4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V.XLVIII-+♠+-, Gajah + Nuffs thread!

TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 18 2013, 01:13 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

brows.gif. Suprima S, anyone?
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 18 2013, 01:47 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Aug 18 2013, 01:32 PM)
Waiting for u to drive urs to join TT... brows.gif
Bo lui. brows.gif. Honestly I think the car looks very nice but personally I think that they should have had honeycomb grilles instead to fill the rear bumper at the sides rather than a solid black piece of vaguely shaped plastic.

Anyway, so far DIY'd power steering fluid with Toyota's ATF-IV and there's no longer any trickling sound or whirring sound anymore from the steering wheel. It was quite messy though since I had to deal with a square can rather than a bottle.

Still haven't gotten around to changing the brake fluid though cause I have been spending a lot on food and kai kai, and also cause might have to rebalance the rims if they are removed since after changing tyres they somehow can't be centered without a center cone. For my ceratec experience the engine seems pretty smooth so far, but is still very loud and rough over 5K RPM. Below that it feels very smooth.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 18 2013, 07:37 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(AhmadNizrin @ Aug 18 2013, 02:14 PM)
soon-to-be a persona elegance user, (base-line 2nd hand only cry.gif ) anything should I be aware of? Welcome sincere advice biggrin.gif tahnks
My sincere advise? Cancel your order and get a used H-line instead. Don't get B-Line or you'll probably regret. They're fairly cheap nowadays even for 2 years or less cars (based on recent searches on oto.my). Oh and, do yourself a favor and go around looking for panel gaps and paint color difference. Spend some time knocking the panels of the car as well. Any sound difference may indicate a possible repair job on the car. smile.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 18 2013, 08:27 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(AhmadNizrin @ Aug 18 2013, 08:11 PM)
its all under my parents' control, im just gonna use it for daily working transport, 100% city, its booked and loan is being processed so theres nothing I can do but to stick to this car  rclxub.gif

mind telling me the difference between b/m/h, except the obvious which are stated on the brochure, thanks!
Well, aside from getting ABS + EBD + two airbags on a H-Line you get better sound-proofing as well. These are the things that would make me go for a H-Line instead of an Medium or Base Line model.

Anyway, since you can't actually do anything about the car selection anymore, I'd say keep your tyres in a good shape or you'll be shitting yourself every time you need to perform hard braking.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 18 2013, 10:05 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Aug 18 2013, 09:43 PM)
What is the average price for H-Line PE you saw at oto?
Around RM37000 ~ RM43000 for around 2 ~ 3 years old cars.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 19 2013, 12:22 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Just a note to take on when changing the car battery yourself. Get your key ready or you'll have the car blasting away at you. I'm not sure how to deactivate the alarm via the panic button as if I press it it'll sound after a second or two again, so what you can do is to push down the rod that detects if the hood is open, lock and unlock the car and you'll be set.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 19 2013, 12:31 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 19 2013, 09:16 AM)
Yep,  I mentioned before that changing steering fluid seems to solved the whirring steering sound problems instead of the wrong analysis of the Proton mechanic that change my steering clock spring and actually suggest greasing the steering column when whirring not solved (my mechanic laugh when he heard that coz only big lorries do that, never heard on cars).
laugh.gif. Aside from solving the whirring and trickling sound(when turned max to either left or right), the gurgling sound when the steering is maxed is also much more muted. So far so good with Toyota ATF-IV, which based on my research should be similar (or equivalent) to Dexron III with more additives, so therefore is compatible with the power steering system based on my deductions.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 19 2013, 05:37 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(solarwing @ Aug 19 2013, 05:01 PM)
Hye guys, service my manual car soon at 40k,
Seek for advise does item listed correctly?
Engine Oil
Oil Filter
Drain Plug
Spark Plug- Iridium till 80k
Gear Oil- 2 liter enough?
Brake Fluid- 3 bottle require?
Air Filter- Got
Radiator Coolant- 500ml
Fuel Filter- needed?

THanks.
Fuel filter is normally every 60k KM, but if you want you can change it at your next car service schedule. It's not that expensive anyway, below RM40 if I'm not mistaken. Don't forget the drain plug gasket, and as for brake fluid through my searches on the internet you should require less than 1L of brake fluid to flush + fill the reservoir, but it'll probably be a good idea to bring extra anyway, just not too much since storing brake fluid isn't a good idea as it absorbs moisture over a period of time.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2013, 12:05 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Aug 27 2013, 10:15 PM)
yes!i jz realized when i thought of i didnt on aircon while waiting for tat fan to spin...keep thinking wad fan is tat then baru rmbr when on aircond and compressor kick in...tat fan super noisy!
Would you like to try the single fan radiator style? Bad thing to have if you plan to do night time robberies or break ins. vvhHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2013, 02:08 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Aug 28 2013, 12:15 AM)
rclxub.gif i dun get u...
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
brows.gif

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 28 2013, 01:55 PM)
GC is more useful than VS. They usually comes hand in hand. There are 2 important point when installing GC.

1. The quality of cable. Use 4Gauge Pure Copper cable if possible.
2. Installation points. Incorrect installation point to install cables can render cable ineffective.
You can check out Eric Tioh's GC thread site for some pointers. I'm using his VS and GC in all my vehicles. High quality home made stuff.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1495749

:
Do you mind taking a picture of your GC configuration in your Persona? I want to reconfirm the grounding points especially for the area around the battery.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 1 2013, 03:57 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Aug 31 2013, 07:15 PM)
Somebody keyed my car. from driver's door all the way to the panel around the fuel cap. sad.gif Any idea of the cost to respray? That is 3 panels. Although I know some resprayers can do half of the doors (Just the upper part) to save cost.
If you're close to Sungai Buloh or able to travel there, there are quite a few paint shops for you to choose from. The shops are located after Kota Damansara around Jalan Teknologi ( Taman Industri Sungai Buloh).

And speaking of respraying I still can't let go of my past experience with the shop vmad.gif.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Sep 1 2013, 03:59 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 2 2013, 05:15 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Sep 1 2013, 09:10 PM)
So how is ur car paint now? Evrything good? Or give up on the paint then buy new car already...?
Paint quality is not bad. Workmanship is definitely terrible.

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 1 2013, 10:19 PM)
U kno the cap is which area bottom of the car? I know tank is near the boot but donno where the cap is. I never touched the bottom cap but since my fuel meter drops next day i suspect since my FC bad. But even when driving the meter will suddenly drop alot when pass the half tank point.
I'm not sure how many caps the fuel tank has, but there is one just right under the rear seat (which can be taken out very easily). You'll have to pry it off with a flat head screw driver, then you'll get direct access to the fuel pump, which seems to be quite hard to take out judging from how many tools the mechanics had to go through just to get the screws to budge for mine.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Sep 2 2013, 05:20 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 2 2013, 07:41 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Sep 2 2013, 07:14 PM)
ok..reseted..now it's show 7 after drive back from work..btw petrol rise 0.20 tonight 12am =.=
Seriously? I don't recall reading anything related to an impeding petrol price increase. But if so it's time to switch to kancil. bye.gif At least it has stronger brakes.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 2 2013, 08:03 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Sep 2 2013, 08:00 PM)
sad.gif. Found the news on mkini. Oh well. Kancil it is.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 2 2013, 09:00 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Sep 2 2013, 08:59 PM)
new batch is 15" rim?
Yus.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 2 2013, 09:25 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 2 2013, 09:20 PM)
Closest will be 195/55/16

Specification Sidewall Radius Diameter Circumference Revs/Mile Difference
195/60-15        4.6in  12.1in  24.2in        76.1in          833          0.0%
195/55-16        4.2in 12.2in    24.4in        76.8in        825    1.0%
205/55-16        4.4in 12.4in    24.9in        78.2in        811        2.7%
195/50-16        3.8in  11.8in    23.7in        74.4in        852      -2.2%
Best size for kancil is what? hmm.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 2 2013, 09:47 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jasonloh7906 @ Sep 2 2013, 09:42 PM)
petrol price increase by dua puluh sen.
cannot heavy foot too much edi.
Enter kancil bulk with me flex.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 3 2013, 09:10 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 3 2013, 09:06 AM)
Gua every 4 days for full tank from almost empty. 5 days if hit weekend.

Nowadays, hitting 5K mileage in 2.5 months. Shift house next year, petrol up, everything sure up....

I think I'm going to go against my philosophy on 5K mileage change....gonna drag to at 5.5 to 6K. Money not enuf. Dragging 10K FS for this older tech camtakpro engine is just too much tho besides I also has no faith in stock filter can filter optimum at that mileage.

Still have to jaga car engine cleanliness and performance for very long term coz I realize after deducting my house loan and future cost increase (looking at how govt goes, gst coming still), gua tak da money change car liao. This car  have to last me 20 years.....  rclxub.gif
rclxub.gif Time to buy an engine hoisting tool already. Strip + clean with soap and zip and water.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Sep 3 2013, 09:11 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 3 2013, 09:28 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Sep 3 2013, 09:28 AM)
i pump from quarter bar to near full...means pump 25L from quarter...if 50/50 city highway can tahan at least 4 days...maximum 6 days at times...
can try tat on ur persona? whistling.gif
Ada ceratec ma. Someone else try la brows.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 3 2013, 01:37 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Sep 3 2013, 12:54 PM)
what is lambda primer? anyone here using ceratec?
Yus. Lambda Primer is a type of engine flush that allows you to drive with it slushing around the engine without any issue. I'm using Ceratec and so far what I can say is the engine is definitely smoother and less noisy but over 5K RPM it's still rough as hell.

Engine oil totally black when it was poured out after using it. laugh.gif Before that I check the dip-stick prior to the servicing the oil was semi yellow semi black.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0472sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:47 AM