PROTON SAVVY LYN club, D4F, JB1 repair manual inside

gary_cheah85
post Dec 24 2007, 11:56 AM

**Gary**
529 posts

To all AMT users, i have just changed my AMT oil to Renaultmatic D3.
Now the gear changes are lot smoother.
No more noticeable jerking.

I still have 0.6litres of the oil left.
Anyone interested to get the remaining oil, plz feel free to PM me.
0.6l is enough for each Savvy

Pics of RenaultMatic oil

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Dec 31 2007, 09:43 PM
gary_cheah85
post Dec 31 2007, 10:21 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

anyone tried changing stock savvy tires (175/50 R15) to Myvi SE tires (175/65 R14) ?
based on calculations, not much difference.
I think the myvi SE rims looks better on Savvy.

anyone what are the pro's and con's?

taken from savoc.net

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Dec 31 2007, 10:23 PM

gary_cheah85
post Jan 2 2008, 04:56 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

i like the OMP steering, needs to use boss kit to attach to our savvy?
the yellow color interior matches the dials in instruments panel.
brilliant ideas!
gary_cheah85
post Jan 13 2008, 11:53 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

engine mounting not same, impossible for u to simply put in any engine u like.
JPJ sure will tahan your car
gary_cheah85
post Jan 21 2008, 05:09 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 21 2008, 11:36 AM)
Thanks for the tip. Ok-lar, i'll go back to the SC and fix the power window as well.....btw, my mileage not so good ler about 13.xxkm/l. Can i complain ar?? I was hoping to get at least 15km/l for this car....sigh...
Make sure your tires are sufficiently inflated to 190kPa Rear and 210kPa Front(Proton's recommendation).
If u want lower FC, u may try increase the pressure to 32psi rear and 34 psi front.
then u can reach 15km/l with ease rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Jan 21 2008, 05:12 PM
gary_cheah85
post Jan 21 2008, 07:44 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jan 21 2008, 05:51 PM)
Come on, a car getting the most fuel saving label in Malaysia Book of Record needs all this kind of percautions (like 2krpm upshift) to get 15km/L is a joke.
Matrix, if you haven't floored b4, just floored it just to exercise the engine. tongue.gif  Also request the throttle body to be cleaned see if its help FC.
if u shift around 2k rpm, u will feel the car is very sluggish because our D4F engine's torque only reach the optimum level after 3k
gary_cheah85
post Feb 11 2008, 06:37 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

still CNY holiday lah, of course not open yet....
maybe u can try this weekend
gary_cheah85
post Feb 14 2008, 12:20 AM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(katopunk @ Feb 13 2008, 11:39 PM)
hello guys,

wanna ask how much is used a savvy cost now? i'm thinking to replace my SEG 6speed 20v. Damn it, i'm getting bored of the 20v.
AMT or MT model?
for year 06, AMT can get below RM29k.
Savvy can't beat ur corolla's power/acceleration but handling wise sure got competition
gary_cheah85
post Feb 14 2008, 11:57 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(katopunk @ Feb 14 2008, 12:45 AM)
thanks for the reply.

holycow, you serious? 06' AMT can get RM29k ah?
hahaha... if like that i only need to topup few more k. my 93' still can fetch RM25k.

AMT or MT more fun? how about the reliability and maintenance of AMT?
I bought a Savvy AMT, reg year 06, mileage 14k km.
RM30k(exclude transfer fee and other stuff).
since now already year 08, car price sure drop a bit.

I'm driving AMT, its Automated Manual Transmission.
Now less headache in KL massive jam.
Try driving round KL in manual..... sweat.gif

If you are into pure performance, go for MT.

I still prefer AMT anyway, gear change is slow by a fraction only.
Minimal torque loss because AMT do not use torque converter, it still have the Manual Transmission + robotic clutch.
BTW, AMT is heavier than MT around 10kg only, no big deal thumbup.gif

AMT is maintenance free... trust me brows.gif

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Feb 14 2008, 11:59 PM
gary_cheah85
post Feb 18 2008, 04:38 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(kennie @ Feb 18 2008, 01:47 AM)
hello guys, wanna ask how much is a used savvy MT, oct 05(mileage around 37k) cost now ???
http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/search/s...ategory%5Fid=23
search for Savvy...

that is roughly how much it worth.
You buying or selling?
gary_cheah85
post Mar 13 2008, 07:20 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE([ r u g a ] @ Mar 13 2008, 04:54 PM)
ic so any idea where to get the parts? i mean the muffler?Rm153 is really cheap for such upgrade thumbup.gif
help me get one flex.gif
AFAIK, those R3 mufflers have been snapped up like hot cakes.
You can always ring up R3 division for latest info, 012-2131691.

BTW, good job done by Hypermount to update the Savvy owner's list here.
Anyone interested to explore the innards of our D4f engine, can take a look at the D4f repair manual.
gary_cheah85
post Mar 15 2008, 01:33 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(siaokia @ Mar 15 2008, 01:00 PM)
i wonder new batch of Savvy is using what engine? Ranault or Campro ?
AFAIK only Renault 1.2l D4f engine can fit inside Savvy's engine bay.
Campro will not be able to fit into the small engine bay.
gary_cheah85
post Mar 20 2008, 09:36 AM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(ApeKG @ Mar 20 2008, 06:35 AM)
my sister just got the car on feb.. the AMT version.. can my name be put at the front page?
btw, anyone know how's the AMT fuel consumption? the fuel meter cannot be trusted la.. sometimes blinking with 2 bars, then 1 bar, then up 2 bar balik..
and the my sis savvy seems to have a very high fc..
pump in RM20, manage to get 77km, then its already blinking.. can anyone clarify this? what is the real fc for AMT savvy?
apart from that, it is a really good car with good pickup and handling..
definitely can match with my lightly modded kelisa
hehe.... u represent ur sis in LYN? ask her join LYN also lah.
AMT fuel comsumption is quite low, u pump RM50 normal unleaded petrol(BHP) can travel 350km(city jam + highway).
the fuel meter is normal as u described, when reaching lower limit, it will blink (2bar) for the 1st time.
that is the gentle reminder only.
after a while it will stop blinking, jump back to 2 bar, normal also.
then u drive some more, until the meter left 1 bar.(low fuel indicator lights up, non-blinking)
that is when u need to pump petrol, but u can easily travel another 50-70km in this situation, so no worries.
u pump Rm20 is like a squirt of petrol only........
AFAIK, the fuel tank is 40liter capacity, low fuel indicator lights up when there is 12-13 liters left.
of course the fuel meter is not very accurate, so do not drive ur car until the tank dries up.
BTW, try to inflate ur tires to recommended pressure.

Anyway, savvy can p4wn kelisa anytime icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on March 20, 2008, 9:37 am
QUOTE(blackorange @ Mar 19 2008, 11:43 PM)
just get my red savvy MT last saturday...
i really love this car...
welcome to the club biggrin.gif
do u think the MT clutch is heavy and precise as any sports oriented car?

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Mar 20 2008, 09:37 AM
gary_cheah85
post Mar 20 2008, 02:19 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(blackorange @ Mar 20 2008, 09:51 AM)
thanks!

i dont think the clutch is heavy. even when stuck in a jam at federal highway in the morning and evening, i still dont feel anything.
i dont know how to compare it with sports oriented car because i've never drive one. the only thing that i've drive is Mazda bongo van.

but the feeling is very good. so stable. i dont even realise i drive more than 110km/h.

now thinking of tinting my car with ecotint. is it good?
and what tint color is suitable with red? gold?
yeah, savvy is still steady at speed above our legal limits, so beware u must becareful with ur right leg.
tinting wise, its quite subjective.
my car is green apple, so i tinted it light green to match the paint.
perhaps red(paint) + black/dark(tint)?
BTW, respect the jpj tinting rules b4 dumping money for tinting

Added on March 20, 2008, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(ApeKG @ Mar 20 2008, 11:55 AM)
haha she's not into car club la. she's busy with her work and jus know how to drive only. so im the one who will take care of the car.
the fuel consumption is quite high ler compared to my kelisa.. my kelisa can easily reach 500km on a rm50 petrol
if rm20 can get 200km effortlessly no matter city jam or highway.. rm20 is not like a squirt of petrol in a kelisa  tongue.gif ..
anyway back to the savvy, yes i agree the savvy can easily pawn kelisa on stock, but i think it still on par with my lightly modded kelisa
oh and i really like the 'luxury' or 'european' feelings when drive savvy as well. smooth driving and not shaking while on high speed. drive 140kmh also still stable. two thumbs up  thumbup.gif
u cannot compare a 1.2liter car with a 1 liter car sweat.gif
of coz savvy can reach 500km using rm50 petrol, all depends on your style of driving.
http://star-motoring.com/news/story.asp?fi...7&sec=motornews
BTW, this car can reach 170, yet still stable but not recommended on public roads

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Mar 20 2008, 02:23 PM
gary_cheah85
post Mar 20 2008, 04:48 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(ApeKG @ Mar 20 2008, 03:01 PM)
of cos cannot bro.. but rm20 for below 100km?? its like 10L/100km.. its like driving a 2.0l engine already.. i expect at least with 10L of fuel can reach 130-150km..

Added on March 20, 2008, 3:05 pmhow come in the article you give me it claims to be 4.2L/100km while mine 10L/100km..at least 7-6 is acceptable for an AMT model. is there anything wrong with my sis savvy? btw, the style of driving is conservative with occasional speeding..
don't worry so much about the mileage.
As i have said before, our fuel indicator is not accurate, so u cannot use it to calculate the exact fuel consumption.
From my own experience, RM20 can definitely go over 100km, even if stuck in traffic jam all the time.
to get a better calculation, u need to relatively empty your fuel tank, then pump full tank of petrol.
repeat for 3-4 times to get an average which is much more accurate.

I'm driving AMT also, gear changes done in fully auto mode.
gary_cheah85
post Mar 21 2008, 08:48 AM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Mar 21 2008, 12:12 AM)

is this a common problem? everytime i left my car idle, the temp goes from normal 3 bar to higher, 4-5 bar, sometimes even at a full 6 bar!! does the engine gets hot when its idle or is it reading problem..
what shud i do
car is september 2005, Manual, 41k km, black
how long did u left ur car idle?
BTW my temperature gauge never goes beyond 3bars.
Plz check the coolant level of the radiator.
Does the radiator fan automatically turns on to lower the heat?
gary_cheah85
post Mar 22 2008, 09:58 AM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(blackorange @ Mar 22 2008, 12:20 AM)
just when i thought not many ppl use savvy,
just now i saw 4 savvy in a traffic light including mine. 1 lite black, 1 lite white, 1 red and 1 green.
white savvy is nice... but too bad only for savvy lite...
wah.. so colorful.
You all going on a convoy? rclxms.gif

I also notice quite a number of new proton Savvy on the road nowadays.
White color not bad, but I think it requires thorough car wash every week coz any stain is very visible on the white paint.

Added on March 22, 2008, 10:15 am
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Mar 22 2008, 04:02 AM)
representing my fren (which i hop onto his car almost everyday) i can say his modded savvy (with open pod and exhaust upgrade) had pawned many cars.. even can trail behind the latest Honda Civic 1.8 version. why can follow only?because of HP difference. so he only can catch up during corners tongue.gif

and yes, he occasionally complains to me that the savvy's clutch is abit heavy.
this savvy can reach more than 170km/h.

73WHP savvy, my fren's one. tongue.gif
nice dyno chart there.
74bhp is the stated output from the brochure/car specs.
Maybe ur fren can try to lighten the car, to increase the power to weight ratio.
BTW, be careful when driving at high speeds although Savvy is built tough.

taken from savoc.net

old news but it serves as reminder that our Savvy is not indestructible.

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Mar 22 2008, 10:16 AM
gary_cheah85
post Mar 22 2008, 11:29 AM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(haze @ Mar 22 2008, 11:11 AM)
kesian the guy that died. Well a car VS a tree surely the car will lose. even a merc s class vs a tree, the tree will still win
nothing can survive a side impact crash.
that is the weak spot for any cars.
if u see properly, u can notice how the car "wraps" itself around the tree.

Added on March 22, 2008, 11:35 am
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Mar 22 2008, 10:54 AM)
can't lighten it yet. he's going for GRA this april for Grass (novice) category. in the regulations stated that novice category cars must remain stock, except for some minor upgrades like intake and exhaust.

maybe next year we'll see interior strippings brows.gif

and btw, what a sick world it is now. ppl is dying in the car and yet u can take the sound systems out doh.gif
ooh... ur fren sure petrol head.
lighten the car by taking out the ICE, sure can strip a few kilo here and there.
spare tire consider stock accessories?
take out the spare tire, another few kilo advantages.
then ask ur fren go for diet, lower his body weight rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Mar 22 2008, 11:35 AM
gary_cheah85
post Mar 28 2008, 11:45 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(blackorange @ Mar 27 2008, 10:42 PM)
my rear door is hard to close....i have to slam the door...
anybody face the same problem?
i think u can go to PESC ask them to realign the door hinges bolts.
gary_cheah85
post Apr 5 2008, 06:38 PM

**Gary**
529 posts

QUOTE(khsj @ Apr 4 2008, 05:04 PM)
How much is a AMT 2007 savvy exactly 1 year old? anybody knows?
go to motortrader.com.my for latest pricing.
also depends on the trim level

Added on April 5, 2008, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(katopunk @ Apr 5 2008, 05:30 PM)
ehmmm.. may i know is there any common problems related to savvy?
the common problems have been discussed in the many pages in this thread.
please take some time to browse thru all the pages.

BTW, I've just changed the rear wheel bearing at the nearest PESC.
so no worries rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Apr 5 2008, 06:49 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0263sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:38 AM