I think I'm depressed, Or Bipolar Disorder

TSMCSun
post Jul 24 2013, 05:38 PM, updated 13y ago

Hello, this is my first post here. smile.gif

Yes I think I have depression because I cry over small things and in unnecessary situations. I feel very very annoyed by this.

EX1: During a group discussion, they talked about what is your dream, what future job you wish to get. When it is my turn to talk about my hardship in life, I got teary and my face turned red. They were shocked to see me cry before I finish my speech, I feel embarrassed...I do not mean to get sympathy from them but I suspect that when I talk about negative things I get emotional and cry.

EX2: I cry when I watch sad movies, read sad stories, sad videos, sad things...

EX3: I went the office to register something, but soon they said I am not qualified to do that. I got teary and cried in front of one of the staff which is very embarrassing for me.

EX4: Was hanging out with friends and when one of my friend said that I have to get out there and explore more, I cried in front of them.

Is it that because I am unable to express what I fully wanted then I get teary, not to mention easily offended? I hate it even more when they ask what happened to me then I burst out more. I am worried that this will affect my life when I go to interview where I need to interact with strangers or clients. That strange feeling after I have finished crying, I become normal and happy again.

I have a happy relationship (boyfriend) and good relationship with friends and so-so with families. None of them know about my problem because I did not tell them about my problem, I will never ever let them know too.

Am I really depressed or even bipolar disorder?

PS: Inb4Age, not even 20
Micromatx
post Jul 24 2013, 05:43 PM

19 posts

hati tisu. TS gurl ke boboy?
alien9
post Jul 24 2013, 05:47 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

I don't think that you have any disorder. You just having more of a soft heart or emotionally weak.

I cried once when I talked about my upbringing during an ice breaking session in front of 20 people. Happened to me when I was 19yo.

I cried a few times when I read some sad touching stories on the internet. Still happening to me.

And I'm a male. Don't worry much about it =)

SoFarSoFail
post Jul 24 2013, 05:51 PM

99 posts

My fiance is exactly like you. Is it everytime after you finished crying you felt much stronger emotionally?

Well I'll tell you the same words as what I've usually told my fiance. If by crying, it will give you strenght to move on. Then there's nothing wrong. You are a soft hearted girl. IMO, that's special.

EX 1, EX2, EX3, EX4 seems normal to me.. FYI, my fiance went through the same experience as you.

Well I guess so... lol I'm such an inferiority complex
han0630
post Jul 24 2013, 05:58 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(MCSun @ Jul 24 2013, 05:38 PM)

Yes I think I have depression because I cry over small things and in unnecessary situations. I feel very very annoyed by this.

EX1: During a group discussion, they talked about what is your dream, what future job you wish to get. When it is my turn to talk about my hardship in life, I got teary and my face turned red. They were shocked to see me cry before I finish my speech, I feel embarrassed...I do not mean to get sympathy from them but I suspect that when I talk about negative things I get emotional and cry.

EX3: I went the office to register something, but soon they said I am not qualified to do that. I got teary and cried in front of one of the staff which is very embarrassing for me.

EX4: Was hanging out with friends and when one of my friend said that I have to get out there and explore more, I cried in front of them.

Is it that because I am unable to express what I fully wanted then I get teary, not to mention easily offended? I hate it even more when they ask what happened to me then I burst out more. I am worried that this will affect my life when I go to interview where I need to interact with strangers or clients. That strange feeling after I have finished crying, I become normal and happy again.

I have a happy relationship (boyfriend) and good relationship with friends and so-so with families. None of them know about my problem because I did not tell them about my problem, I will never ever let them know too.

why u like to cry, i think u too sensitive alrd and negative minded, tiny tiny thing also cry, not strong enough, how are you going to handle tough thing, when u came out to work, ur boss scold u then u cry; when u married, ur child not listenning to u, then u cry. Just be strong, dun cry for tiny tiny thing, Think positive, cry will only make u looks weak.
TSMCSun
post Jul 24 2013, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 24 2013, 05:47 PM)
I don't think that you have any disorder. You just having more of a soft heart or emotionally weak.

I cried once when I talked about my upbringing during an ice breaking session in front of 20 people. Happened to me when I was 19yo.

I cried a few times when I read some sad touching stories on the internet. Still happening to me.

And I'm a male. Don't worry much about it =)
Thanks for your reply. I really hope you are right hah biggrin.gif

QUOTE(SoFarSoFail @ Jul 24 2013, 05:51 PM)
My fiance is exactly like you. Is it everytime after you finished crying you felt much stronger emotionally?

Well I'll tell you the same words as what I've usually told my fiance. If by crying, it will give you strenght to move on. Then there's nothing wrong. You are a soft hearted girl. IMO, that's special.

EX 1, EX2, EX3, EX4 seems normal to me.. FYI, my fiance went through the same experience as you.

Well I guess so... lol I'm such an inferiority complex
No I do not feel anything but embarrassment, but I forget about it after some time.
How is your fiance now? smile.gif

QUOTE(han0630 @ Jul 24 2013, 05:58 PM)
why u like to cry, i think u too sensitive alrd and negative minded, tiny tiny thing also cry, not strong enough, how are you going to handle tough thing, when u came out to work, ur boss scold u then u cry; when u married, ur child not listenning to u, then u cry. Just be strong, dun cry for tiny tiny thing, Think positive, cry will only make u looks weak.
This is why I have to fix this fast if not, boss scold also cry sad.gif
Yes think positive, I need that.
SoFarSoFail
post Jul 24 2013, 06:36 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(MCSun @ Jul 24 2013, 06:06 PM)
Thanks for your reply. I really hope you are right hah  biggrin.gif
No I do not feel anything but embarrassment, but I forget about it after some time.
How is your fiance now? smile.gif
This is why I have to fix this fast if not, boss scold also cry  sad.gif
Yes think positive, I need that.
How's my fiance now? Same old same old. Since the start, she kept telling me same thing.. that she's not perfect enough and scared that she won't be a good wife for me and advise me to leave her so that I wont regret it in the future.. in fact I just finished a call with her just now and she just mentioned the same thing LOL.. so for me.. what I've learn is I need to be strong for her and just be patient.. i've tried several things to help her such as advise her, give motivational book for her to read.. still the same outcome LOL.. she's really negative towards herself.. but still I love her so much.. I accept her for what she is.. so I promised myself to always be there for her.. although she want otherwise.. but I know she didnt meant it.. it's just she suffered inferiority complex thats why.. i guess so.. hehehe.. wub.gif

Sorry to ask this.. but are you a malay?

This post has been edited by SoFarSoFail: Jul 24 2013, 06:37 PM
justaregularjoe
post Jul 24 2013, 08:39 PM

113 posts

not even 20 but what kind of hardship in life you had? try working. you wont cry but to appreciate stuffs..

sweet_pez
post Jul 25 2013, 12:25 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Yes agree with the rest that you are the sensitive/ weak type. I have learnt to hold my tears in when scolded.
My cousin once said, "No matter how harshly you were scolded or humiliated, NEVER CRY in front of them/ your boss. Hold your tears until you're alone."

But heck, tears gland always go weak when I watch sad movies... so I've started avoiding tear jerkers biggrin.gif

Btw what makes you think you might have Bipolar? Your problem is not even the slightest similar to it doh.gif
Robin Hood
post Jul 26 2013, 09:32 AM

289 posts

Ure a cry baby, that what u are
gennee
post Jul 26 2013, 11:08 AM

169 posts

i dont think you have psychological disorder.

may be just hormonal.

talk to your GP or gynae.

This post has been edited by gennee: Jul 26 2013, 11:11 AM
jack~daniel
post Jul 27 2013, 11:46 AM

834 posts

TS, buy EX5
SUSTham
post Jul 27 2013, 11:35 PM

1,576 posts

I don't think you have PBA, so that is a relief for you.

PBA tends to happen in people with nerve disorders like muliple sclerosis
and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, strokes and brain injury.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pseudobulbar_affect#Causes

https://www.pbafacts.com/

Very likely, from this study, you may have insufficient amounts of the
biochemical called noradrenaline in your system, leading to a condition
called Crying Proneness (CPR).

CPR is different from Pathological Crying (PLC), which happens secondary
to a brain injury or disease like stroke, Alzheimer's or Parkinson's. PBA
falls under PLC.

This appears to be why they noted that that the SSRI class of antidepressants like
Prozac and Zoloft, which increases the amounts of serotonin in your system and usually
helps PLC, does not help CPR, but the other class called SNRIs, which also increases
the amounts of noradrenaline in addition to serotonin, does.

Examples of these SNRI drugs are :

Venlafaxine (Effexor)
Duxoletine (Cymbalta)
Mirtazapine (Remeron)

Evidence for Involvement of Central Noradrenergic Activity in Crying Proneness

" Indications of noradrenergic involvement in PLC are provided in short
reports where the SNRI drugs venlafaxine, mirtazapine or duloxetine were
used successfully in patients with PLC who failed to respond to SSRIs. "

http://neuro.psychiatryonline.org/article....rticleID=181295

My preference would be mirtazapine, which causes the least side effects
and is quite safe even when overdosed.

Mirtazapine is a tetracyclic class of antidepressant, considered an improvement
over the older tricyclics in terms of effectiveness and safety towards the heart.

Strictly speaking, mirtazapine is not an SNRI, but a NaSSA (Noradrenergic and
Specific Serotonin Antidepressant).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noradrenergic..._antidepressant

It is a modified form of the first-generation tetracyclic, mianserin (Bolvidon).

" Mirtazapine is not considered to have a risk of many of the side effects
often associated with other antidepressants like the SSRIs, and may
actually improve certain ones when taken in conjunction with them. "

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mirtazapine#Side_effects

You may wish to discuss your condition with a doctor, preferably a psychiatrist.
You could print out the above study to discuss it with him, and possibly
go on a short course of low-dose mirtazapine to see if if helps you.

http://www.toddlertime.com/med/remeron.htm

http://www.aafp.org/afp/1999/0101/p159.html

This post has been edited by Tham: Jul 30 2013, 12:10 AM
SUSTham
post Jul 28 2013, 12:20 AM

1,576 posts

In this study, mirtazapine worked for this woman, who had PLC after a stroke,
after two SSRI drugs, citalopram (Celexa) and sertraline (Zoloft) failed to help her.

Mirtazapine treatment for pathological laughing and crying after stroke.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/16239769

This post has been edited by Tham: Jul 30 2013, 12:28 AM
muradnathan
post Jul 29 2013, 01:09 AM

44 posts

I don't think you should simply jump to conclusions and also seeking diagnosis from forums such as this; no offence to anyone but I guess it's proper to see a specialist or a doctor who specialize, it's better to see your family doctor if you have one or see a GP at the hospital first and tell them what you're experiencing and probably they will point you to a proper doctor.

On personality and behaviour, you maybe a more of a 'feeling' person, but then again it's always the right move to get proper diagnosis of what you're going through.

Good luck and I hope you will feel better soon. Please see the proper channel and get the right person to help you.

0.0155sec    1.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:56 AM