20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Asset Allocation Investing using US ETF, Basic approach to asset Allocation ETF

TSdreamer101
post Jun 22 2013, 03:51 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Jun 22 2013, 03:34 AM)
40% of your portfolio means you are confident the US will recover?

I'm really on the fence on whether Malaysia will crash. But not recover? That's very pessimistic.
JohnL77,

<<40% of your portfolio means you are confident the US will recover? >>

1) USA is in a crash now. So, how does it feels?? 10+% unemployment and the country is still functioning..

2) You are confusing economy with stock market again. Corporate American is doing extremely well even though the economy is doing badly.

<<I'm really on the fence on whether Malaysia will crash.>>

3) What will prevent Malaysia from crashing?? Nothing..

4) BN / UMNO had won GE13. Nothing will improve over the next 5 years. It will get worse in exponential pace.

<<But not recover? That's very pessimistic.>>

Burma and Philippine were the richest countries in South East Asia during the 1960s. They NEVER recovered from their crash. It is NORMAL for the countries to NEVER recover from their crash.

Dreamer

JohnL77
post Jun 22 2013, 04:01 AM

1,887 posts

Hmm.. I see your point. I hate how the tone of our conversation has shifted. This always happens when the topic has to do with politics. (I don't affiliate with any party)

When you say never recover from their crash, do you mean their economy or their stock market? I'm confused.
TSdreamer101
post Jun 22 2013, 05:42 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Jun 22 2013, 04:01 AM)
Hmm.. I see your point. I hate how the tone of our conversation has shifted. This always happens when the topic has to do with politics. (I don't affiliate with any party)

When you say never recover from their crash, do you mean their economy or their stock market? I'm confused.
JohnL77,

Their economies.

Dreamer
JohnL77
post Jun 23 2013, 01:35 AM

1,887 posts

I need to read more about market history. smile.gif

Thanks for having the patience to answer all my stupid questions.
xuzen
post Jun 30 2013, 07:24 PM

4,436 posts

Was just browsing Vanguard's website. Wow, just wow, their expense ratio is just amazing.

Their Admiral Index Fund annual expense ratio is 0.05% p.a. and their fund size is USD 170 Billion. That means that their fee is USD85Million i.e., RM255Million p.a.

Let's take a big fund from Bolehland say PSF (Public Saving Fund). Its AUM is RM1.7 Billion and with a 1.5% annual expense ratio, the annual fee is a comparatively miniscule RM 25.5 Million.

No wonder Vanguard can charge so low AER, with an AER of only 0.05% is still beat the SH*T out of our Bolehland's largest mutual fund in terms of chargeable fee.

Being big is good.

Xuzen
JohnL77
post Jul 1 2013, 12:55 AM

1,887 posts

It took a long time for Vanguard to get this big. If bolehland keep refusing to come up with a good index fund, the gap between M'sian investors and US investors will keep growing.
TSdreamer101
post Jul 1 2013, 06:21 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Jul 1 2013, 12:55 AM)
It took a long time for Vanguard to get this big. If bolehland keep refusing to come up with a good index fund, the gap between M'sian investors and US investors will keep growing.
JohnL77,

There is no DIVERSIFICATION in KLSE. 50+% of KLSE is owned by GLC and GLIC. So, the government directly or indirectly owned 50+% of KLSE. Even if somebody come up a good ETF for Malaysia, I will not buy it.

There is NOTHING to prevent Malaysian investor to buy Vanguard ETF. So, why wait for Malaysia to do something when you can do it yourself.

Dreamer

TSdreamer101
post Jul 1 2013, 06:37 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 30 2013, 07:24 PM)
Was just browsing Vanguard's website. Wow, just wow, their expense ratio is just amazing.

Their Admiral Index Fund annual expense ratio is 0.05% p.a. and their fund size is USD 170 Billion. That means that their fee is USD85Million i.e., RM255Million p.a.

Let's take a big fund from Bolehland say PSF (Public Saving Fund). Its AUM is RM1.7 Billion and with a 1.5% annual expense ratio, the annual fee is a comparatively miniscule RM 25.5 Million.

No wonder Vanguard can charge so low AER, with an AER of only 0.05% is still beat the SH*T out of our Bolehland's largest mutual fund in terms of chargeable fee.

Being big is good.

Xuzen
xuzen,

Public Mutual is highly profitable. This is one of the reasons that I buy Public Bank stock. The only stock that I buy for Malaysia.

Dreamer
rjb123
post Feb 19 2014, 01:09 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 1 2013, 06:37 AM)
xuzen,

Public Mutual is highly profitable.  This is one of the reasons that I buy Public Bank stock.  The only stock that I buy for Malaysia.

Dreamer
Reviving a slightly old thread here smile.gif

I'm looking to do my monthly, regular investments via a selection of ETFs (in this case through TDAM)

Currently these are all comission/fee free so it's not an issue to add in small amounts ($200-300 worth) on a monthly basis, do these normally stay fee free for the long term? As it wouldn't be worth paying purchase charge each time if the amounts are small.
TSdreamer101
post Feb 19 2014, 01:21 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 19 2014, 01:09 AM)
Reviving a slightly old thread here smile.gif

I'm looking to do my monthly, regular investments via a selection of ETFs (in this case through TDAM)

Currently these are all comission/fee free so it's not an issue to add in small amounts ($200-300 worth) on a monthly basis, do these normally stay fee free for the long term? As it wouldn't be worth paying purchase charge each time if the amounts are small.
rjb123,

All ETFs have annual maintenance fee. You pay for those fee as long as you hold the ETF. So, check their annual maintenance fee before buying certain ETF.

Dreamer
rjb123
post Feb 19 2014, 01:39 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 19 2014, 01:21 AM)
rjb123,

All ETFs have annual maintenance fee.  You pay for those fee as long as you hold the ETF.  So, check their annual maintenance fee before buying certain ETF.

Dreamer
I'm aware of the yearly maintenance fee, I meant the fee to purchase the ETF - currently there's quite a few Commission-free , others $9.99. The $9.99 would be too much if just topping up monthly with $100-300 each
TSdreamer101
post Feb 19 2014, 01:54 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 19 2014, 01:39 AM)
I'm aware of the yearly maintenance fee, I meant the fee to purchase the ETF - currently there's quite a few Commission-free , others $9.99. The $9.99 would be too much if just topping up monthly with $100-300 each
rjb123,

Yes. $9.99 would be too much.. The commission should less than 1%. If the commission is $9.99, each purchase should be $1,000 or more..

Dreamer
rjb123
post Feb 19 2014, 02:01 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 19 2014, 01:54 AM)
rjb123,

Yes.  $9.99 would be too much.. The commission should less than 1%.  If the commission is $9.99, each purchase should be $1,000 or more..

Dreamer
Agreed, that's why I was asking if they're likely to remain fee-free for the long term - will have to wait and see I guess.

Topping up less frequently in larger amounts would have to be an option I guess if the purchases don't remain fee free
JohnL77
post Feb 22 2014, 05:49 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 19 2014, 02:01 AM)
Agreed, that's why I was asking if they're likely to remain fee-free for the long term - will have to wait and see I guess.

Topping up less frequently in larger amounts would have to be an option I guess if the purchases don't remain fee free
Mind sharing how you will be investing in ETFs? Will you be transferring your funds to TDAM? Any fees charged for that? By TDAM do you mean TD Ameritrade or TD Asset Management?

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Feb 23 2014, 01:02 AM
rjb123
post Feb 22 2014, 08:24 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 22 2014, 05:49 PM)
Mind sharing how you will investing in ETFs? Will you be transferring your funds to TDAM? Any fees charged for that? By TDAM do you mean TD Ameritrade or TD Asset Management?
I transferred to TD Ameritrade via Maybank from a Maybank USD account.

Transfer charge is $4+$7.65 (USD) and amount that's received is $26 USD less (middle/clearing bank charges) , so a total of $35.65

Both times so far I've done a transfer the funds have arrived quickly - ie. do it in Maybank branch at 4PM, at night time when US opens the funds are in the account.

JohnL77
post Feb 23 2014, 01:00 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 22 2014, 08:24 PM)
I transferred to TD Ameritrade via Maybank from a Maybank USD account.

Transfer charge is $4+$7.65 (USD) and amount that's received is $26 USD less (middle/clearing bank charges) , so a total of $35.65

Both times so far I've done a transfer the funds have arrived quickly - ie. do it in Maybank branch at 4PM, at night time when US opens the funds are in the account.
Wow.. that is a lot. No cheaper way to transfer?
rjb123
post Feb 23 2014, 01:13 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 23 2014, 01:00 AM)
Wow.. that is a lot. No cheaper way to transfer?
Apparently you can send a cheque which costs less but can take some weeks to clear.

I haven't done / not planning on doing any transfers less than $10,000 so percentage wise the fee isn't too bad
JohnL77
post Feb 23 2014, 01:19 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 23 2014, 01:13 AM)
Apparently you can send a cheque which costs less but can take some weeks to clear.

I haven't done / not planning on doing any transfers less than $10,000 so percentage wise the fee isn't too bad
Can break it down for me, what are the fees they charge?
rjb123
post Feb 23 2014, 01:32 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 23 2014, 01:19 AM)
Can break it down for me, what are the fees they charge?
As far as I know, Maybank charge $4 for any FCA (Foreign currency account) transaction , the $7.65 then will be the TT charge.

Any payments in foreign currencies always need to go through a middle/clearing bank, who again impose an additional charge (in this case, $26 USD on both occasions)

Not something that can be avoided easily that I know of, if transferring from Malaysia > US

JohnL77
post Feb 23 2014, 01:37 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 23 2014, 01:32 AM)
As far as I know, Maybank charge $4 for any FCA (Foreign currency account) transaction , the $7.65 then will be the TT charge.

Any payments in foreign currencies always need to go through a middle/clearing bank, who again impose an additional charge (in this case, $26 USD on both occasions)

Not something that can be avoided easily that I know of, if transferring from Malaysia > US
sad.gif That sucks. So, what does your portfolio look like? Mind sharing?

20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:04 AM