8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

Syrian
post Feb 8 2007, 10:13 PM

2,761 posts

But I read somewhere in the internet, it says that if u only keep on male at home, he won't mark territory coz there's no necessity of doing so. He'll only mark his territory IF and ONLY IF there are other dogs as well besides him. That's when he'll mark his territory to prevent other dogs from going there.
Syrian
post Feb 9 2007, 11:58 AM

2,761 posts

I agree with the cleanliness part of trimming. But how do i cut it ?? Do i just cut it super short using scissors (specailised for cutting hair one) OR do i use human shaver to shave it off ??
Syrian
post Feb 9 2007, 01:03 PM

2,761 posts

wud about bathing ?? Can i bath my shih tzu few times a week BUT only ONCE WITH SHAMPOO ??
Syrian
post Feb 9 2007, 02:06 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Feb 9 2007, 01:30 PM)
Why would you do that? I only bath when dirty and not more than once a week with dog shampoo. Too many bath will not be good for the hair and skin of your dog.
RB
He's smelly. I use baby wipe to clean his face and i clean his ears with solution everyday. But i jz dunno whr does the smell comes from. I bath him about twice a week. Once with shampoo and once with plain water only.
Syrian
post Feb 9 2007, 11:09 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Feb 9 2007, 08:44 PM)
Oh, do not use human shaver.... well, I trimmed using scissors last time. Safer coz a shaver can cut too close and coz itching.
Have you tried smelling the mouth and ears? If you smell his body... around the spine there and it is smelly, means your dog got body odour problem. It could be due to the food.

What do you feed your pup?
His mouth and body do not have any odor. The ears got a bit of smell but not so strong. I dunno whr is smelly but it comes from the face. After I bathed him, about 30 or 1 hour later, the smell returns but jz on the face side. I clean his ears everyday with the ear solution thingy. I put one or two drops on cotton bud and clean it. Then i use a dry cotton bud to make sure the ears are dry and not wet. I feed him with "nutro lamb".

Added on February 9, 2007, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Feb 9 2007, 08:44 PM)
Oh, do not use human shaver.... well, I trimmed using scissors last time. Safer coz a shaver can cut too close and coz itching.
Have you tried smelling the mouth and ears? If you smell his body... around the spine there and it is smelly, means your dog got body odour problem. It could be due to the food.

What do you feed your pup?
His mouth and body do not have any odor. The ears got a bit of smell but not so strong. I dunno whr is smelly but it comes from the face. After I bathed him, about 30 or 1 hour later, the smell returns but jz on the face side. I clean his ears everyday with the ear solution thingy. I put one or two drops on cotton bud and clean it. Then i use a dry cotton bud to make sure the ears are dry and not wet. I feed him with "nutro lamb". Last nite my fren brought her maltese to my house and she told me that smell is "typical dog" smell. Might be from the saliva.

Btwn, why my Lucky's moustache kenot grow one?? THe forehead there got grow longer already but i didn't see any growth at the moustache. And how to make its coat shiny without giving him any supplement?? His coat is normal now - not dry or flake looking but not shiny either. Wud food brand do u guys recommend for a shih tzu ??

This post has been edited by Syrian: Feb 10 2007, 12:01 AM
Syrian
post Feb 10 2007, 11:21 PM

2,761 posts

If i jz give him a splash of cold water during afternoon without applying shampoo - can or not ?? Coz weather's very hot lately - i've also fallen sick sweat.gif. And then, i give him Nutro Choice - is that holistic?? It's written "Formulated to Improve Skin and Coat Quality" on the paper bag.

And then why some people tell me I must clean the ears everyday?? It's like contradiction to what crazymouse is saying blink.gif. So, should I clean or not clean everyday ler ?? sweat.gif I forgotten who told me already - "If you don't clean ur dog's ears daily with ear solution, there'll be build-up wax which can cause fleas and ticks." Is this true?? I use cotton bud and I apply around one drop of the solution on the cotton bud to clean his ears. After that, I use a new cotton bud again to wipe again to ensure that the ears are totally dry inside.

As for shampoo, I bought Bark which costs me RM 27. Just a small bottle. It's for puppies - is it a good brand? I didn't use any conditioner. I only use that "bark" brand shampoo wor. He doesn't like me to brush him but I forced him to sit and stay on my laps everyday when I brush him sweat.gif. Last time whenever he sees the brush, he'll bark very very loud and wanna attack the brush. Then I scream at him "NO". After that, he does not dare to attack the brush anymore brows.gif. When I say "lucky, noooooo. Sit!!! Stay!!!", he'll listen to me tongue.gif.

I plan to keep his front hair and moustache long. The front hair, I think it's better to tie up in a knot rather than letting it fall off his face - Looks cleaner and tidier and won't poke his eyes so much. But at the moment, the hair around his nose ar .. da previous time he went for basic grooming, the groomer cut it extremely short and now it's long already and stared to poke poke his eyes wor. How to solve this problem?? I don't want to cut it short anymore coz I wanna keep that part of the hair LONG so that I can sambung it to the forehead and tie into a knot at the forehead. My plan is like this - I wanna keep his front head and moustache long, and then bring him to groomer to have his body hair groomed short short. I only want to keep the front head and moustache long.

Crazymouse,
The lamb cut was very nice thumbup.gif. I prefer short hair than long hair .. hehe. It's good that you know how to cut the hair urself. I don't know how to cut sweat.gif

Syrian
post Feb 11 2007, 06:33 PM

2,761 posts

After Lucky's full vaccination, I plan to bring him out kai kai. Sometimes roam about in 1U or Ikano. Or bring him to the park to play. Do I need a dog license if I'm going to bring him out occasionally?? And IF yes, where can I apply for dog license and how much is it? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Syrian: Feb 11 2007, 06:39 PM
Syrian
post Feb 11 2007, 11:28 PM

2,761 posts

Why my Lucky's stool is soft ar ?? He jz pooped and his tools are not as hard as before - a bit soft but not diarrhoea. Jz slightly softer than before. I give him Nutro Lamb and I give him 1 full coleslow cup (kFC) per meal. Is that portion too much or too little ??
Syrian
post Feb 12 2007, 12:03 AM

2,761 posts

I feed him once in the morning and once at nite. Yeah .. he drinks a lot of water. He usually finishes 1.5 L of water in 2-3 days time.
Syrian
post Feb 16 2007, 10:42 AM

2,761 posts

Why recently my Lucky will struggle when I bath him ?? He wanna cabut away from me. And crazymouse, how did u manage to cut ur doggie's hair??? I can't even get him to stop moving. In the end, I cut his hair jz like "ghost" - super ugly now - LOL.

Added on February 16, 2007, 10:58 amcoudl someone please show me a picture of their doggie's navel ???? MY shihtzu has a lump on the stomach and i'm not sure what is it. It's above his penis and when i touch it .. it's like lumpy and looks bloated. When i press down .. i can't really feel anything inside and the bloat becomes flat. What is that ??? P/s help me notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Syrian: Feb 16 2007, 10:58 AM
Syrian
post Feb 17 2007, 12:54 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Feb 16 2007, 06:24 PM)
Firstly, you have not associated your Lucky properly with the brush. Let him know that if he sits quietly, he gets a treat. Also, Lucky only few months old lah.... he is still a baby. You should not be cutting his hair now since he is a pup, you should let him get used to brushing before cutting his fur.

Are you selling Lucky away? Coz Garage Sales got similar picture of your Lucky...

Navel.... the bump or lump is caused by inproper cutting of the umbilical cord. If there is no swelling or redness then it should go away when mature... but if it still shows when he is about 6 months old, bring to vet for check up.
Nope. Lucky is still with me. I'm putting him at St Angel's for 5 days when I go back to my hometown. RM 20 per day.

So, that's the navel lar. Freaked me off when I noticed it yesterday. Jz saw it when I was playing with him.
Syrian
post Feb 26 2007, 03:57 PM

2,761 posts

go to Ikano OR Pets Family .. they got sell dogs shoes. 1 pack got 2 pairs for RM 29.90 at Pets Family. Ikano is around RM 39.90 or 49.90 per pack.
Syrian
post Mar 17 2007, 12:03 AM

2,761 posts

i think purebreed and mixbreed are all the same. All dogs have different personalities. Some purebreed might also be stubborn such as pekingese, etc. I think it's ur friend who doesn't haf the patience in training ler ..

Last time my Lucky also very nottie one. But now he noes waht should he do when I say "No".

This post has been edited by Syrian: Mar 17 2007, 12:04 AM
Syrian
post Mar 17 2007, 12:18 AM

2,761 posts

But how u guys teach ur furkids to pee poo at the right spot ar ?? Lucky is still having problem to pee poo at the right spot. When he's in his playpen, he noes whr to pee poo but when he's set to roam free in a confined space (room), he tends to cincai pee poo everywhere .. rclxub.gif
Syrian
post Mar 23 2007, 07:27 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Mar 23 2007, 05:53 PM)
guys , how to cut my pup nails ? damn sharp =.= .. i dunno whether same or not like cutting Iguana nail .. lol ..
advise pls . thx.
Cut the white colour one lor. Just be sure NOT TO CUT THE QUICK!! Else will bleed ar.... It's like cutting human nails ma. Just be sure to be careful and don't cut the quick. Or u can cut bits by bits per week lor jz as a safety measure to prevnet cutting da quick.

QUOTE(Digitral @ Mar 23 2007, 06:40 PM)
puppy sure will bite thing , but have train from young . when it bite ur finger or bite thing must say '' no '' and train it when u clap ur hand ''loudly '' to show u are angry when ur puppy do sumthing wrong . buy ur puppy some small chewing bone to bite , and some toys to bite is better because their teeth very itchy . icon_rolleyes.gif
Ya, i agree. Need to train lor and don't let it becomes a habit. Last time lucky also did the same thing to me - lick lick lick then suddenly becomes bite. So, whenever i see him opening his mouth wide - jz like goin to bite me - i'll scold him loud loud and say "NO, YOU BAD BOY!!". Or if i din notice and he bite already, then I'll pull my hand away and scold him "NO, YOU STUPID DOG!!" and hit his mouth with my first finger. Not hit hard hard type but jz touch it with my finger with some force to let him noe it's not right to bite. So, now he doesn't dare to bite me ady. Whenever he wanna bite ady, i say "aaa.. aaa .. aaa" ... he'll look at me and stop.
Syrian
post Mar 24 2007, 04:03 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Mar 24 2007, 12:01 PM)
Well as promise here's the picture of my pup... should b normal breed only i think nothing special but she's kinda cute though

Btw, my mum n i just giv her a bath. Damn hard.. the pup always wanna run away 1... and after finish bathing keep on shaking... now i let her out under the sun for a while till she dried up tongue.gif duno ok o not..

And y does it always 'crying' 1... take her go out walk walk walk come back still like wanna go somewhere coz she keep on pulling her chain, normally i'll go rub her until she fell asleep  doh.gif  doh.gif
Yerrr ... I love ur pup. I was about to adopt one puppy exactly like urs few months ago and I found out that it'll grow up to normal size. So, i gave up and bought a shih tzu instead. Now my baby boy is in ipoh. He doesn't like to bath that much but he loves dry-blowing.

QUOTE(terrorist @ Mar 24 2007, 01:02 PM)
damn .. why my pup so hyperactive one.. T_T , tired taking care of her , every time i feed her , i put the food in the bowl , she doesnt want to eat.. then keep running and running , NON STOP running ! OMG .. then what also wanna bite , she will only eat if i pour the food on the floor bit by bit , why like that 1 ? then every time i put the bowl of food in da cage , she go make the whole bowl of food and water spill every where .. OMG .. always so playful , yesterday when she wanna bite my hand, i so angry , coz shouting at her is not useful , she wont cares , she will think i'm playing with her , so i accidentally spank her butt a bit hardly , BUT ! still she think i'm playing.. not scare at all.. some more bark back.. omg.. guys.. teach me how to make this little " monkey " don be so naughty, why she always like that.. 
she's cute , and playful .. but something really irritating.. damn naughty ..
LOL - ur dog is a little devil.... hahahaaha ... What is the breed?? I think I have a doggie like urs, i'll go nuts laugh.gif
Syrian
post Mar 24 2007, 07:38 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Mar 24 2007, 04:56 PM)
my dog is PUG mix SPITZ .. are both of these breed hyperactive dog ?  doh.gif
No idea but i thot pug is kinda one of the laziest dog ?? Dunno ler ..
Syrian
post Mar 24 2007, 09:54 PM

2,761 posts

ya .. looks like acs to me .. cutie little pie ..
Syrian
post Mar 30 2007, 11:37 AM

2,761 posts

I tried pantene on my shih tzu before and I noticed that it's not that good. After bath, the fur was nice and smooth - no tangle at all. But after 1 or 2 hours after blowing dry - i noticed da fur starts to flake. So, it's still better to use the dog's shampoo lor. Human shampoo contained lotsa chemicals which is harmful for ur doggie's fur/hair.
Syrian
post Mar 30 2007, 01:31 PM

2,761 posts

ya .. i also buy Hartz ... Rm 28

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:44 AM