4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Cycling V7, General talks on Racing/road bikes

SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 10 2013, 12:40 PM

459 posts

Abang-abang sekalian. I need some opinion and recommendation. Lately, I've no time for group ride with my friend. So for safety reason, I'm looking to buy indoor trainer to maintain my fitness. So based on my friend recommendation, they advice my to buy a roller. Izzit a good moves for newbie like me or should I choose trainer instead?

I've done a quick study on the net and survey at my lbs last weekend. As budget constrain, my bucket list just stuck at some unbranded roller, Minoura B60-R, Giant Cyclotron II Mag and few other which I cannot recalled. Is there any good offer around Klang Valley for indoor trainer?

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 10 2013, 12:40 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 10 2013, 01:10 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jun 10 2013, 12:51 PM)
roller don't offer that much resistance training right???

i thought resistance trainers are always the best... the problem is that it eats up the tires...
Yup. I cannot afford rim drive trainer.

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Jun 10 2013, 01:03 PM)
How much tires can it eat....before a full tire gets eaten-up, the trainer will be back into it's rightful place ..the store room if it was me!
No chicks no sustainable ride...ma?
Sell me cheap-cheap if u got underutilized trainer icon_rolleyes.gif
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 10 2013, 03:06 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 10 2013, 02:13 PM)
Hmmm. Not really my cup of tea. Besides, sana banyak hamsap people shakehead.gif
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 10 2013, 03:21 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jun 10 2013, 02:57 PM)
well, just because you cannot afford a trainer doesn't mean you should settle for something that you might not be able to utilize properly right???

like you can't afford to buy a blu-ray player... takkan you settle for a VHS tape player mar... wats the point?

save up a bit and get it later would be a better solution... better than buying now with tight budget and than have to get another trainer down the road and leaving this aside...

opsss...sorry for the confusion...i mean, my budget can afford tyre drive type using magnetic resistance...but for fluid and rim drive a bit over my budget...
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 10 2013, 10:26 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 10 2013, 05:37 PM)
if u just want to kill the boredom and sweat a little bit, get a roller.

if u want to sweat out, strength training or any kind of training program, get a trainer. at the expense of being bored to death quicker.
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 10 2013, 05:42 PM)
oh one more thing, kayuh trainer nanti u worry if ur chainstay/seatstay can handle the stresses
QUOTE(butthead @ Jun 10 2013, 05:43 PM)
can lar...i don't think she is a gorilla on a bike rite...

if you put mark cavendish dishing out 1300watts of pain to the bike on a finishing line sprint... maybe lar...
QUOTE(butthead @ Jun 10 2013, 05:49 PM)

yet, we all do it irregardless...buy first think later should be the motto (for today at least) as mac wai says... life is short and you have to go do stupid things...
Thank you guys. I'll settled for trainer then. Hopefully vin_ann will not notice this post tongue.gif
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 11 2013, 11:12 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 11 2013, 10:36 AM)
Roller are for those elite rider. Roller are for them to perfection their cycling gait... postures etc etc.

trainer are for those want fitness improvement.

have you look at Athetele Circle?
Elite riders already have strength, thus roller are better suit.
Thanks for your enlightenment abang vin_ann. Athlete Circle got demo/sales? Long time never been there.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 11 2013, 10:46 AM)

Too bad, i no joins PD Tri or Powerman... else  brows.gif
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 11 2013, 11:52 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 11 2013, 11:19 AM)
minoura trainers la... try spez shop. i think among various trainer brands, cheapest is beto, followed by minoura.

search BBS la, many units available
So far my first choice is Minoura B60-R. Beto probably not in my list coz they look fragile to me. Elite and Giant brand pun ada survey but not many review.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 11 2013, 11:24 AM)
yup, AC do sells Tacx  brand trainer n roller. You can drop by there, asking simple noob questions to test their knowledge... i believe they able to recommend based on ur needs. back in Jan, when i changing my RCX5 battery, their have new stock masuk.... cheapest i think starting from RM600 like that...

Too bad, u cant mentions my name to get discount... but i do have AC membership to enjoys 10% discount.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Never consider Tacx brand so far coz they used by pro team. Ingat mesti mahal punya. My max limit is RM700. So might give them a visit.

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 11 2013, 11:28 AM)
gin huat is the official dealer of minoura.
Might visited them this weekend.

QUOTE(butthead @ Jun 11 2013, 11:28 AM)
one more reason syam won't be using rollers... she is anti elitist...
Yup. We should encourage Malaysian into sports, by embrace newbie with grace. Not discouraging them by saying "must doing this, must not doing that" thingy.

I got some newbie question after doing some research. Some trainer got flywheel weight 0.6kg some, some got 2.7kg. Lagi berat flywheel weight, lagi better?

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 11 2013, 12:02 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 11 2013, 12:16 PM

459 posts

Where is Mac Wai and lilredridinghood? Hiding from vin_ann? Fly to state and buying wheels? Now, I start to missed their cracking moment.

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 11 2013, 12:21 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 11 2013, 12:45 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 11 2013, 12:39 PM)
btw, why limit ur choice to tire drive trainer? why not rim drive? u can use it for both roadbike and mtb with knobby tire
From my initial suvey at BBS rim drive trainer macam exceed my budget, but never asked during visit to lbs. Can get below RM700? My Giant Revel is 26", should be no prob rite for most trainer? I think only 29" need special consideration. Am I right?

Tapi ada intention jugak just leave my MTB on the trainer if I'm lazy enough to swap bike.

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 11 2013, 12:57 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 11 2013, 01:03 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 11 2013, 12:55 PM)
i used to own this model. sold it for rm170

http://bicyclebuysell.com/view_item.php?id=184974
This version still sold now? Where u buy and how much? Sold becoz of upgrade or not into indoor trainer? Got complain or can give short review? I'm sorry if I ask too much tongue.gif Just want to make sure my investment worth it.

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 11 2013, 01:04 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 12 2013, 02:33 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 12 2013, 02:13 PM)
i mean, buy new parts and keep them until all parts complete and then assemble the bike?

or save up money and spend on everything at a go?
build your wheels first la...

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 12 2013, 02:34 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 19 2013, 12:53 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jun 19 2013, 12:33 PM)
guys, 1 question for all pro bout clip shoes....
im using road bike and plan to get clip shoes, which should i get? MTB or Road shoes...
cause MTB more lasting and easy to walk compare Road shoes.
Bout the weight im not so consent...cause 100-200gram wont effect me tat much...
so MTB or Road shoes i should get?
u are runner, better get tri shoes tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 19 2013, 12:55 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 25 2013, 09:01 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 25 2013, 06:38 PM)
maybe we'll ride together in next year's LIMBC
what are u waiting for? quick buy a mtb whistling.gif

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jun 25 2013, 09:05 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 28 2013, 04:04 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 28 2013, 11:30 AM)
Hello everyone. Yesterday went to PWTC Score 2013 exihibition to collectiom my SCKLM 42km...

so sad it's postponed. walking around and i saw this Rudy Project helmet!

RM760 with 10% discount during Score fair until Sunday. Worth to get or not?

hmm.gif  hmm.gif
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jun 28 2013, 11:42 AM)
Got cheaper RP helmet or not? My helmet busted d sad.gif
All Sportz give 40% discount for all helmet till sunday
SYAMiLLiON
post Jun 28 2013, 11:20 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 28 2013, 10:10 PM)
no.... i heart RUdy Project !!!

btw, i might be joining Powerman Mixed team relay!!! by that time, maybe it's time and have enough excuse to get Rudy Project helmet !!!  icon_rolleyes.gif
be a real man..join individual long distance la...
SYAMiLLiON
post Jul 1 2013, 03:21 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 1 2013, 01:21 AM)
yahoo, i was half right... a trek won, but not jensie
super awesome solo effort...great win...
SYAMiLLiON
post Jul 1 2013, 12:41 PM

459 posts

i love unpainted titanium bike wub.gif

This post has been edited by SYAMiLLiON: Jul 1 2013, 01:08 PM
SYAMiLLiON
post Jul 2 2013, 03:13 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jul 2 2013, 02:22 PM)
with that kinda money, those bikes better move on its own
QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 2 2013, 02:29 PM)
for another 5thousand quids... i bet they can...factor will gladly install a 10kw motor nicely hidden for you... with a hidden activation switch made of ultra high modulus carbon fiber...

else you can buy an EX5 and trick it out with a pumping audio system and spinner wheels and stuff li tat...
if got so much money better buy Specialized Turbo...6k usd with spez badge summore...

u can conquer any hill with smile tongue.gif
SYAMiLLiON
post Jul 4 2013, 10:47 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jul 4 2013, 10:28 AM)
it save u actually...expensive item such as frame and wheel position at the bottom..
SYAMiLLiON
post Jul 4 2013, 12:03 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 4 2013, 12:02 PM)
lol...i just want something wont create so much noisy, cause i make a roller using "industry gravity roller" and it produce loud sound tat not suit use at night biggrin.gif
any recommend?
Minoura B60 for RM460

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:09 PM