QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 27 2013, 02:11 PM)
Then it's not worth lolEnquiries/Recommendations GE 40 vs Y410p vs Illegear RE-13 Pro, Recommnedation/Suggestion Needed
Enquiries/Recommendations GE 40 vs Y410p vs Illegear RE-13 Pro, Recommnedation/Suggestion Needed
Jul 27 2013, 03:14 PM
1,916 posts Joined: Jan 2012 From: USJ |
Jul 28 2013, 09:39 AM
176 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
QUOTE(jin_akira @ Jul 27 2013, 02:33 PM) wow you can add parts to the laptop yourself? where to get the parts? is it as widespread as desktop parts? Just go to any IT hyperstore, and ask for it.Say i want a corsair vengeance gaming ram 8gb/ M5 Crucial SSD / anything that you want for laptop , the stores should have it. However, some things like GPU/CPU will be rare in the commercial market so look it up in the garage sales. |
Jul 28 2013, 02:07 PM
1,258 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Depan PC |
U can get Lenovo Y510p oversea set below than rm2.7k only...Y410p below than rm2.5k only..highest spec with cheap price...
This post has been edited by ajul: Jul 28 2013, 02:08 PM |
Jul 28 2013, 07:35 PM
1,132 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(jin_akira @ Jul 27 2013, 02:33 PM) wow you can add parts to the laptop yourself? where to get the parts? is it as widespread as desktop parts? Laptop parts, but you can get it easily anywhere.HDD will be 2.5" sized versus 3.5" on desktops, there's also mSATA which is even smaller.. RAMs also using smaller RAMs, not desktop ones, but can find easily. |
Jul 29 2013, 10:19 AM
2,479 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(devour @ Jul 26 2013, 04:48 PM) why not this I've had many, many bad encounters with an Acer to the point of not daring to buy any more of their products. It's a personal thing though. Specs Look alright though for an ultrabook an at that price.? Acer V7 Intel i7-4500 / 8GB DDR3L / 500GB + 24GB / GT750 4GB / BT 4.0 / HD Webcam / 15.6" IPS Full HD Multi Touch LED / W8 / Black (support WIDI) Dolby Home Theater v4 surround sound effect Ultrabook with Intel 4th Gen i7, 30% thinner than normal noteboook, 15.6" Touch @ only 2.2kg, rm 3399 QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 26 2013, 06:21 PM) Hi TS, The man himself! Thanks for putting your opinion for side-by-side comparison. For your info putting your own parts won't void your warranty, we even guided our users to do this on their own. Thanks for the feedback. This would definitely bump it up to the "highly considered" zone QUOTE(johuru93 @ Jul 26 2013, 08:19 PM) ILLEGEAR is considered "Not Expensive". If you own one then you'll understand. Very interesting approach to it. I guess you get what you pay for? If that is taken into consideration, I suppose it's better to hold out from buying one just yet and get a better one for something that would provide more satisfaction down the road.A GTX and IPS screen, at that base price is already a good deal. You may say, illegear base specs won't have say, ssd's or even OS or Enough HDD space or RAM comparatively for it's price vs other brands, but that's what that makes it even better. You will know exactly what you've paid for. ( i doubt the quality of other brands because they give good specs for lower price even if it's mass produced ) Think twice before reconsidering, knowing what's in your machine and EASY maintenance and Adaptability ( you can buy and add your own ssd, ram, hdd ) without voiding warranty as said by Prince J. I asked this before i bought my RE-15. That saying, budget matters so it's clear, go for Lenovo/MSI. I'd say MSI>lenovo. Cheers for the change of perception mate. QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Jul 27 2013, 01:17 AM) Just remember that moving from HD+ to FHD increases the processing power needed for gaming from the GPU. I had the misfortune of thinking my "gaming" rig could handle SC2 on ultra. I was woefully wrong. Going full HD, rig couldn't take it But base on your work with AI,PS and what not, you would appreciate the higher resolution as well as an IPS screen. Both the GE40 and RE-13 are similar in weight, so you won't feel much difference there. One thing you can have going for the Illegear though is you can spec it without any HDD and RAM and what not.. so you can easily just use some old parts for now as make shift if budget is an issue. Hmm...IPS. I suppose if it's work the screen would make more of a difference then huh. I was just thinking of getting it as bare as possible and popping in stuff as I go along OR I could just wait it out till some people decide to pay up their debts and I have more cash Again, thank you for your input. If LYN was a tumblr variation, I'd be following you and a few other people QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 27 2013, 02:11 PM) Lol whut? I wonder why they didn't just pop in a DDR 5? Funny people.-------------------- I would like to thank everyone for their input. Helps a lot. I've surmised that if I'm in a rush to get a mobile rig, I should go for the GE40 purely for the price/performance/weight ratio. If I can hold out on buying it (which is sort of my current situation), I'd get the RE-13 PRO bare, and spec it bit by bit since warranty is not voided (That's really nice of them btw). By waiting I can also (hopefully) wait for more Haswell systems to pop out...or somehow someone's developed how to compress everything into a small form factor without compromising on heat. One can hope I'll leave the thread open in case of anything Thanks again guys! |
Jul 29 2013, 11:24 AM
1,272 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Team ILLEGEAR |
Just a note.
We have been receiving many reports that inexperienced users failed to upgrade their system/ port over their own parts /installing their own OS. If there is physical damage done by users when they are upgrading their laptop the warranty void. ILLEGEAR guides users how to install their own OS/ parts but we hold no responsibility when users failed to do so. Therefore it's advisable to pre-order everything you want when you order. |
Jul 29 2013, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 29 2013, 11:24 AM) Just a note. Physical damage? Lol. I think that's a given that should there be damage by the user, the warranty is generally void. Not really rocket science is it?We have been receiving many reports that inexperienced users failed to upgrade their system/ port over their own parts /installing their own OS. If there is physical damage done by users when they are upgrading their laptop the warranty void. ILLEGEAR guides users how to install their own OS/ parts but we hold no responsibility when users failed to do so. Therefore it's advisable to pre-order everything you want when you order. Still, I suppose it's a good heads up for those that have never taken apart a computer before. |
Jul 29 2013, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 29 2013, 11:24 AM) Just a note. What kind of physical damage could installing your own OS cause?We have been receiving many reports that inexperienced users failed to upgrade their system/ port over their own parts /installing their own OS. If there is physical damage done by users when they are upgrading their laptop the warranty void. ILLEGEAR guides users how to install their own OS/ parts but we hold no responsibility when users failed to do so. Therefore it's advisable to pre-order everything you want when you order. |
Jul 30 2013, 01:42 PM
5,893 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
huh but i remember Prince J mention b4 u can bring all part u wanna put in the illegear laptop and ask the technician do for u.
if u really worry void the warranty |
Jul 30 2013, 02:30 PM
176 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Jul 30 2013, 03:02 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Bloody ell. I've had my GE40 for only a WEEK and NOW the Aspire V7 premium comes out. I very jelly now. Damn you Acer.
But seriously, here's my 50 cents to the matter. WARNING, THIS GETS LONG! Even without the stuff in the spoiler. <My take on the GE40> » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « TL;DR: The MSI GE40 is the spiritual successor to the Compaq V3000, but with hugely upgraded internals. So, will I recommend the GE40 to someone else? I will, but with clear caveats. If you're looking for an balanced blend of mobility and power at a great price, and you're ready to accept the compromises that come with it; then by all means, the GE40 is a great choice. If you want a bit more power at the cost of mobility, pick the RE13. Although running stuff at full HD with the RE13's 765 should equal running stuff on 900p with the GE40's 760 90% of the time. Plus the RE13 ALSO runs almost as hot as the GE40 - so the only thing you're gonna get with the RE13 is a brighter, HD screen (that might suffer from IPS bleed, and is NOT the better one from ChiMei), better more robust construction (that is still, unfortunately, largely plastic) and less battery life (4 hours tops). Another plus is that you get on-site service. As for the Y410P, NOT having the 900p variant come into Malaysia was the worse decision Lenovo ever made. Otherwise, it's cheap and you get a chance to SLI BUT that's about it. Well, IMHO it's being sold for below 3k for a reason. As for the V7, as envious as I am, it's an Acer. An ACER! Oh the memories of broken hinges, subpar construction and drawn out warranty claims. It's the sexiest "gaming" ultrabook I know of though, other than the Razer Blade and the Gigabyte Ultrablade (lol at the names)... ... BUT IT'S AN ACER! This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 30 2013, 07:59 PM |
Jul 31 2013, 02:19 AM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 30 2013, 03:02 PM) Bloody ell. I've had my GE40 for only a WEEK and NOW the Aspire V7 premium comes out. I very jelly now. Damn you Acer. Which V7 are you talking about specifically? I know it comes in various screen sizes and what not... And AFAIK, the V7s all comes with Dual Core only.. so not as good as the Quads in the GE40 when it comes to PhotoShop and Lightroom.But seriously, here's my 50 cents to the matter. WARNING, THIS GETS LONG! Even without the stuff in the spoiler. <My take on the GE40> » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « TL;DR: The MSI GE40 is the spiritual successor to the Compaq V3000, but with hugely upgraded internals. So, will I recommend the GE40 to someone else? I will, but with clear caveats. If you're looking for an balanced blend of mobility and power at a great price, and you're ready to accept the compromises that come with it; then by all means, the GE40 is a great choice. If you want a bit more power at the cost of mobility, pick the RE13. Although running stuff at full HD with the RE13's 765 should equal running stuff on 900p with the GE40's 760 90% of the time. Plus the RE13 ALSO runs almost as hot as the GE40 - so the only thing you're gonna get with the RE13 is a brighter, HD screen (that might suffer from IPS bleed, and is NOT the better one from ChiMei), better more robust construction (that is still, unfortunately, largely plastic) and less battery life (4 hours tops). Another plus is that you get on-site service. As for the Y410P, NOT having the 900p variant come into Malaysia was the worse decision Lenovo ever made. Otherwise, it's cheap and you get a chance to SLI BUT that's about it. Well, IMHO it's being sold for below 3k for a reason. As for the V7, as envious as I am, it's an Acer. An ACER! Oh the memories of broken hinges, subpar construction and drawn out warranty claims. It's the sexiest "gaming" ultrabook I know of though, other than the Razer Blade and the Gigabyte Ultrablade (lol at the names)... ... BUT IT'S AN ACER! Also, for those who are not too into warranties etc and want to take the leap, GE40 purchased from Amazon for RM4250 delivered from the USA, comes with mSATA board (2x slots) and ODD Bay SATA slot. Stock with 128GB mSATA SSD (SanDisk) and 750GB SATA 7200rpm (Hitachi). |
Jul 31 2013, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 30 2013, 03:02 PM) Bloody ell. I've had my GE40 for only a WEEK and NOW the Aspire V7 premium comes out. I very jelly now. Damn you Acer. Well 'ello there! Was hoping you'd reply But seriously, here's my 50 cents to the matter. WARNING, THIS GETS LONG! Even without the stuff in the spoiler. <My take on the GE40> » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « TL;DR: The MSI GE40 is the spiritual successor to the Compaq V3000, but with hugely upgraded internals. So, will I recommend the GE40 to someone else? I will, but with clear caveats. If you're looking for an balanced blend of mobility and power at a great price, and you're ready to accept the compromises that come with it; then by all means, the GE40 is a great choice. If you want a bit more power at the cost of mobility, pick the RE13. Although running stuff at full HD with the RE13's 765 should equal running stuff on 900p with the GE40's 760 90% of the time. Plus the RE13 ALSO runs almost as hot as the GE40 - so the only thing you're gonna get with the RE13 is a brighter, HD screen (that might suffer from IPS bleed, and is NOT the better one from ChiMei), better more robust construction (that is still, unfortunately, largely plastic) and less battery life (4 hours tops). Another plus is that you get on-site service. As for the Y410P, NOT having the 900p variant come into Malaysia was the worse decision Lenovo ever made. Otherwise, it's cheap and you get a chance to SLI BUT that's about it. Well, IMHO it's being sold for below 3k for a reason. As for the V7, as envious as I am, it's an Acer. An ACER! Oh the memories of broken hinges, subpar construction and drawn out warranty claims. It's the sexiest "gaming" ultrabook I know of though, other than the Razer Blade and the Gigabyte Ultrablade (lol at the names)... ... BUT IT'S AN ACER! "Power at the cost of mobility" How do you mean? I thought the two were about the same weight? Dimension-wise, the RE13 is thicker by about 2.7mm (compared to the thickest part of the GE40). That's about it, length and width-wise, it's actually thinner. Though I do suppose the height would make more of a difference in portability. In this case at least. I totally share your sentiment regarding an Acer. A lot of bad, badddddd experiences. It seems that the moment the warranty dies, everything starts falling apart. QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Jul 31 2013, 02:19 AM) Which V7 are you talking about specifically? I know it comes in various screen sizes and what not... And AFAIK, the V7s all comes with Dual Core only.. so not as good as the Quads in the GE40 when it comes to PhotoShop and Lightroom. I was made to believe that MSI has an international warranty for the first year? If that's the case, it's really just getting a reduced warranty for better specs. The amazon link you gave earlier didn't have a promotion anymore. So I guess prospective buyers should have it bookmarked.Also, for those who are not too into warranties etc and want to take the leap, GE40 purchased from Amazon for RM4250 delivered from the USA, comes with mSATA board (2x slots) and ODD Bay SATA slot. Stock with 128GB mSATA SSD (SanDisk) and 750GB SATA 7200rpm (Hitachi). -------------- Thanks again for the input guys! |
Jul 31 2013, 11:39 AM
edit: WTH? Click once and it double posts
This post has been edited by marquis: Jul 31 2013, 11:40 AM |
Jul 31 2013, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(marquis @ Jul 31 2013, 11:39 AM) I was made to believe that MSI has an international warranty for the first year? If that's the case, it's really just getting a reduced warranty for better specs. The amazon link you gave earlier didn't have a promotion anymore. So I guess prospective buyers should have it bookmarked. Yes, the warranty is international for the first year. Let me get the quote from that seller's listing. It's 1st year international, 2nd year USA.-------------- Thanks again for the input guys! |
Jul 31 2013, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(marquis @ Jul 31 2013, 11:39 AM) Yes, it is still up, I just checked... But boo.... shipping is now @ US $348.05... not worth it anymore..This was what I had earlier: Items Ordered Price 1 of: MSI G Series GE40 2OC-009US 14-Inch Laptop (Black/Red) [Personal Computers] Condition: New Sold by: EXCaliberPC (seller profile) $1,299.90 Item(s) Subtotal: $1,299.90 Shipping & Handling: $47.98 ----- Total before tax: $1,347.88 Sales Tax: $0.00 ----- Total for This Shipment: $1,347.88 ----- Oh well.. I was lucky then.. Most likely he undercharged me for shipping.. |
Aug 1 2013, 02:06 AM
QUOTE(marquis @ Jul 31 2013, 11:39 AM) Well 'ello there! Was hoping you'd reply Well for one it's thicker... by a bit... but that's not what I really meant. Mobility here is more towards "freedom from the plug" kinda mobility - the GE40 has a substantially better battery life, rite? Like 6-7 hours max with the right settings versus the 4-hours tops the RE13 is rated for. This gives you more leeway to move around with the GE40, hence "mobility"."Power at the cost of mobility" How do you mean? I thought the two were about the same weight? Dimension-wise, the RE13 is thicker by about 2.7mm (compared to the thickest part of the GE40). That's about it, length and width-wise, it's actually thinner. Though I do suppose the height would make more of a difference in portability. In this case at least. I totally share your sentiment regarding an Acer. A lot of bad, badddddd experiences. It seems that the moment the warranty dies, everything starts falling apart. I was made to believe that MSI has an international warranty for the first year? If that's the case, it's really just getting a reduced warranty for better specs. The amazon link you gave earlier didn't have a promotion anymore. So I guess prospective buyers should have it bookmarked. -------------- Thanks again for the input guys! BUUUUUT, "right settings" would ultimately mean surfing the Internet or something else as light. If you wanna do heavy stuff I guess both them laptops die around the 2 hour mark anyway so my point is moot. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 1 2013, 02:18 AM |
Aug 1 2013, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Jul 31 2013, 12:01 PM) Yes, it is still up, I just checked... But boo.... shipping is now @ US $348.05... not worth it anymore.. Wow. He totally undercharged you for shipping. Good deal man! This was what I had earlier: Items Ordered Price 1 of: MSI G Series GE40 2OC-009US 14-Inch Laptop (Black/Red) [Personal Computers] Condition: New Sold by: EXCaliberPC (seller profile) $1,299.90 Item(s) Subtotal: $1,299.90 Shipping & Handling: $47.98 ----- Total before tax: $1,347.88 Sales Tax: $0.00 ----- Total for This Shipment: $1,347.88 ----- Oh well.. I was lucky then.. Most likely he undercharged me for shipping.. QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 1 2013, 02:06 AM) Well for one it's thicker... by a bit... but that's not what I really meant. Mobility here is more towards "freedom from the plug" kinda mobility - the GE40 has a substantially better battery life, rite? Like 6-7 hours max with the right settings versus the 4-hours tops the RE13 is rated for. This gives you more leeway to move around with the GE40, hence "mobility". Ah. Now that makes more sense. Forgive my oversight. Should have seen it BUUUUUT, "right settings" would ultimately mean surfing the Internet or something else as light. If you wanna do heavy stuff I guess both them laptops die around the 2 hour mark anyway so my point is moot. Battery life is still quite pertinent though since the whole point of having a portable computer is for it's portability. If I am away from a wall plug, I don't think I'll be doing any gaming so that point is definitely not moot. Hmmmmmm. Again, thanks for all the input guys |
Aug 1 2013, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(marquis @ Aug 1 2013, 11:50 AM) Wow. He totally undercharged you for shipping. Good deal man! If you like the RE13 you can always order an extra battery to compensate for the short battery life - though that will add cost and weight to the package, unfortunately - hence the "mobility" conundrum. Ah. Now that makes more sense. Forgive my oversight. Should have seen it Battery life is still quite pertinent though since the whole point of having a portable computer is for it's portability. If I am away from a wall plug, I don't think I'll be doing any gaming so that point is definitely not moot. Hmmmmmm. Again, thanks for all the input guys Oh and I hear chirping from the birds that the RE13 MIGHT get the option to spec a 4702MQ in place of the 4700MQ sometime towards the end of August. Speccing the lower TDW 4702 MIGHT improve the battery situation somewhat for the RE13 - though it won't improve by much, say +1 hour or so. Just stuff to keep in mind. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 1 2013, 03:16 PM |
Aug 1 2013, 03:48 PM
108 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Jemapoh To Manchestee |
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 30 2013, 03:02 PM) GE40 Cons: How how is hot? Are we talking "I played Far Cry 3 on ultra with the thing sitting on my lap and now I can't have children anymore" hot? "It's not a good idea to leave this notebook downloading torrents all day in a room without an air-cond" hot? "Holy shit I'm playing Far Cry 3 and it's melting what a world" hot?- Runs very warm (better after a re-paste for sure). QUOTE - Full load power consumption easily goes above 100w. Will fry your the puny 90w adapter easily if you don't have your battery attached to support the extra wattage (trust me, I've fried 2 adapters so far). Out of curiosity, how do you check what the current power consumption of your system is? I'm trying to make sure that the 90W replacement adapter HP gave me for my dv6-6001tx won't suddenly detonate when I play Minesweeper. |
| Change to: | 0.0265sec
5 queries
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:26 PM |