20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Asset Allocation Investing using US ETF, Basic approach to asset Allocation ETF

rjb123
post Feb 23 2014, 01:53 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 23 2014, 01:37 AM)
sad.gif That sucks. So, what does your portfolio look like? Mind sharing?
Not much to share so far - far from complete smile.gif A mix of US large/mid/small cap, emerging markets, Europe, Gold/REITs

This is for my retirement at 60-65 so I'm slowly building it up over the next years then contribute a set amount per month from then onwards

JohnL77
post Feb 23 2014, 02:09 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 23 2014, 01:53 AM)
Not much to share so far - far from complete smile.gif A mix of US large/mid/small cap, emerging markets, Europe, Gold/REITs

This is for my retirement at 60-65 so I'm slowly building it up over the next years then contribute a set amount per month from then onwards
What's your weightage? That's what I'm most interested in. smile.gif

So, $10,000 every month? Wow... notworthy.gif I am talking with a sifu.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Feb 23 2014, 02:18 AM
rjb123
post Feb 23 2014, 02:20 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 23 2014, 02:09 AM)
What's your weightage? That's what I'm most interested in.

So, $10,000 every month? Wow...  notworthy.gif I am talking with a sifu.
Around 30% Bonds / 70% Equity I'll give you a more detailed breakdown tomorrow of the allocation but it will likely change over the years.

I'm only transferring in batches of $10K, not investing this amount monthly! (I wish icon_idea.gif )

This post has been edited by rjb123: Feb 23 2014, 02:21 AM
JohnL77
post Feb 23 2014, 02:41 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 23 2014, 02:20 AM)
Around 30% Bonds / 70% Equity I'll give you a more detailed breakdown tomorrow of the allocation but it will likely change over the years.

I'm only transferring in batches of $10K, not investing this amount monthly! (I wish  icon_idea.gif )
Hahaha, I see I see. That way you get to take advantage of cost averaging la. Looking forward to a more detailed breakdown.

I'm only about to begin my career, when you say the transfer fee is so high.. really depressing for me.
TSdreamer101
post Feb 23 2014, 07:56 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 23 2014, 01:32 AM)
As far as I know, Maybank charge $4 for any FCA (Foreign currency account) transaction , the $7.65 then will be the TT charge.

Any payments in foreign currencies always need to go through a middle/clearing bank, who again impose an additional charge (in this case, $26 USD on both occasions)

Not something that can be avoided easily that I know of, if transferring from Malaysia > US
rjb123,

But, comparing how much you will be paying for UT in Malaysia, this is a bargain.

Dreamer
rjb123
post Feb 23 2014, 02:21 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 23 2014, 02:41 AM)
Hahaha, I see I see. That way you get to take advantage of cost averaging la. Looking forward to a more detailed breakdown.

I'm only about to begin my career, when you say the transfer fee is so high.. really depressing for me.
Yes, if you transfer small amounts (say $1K) the fee is a bit too much, on $10k it is reasonable.

BTW, I tried to do the initial funding from a USD account based in IOM and the payment was rejected which cost $44 - waste of money considering it didn't achieve anything.

Here's a screenshot from TDAM Portfolio planner to give an idea of where things should be once complete :

It'll take a while to reach as I'll be buying on a monthly basis. Even if it takes a year it isn't such a huge deal as I'm planning to save this portfolio for my retirement (at least 28 years ohmy.gif ) plus TDAM isn't the only portfolio - others I've had for a while longer.

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 23 2014, 07:56 AM)
rjb123,

But, comparing how much you will be paying for UT in Malaysia, this is a bargain.

Dreamer
Agreed, in the long run the 0.3765% transfer charges each time are not much compared to the savings on management fees.

Actually originally I was planning to buy Europe based ETFs / Funds through TD Direct (the European part) but their charges are crazy. ETF trading charge is 28 EUR, and it actually goes up based on the value of the trade. There may be a tax advantage compared to US though , I need to research that in a bit more detail

max_cavalera
post Feb 23 2014, 03:31 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Money game for the big boys...unfortunately my capital doesnt allow me to do this... :
JohnL77
post Feb 23 2014, 05:25 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 23 2014, 02:21 PM)
Yes, if you transfer small amounts (say $1K) the fee is a bit too much, on $10k it is reasonable.

BTW, I tried to do the initial funding from a USD account based in IOM and the payment was rejected which cost $44 - waste of money considering it didn't achieve anything.

Here's a screenshot from TDAM Portfolio planner to give an idea of where things should be once complete :

It'll take a while to reach as I'll be buying on a monthly basis. Even if it takes a year it isn't such a huge deal as I'm planning to save this portfolio for my retirement (at least 28 years  ohmy.gif ) plus TDAM isn't the only portfolio - others I've had for a while longer.
Agreed, in the long run the 0.3765% transfer charges each time are not much compared to the savings on management fees.

Actually originally I was planning to buy Europe based ETFs / Funds through TD Direct (the European part) but their charges are crazy. ETF trading charge is 28 EUR, and it actually goes up based on the value of the trade. There may be a tax advantage compared to US though , I need to research that in a bit more detail

Very great info, thanks for sharing.

So, almost equal weightage for Domestic and International Equity, but more emphasis on Domestic Fixed Income. Interesting, why the difference in weightage?

Do you mind me asking how old are you? What you're doing and how much you earn per year? I'd like to have an idea of when I can start investing in ETFs.
rjb123
post Feb 23 2014, 05:38 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 23 2014, 05:25 PM)
Very great info, thanks for sharing.

So, almost equal weightage for Domestic and International Equity, but more emphasis on Domestic Fixed Income. Interesting, why the difference in weightage?

Do you mind me asking how old are you? What you're doing and how much you earn per year? I'd like to have an idea of when I can start investing in ETFs.
Actually I'm planning on buying additional bond/fixed income denominated in EUR , not through US broker. And already hold some others through broker in Malaysia

I'm 27 - started investing in a few funds back in 2007/8 (lump sum just before the big drop due to the financial crisis rclxms.gif ) I work in sales/purchasing and just take a commission so as such my salary is unstable and fluctuates a lot ..s so its important for me to save for future/retirement

JohnL77
post Feb 23 2014, 06:26 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 23 2014, 05:38 PM)
Actually I'm planning on buying additional bond/fixed income denominated in EUR , not through US broker. And already hold some others through broker in Malaysia

I'm 27 - started investing in a few funds back in 2007/8 (lump sum just before the big drop due to the financial crisis  rclxms.gif ) I work in sales/purchasing and just take a commission so as such my salary is unstable and fluctuates a lot ..s so its important for me to save for future/retirement
Do you live a minimalistic lifestyle? $10,000 by age 27, quite impressive.
rjb123
post Feb 24 2014, 12:06 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 23 2014, 06:26 PM)
Do you live a minimalistic lifestyle? $10,000 by age 27, quite impressive.
Depends what you call minimalistic ... expenses are higher than they could be but I don't buy any luxury goods, don't drive a car etc.

Anyway, going a bit off topic here
JohnL77
post Feb 24 2014, 03:26 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 24 2014, 12:06 AM)
Depends what you call minimalistic ... expenses are higher than they could be but I don't buy any luxury goods, don't drive a car etc.

Anyway, going a bit off topic here
Haha, just want to get an idea of how to save that much money.

So, no gold/precious metals? So, while you are saving up, where do you park your cash?

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Feb 24 2014, 03:28 AM
rjb123
post Feb 24 2014, 02:41 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 24 2014, 03:26 AM)
Haha, just want to get an idea of how to save that much money.

So, no gold/precious metals? So, while you are saving up, where do you park your cash?
Part of the "speciality" is in Gold shares

Savings .. my emergency fund is in FD smile.gif
khchong81
post Feb 24 2014, 06:17 PM

443 posts

Hi guys, great thread here. Recently i just open Plus 500 trading account. Is it trustable platform? I realise their service charge is on the high side, any other platform that i can use to buy US ETF?
JohnL77
post Feb 24 2014, 06:22 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 24 2014, 02:41 PM)
Part of the "speciality" is in Gold shares

Savings .. my emergency fund is in FD  smile.gif
Oh yeah, what does the "Specialty" represent, besides gold?

rjb, the $36.65 includes the forex spread between market rate and the bank's rate, right?
JohnL77
post Feb 24 2014, 06:23 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Feb 24 2014, 06:17 PM)
Hi guys, great thread here. Recently i just open Plus 500 trading account. Is it trustable platform? I realise their service charge is on the high side, any other platform that i can use to buy US ETF?
rjb is using TD Ameritrade for commission free ETFs.
rjb123
post Feb 24 2014, 06:37 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 24 2014, 06:22 PM)
Oh yeah, what does the "Specialty" represent, besides gold?

rjb, the $36.65 includes the forex spread between market rate and the bank's rate, right?
Gold + REITs

The $36.65 is the transfer charge only, I'm holding USD in Maybank so no currency conversation is taking place.

rjb123
post Feb 24 2014, 06:38 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Feb 24 2014, 06:17 PM)
As John mentioned - I'm using TD Ameritrade which offers 500 free trades (not sure when they expire, I think 60 days from account opening) and a selection of commission free ETFs, others have a $9.99 dealing charge.
morning06
post Feb 24 2014, 08:16 PM

869 posts

If commission and fee is your concern, you can consider IB (Interactive Brokers). They are discounted brokers and their rate is by far consider cheapest.

But their platform does not come with research perks like TDA. IB is one of the top rated broker, both service and execution wise. The only drawback is their chart. They provide screenshot of chart updated at your selected time frame instead of a live chart. You can subscribe for chart services if you need live chart, but think asset allocation method can live without live lower time frame chart.
khchong81
post Feb 24 2014, 09:55 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 24 2014, 06:38 PM)
As John mentioned - I'm using TD Ameritrade which offers 500 free trades (not sure when they expire, I think 60 days from account opening) and a selection of commission free ETFs, others have a $9.99 dealing charge.
QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 24 2014, 08:16 PM)
If commission and fee is your concern, you can consider IB (Interactive Brokers). They are discounted brokers and their rate is by far consider cheapest.

But their platform does not come with research perks like TDA. IB is one of the top rated broker, both service and execution wise. The only drawback is their chart. They provide screenshot of chart updated at your selected time frame instead of a live chart. You can subscribe for chart services if you need live chart, but think asset allocation method can live without live lower time frame chart.
I can wire the money into the account through bank in malaysia or by using credit card just like Plus 500 account?

20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0313sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:20 AM