feb 8 2014, 10:57 PM

21 posts

"Gold is rising right now not because of inflation, but because of the prospect of tensions rising that can lead to war. Ukraine is a DIRECT confrontation between the USA and Russia. This is not Iraq, Syria, Vietnam, nor Afghanistan. This is a DIRECT conflict and it is why I have been paying close attention to Ukraine."

Just read the full article below:

The Winds of War – R the Markets Responding?

**Just for info, the goldbug really despise Marin Armstrong because he predict gold will go down starting 2011 until now.
SUSsylar111
post Feb 8 2014, 11:10 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Feb 8 2014, 10:27 PM)

he already finished his bullet.. Just don;t underestimate the 2011 bull ride, lot of investors already lost their bullet.... some even future bullet. some susah2 hold until today, they have missed out on real estates, some stocks and numismatic. or some $cash for travelling. 2 years ago travel should be cheaper than now.

so, how to ask them to buy somemore.? their face oledi red black oledi.  vmad.gif
that why I said if U already reach your gold/silver target then keep some cash! that what I meant. hope I clarify everybody.
If he bought 200k of gold in 2011, 100k of silver. I think he should buy more right now. You see, when he buy at those prices, 2 years ago, that means he believe that PMs are indeed worth those prices. He should in fact buy more now since the prices now is so much cheaper compared to 2 years ago.

But the thing is, he wouldn't buy right now because he is just buying to speculate. He does not understand what is the meaning of value investing. He probably keep on thinking that gold price will 100% go up and so put a lot of money into it. On the other hand, I could be wrong. Maybe he still believe that gold and silver will go up. I do hope he did not sell though. Because by selling, he is admitting that he is making a mistake.

I cannot force anyone to buy. They have their own investment strategy. The thing is, I just tell people that right now, buying gold and silver is a good opportunity. If you have cash, it is good to put your money inside right now.

For me, based on fundamentals and overall sentiments, gold and silver is a very good buy.

Of course, you should always prepare for the fact that gold and silver will go down.

Why keep cash? I think it is pathetic to ask someone to keep cash especially RM which is depreciating more and more. Of course you should keep cash for a rainy day but if you do not mind your networth decreasing as time goes by. Go ahead and keep your RM cash.

And by the way, improve your English. It really sux big time.

PS: I would not have bought gold or silver 2 years ago. Sorry, I do not speculate. I only buy on the lows. I do not buy anything that is already trending upwards for a long time. If you want to buy things that are already trending upwards and at historic high, then dun blame others if the price suddenly go down.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Feb 8 2014, 11:13 PM
wil-i-am
post Feb 8 2014, 11:55 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 8 2014, 09:34 PM)
Unless one's portfolio is worth over us$1m, it is meaningless and not worth the hassle to have diversified portfolio.
Yo school of tot is 'show hand'?

enriquelee
post Feb 9 2014, 01:00 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Feb 8 2014, 05:51 PM)
The link's  here  rolleyes.gif

Thanks for the link
and also the article. tongue.gif
SUSsylar111
post Feb 9 2014, 02:09 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Feb 8 2014, 10:15 PM)
well don;t get me wrong!
if you still low in gold and silver then buy now. but do cost averaging... maybe 1 oz per week etc..

If you already have achieve your gold oz and silver oz target then you may 1 2 hold as you never know how long the pricing like this going to last. At the mean time you may lose out on some other opportunities that come along.

E.g in mid 2011  should have sold all  PM for a piece of land or property. now price is land + property high, price of PM goes down.  cry.gif
or at least if I sold a bit portion of PM in exchange for some numis stuff I still win.... like coin card , any old bank notes etc..
Why buy numis? If you buy numis, then you are speculating that your numis will go up in price due to historical value. Most of the time, numis has high premium and prices do not go up so much. Would people take your numis if say there is a crash tomorrow? When I buy gold and silver, it is because I believe that the spot price will go up. Why should I waste my money on numis?

Cost Averaging. What if I follow your advise, and gold price shoots up in the next 3 months. Are you gong to be responsible for this?

This post has been edited by sylar111: Feb 9 2014, 02:11 AM
syarehey
post Feb 9 2014, 09:38 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Feb 8 2014, 10:15 PM)
well don;t get me wrong!

E.g in mid 2011  should have sold all  PM for a piece of land or property. now price is land + property high, price of PM goes down.  cry.gif
how many percent of a person's net worth should be invested in gold to achieve the target? i know the number varies depending on personal target and spending behaviour,but what do you think?

This post has been edited by syarehey: Feb 9 2014, 09:39 AM
lamode
post Feb 9 2014, 10:23 AM

anything could happen!
3,904 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 8 2014, 11:55 PM)
Yo school of tot is 'show hand'?
i like all or nothing spirit, and i admire anyone who does it, be it win or lose because i no dare to do it rclxm9.gif
icemanfx
post Feb 9 2014, 10:27 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Feb 8 2014, 10:27 PM)

so, how to ask them to buy somemore.? their face oledi red black oledi.  vmad.gif
Demand in gold jewelry (i.e. India and China) has been fairly consistent for years, is unlikely to drive up the price and gold price likely to stay depressed until condition is ripe for the next speculation, which could be in 10 or 20 years time. It may make sense to cut losses and invest in something else.

QUOTE(lamode @ Feb 9 2014, 10:23 AM)
i like all or nothing spirit, and i admire anyone who does it, be it win or lose because i no dare to do it  rclxm9.gif
There are risks in all investment and need to pay "school fee" before one have a handle on it. For small investment, it is more realistic to focus. Those inexperienced and diverse investors are likely to have negative or minute return.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Feb 9 2014, 10:31 AM
SUSsylar111
post Feb 9 2014, 01:19 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 9 2014, 10:27 AM)
Demand in gold jewelry (i.e. India and China) has been fairly consistent for years, is unlikely to drive up the price and gold price likely to stay depressed until condition is ripe for the next speculation, which could be in 10 or 20 years time. It may make sense to cut losses and invest in something else.
There are risks in all investment and need to pay "school fee" before one have a handle on it. For small investment, it is more realistic to focus. Those inexperienced and diverse investors are likely to have negative or minute return.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4rmobXfLzo4#t=71

So I guess you are still thinking China buys gold and silver for jewelry purposes. Great. I would like to think many of the china people are smarter then you. My opinion is that Chinese are very practical people. They know what is going on. That is why they are putting their money into that.
lamode
post Feb 9 2014, 04:48 PM

anything could happen!
3,904 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2014, 01:19 PM)

So I guess you are still thinking China buys gold and silver for jewelry purposes. Great. I would like to think many of the china people are smarter then you. My opinion is that Chinese are very practical people. They know what is going on. That is why they are putting their money into that.
that video is dated back 2009 la
SUSY.J.S
post Feb 9 2014, 07:50 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2014, 01:19 PM)

Is this the best time to buy gold ? Or should I wait for a little bit longer ?
SUSsylar111
post Feb 10 2014, 12:17 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Feb 9 2014, 04:48 PM)
that video is dated back 2009 la
It is not a secret that China and their citizens are accumulating gold. What I am trying to demonstrate is, china is not buying gold for jewelery purposes.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Feb 10 2014, 12:19 PM

132 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:22 PM