131 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

Alphakeeps
post Sep 7 2013, 10:01 AM

17 posts

Hello,

I would love some feedback regarding what type of laptop to get:

1. Preferred Brand - HP/Lenovo/Asus/Sony/Dell
2. Budget - 2k
3. Usage - Microsoft Office/Microsoft Project/Autocad
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"/15.6". Laptop to preferably be lightweight and sturdy as the laptop will be carried around a lot to places such as construction sites.

Thank you.
newbiz2010
post Sep 7 2013, 10:03 AM

32 posts

Hi Sifu,
Any people try this model? How is the performance on game like Starcraft 2, diablo 3 on medium and high setting? Battery performance max can last how many hours in single full charge?

Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2049 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2013, 10:33 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2010 @ Sep 7 2013, 10:03 AM)
Hi Sifu,
  Any people try this model? How is the performance on game like Starcraft 2, diablo 3 on medium and high setting? Battery performance max can last how many hours in single full charge?

Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2049 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Afaik its still too new to have reviews I'm afraid. Its hard to find reviews for Inspiron units since they have alot of different variants with different specs sad.gif

Check this place out for GPU performance comparisons: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html
As for the battery, can expect around 3-4 hours at dimmest screen, Wifi surfing
lawr0202
post Sep 7 2013, 11:33 AM

29 posts

Wanna ask something, is it recommended not to extend the warranty if buying a ASUS notebook?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2013, 11:50 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lawr0202 @ Sep 7 2013, 11:33 AM)
Wanna ask something, is it recommended not to extend the warranty if buying a ASUS notebook?
Not really, iirc its pretty expensive, especially when the warranty support is bad hmm.gif
NightFelix
post Sep 7 2013, 12:17 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(lawr0202 @ Sep 7 2013, 11:33 AM)
Not so sure, since a lot of people complain ASUS local warranty service are Legendary bad, so I just skipped buy ASUS brand product go for others. tongue.gif
NecroPhilia
post Sep 7 2013, 12:21 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 6 2013, 10:25 PM)
Maxed out RE-15 can cost up to RM20k  laugh.gif
For more details on the Y510, please ask the owners, they will have better feedback.

As for the Asus, the specs seemed pretty awesome, just take note of Asus Malaysia's poor warranty services.

For your budget, can consider the MSI as well:
15.6"
MSI

GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
shocking.gif shocking.gif RM20k definitely far from my budget range sad.gif
Wookay smile.gif Would ask at Y510P owner thread smile.gif

Yeap,this is what I worried sad.gif

Thanks for the suggestion,how about this second hand unit? https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2843787&hl= is it worth?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2013, 12:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Sep 7 2013, 12:21 PM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif RM20k definitely far from my budget range sad.gif
Wookay smile.gif Would ask at Y510P owner thread smile.gif

Yeap,this is what I worried sad.gif

Thanks for the suggestion,how about this second hand unit? https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2843787&hl= is it worth?
Depends, if the condition is good, and if the warranty is covered by Illegear in Malaysia (rather than need to send to US), then its a pretty good pick, the specs are awesome nod.gif
NecroPhilia
post Sep 7 2013, 12:49 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 7 2013, 12:23 PM)
Depends, if the condition is good, and if the warranty is covered by Illegear in Malaysia (rather than need to send to US), then its a pretty good pick, the specs are awesome  nod.gif
what things should I check before purchasing and how to make make sure the warranty is covered by Illegear or not? sad.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2013, 01:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Sep 7 2013, 12:49 PM)
what things should I check before purchasing and how to make make sure the warranty is covered by Illegear or not? sad.gif
Check everything, from physical defects to functionality.
As for warranty coverage, ask Illegear nod.gif
lawr0202
post Sep 7 2013, 01:06 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 7 2013, 11:50 AM)
Not really, iirc its pretty expensive, especially when the warranty support is bad  hmm.gif
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 7 2013, 12:17 PM)
Not so sure, since a lot of people complain ASUS local warranty service are Legendary bad, so I just skipped buy ASUS brand product go for others. tongue.gif
Should be RM350 from 3rd year, not worth it to extend?

Is it really that terrible ASUS warranty?

But I like their notebook cry.gif cry.gif
NecroPhilia
post Sep 7 2013, 01:07 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 7 2013, 01:04 PM)
Check everything, from physical defects to functionality.
As for warranty coverage, ask Illegear  nod.gif
Thanks,would try to ask the seller and reconfirm with Illegear as well smile.gif

or else would down the option to Lenovo Y510P or MSI smile.gif MSI warranty coverage is good? smile.gif
David900924
post Sep 7 2013, 02:05 PM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

Hi guys,

1. Preferred Brand, Any
2. Budget, not more than RM2500
3. Usage: will be describe below:
4. Preferred laptop/screen size, around 10" (or your recommendation)

I not sure if I prefer laptop or a tablet or a hybrid laptop/tablet or tablet with sliding keyboard will be suitable for my usage. (please give me your opinions)

The purpose of getting this will be use as website presentation, get client to watch the display and explore the features inside the ecommerce site.

Play powerpoint slides/ and videos/photos.

I would also need to key-in details and also point-of-sale purpose, therefore i need ergonomic keyboard.

Therefore, I concern on the sounds, above average will be great. Display and color richness will be deal breaker during the presentation. and support Bluetooth keyboard will be great too.

Note: not required powerful specs, coz not for gaming or video/photo editing. Only use it as a tool for salesman to close a deal. (Presentation and point of sale)

This post has been edited by David900924: Sep 7 2013, 02:06 PM
NightFelix
post Sep 7 2013, 02:12 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(lawr0202 @ Sep 7 2013, 01:06 PM)
Should be RM350 from 3rd year, not worth it to extend?

Is it really that terrible ASUS warranty?

But I like their notebook  cry.gif  cry.gif
Holy blink.gif RM350? I extended my Lenovo Z400T from 2years carry-in warranty to 3years on-site warranty for just RM165 sahaja.
NightFelix
post Sep 7 2013, 02:14 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Sep 7 2013, 02:05 PM)
Hi guys,

1. Preferred Brand, Any

I not sure if I prefer laptop or a tablet or a hybrid laptop/tablet or tablet with sliding keyboard will be suitable for my usage. (please give me your opinions)

The purpose of getting this will be use as website presentation, get client to watch the display and explore the features inside the ecommerce site.

I would also need to key-in details and also point-of-sale purpose, therefore i need ergonomic keyboard.

Therefore, I concern on the sounds, above average will be great. Display and color richness will be deal breaker during the presentation. and support Bluetooth keyboard will be great too.

Note: not required powerful specs, coz not for gaming or video/photo editing. Only use it as a tool for salesman to close a deal. (Presentation and point of sale)
You can have Surface Pro add into your consideration list.

The rest, you wait other sifu recommend for you.

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Sep 7 2013, 02:14 PM
chocobo7779
post Sep 7 2013, 03:27 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

1. Preferred brand: any, but I may prefer Dell...
2. Budget- RM2.5K (cheaper is preferable, since I may install a SSD in it)
3. Usage- Programming (simple C/C++ programming) and running a single virtual machine.
4. Preferred screen size- None

I would like my laptop to have a good keyboard as well...
takkhor2004
post Sep 7 2013, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 6 2013, 02:44 PM)
15.6"
Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

If its me, I will go for the MSI since these notebooks are designed specifically for gaming. And not to mention the relatively weaker CPU will mean less heat  nod.gif
thanks alot sifu!!, may i ask what the difference between Nvidia gt series and gtx series? which is better? recently i go to the shop the salesmen intro me msi GP 60, is it nice? thank you very much!
David900924
post Sep 7 2013, 07:16 PM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 7 2013, 02:14 PM)
You can have Surface Pro add into your consideration list.

The rest, you wait other sifu recommend for you.
my list now is samsung ATIV Slate PC Pro 700T XE700T1A-A01MY, only RM2249 but dunno got S-Pen and full HD
Spec: Intel® Core™ i5-2467-1.6GHz | 64GB Storage|4GB RAM | Bluetooth 3.0

This post has been edited by David900924: Sep 7 2013, 07:19 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2013, 09:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(takkhor2004 @ Sep 7 2013, 05:15 PM)
thanks alot sifu!!, may i ask what the difference between Nvidia gt series and gtx series? which is better? recently i go to the shop the salesmen intro me msi GP 60, is it nice? thank you very much!
Although it varies from model to model, old vs new etc.. But in general GTX level cards are better than GT cards nod.gif

The GP60 is not that worth it:
15.6"
GP60-2OD, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

GPU performance: GTX675M > GT750M > GT740M icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2013, 09:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Sep 7 2013, 02:05 PM)
Hi guys,

1. Preferred Brand, Any

11.6"
Samsung ATIV Smart, Z2760 + Intel GMA + (1366x768; touch) + 64GB SSD@RM2499[774g w/o keyboard], 2GB, stylus, W8; color: mystic blue

Lenovo Yoga 11s, i3-3229Y + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1366x768, IPS touch)@RM2599, 4GB, W8, 2 years; colors: grey/orange

and of course the MS Surface as well, as suggested by Nightfelix

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 7 2013, 09:28 PM

131 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:29 PM