LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V27, all the older sifus went MIA liao :(

davidke20
post Feb 3 2014, 12:26 AM

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Feb 2 2014, 09:20 PM)
hi, can anybody help me? i need to know the price of the cornering/signal lamp at the front? only one.
any reply is greatly appreciated icon_rolleyes.gif

http://www.mudah.my/Engine+Mounting+and+Si...0323.htm?last=1

RM40~~~!!!! Need to fai7tit act liao! brows.gif
davidke20
post Feb 3 2014, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(gemini sharti @ Feb 2 2014, 09:33 PM)
I have this problem too. Since 2-3 weeks ago, the (!) light is always on even after I disengage the hand brake. I did bring my car to the workshop to check the brake systems but the mechanic said there's no problem. Sometimes the light turns off itself after driving few kilometers. I did check the brake fluid and it is between 'MAX' and 'A', is this level too low? What should I do now?

[attachmentid=3838321]
Go press the handbrake handle down when the (!) lite up. If it goes away, meaning the handbrake cable over tighten.

Quazacolt just learnt new thing, to tighten the handbrake cable. Your case could be, the cable over tighten inside the cabin, slightly loosen it up, get magician to tune the hub brake cylinder tighter instead.
davidke20
post Feb 3 2014, 12:35 AM

QUOTE(gemini sharti @ Feb 2 2014, 09:53 PM)
My Iswara has starting problems 2 months ago. Now its a bit ok after I re-serviced the carburetor. But still once in a while, there will be problem to start the car. I will step on the accelerator and try to start the car. The car will start with thick black smoke coming out of the exhaust. I had changed the distributor, fuel pump, vacuum pump and serviced the carburetor twice. I did check at the spare parts shop and he quoted be RM450 for a new Iswara carburetor and the mechanic quoted me RM30 to change it. Is the price reasonable? I'm planning to change it soon. And will there be any additional cost that I can expect during the process of changing the carburetor. I dowan then after 'buka', change this la change that la....
RM450 implausibur to get NEW carby for Iswaga whistling.gif Most probably is a rekon(probably just plug out from kedai potong nia). However, RM30 for labor is consider quire reasonable. Where do you stay? Possible to come out TT? Sepakberak change jor mei? Why not spray clean carburetor, then change to ranjiao chiplak RM18/set sepakberak try and see few weeks see whether hard to start still occur? On the other hand, hard to start doesn't mean you NEED to pump your gas pedal to get it start. Pump gas pedal meaning put more petrol in before ignition, ofcoz black smoke will kamout lor doh.gif Next time if same difficulty, just hold on to the key switch continue crank see how long it take to start up the car.

Also take note, if the same thing happen, check your RPM after engine being started. See whether the auto choke still working anot. In my opinion, if the car got no idling issue/FC problem/high RPM starve fuel, no point changing carburetor(moreover RM450 is more likely a refurbished/sekonhen unit) and make things complicated. If can arrange TT in KL, I'll be glad to help nod.gif
davidke20
post Feb 3 2014, 01:07 AM

QUOTE(gemini sharti @ Feb 3 2014, 12:49 AM)
Thanks for offering to help me but even though I'm at KL, the car is at JB. My family has 2 Iswara  biggrin.gif
But that spare part shop guy said it's new. He has recond wan too for RM350. That's wat I was confused at first coz before this a mechanic told me that it will cost me RM1000+ to change new carburetor.

How bout this? The seller mentioned that it is new item and it's even more cheaper

http://www.mudah.my/4G13+4G15+Carburetor-24268591.htm
con9lan7fem rekon whistling.gif Not worth the try unless the carb really pain in the butt drive halfway also engine choked can't start or starve fuel like mad. Even that, can be repair with simple repair kit for the price of below RM200. New unit, original impork is around 1.5k. Taiwan version 700++. Try to clean totobody 1st sin lar, after clean immediately change sepakberak and see how it goes. If settle ady ma cut ciken pray god lor nod.gif
davidke20
post Feb 3 2014, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(streetglow @ Feb 2 2014, 12:07 PM)
using lmst headlamp, the high beam n low beam wiring dun need modify right? we just mod the wiring adaptor the parking lamp? right? hmm.gif
lmss expensiv ke?  blush.gif
Surprisingly, fucking cheap blink.gif The last time I asked for it was 400/side sad.gif

http://www.mudah.my/Proton+saga+iswara+cry...mp-14665699.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Saga+Iswara+Bla...mp-22181317.htm

Couple with this at the back

C2KBAS2005 may have a look.

Also, would be a nice combo with the LMST grill

I cigaoxin jor!!!! Really feels like buying anor sedan & start again sweat.gif
davidke20
post Feb 4 2014, 01:35 AM

QUOTE(streetglow @ Feb 3 2014, 05:36 PM)
notworthy.gif  rclxub.gif
gila babi mahal wei
anyway driving A/B so tail lamp NA
but still prefer the lmst lights duno why hahaha
im using lmst back lamp  wub.gif

what car u driving now?
Now is cheap ler. RM200+/pair wei, where to find whistling.gif I have 1 2005 LMST, but my aunty is using it now.

Previously own this baby, but sold to C2KBAS2005 for quick cash and to free up parking space

Ahem! The white color car!!!

It was the most part of my life after I pockai from bank overdraft due to business went sour. My dad pay down payment for me 8k and I serviced 4 years installment for 10k to own it 2nd hand. Before married, it was a weekend track car with customized visco upgraded dampers, running on SOLEX twin barrel x 2, 4-2-1, Everco mid/rear muffler, SV4 master brake pump, VR4 caliper, racing cross drilled slotted vented disc rotor. Until waifu pregnant, kena sound buttache, selowly downgrade. Until sold car that day, almost full stock(other than the brakes)

And this was the last family portrait. God I miss that moment cry.gif

davidke20
post Feb 4 2014, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 3 2014, 02:23 PM)
which car? got the handbrake cable tightened for the inspira tongue.gif

for iswara i need to adjust the drum brake hub directly, need to loosen it somewhat.
I belive your car also same case like the brother. The brake cable can be tuned from the cabin also. When the cabin part over tighten, the hub there don't care how you free it, it will still jam brake geh. I only learnt this after change VR4 still jam brake belakang laugh.gif I will first free up the cabin part, then adjust the hub until it's slightly tight, then only go back cabin tighten until ngam² gud fit to 2 click full lock. Ever since, no more jem brake belakang anymore during trail braking whistling.gif
davidke20
post Feb 5 2014, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 5 2014, 11:40 AM)
hmmm funnily after trip from ipoh, my iswara that was parked all the while cranked smoothly on the first go without stalling (need to recrank immediately) and no harsh idle or jerks prior to warm up
idles at 900 perfectly and 800 after on air cond.

basically crank n go. no

power however remained same/at least similar post valve clearance adjustment...

lol?

so what fixed it? compression lost now restored due to opening of top cover? or the valve clearance loosened up?
at this point i prolly may ditch the idea on repairing the auto choke and re-installing the thermostat as everything idled fine.

save money mah laugh.gif

davidke20
If no plobrem, huai fiks it whistling.gif
davidke20
post Feb 6 2014, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(luvjim @ Feb 6 2014, 05:32 PM)
Hi all, I have my 17years old iswara. Given by my late dad.
I just did engine overhaul last year..now thinking want to respray car body, change seat cushion, change power window...and etc.

Anyone did this before? Can share the photos of you car?
And which workshop you go to? How much have you spend?

TIA!
If fix powah windoe, make sure you change the rubber seal together. That's the culprit that makes PROTON-Powahwindoe Rosak Oh Tidak Oh No!

Seat cushion, don't bother. Dump whole set and replace with LMSS/LMST, will only cost you around RM400/full set(refurbished old sofa probably more expansive than this and less reliable)

Respray whole car, my 1996 Swaga still stock paint. However, I did it to my Plotong Wigra.

If not mistaken, full restoration include change front bumper about 1.6k, did it in Banting. Yes, I rather pay toll & petrol rolleyes.gif Oh don't forget, please do peel the roof and all the door panels, change all the dampening glue. Usually those crappy stock glue will turn acidic & rust your car. Tsk tsk tsk... sleep.gif
davidke20
post Feb 7 2014, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(luvjim @ Feb 7 2014, 03:26 PM)
RM400? When was the price is this?
What's LMSS/LMST? Sorry, coz don't know about it.

The person who did for your car can speak mandarin or cantonese? Any contact number can give me?
Yes, one of my car door...the paint is peeling off already also..
I'm from Puchong. Where's taman mastiara?
I don't have contact liao. Shop name? Don't have 1. You know those spray paint shop in kampong is literally bawah pokok got 1 small atap then do business liao whistling.gif 1.6k for metallic paint, it's not only cheap, its INSANE rclxub.gif I however previously DIY restore my own RX-2 before, whole car Ocean Blue ICI Weathershield 4 tong, added up to a total bill of RM500 ownself welding, grinding, changing floor panels and buying carpet ownself cut and fit. Cushion wise, the old 1s are really good and still firm, so I just wrapped them up with rubbish TYPE-R blue/black color fabric cushion cover. Can be really, I mean REALLY cheap if you know how and what to be restore.

For powah windoe, I DIY geh.
Window seal rubber - RM25/piece
Motor(Taiwan) - RM40
Broken clips - RM1.50/pc

For centre lock + Alarm
Zebra control unit(not cobra) - RM25 came with 2 remote control
Actuator & control unit - It was RM25 x 3, driver door RM40. Control unit had to buy separately RM60 Now, even RM75 also can get full set + control unit

For door that rusted, I advise you go chop shop and look for replacement. 1 door should be RM250. Better than go patch it, 2~3 years later it bubble and rust again sleep.gif Usually solid color, paint alone will only cost about 800~1000. Metallic, price around 2k, depends on how smooth/shine you wanted the car looked like.
davidke20
post Feb 12 2014, 01:02 AM

QUOTE(streetglow @ Feb 12 2014, 12:42 AM)
wow quite some modding done there bro...veli naise  thumbup.gif
i have done my lmst headlamp conversion bought at rm172 both and done modding the wiring as well, spent half day on saturday for this
quite satisfy with the light output at night  thumbup.gif
will get the picture up soon
btw the yellow skyline urs too?
Ayam poorfag ok sleep.gif
davidke20
post Feb 12 2014, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(streetglow @ Feb 12 2014, 01:23 AM)
so now pakai wat car  hmm.gif
feels like getting 2nd hand inspira
but for time being financial wise abit tight  doh.gif
Now pockai ady ofcoz pakai pockai Plotong lar yawn.gif
davidke20
post Feb 12 2014, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(mo66 @ Feb 12 2014, 09:56 AM)
My '99 iswara need to change water every 4-5 month, if not engine temp up to almost red!. After change it normal again ie below middle bar. Every time changed, water color yellow ie rusty color.
As Quazacolt suggested, please get the radiator pressure flush. If the radiator doesn't crack during the process, then it's worthy. If cracked.... ma change new lor laugh.gif Get magician to flush the whole tunnel also, just to be sure rust doesn't trapped in the water channels and in the water pump rolleyes.gif
davidke20
post May 13 2014, 08:12 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 13 2014, 02:59 AM)
https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JasonLimQuazac...sts/Ruk7kg2Kj9p Replacing wear and tear parts for my #Proton  Iswara - Brake pads, brake disc/rotors, front wheel bearings, and passenger side drive shaft.

davidke20 spent full day at nestum 's place lol
Basically nothing left there. Looking at the brake rotor, matter of time it crushed into pieces.
davidke20
post May 15 2014, 05:35 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 15 2014, 03:35 AM)
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/GCKb8K72CNv DIY on brake squeaking issue when car is moving with brakes off/not being pressed

davidke20 nestum hopefully this solves the issue once and for all laugh.gif
Question: Haokam jiu didn't change to dual layer rotor geh? Despite all these year you've been drivin lika moron, knowing you're going to over heat the rotor over and over again. Might as well straightaway plonk dual layer vented disc?
davidke20
post Jun 17 2014, 05:27 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 17 2014, 10:50 AM)
http://www.fuelly.com/car/proton/saga/1999/Quazacolt/120763 omgwut my sis managed 12.6 km/L
davidke20

she said can be better once she gotten more used to the auto box (from manual kancil) lolz
1.5 MT sedan Shwaga I can do easily 600km/tank yawn.gif
davidke20
post Jun 18 2014, 08:14 PM

QUOTE(flex3x @ Jun 18 2014, 05:41 PM)
Nice fc achieved bro..how's your driving habit ?
Gradual acceleration. Panjat bukit also refused to press gas pedal further, join the lori fleet laugh.gif Turun bukit means free mileage, let it roll kaw kaw.

Btw, the film I installed in Seremban draw very much attention lar. Almost every roadbelok also kena stopped doh.gif Luckily so far no saman lar laugh.gif
davidke20
post Jun 18 2014, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jun 18 2014, 10:17 PM)
I oso drive like this, free gear down slopes, gradual acceleration, plus minimum braking only when necessary by keeping distance from vehicle in front (still using factory fitted brake pads after 10+ years), coasting to stop for red light. But no hypermiling behind lorries.
But could not reach your FC which I calculate is about 13.5km/l. I get about 11km/l.

http://www.hypermiler.co.uk/hypermiling/hy...ling-techniques
Tune your kaburetor to lean setup, more wind less fuel. Tepet need to set loose also to have more momentum running. If possible, plonk a vacuum gauge. Drive your car within 15~20inhg reading, con9lan7firm fuel save and will never kena saman ady rolleyes.gif
davidke20
post Jun 18 2014, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 18 2014, 11:32 PM)
thought will need to tune the tappet become more tighter (like mine atm)

as tighter will yield more power, or your idea is because it's tight, it will require more fuel to gain momentum hence it's actually counter productive when fc is concerned?
Korek, need to loosen it up yawn.gif
davidke20
post Jul 20 2014, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 19 2014, 10:30 PM)
speaking of fixes... did a lot of work on my iswara today, been working/driving on it the entire day from morning 6am until 6pm biggrin.gif

Damn I miss my iswara so much... Cruising in automatic D, and having a proper car audio with sub woofer

basically fixed some squeaking/rattling sound on my driver side headlamp using felts from ace hardware...

and that squeaking sound as i have mentioned last time due to the ebc noise reduction shim? confirmed the gasket high temp silicone fully cured and the shim is glued solid to the brake pad back plate, so i no longer need the 2 holding "legs" of the shim that is the culprit of the squeaking noises - and off they go
problem solved.

also replaced the 1 missing "shim"/clip that's securing the brake pads to the caliper bracket.
clean/re-grease the caliper pin and done.

had my rear drums serviced/cleaned, and loosened it up a bit as it was locking a bit more than desired.

and lastly oil filter change biggrin.gif
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/5td6jSa6KUS oil filter change on the iswara, photo taken attempting to show the oil filter internal
all (except the headlamp fix) done at nestum 's place biggrin.gif

davidke20 stewpik

=edit=
this post:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=68078033
Throw away bai anor 1 yawn.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0505sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:47 PM