5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?

leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 02:53 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 13 2013, 02:44 PM)
Normally straight up will do, you can tilt to left and right to change the direction of the "fall" of light, or look for big white wall to "bounce" from.

White balance I go auto, but when you're in a room with tungsten or green lights, be prepared for alot of  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  in PP later because you get different groups of color in wide shots.

See this, front group is white light (flash) while back group is yellow light (ambient).  doh.gif

Power,zoom etc is dependant on your camera settings and also how you use the flash. Ceiling height also a factor.
But for newcomer just use auto ITTL and fire lah. Adjust EV if necessary  thumbup.gif
hehe going to animangaki event soon... maybe wanna invest in ext flash e.g. SB-700 drool.gif but no $$ sweat.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 03:01 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2013, 02:58 PM)
I think I'm a bit too obsessed with bokeh lately haha, mustt.... stooppp.... laugh.gif laugh.gif Everything is so expensive haha

Thank bro, its just a lucky shot be honest, I have no idea what I was doing then haha doh.gif
I noticed that the techniques thought on youtube are not really suitable for our skin tones haha...
Flash photography can be really fun and exciting after you get the hang of it thumbup.gif Definitely good to learn~

1. When indoors, a flash works best when bounced off surfaces of a wall/ceiling that will soften up the light. Can take a look at this video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2nNxaBA6ss

Around 1.18-1.27. Its one of the best photography tutorials on the fundamentals of photography- light. I really improved alot after watching it haha, its a one hour plus video though, and the photographer is insanely creative and talented thumbup.gif

2. I use AWB and shoot in RAW haha. You can adjust the WB in post processing but I usually never touched them @_@

3. The shot was taken with the flash on the D90 body, shooting upwards. I prefer shooting in manual since I don't really trust/understand how TTL works lol... Still, at the end of the day, off-flash is always better if its a "controlled" shot~
before this all my images taken with onbody flash really doh.gif ill watch the video when home.. now in office youtube block laugh.gif

slowly la, start with TTL first

thanks for the advice biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by leongkokloon: Aug 13 2013, 03:02 PM
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 03:04 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2013, 03:03 PM)
I love my SB700 haha XD
Its one of the best investments I've ever made haha  laugh.gif
tempting lol.....
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 08:07 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Aug 13 2013, 05:03 PM)
haha actually quite like D5200, but full kit will cost about 3k right?
or if u want cheaper option D90... the old classic icon_idea.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 08:20 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(8sg9ft @ Aug 13 2013, 08:17 PM)
I second that suggestion..  tongue.gif  but rather outdated d, no?
outdated but cheap and yet good brows.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 08:41 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Aug 13 2013, 08:35 PM)
take used one...if u take new one..i guaranteed within 3 month...u will eager to upgrade...
cant agree no more..... D90 its old but really good for beginners for that price... even some pros here use D90 but produce awesome shots
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 08:48 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Aug 13 2013, 08:47 PM)
let him decide what best....

forget to say HEllo...i am new jumper here...LOL...from Canon...
welcome to the dark side rclxms.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 09:09 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Aug 13 2013, 08:51 PM)
hmm.gif  wonder which one is dark side??...tried out the D7000 for few week now...very solid foundation..but the lens a bit pricey than canon...
just wondering what is ur reason to jump over? brows.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 09:16 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 13 2013, 09:13 PM)
If you noticed his signature, he's selling it LOL.
wait huh? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif what???? uhh
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 09:39 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 13 2013, 09:28 PM)
if u use d7000 with 50mm 1.8d, u cannot justified the IQ yet. Must shoot with good lens..then u will know the "power".  laugh.gif
24-70mm f/2.8 yo
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 09:41 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 13 2013, 09:39 PM)
laugh.gif oh well, that means welcoming him to the thread not to Dark Side tongue.gif
lololol.... laugh.gif laugh.gif

Welcome to thread rclxm9.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 10:26 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Aug 13 2013, 10:14 PM)
my 18-200 vr is otw...is it comparable with canon 18-200??...but canon 18-200 way cheapo lens than that nikkor... rclxms.gif

will gift feedback soon..that nikkor 18-200 vr will determind should i stay with nikon...or jump back... tongue.gif

anyone here got that glass?
if u ask me... i rather buy 18-105mm kit lens, some say 18-105 is better then 18-200... just my opinion

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2013, 10:18 PM)
If you are looking for IQ, you should have taken a look at the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 DX  brows.gif
DX's equivalent of the FX's 24-70mm F2.8  drool.gif

Lenses with long focal ranges large magnification (e.g. x15 zoom) often do not come with good IQ/price/weight  laugh.gif
corrected tongue.gif

This post has been edited by leongkokloon: Aug 13 2013, 10:28 PM
leongkokloon
post Aug 13 2013, 10:29 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Aug 13 2013, 10:27 PM)
4K of glasses  rclxub.gif ...i not yet ready for that... nearly same price as EF-16-35mm f/2.8L II USM...
you pay what for what u get...

im aiming higher now tongue.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 14 2013, 08:53 AM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 14 2013, 12:45 AM)
Ur wishlist on ur siggy drool.gif
still got long long way to achieve it bro... but i believe 1 day ill be there brows.gif brows.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 14 2013, 12:13 PM

1,415 posts

was wondering u guys using which color control?

VIVID? standard?

mind to share?
leongkokloon
post Aug 14 2013, 12:17 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 14 2013, 12:14 PM)
I use neutral/standard then cook later in lightroom/psĀ  brows.gif
most times for buildings or subjects which are not human i use "vivid" and human / potraits i use standard sharpness+2

and cook a little later on in PS

This post has been edited by leongkokloon: Aug 14 2013, 12:17 PM
leongkokloon
post Aug 14 2013, 02:28 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Aug 14 2013, 02:19 PM)
wahh... upgrade body just bcos of sdcard.. lol
btw, which body can replace d90? (i dowan change my current lenses)
what lenses u own? current lenses can be FX hmm.gif

if FX lens D700 tongue.gif if DX D7000

This post has been edited by leongkokloon: Aug 14 2013, 02:30 PM
leongkokloon
post Aug 14 2013, 02:36 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Aug 14 2013, 02:33 PM)
of cos DX lenses LOL...  oni super rich ppl buy FX lense for DX frame  doh.gif
hmmm D7000 price almost same with d90
D7100 price same with d90 (6 yrs ago when i bought it)

hmm.gif

the D400 is DX also? more mahal than d7100?
DX lens 17-55 also for rich ppl brows.gif

D400 sure more mahal la... assuming same range as D300s few years ago

leongkokloon
post Aug 14 2013, 02:44 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Aug 14 2013, 02:42 PM)
walao.. just notice this lens! why so mahal !!!
just becos of the constant f? doh.gif
the best DX lens sure mahal whistling.gif
leongkokloon
post Aug 14 2013, 02:50 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Aug 14 2013, 02:47 PM)
reason why i need a lowlight fast lens is to stalk people.. but this lens not far enuf woh.. unless they want take piktar during brows.gif but lazy to mount the heavy flashlight
if ur definition of best is the price tag, indeed it is the best. but for me the best is the 18-300mm  thumbup.gif
no im talking about the price tag.. im talking about the lens with constant f/2.8 and build quality

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:29 AM