Feb 20 2007, 08:09 PM
15,773 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Capital Wasteland |
is it me or this game dun have space battle
Feb 20 2007, 08:36 PM
181 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Ipoh <-Pekan Sg Besi-> Sri Petaling |
I heard alot abt this game ...
When is the game coming out la ... can't wait |
Feb 20 2007, 10:28 PM
4,852 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Feb 20 2007, 11:19 PM
1,137 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Feb 21 2007, 12:20 AM
62 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Physical Matter Reality.... damn it :/ |
Well another good (but somewhat slow paced) space battle game is Nexus: The Jupiter Incident...........
Feb 21 2007, 12:27 AM
Feb 21 2007, 01:05 AM
267 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
i had tried dis game(demo),But it bit diff from gameplay video i dload from gamespot.com.
1-every unit very small. 2-many sub menu on screen n to big.(left small space for battlefield's map) 3-kindly hard to control couse to many button. dis only my opinion for dis game,btw i seemd like a good game.cant wait dis game to be release. |
Feb 21 2007, 10:18 AM
Feb 21 2007, 10:48 AM
124 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(acrylic_26 @ Feb 21 2007, 01:05 AM) i had tried dis game(demo),But it bit diff from gameplay video i dload from gamespot.com. i agree with you especially on the small units issue.1-every unit very small. 2-many sub menu on screen n to big.(left small space for battlefield's map) 3-kindly hard to control couse to many button. looks like one has to scroll down to select and then and scroll up to specify where said units should go as they're really small and you don't want to accidentally send a scout to attack the enemy turret ( which happened to me many times). oh yes like you said, the UI leaves a lot to be desired. a little cluttered and somewhat unpolished ala bad RTS games circa 1999. honestly, the disproportionately large UI gets you do things efficiently but i think they can do better. the map is HUUGGEEE, plus the fact that they tried to scale the units so close to reality means we end up getting the units in very small sizes. this and the fact that it runs sluggish on my 2 GB RAM, C2D E6600 with a 2-generations-ago-6800GS on 1440x900 res (medium video setting). and i thought there will never come a day when an RTS would kill that card. how wrong was I .... unlike TA, this one takes a bit to get used to. it doesn't hook you instantly. not sure if i have the interest or drive to play the full game. my 2 cents ....... |
Feb 21 2007, 11:34 AM
62 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Physical Matter Reality.... damn it :/ |
Knowing how to play TA helps a lot in this game as they share quite a number of similiarities........ I manage to get comfortable with the basics of this game quite fast.......
About the UI....... perhaps if they made the icon a little more smaller than it currently is........ or retain back the one sided menu like in TA, plus the multi-menu from Red Alert 2........... |
Feb 21 2007, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 21 2007, 10:18 AM) ThanksQUOTE(psyhun @ Feb 21 2007, 11:34 AM) Knowing how to play TA helps a lot in this game as they share quite a number of similiarities........ I manage to get comfortable with the basics of this game quite fast....... How do you move the menu around I remembered I can in the beta.About the UI....... perhaps if they made the icon a little more smaller than it currently is........ or retain back the one sided menu like in TA, plus the multi-menu from Red Alert 2........... |
Feb 21 2007, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 21 2007, 12:22 PM) If im not wrong,i think it's Shift-Up(the arrow key).Please correct me if im wrong. I like to move mine to the left.just like TA. I do agree that the UI needs to be smaller.It's taking up 40% of my monitor space. |
Feb 21 2007, 12:55 PM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 6 feet under at Bloodgulch Outpost Alpha Number 1 |
Feb 21 2007, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 21 2007, 12:31 PM) If im not wrong,i think it's Shift-Up(the arrow key). Some how I feel its ok on my com prolly cos my resolution is higher.Please correct me if im wrong. I like to move mine to the left.just like TA. I do agree that the UI needs to be smaller.It's taking up 40% of my monitor space. QUOTE(H@H@ @ Feb 21 2007, 12:55 PM) thanks Hat Hat. |
Feb 21 2007, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 20 2007, 10:28 PM) played and completed it b4 QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 20 2007, 11:19 PM) Good old home world, I think he means something like starcraft well the period of time on Sup com is still comparatively old cos its still humans fighting. Since in teh game we are fighting to control planets/regions all over teh galaxy, so I wandering earlier logically there should have some space battle. This post has been edited by miloy2k: Feb 21 2007, 04:34 PM |
Feb 21 2007, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(miloy2k @ Feb 21 2007, 04:27 PM) Since in teh game we are fighting to control planets/regions all over teh galaxy, so I wandering earlier logically there should have some space battle. Since they have those fancy quantum gate teleporting,I dont think they need any space battles.Just teleport one near the main base and 2 hours later,10 experimental crawling in front of you. |
Feb 21 2007, 09:44 PM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 6 feet under at Bloodgulch Outpost Alpha Number 1 |
QUOTE(miloy2k @ Feb 21 2007, 04:27 PM) played and completed it b4 Look, making a proper RTS in space takes more work than just tacking on space units onto a "flat" space template (Which for all intents and purposes, is what Empire at War did)Since in teh game we are fighting to control planets/regions all over teh galaxy, so I wandering earlier logically there should have some space battle. SupCom is a land based RTS, plain and simple... The BIGGEST one EVER at that and you're asking for more? Why don't you ask why Homeworld didn't have planet side battles (Ironically since its name represents a planet) Some ppl are just impossible to please. |
Feb 22 2007, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 21 2007, 08:38 PM) Since they have those fancy quantum gate teleporting,I dont think they need any space battles.Just teleport one near the main base and 2 hours later,10 experimental crawling in front of you. Remind me of some RPG that i play few month back QUOTE(H@H@ @ Feb 21 2007, 09:44 PM) Look, making a proper RTS in space takes more work than just tacking on space units onto a "flat" space template (Which for all intents and purposes, is what Empire at War did) lol SupCom is a land based RTS, plain and simple... The BIGGEST one EVER at that and you're asking for more? Why don't you ask why Homeworld didn't have planet side battles (Ironically since its name represents a planet) Some ppl are just impossible to please. p/s: I "technically" didn't ask for more .... This post has been edited by miloy2k: Feb 22 2007, 12:31 AM |
Feb 22 2007, 12:37 AM
4,567 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Bangi, Selangor |
| Change to: | 0.0242sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:24 AM |