The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?

mingyuyu
post Aug 7 2013, 11:55 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 7 2013, 11:48 PM)
Bogelicious! Make me hungry already  drool.gif
Yup, remember to bring ALOT of mosquito repellents, or wear biohazard suit  tongue.gif
Better to go in numbers as well. Usually newspapers will publish locations and exact time frame to see these meteor showers
Thanks for sharing, great shot, I bet it took a lot of patience and skills to pull off! I remembered reading somewhere that Canons take this sort of long exposure shots of stars much better than Nikon. Can't really remember haha...
*tried taking shots like this before and I really sucked, and gave up jor tongue.gif

hm... i am not really into these kind of photography, but Canon does makes some special sensor that is more sensitive to infrared or something.

http://www.dpreview.com/products/canon/slrs/canon_eos60da
mingyuyu
post Aug 8 2013, 11:17 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 8 2013, 09:46 AM)
I have been using auto ISO since I bought the camera... laugh.gif
blink.gif

You bought a D600 and use it that way? When taking shots, it is easy for you to check the settings by just taking a glance at the infos in the viewfinder, the iso, shutter speed and aperture are there for you to check.
mingyuyu
post Aug 12 2013, 08:55 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 12 2013, 08:43 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif

I kinda doubt the possibility of being able to fake a DSLR, even an old model.
haha that's a joke tongue.gif making a camera is miles harder than making a phone. even if you can copy all the exterior, once turn on and take pictures, you will know.
mingyuyu
post Aug 13 2013, 05:55 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Aug 13 2013, 04:28 PM)
Wanna ask you guys, I was thinking of buying camera, and was considering either d3200 or d5100. Budget is about 2k+/- and I'm just a beginner. Any suggestion?
You should go and try both of the camera, the d3200 has a newer sensor but loss some features from the d5100 such as tiltable screen etc.

I used my friend's d3200 for a while but I think it is way too small to hold comfortably for normal sized hands, the d5100 is larger and easier to hold.
mingyuyu
post Aug 15 2013, 07:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 15 2013, 07:32 PM)
At least u have wider than me... laugh.gif 24mm vs 28mm  whistling.gif  cool.gif
well... 17mm is 25.5mm in Nikon 1.5x crop tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Aug 20 2013, 09:29 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 20 2013, 07:48 PM)
I would proabably try running haha XD
No way I'm going to give away my babies without a fight  tongue.gif
Siens la this country...  Instead of just going out to shoot, have to worry this and that all the time sweat.gif  sweat.gif
yeah... sad truth with Malaysians.

sometimes i wonder if the photography field will grow a lot in Malaysia if the safety was better.
mingyuyu
post Aug 20 2013, 11:29 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 20 2013, 11:01 PM)
Definitely! I'm sure a lot of people here will improve alot if Malaysia is safer...
Man I can't even think about proper shots when I'm outside... have to worry this and that  sad.gif

hmm yeah.... especially street photography and landscape photography. sad.gif
mingyuyu
post Aug 24 2013, 05:42 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 24 2013, 05:01 PM)
case by case la.

I use 50mm on DX body also, no issues.

Just bear in mind that on 50mm on DX body is 50mm's perspective but approx 75mm's fov

same like 35mm on DX body is 35mm's perspective on 50mm's fov.

not that people can't use. You can see both brands people use them with no issues.

I use DX body with 50mm for commercial work, no biggy. 85mm would work more like the 135mm range.

24-70 f2.8 on DX is fine if you're using it for portraits and don't need to go wide. Depends on individual style.
Exactly rclxms.gif

I always use my 50mm in in-door when light is really low on DX, I found no problem also. Just that you need to use the lens more frequently to get used to the focal length, then you can frame anything easily just by your eyes without worrying too wide or too tight.
mingyuyu
post Aug 27 2013, 06:59 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Aug 27 2013, 05:43 PM)
Non AF versions very cheap one cause no electrical connection.

AF Ext tubes RM180+

But who cares, macro goes better with MF  laugh.gif
Can't seems to find any really cheap extension tubes in GS sad.gif

You got any links for the AF ext tubes? i looked around and saw most shops selling 500-600 (crazy price shakehead.gif )
mingyuyu
post Aug 27 2013, 09:02 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 27 2013, 07:13 PM)
Google DSLRplaza  thumbup.gif
Does the brand for electrical ext tubes matter? the kenkko ones are so expensive compared to the Meike ones.
mingyuyu
post Aug 27 2013, 09:22 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 27 2013, 09:07 PM)
The kenko ones are built with metal mounts on both ends and also with higher quality plastic. Which makes them more suitable for heavier lenses like the 105 VR and above.

If you are just mounting a 50mm G lens on it. By all means just get the meike/non-branded ones.

If you own a 50mm 1.8D or any other lens with an aperture ring, then just get non-electrical tubes for around 15 bucks. Of course with this setup you'll have incredible difficulty confirming focus if you stop down the lens.

As for optical quality, should be a no brainer since these are just hollow tubes.
oh ok ... now i understand why it costs so much more. I was thinking to mount a canon 70-200 f4 on it tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Aug 27 2013, 09:30 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 27 2013, 09:27 PM)
unbranded, meike or kenko. It's still a crapload of money to dump on tubes really  doh.gif

About that telephoto lens, the extension tubes won't boost the magnification as much compared to a 50mm one.

Generally, for telephoto lenses, macro or raynox filters yeild higher magnifications while 50mm primes benefit the most from extension tubes.
There are a few articles explaning the reasons behind this if you look around google.
yeah i have read some articles about it, even with all tubes mounted, a 70-200 lens will still not achieve 1:1 magnification. Raynox and macro filters degrade the IQ quite much aren't they?

Top up a few more hundred and i can get a sp90 compared to extension tubes blush.gif
mingyuyu
post Aug 27 2013, 09:44 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 27 2013, 09:36 PM)
Macro filters are single element lenses, uncorrected for optical defects so yes, they do degrade IQ alot. \

But raynox filters on the other hand are multi-element filters, hence the additional cost for them.
They're pretty darn sharp for what they do, but like a 40-60mm macro lens, the working distance is almost nil when used.

A tamron SP90 is still the best starting choice if you want to do serious macro work biggrin.gif

or this if you're as into macro as I am  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

No barrel extension, VC, sharpness exceeding the older generation. Plus that massive price drop from RM2700 to RM1900 just makes the deal all the more sweeter for me.  thumbup.gif
hmm... yeah, so how about getting the raynox with a 70-200? it will get higher magnification? how about the working distance as you said?

I am quite into macro recently actually, played with my friend's 100mm L, really poison.

was aiming for that lens for quite some time, but not sure the 70-200 or this one, sometimes the longer zoom and USM really helps a lot in shooting moving objects .
mingyuyu
post Aug 27 2013, 10:49 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 27 2013, 10:09 PM)
A raynox with a 70-200 is more flexible, but will never reach the territory of a dedicated macro lens IMO. It all comes down to your priority la, whether macro is a serious thing to you or an occasional one.

Working distance I can't say though, never tested this combo, you should try it out in a shop or something just to be sure  hmm.gif
Since you're a canon user, there's also the 100mm F/2.8 USM what. Also pretty fantastic glass for the price. Cheaper than the tamron (VC version) too I think.

The 100mm L is overkill honestly. For that price I'll be looking at sigma's 150 macro already  laugh.gif

Here's an example I just took moments ago  icon_rolleyes.gif

I love macro actually, since my house has quite a lot of bugs and plants around. Now I just shoot with my 50mm inversed, can get the picture, but need to crop most of the time cry.gif

yeah, the Canon was around 1.2k or something.

the sigma would be many people's dream macro lens LOL tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Aug 28 2013, 04:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 28 2013, 10:51 AM)
Haha true, myself thinking of that too since I have one atm laugh.gif
Going to gym lah atm, getting there  flex.gif

nehh, 14mm samyang. RM900 and 90% of the 14-24mm nikkor I dare say when it comes to sharpness.
o.O the samyang is that cheap? I thought it is around 1.2-1.3k?

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 28 2013, 04:03 PM)
The Samyang 14mm 2.8 AE version tongue.gif The sharpness is excellent but there's a weird distortion that cannot be fixed even with lens profile applied. Good enough for me though biggrin.gif See if you can notice the distortion and judge for yourself if you want it.

below this one taken with a 50 1.8G
Eh I thought it still can be fixed? just that it is harder right?

http://photo.stackexchange.com/questions/3...tyle-distortion
mingyuyu
post Sep 3 2013, 10:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 3 2013, 10:16 PM)
60D and 70D isn't exactly "high tier", I would rate it similarly with the D5200 series instead of D7200. Well, polycarbonate body... and the weather sealing is pretty "questionable"... I mean how come it is compared to an old film body instead of just mentioned its full weather sealed for dust and moisture like what they say to their 1DX etc, must be some catch there. Probably the swivel LCD is preventing them from saying its full weather sealing.
Nah, the specs of the 70D are pretty much the same as the D7200 (burst rate, focusing system and the super pwnage video focus), some even better. It doesn't mean it is in lower tier just because the weather sealing is not as good as the D7200. It's a joke to say a camera with top screen and 2 dials the same level as the d5200 tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Sep 3 2013, 11:39 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 3 2013, 11:16 PM)
But the camera with top screen and 2 dials doesn't come with magnesium alloy body  laugh.gif , still doesn't into the same level as D7100 for me  laugh.gif .

Its like back then, is Nikon D90 considered the same class as Canon 40D? Not for me even when D90 has video, better sensor, etc.
I think most people don't care if it's magnesium alloy body, unless you are a working professional who demands best performance out of a camera (but then they would go for the 7D/ 5D) tongue.gif The pentax k30 is fully weather sealed, but still in the same tier as the 600D/ d5k series.

But the, the d7.1k is the Nikon's currently top DX camera, the 70D isn't for Canon. So lets wait for the 7D mark II and see if Nikon going to launch the d400 (maybe?).

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Sep 3 2013, 11:42 PM
mingyuyu
post Sep 5 2013, 07:43 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Sep 5 2013, 06:05 PM)
Lol, seriously can't understand why sensor cleaning also need to charge so much. Just a simple thing to do for the workers, probably few minutes needed.

They already earned so much when people purchasing their lens and bodies, yet still charging extra fees for small things shakehead.gif
mingyuyu
post Sep 9 2013, 10:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 9 2013, 09:58 PM)
Creepy crawlies!
Photo of the most common house spider found in our houses XD
They look so cute upclose  wub.gif

Menemerus bivittatus 1 ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

Menemerus bivittatus 2 ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr
yeah, if anyone shoots macro before, they know that bugs or insects are actually quite cute. can't understand why are those girls screaming so loud when saw them.
mingyuyu
post Sep 9 2013, 10:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 9 2013, 10:14 PM)
Agreed!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
That day my female colleague killed a cockroach (still okay as long as it doesn't fly! XD) before I managed to grab my camera haha  tongue.gif
not all bugs though tongue.gif i am afraid of cockroach ahaha, everyone worries when will it fly.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.7063sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:14 AM