The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?

mingyuyu
post Jul 25 2013, 07:54 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 25 2013, 07:34 PM)
Same here laugh.gif
I guess at most they will put the D7100 outside around that miniature Kampung  laugh.gif
yeah, i think that's the most "high-end" camera they put for testing. Last time I went there and I saw both the d7k and d7.1k displaying side by side, the condition of the d7k was quite bad i think, a lot of wear and tear going on. sweat.gif
mingyuyu
post Jul 26 2013, 12:23 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jul 25 2013, 08:02 PM)
Yeah can test one. All the lens and cameras. Just ask them to give you a try. Bring your own SD card, ask to test D800E with 14-24 and 70-200, go home open with LR/PS drool.gif
Oh my bad, I thought its only -1EV better than D600 which means -2EV total. -3EV is very good biggrin.gif

Sunset @ Hua Hin, Thailand
blink.gif nikon so nice let people try? too bad I no CF card, if not i would like to play around with d700 or d800 tongue.gif

Canon didn't do the same, haiz cry.gif
mingyuyu
post Jul 26 2013, 03:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Jul 26 2013, 03:20 PM)
USD1000 for 85mm lens is not too bad

Zeiss 85mm f1.4 oledi around USD1200...

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/lomogr...l-portrait-lens
how about the samyang? tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Jul 26 2013, 04:34 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Jul 26 2013, 03:39 PM)
50% of the price is for the Zeiss logo tongue.gif

but compared to the Nikon one.. i feel the Zeiss IQ is better n the MF ring is much better...

hood oso metal yo~
You lose AF though when you get Zeiss, not something important if just shooting portrait. but still the price sweat.gif
mingyuyu
post Jul 26 2013, 08:08 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 26 2013, 07:55 PM)
Thanks for the input guys  notworthy.gif
No AF shouldn't be too much of a problem right for portraits? But I guess eventually will get tired of manually focusing every shot haha
At the price range it sure is pretty tempting~
Manual focusing on portraits with prime lenses actually quite fun tongue.gif kinda makes you feel more involved in the whole process and enjoy the shooting. but of course, if your subject can wait.
mingyuyu
post Jul 26 2013, 08:31 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 26 2013, 08:14 PM)
When your model gets comfortable and starts posing faster, getting the shot slow may spoil model's momentum.
yaya, thats why i say the model also important. but if condition approves, i always shoot in MF, sometimes for me AF feels like too easy, spending time focusing and compose nicely compared to relying on AF shoot quickly just doesn't feel the same.
mingyuyu
post Jul 26 2013, 08:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Jul 26 2013, 08:35 PM)
Finally get to shoot after my exams !  biggrin.gif

Comments and critics are accepted ! smile.gif
the watermark is quite distracting tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Aug 1 2013, 12:02 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Or there could be some PS presets where you just click the Action and everything will be edited automatically. I also can't get such tones in LR too, but with PS I can achieve something more similar.
mingyuyu
post Aug 1 2013, 12:16 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Aug 1 2013, 12:07 AM)
i dont know much photoshop preset...
but i do know lightroom preset = vsco film pack
just click and there you go
it for simulating film (kodak,fuji etc), i do have it, but rarely use it

edit: lightroom is oso photoshop tongue.gif
eh eh eh you can't really say lightroom is also photoshop, but you can say photoshop is also lightroom.

lightroom is more like a simplified version of photoshop or adobe camera raw (not really sure), but photoshop contains a lot more functions than lightroom.
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 12:15 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 5 2013, 11:16 AM)
Got, friggin lots of mosquitoes.  sweat.gif

Dear Silverfire ignored part of my instructions to wear long sleeves and shoes with long socks.
So the fella paid the price with both his arms literally covered with mosquito bites at the end of the day  doh.gif

The girl also had quite a few on her legs. Even I also got one under my shirt! Don't mess with jungle mosquitoes  rclxub.gif
I went to FRIM once about last few months ago, but didn't discovered a lot of special insects there, most of them are just ordinary ants. If you guys going to FRIM again, can I join?(although I am a Canon user, doesn't matter right? tongue.gif) I love macro photography too.
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 01:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 5 2013, 12:42 PM)
Of course~ The more the merrier, especially given the state of security in Malaysia nowadays, not safe to wander into a forest alone with gear worth tens of thousands  sweat.gif
Yeah yeah nod.gif Shooting without flash in the forest is almost impossible, since almost all of the light is covered by the thick layers of leaves on top. Do you own a dedicated macro lens for macro shots?
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 03:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 5 2013, 03:10 PM)
silverfire managed to do it, high iso+flash/no flash. Some shots came out really nice too. Salute him, never really thought of balancing ambient with flash throughout the 1 year+ I've invested into macro  doh.gif

And yes, I'm somewhat into macro more than other genres, went from 50mm+extension tubes > Tamron 90mm (stolen) > Tamron 60mm > Tamron 90mm VC
Also have extension tubes, teleconverter, even tried DIYing my own macro flash diffuser until I bought my own Nissin MF18 ringflash  icon_rolleyes.gif
You can always get extension tubes, meike has a set that retains autofocus and aperture control for RM250, which is what I have atm. Cheap solution compared to a dedicated lens, gives great results too.  thumbup.gif

P.S. If I do find a leech I'll probably try and take a macro shot of the mouth, I know it's weird but that's just me  brows.gif
I also tried to balance my macro shots with ambient + flash, most of the time I just dial my exposure compensation to -1 EV or soemthing, then use the bounce card on my flash to fill the subjects, most of the time the result is quite good.
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 04:26 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 5 2013, 04:04 PM)
Yeah, I should start experimenting with that, previously I only use iso 100-200 exclusively because I want to retain details for smaller subjects.  sweat.gif
I use ISO 400 even if it's in daylight, because my aperture is around f8-f13, it's hard for me to achieve 1/100 - 1/200 of shutter speed sometimes.
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 04:37 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 5 2013, 04:33 PM)
I'm usually working with number above that because of the teleconverter+extension tubes  rclxub.gif

Then I just let the flash do the rest.  laugh.gif

Which usually results in a black background unless it's adjacent to the subject.
Hmm... with teleconverter + extension tubes, at the same aperture, it will requires more light to come in to achieve the same exposure right?

yeah... but macro shots with totally dark background don't look that good imo, i prefer those who looks natural. Still can't figure out how to use tripod together with macro lenses, it will be really hard to carry around and adjust without scaring the insects away.
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 05:34 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Really need a proper macro lens now tongue.gif this is the closest I can get while reversing my 50mm.

mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 06:28 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 5 2013, 06:12 PM)
I was using ISO2000-3200 1/250 shutter with f5.6 when I don't use flash laugh.gif

This was shot with ISO2000:
What camera was you using? I am currently using crop body, the noise above ISO800 is unacceptable to me if I going to PP it.
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 07:47 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 5 2013, 06:46 PM)
Another photo taken during NCM Team Photo Challenge with the theme Triangle... laugh.gif Triangle enough for u? icon_question.gif

Fences by Pro3363, on Flickr
This looks like a snapshot imo, nothing special about it. There was some camera-shake going on too.
mingyuyu
post Aug 5 2013, 10:02 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 5 2013, 09:21 PM)
LOL I don't dare to reverse my lens, especially outdoors with all that dust flying around  sweat.gif
I guess the 105 would make a good portrait lens on a full frame body la, since you can get closer.  The 90mm on my crop frame is only so-so because of the framing, have to be furthur back = less bokeh  doh.gif

Keep in mind the aperture actually stops down as you get closer with macro lenses.
You all cheating to the max lah, D600 can go way above in ISO while D800 can retain details even when not magnified as close  cry.gif

105 micro can hardly match up to a 105 DC mate, since the micro stops down when you get close, while 105 retains it's bigger aperture at the same distance.  icon_idea.gif

hehe i dare to do that with my canon 50mm f1.8, since the lens is really simply in construction, easy to clean too. but i really need to get a proper macro lens to further improve my photos, can't get the magnification i wanted.
mingyuyu
post Aug 7 2013, 10:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 7 2013, 10:11 PM)
My personal favourite... Selamat Hari Raya to all Muslim forumers! rclxm9.gif  whistling.gif  cool.gif

Rice @ Sushi King by Pro3363, on Flickr
This shot suffered from handshake again. I checked your EXIF and noticed only ISO640 with 1/25 shutter speed. You has a FF camera, why don't you bump your ISO to 2000 and get 1/80 shutter speed?
mingyuyu
post Aug 7 2013, 11:51 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 7 2013, 11:39 PM)
I have this bad habit of not checking the settings... I am trying to overcome it cry.gif
Just take a few more shots rather than just one and zoom into the picture. You can also shoot in shutter priority? Because I saw a few of your shots have blur caused by handshake.

0.0464sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:44 PM