141 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Android Tablet Recommendation, List of sellers too!

yinseng000
post Jun 21 2013, 08:16 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 21 2013, 07:22 PM)
Wait for the non-3G Sony tablet Z
Yes , i really like Sony tablet Z design ! . But why need to wait for ? No more stock in malaysia?
TSericmaxman
post Jun 21 2013, 08:18 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(yinseng000 @ Jun 21 2013, 08:16 PM)
Yes , i really like Sony tablet Z design ! . But why need to wait for ? No more stock in malaysia?
Haven't lavis launch yet, if I'm not mistaken... current model got 3G, so it's kinda pricey ma
yinseng000
post Jun 21 2013, 08:50 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 21 2013, 08:18 PM)
Haven't lavis launch yet, if I'm not mistaken... current model got 3G, so it's kinda pricey ma
I have seen the xperia Z tablet yesterday with price RM1499 at Time Square Sony Centre .I think that is the wifi only tablet .
Kendall
post Jun 21 2013, 08:53 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 21 2013, 08:18 PM)
Rm1499 in senq.
TSericmaxman
post Jun 21 2013, 08:53 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(yinseng000 @ Jun 21 2013, 08:50 PM)
I have seen the xperia Z tablet yesterday with price RM1499 at Time Square Sony Centre .I think that is the wifi only tablet .
Yup, that's the one....
bearbear
post Jun 29 2013, 10:15 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

1. Brand. Non-mainstream brand
2. Budget. Below 500
3. Specs. Priority on performance and screen, can ignore the camera. 7" or 8" also acceptable but must be reliable.
4. What you need in the tablet. Casual browsing/light gaming/youtube-ing/Email/FB/Movie on plane

This post has been edited by bearbear: Jun 29 2013, 11:26 PM
TSericmaxman
post Jun 29 2013, 11:38 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 29 2013, 10:15 PM)
1. Brand. Non-mainstream brand
2. Budget. Below 500
3. Specs. Priority on performance and screen, can ignore the camera. 7" or 8" also acceptable but must be reliable.
4. What you need in the tablet. Casual browsing/light gaming/youtube-ing/Email/FB/Movie on plane
Ainol Novo 8 Dream Vido N80 RK Onda V813 Ramos W13PRO
8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x600
Actions ATM7029 Quad Core Rockchip RK3188 Quad Core Allwinner A31 Quad Core AMlogic ARM Cortex-A9, Dual Core
Vivante GC1000 GPU Mali 400 GPU PowerVR SGX544 MP2 GPU Mali 400 GPU
1GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 1GB DDR3
6200mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery
RM439 RM459 RM509 RM350

So for my Vido N80RK, here's some pro and con.

Pro
- Excellent value for money. I mean, for RM450, where else can u get a quad core tablet, with 2GB of RAM, IPS display with 16GB of storage, dual cameras + android 4.1?
- Display size is good for webpage browsing (compared to a 7 inch la), as well as e-book reading.
- Relatively smooth.
- Plays games quite well, thanks to the Mali-400 GPU
- Good app compatibility
- Very high score in Antutu (~17000+)
- The 2GB RAM ensures you can multitask without any issues. I can browse the net, with a few tabs open, play a few games, jump back to browser where is left off earlier.

Cons
- Again, the display. I'm not sure if its my unit or what, but when browsing a webpage with a mostly white background, you can notice the left to right side (when in portrait mode) is kinda like yellowish to bluish. Its a minor annoyance to me la
- SOD. This occurred to me twice liao. Had to reset the tablet.
- Apps disappearing. No shit. I had to uninstall the app, the reinstall it. Then move it to the tablet from the internal storage.
- Screenshot button crashed the tablet, once.
- Some games are quite laggy, maybe due to bad optimization. NFS Most Wanted works. Worm2 Armageddon works. Minion Rush works (some bad lags, but now less liao). Asphalt 6 works, but doesnt look that nice due to the 4:3 display. Asphalt 7 doesnt work though.

There is a new firmware dated in May 2013. I'm downloading that now, and gonna test it and see if it can fix the bugs I am facing now. My current firmware is dated back to March 2013 btw.

This post has been edited by ericmaxman: Jun 29 2013, 11:39 PM
TSericmaxman
post Jun 30 2013, 06:32 PM

-
7,951 posts

For those wanting to buy a cheap quad core tablet, please read the below.

From Actions' Official site

- ARM Cortex-A9 fimily CPU, Single CPU frequency is up to 1.3GHz.
- Supporting VFP v4(Vector Floating Point v4) architecture and compliant with the IEEE 754 standard for floating-point calculation
They claim it to be a Cortex-A9, but in actual fact, its only a A5.

From ARM's site,

The optional Cortex-A5 FPU is an implementation of the ARM Vector Floating Point v4 architecture,

If the Actions ATM-7029 really was a Cortex-A9, then it should be FPUv3, not v4.

If you do get one, treat is as a dual core, with a lousy GPU. Games and apps compatibility is horrible, from what I;ve gathered so far.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 30 2013, 10:27 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 19 2013, 09:05 AM)
But Asus quality is really top notch. I has a Asus notebook back home, i think ~3 years old, no issues.
What's your thoughts on the Memopad HD7?

TSericmaxman
post Jul 1 2013, 06:59 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 30 2013, 10:27 PM)
What's your thoughts on the Memopad HD7?
Havent actually launched yet hmm.gif

But I think it might have a potential, as it should be hovering around the RM450 - 500 mark. Besides, the specs are also quite gooding....
sniper on the roof
post Jul 1 2013, 08:41 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 1 2013, 06:59 AM)
Havent actually launched yet hmm.gif

But I think it might have a potential, as it should be hovering around the RM450 - 500 mark. Besides, the specs are also quite gooding....
Taiwan already selling.... HD7 16GB for ~RM600.

How this compares to Nexus 7?
TSericmaxman
post Jul 1 2013, 08:49 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 1 2013, 08:41 AM)
Taiwan already selling.... HD7 16GB for ~RM600.

How this compares to Nexus 7?
Advantage of nexus over the memopad

- updates by google, so 4.3 is very likely to be launched with the nexus7 v2.
- Build quality
- brand image
- Possible better screen when the v2 is launched
- more powaaahh

Advantage of the memopad over the nexus

- microSD
- Dual cameras
- more color variants
MsiaqweR
post Jul 2 2013, 11:57 AM

642 posts

QUOTE(yinseng000 @ Jun 21 2013, 08:50 PM)
So cheap WiFi set only RM1.5k? Anyone can confirm?
TSericmaxman
post Jul 2 2013, 12:05 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 2 2013, 11:57 AM)
So cheap WiFi set only RM1.5k? Anyone can confirm?
SRP is RM1499.

sos tiram

Outside might be slightly cheaper thumbup.gif
joytest
post Jul 2 2013, 12:06 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

This seems promising A15 w Usb3 and fhd 11" screen..

http://tabletelijah.blogspot.com/2013/06/i...era-of.html?m=1

Usd 275?
TSericmaxman
post Jul 2 2013, 12:11 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jul 2 2013, 12:06 PM)
This seems promising A15 w Usb3 and fhd 11" screen..

http://tabletelijah.blogspot.com/2013/06/i...era-of.html?m=1

Usd 275?
Hope someone sees a potential here brows.gif

*hint* ccs221
Andrewtst
post Jul 2 2013, 12:11 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 21 2013, 08:53 PM)
Yup, that's the one....
Xperia Tablet Z - Wi-Fi only edition already out quite some times. I already hands on it at one of the Sony Center at 18/Jun, and purchase it on 28/Jun and I am really happy own it. smile.gif

Here is my short review:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=61372490

and review add-on:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=61397968
MsiaqweR
post Jul 2 2013, 01:15 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 2 2013, 12:11 PM)
Xperia Tablet Z - Wi-Fi only edition already out quite some times. I already hands on it at one of the Sony Center at 18/Jun, and purchase it on 28/Jun and I am really happy own it. smile.gif

Here is my short review:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=61372490

and review add-on:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=61397968
But actually the difference between the WiFi only edition vs WiFi+LTE edition is one got LTE and the other no LTE.

Am I correct?

Any other differences in specs except on the above?
Andrewtst
post Jul 2 2013, 01:17 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 2 2013, 01:15 PM)
But actually the difference between the WiFi only edition vs WiFi+LTE edition is one got LTE and the other no LTE.

Am I correct?

Any other differences in specs except on the above?
Yup, that is the only different, the rest all same. Since I not really need LTE version as my phone already got and can act as Wi-Fi hotspot. I don't see extra RM 500 is worth the value for that extra LTE feature.
NightFelix
post Jul 2 2013, 05:02 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jun 29 2013, 11:38 PM)
|Ainol Novo 8 Dream | Vido N80 RK| Onda V813 | Ramos W13PRO |
8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x768 8 inch 1024x600
Actions ATM7029 Quad Core Rockchip RK3188 Quad Core Allwinner A31 Quad Core AMlogic ARM Cortex-A9, Dual Core
Vivante GC1000 GPU Mali 400 GPU PowerVR SGX544 MP2 GPU Mali 400 GPU
1GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 2GB DDR3 1GB DDR3
6200mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery 4000mAH Battery
RM439 RM459 RM509 RM350

So for my Vido N80RK, here's some pro and con.

Pro
- Excellent value for money. I mean, for RM450, where else can u get a quad core tablet, with 2GB of RAM, IPS display with 16GB of storage, dual cameras + android 4.1?
- Display size is good for webpage browsing (compared to a 7 inch la), as well as e-book reading.
- Relatively smooth.
- Plays games quite well, thanks to the Mali-400 GPU
- Good app compatibility
- Very high score in Antutu (~17000+)
- The 2GB RAM ensures you can multitask without any issues. I can browse the net, with a few tabs open, play a few games, jump back to browser where is left off earlier.

Cons
- Again, the display. I'm not sure if its my unit or what, but when browsing a webpage with a mostly white background, you can notice the left to right side (when in portrait mode) is kinda like yellowish to bluish. Its a minor annoyance to me la
- SOD. This occurred to me twice liao. Had to reset the tablet.
- Apps disappearing. No shit. I had to uninstall the app, the reinstall it. Then move it to the tablet from the internal storage.
- Screenshot button crashed the tablet, once.
- Some games are quite laggy, maybe due to bad optimization. NFS Most Wanted works. Worm2 Armageddon works. Minion Rush works (some bad lags, but now less liao). Asphalt 6 works, but doesnt look that nice due to the 4:3 display. Asphalt 7 doesnt work though.

There is a new firmware dated in May 2013. I'm downloading that now, and gonna test it and see if it can fix the bugs I am facing now. My current firmware is dated back to March 2013 btw.
Whoa, 8 inch tablet with superb spec can at price below RM500. shocking.gif
Didn't come back read quite awhile. rolleyes.gif

141 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:33 AM