Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages  1 2 3 >Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Asset Allocation Investing using US ETF, Basic approach to asset Allocation ETF

views

JohnL77
post Jun 13 2013, 03:17 PM

Getting Started
249 posts

Hi, I recently found out that some brokerages are offering commission-free ETFs. Brokerages like Charles Schwab, Fidelity and TD Ameritrade. I think Ameritrade has the best choices of ETFs so far. I am only a student and don't have enough money to invest yet, but you guys might want to check it out. And if you are satisfied with their service, please let me know. smile.gif

For anyone interested in asset allocation, I recommend William Bernstein's Four Pillars of Investing. You can get it from Amazon for $30 ($20 plus $10 for delivery. Assuming you only order 1 book). It's not as technical as his first book The Intelligent Asset Allocator which explains a lot about Modern Portfolio Theory, but Four Pillars teaches you a lot about market history and investor psychology (behavioral finance). It also explains why the finance industry sucks big time. As someone who was once an insurance agent, I can attest to that. Anyone got books to recommend for me, please let me know. smile.gif

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Jun 13 2013, 03:23 PM
JohnL77
post Jun 13 2013, 06:40 PM

Getting Started
249 posts

Haha, thanks but I already have the book. Urm... I think Amazon is still cheaper? $30 vs $35.65 new. Plus, you can reduce the shipping cost for Amazon if you buy more than one book. (They charge a fixed $4.99 per order and $4.99 for every book. So if you order multiple books, that fixed $4.99 is spread amongst your books.)

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Jun 13 2013, 06:44 PM
JohnL77
post Jun 13 2013, 10:54 PM

Getting Started
249 posts

Oh... okok. I see. Nice. smile.gif

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Jun 13 2013, 10:54 PM
JohnL77
post Jun 14 2013, 01:12 PM

Getting Started
249 posts

Dreamer,