Let's start.
V11 - Property Prices Discussion, Intelligent debates only pls
May 31 2013, 09:07 AM, updated 13y ago
10,314 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
Round 11....
Let's start. |
May 31 2013, 09:17 AM
May 31 2013, 09:28 AM
anybody notice residential rental rates are slightly creeping up?
and would appreciate admin can pin a thread for lawyer's V3. V2 ended quite some time ago and i find it very useful. This post has been edited by kochin: May 31 2013, 09:30 AM |
May 31 2013, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(Rooney1985 @ May 31 2013, 09:41 AM) I noticed 2 out of the 5 I'm tracking dropped their asking by 10% early this month. Something is brewing in the background... I can feel the fear... LOL!!!! boss,rental rates or selling price? personally i would rather target property on uptrend pricing rather than downtrend. unless you are getting your unit at a super discount from market value, else what is the back-up plan to prevent further decline in prices? |
May 31 2013, 09:52 AM
rising property price..... alarming but not panic mode yet.
rising rental rates..... all hell breaks loose. |
May 31 2013, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(Rooney1985 @ May 31 2013, 09:54 AM) well the 10% drop in monetary terms is around 400K to 500K... If I picked them up in the past 6 months I would have to fork out that extra... looking at rental rates is fine... IF I were to pick up the property now, that's already profit to me... converted to 10K rental pm, that's 40 to 50 months rental. In terms of loan payment saved... 450K loan for 20yrs is equivalent to RM2,800 p.m... in terms of FD rates that's around RM1K p.m... So you tell me whether I should look at rental or price first? LoL... 4 to 5 mil prop?Plan to prevent further decline in prices is... don't buy when the risk of decline is high... (like now)... So in 6 months time, it dropped 10%, lets see what happens in the next three to six months. Like I've always said, I'm in no rush now, just relax la... See who can wait longer... I don't have to pay interest on my funds, however, these fellas have to or will have to very very very soon... LOL... Its nice to see the greedy suffer. ouch. way beyond my league. boss, one more Q. you mentioned 2/5 dropped. what about the other 3? increasing or stagnant then? |
May 31 2013, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(Aventador360 @ May 31 2013, 11:58 AM) Is this discussion referring to new launches or the secondary market? am referring to general property prices both new launches and/or secondary market.I notice that new launch prices keep going up but the secondary market is open field depending on the unit and location. I have concerns about continuous stream of new launches when there are so many already built units empty. |
May 31 2013, 03:40 PM
actually who or what party stand to gain the most in the event of a property downturn?
May 31 2013, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(Rooney1985 @ May 31 2013, 04:12 PM) I wouldn't ask who would gain but rather who would lose the most. My feel, its gonna be the financially weak and greedy property flippers who entered late and are still in the market... current conditions look like a stalemate in asking prices and available funds/ affordability of the market.... If the downturn follows... well... good luck. lol. i am asking who stand to make the most because am trying to see whether there's any opportunity for myself to benefit from a property downturn.Those who bought for own stay and what they can comfortably afford have nothing to fear in the downturn. Those who bought for own stay on a stretched budget may have to cut back on consumption in situations where job losses arises in the downturn. Those with ready funds can go on mega sale shopping spree at the expense of the first category (the biggest losers). Agents will probably be out of jobs as well cos, in downturn everything goes... Its exactly like a situation of mega sale, everything is just on the shelf and its for sale. You don't need sales people to help you out or explain. They're so desperate to sell and recuperate funds that they're not going to share the consideration with agents. Anyone working in developer companies may face retrenchment. Even those in related industries (as per the earlier article on furniture). Those holding developer stocks may also suffer if developer's books are not healthy... Sooo... before up camp ask questions (which they always love to)... which category you fall into? (Already have a feeling some up camp gonna ask, so what category you're in?)... But isn't it already obvious? am not really bothered by who loses the most as it wouldn't benefit me in anyway. as to which category i belong to, i was classified by someone as a DDD camper. but i would like to term myself as a property enthusiast. it doesn't really bother me so much whether property prices goes north or south or sideways. i believe some are ridiculously overpriced. and i can't fathom why some props are not moving north as it should commands. but in hindsight, i do hope for higher property prices on overall because i dislike the fact that we are cheaper than most of our neighbouring countries. it belittles our purchasing power and our option to migrate (eg a kiasuland fella can buy our props but not necessary vice versa). |
May 31 2013, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(joeblows @ May 31 2013, 04:33 PM) not really the type of answers i'm trying to look for.it's true that someone who have least exposure to banks, developers and property may suffer less compared to others who are more vested in those. but is there any industries or profession which actually benefits correspondingly with direct property downturn? eg.... when a prop drops 100k, does someone stands to pocket a % of that 100k through other means? |
May 31 2013, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(Rooney1985 @ May 31 2013, 04:37 PM) Fair comments... however, purchasing power is more a result of the competitiveness of the country in terms of resource utilisation rather than property prices. Too much corruption, lack of transparency, leakages as well as other factors leading to an unfriendly business environment is reducing the RM's purchasing power... The higher the property prices in Malaysia doesn't mean that you're purchasing power is increasing, it just makes it worst for the locals... for all you know currency exchange may out perform increase in property prices... property prices increase 50% but RM currency drops 80% its still cheaper for foreigners to buy. The Euro zone is already a fine example of this... countries that wannabe great have failed because they just aren't competitive enough to join the big boys. humour me along rooney boss for i think you do have some economic flair.Kiasu land's currency is larger because for every RM invested there, the returns are higher than in Boleh land... funds are not left idle and people are not lazing around. Ofcourse there are also other factors, livability, pollution, safety, cleanliness, transport systems etc, etc... unfortunately Bolehland loses out on every front... therefore my conclusion is the prices in Bolehland are at a delusional high and the only way is down??? That's my take la, obviously anything can happen, the govt suddenly cleans up the whole nation in 1 months time... (not impossible) and we really start competing on a global stage. i believe a vast % contributing to our rise in property prices is because of our poor performing currency exchange. while pricing could be high, what's stopping it to go higher IF our currency performs worse? on the other hand, if strong economy kicks in, cost of doing businesses might actually go down with better transparency and less corruption. this in return lowers cost of production including cost of construction. but this would not translate to lower property prices still as with better economy, i believe consumer would spend more too. but i do believe they would spend wiser. can i sum it that poor currency, property price rise in tandem and citizens suffer. good economy, property price rises in tandem and ties in with citizens' affordability? This post has been edited by kochin: May 31 2013, 04:50 PM |
Jun 2 2013, 09:50 PM
i 2nd zuiko on this.
mk10 is a much better product compared to mk11. nevertheless, your choice, your $$$, your decision. cheers! |
Jun 3 2013, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(wwwcomment @ Jun 2 2013, 11:29 PM) for starters, mk10 site is bigger than mk11 yet having less unit.mk10, being on slightly elevated ground, have higher height compared to mk11. it's elevated deck at the podium stretches more than 1km. each unit comes with steam bath. and of course, it also scored higher quality rating by bca between these 2. mk11 main focal was the architectural and it's floating deck podium. some may find it's facade too commercial like. while mk10 do seems boring but at least it would stand the test of time being the boring old look. but don't get me wrong, both are good product except i prefer 10 over 11. 11 is more expensive being smaller unit and launched later. QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Jun 3 2013, 12:17 AM) what about seni?and the upcoming competition from icon, concerto, verdana? QUOTE(soules83 @ Jun 3 2013, 08:00 AM) 700psf, not 700sf. |
Jun 5 2013, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(EddyLB @ Jun 4 2013, 08:25 PM) 1 of these days the price sure will go down. Just a matter of time. So, the DDD camp will be right one day. i 2nd that. go genting big/small table. buy small for 20 times in a roll, sure kena at least once kua. but i'd seen 24 times in a roll before switching also. kekeke.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « boss, i agree our debt is insanely high. as soon as pru13 was over, it sh!ts me to know that our big man is pushing for a RM1trillion transformation plan! while our debt is high, do you have any idea where the funds are coming from? internal or external. if it's external, surely the big boys out there would need some sort of collateral as well, right? else if bolehland go bust, how would they recover their $$$. any ideas boss? QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 4 2013, 11:29 PM) Prices has gone down from subsales right? Or are you still denying it? i agree some props have come down in terms of pricing from the 2011 Q4/ 2012 Q1 peak. but there are also various subsales pricing which is still continuing their uptrend.Why look at developers? They have strong holding power. Stronger than you, anyway, since they have a fat profit margin. By the time developers start reducing price from launch price - you will be in too much deep sh1t to worry, as a speculator. think the key would be good versus mediocre prop. QUOTE(escargo75 @ Jun 4 2013, 11:31 PM) Eventually it will come down but the question is when? How much patience you have and how much bullets you have when it collapse. To me is like catching the big fish after waited the whole night. It might not be this nioght but for sure one night will come for you to catch the big fish. You can be instant millionaire when you enter at the right time! right timing is soooooooooooooo crucial. while prices may come down, the big question is would it be down enough to compensate the purchaser of the time they intended to buy in the first place. this usually only benefit short term and not long term, right?QUOTE(AMINT @ Jun 5 2013, 02:10 AM) Well up to u on what to believe as i cant force u. The agents that called me have ready buyers. But i wasnt interested coz i know the value of good props can go even higher. i do believe what you're holding could potentially be high in demand props. one of my props which has VP'ed more than 10 years ago is regenerating multiple enquiries. when the agents called me as well, i questioned them why are they calling me for an old prop. they told me it's because of market demand. but this applies to only selected props lah. not all. so for agents to bugger you, that must mean you hit all good props in your portfolio. OR all your props have recently VP'ed perhaps?QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 5 2013, 08:41 AM) Already stated how many times already? believe it or not boss, i was hoping and hoping BLR rises. not just 1% but 2%!!! kekeke. i built in my reserves but it didn't happen. Interest rates rise (may happen), drying up of subsales market burying speculators(already happening), falling rental yields scaring away buy and hold investors (already happened) and bank tightening credit due to worries on prop (happening as we speak). Put all these things together, and you have recipe for a bubble burst. So which of these 4 things are completely not happening in your opinion? but due to sensitivity issues, might i add on, in the event BLR increases, who would be the likely parties that is going to be the most affected? i mean in broader picture in terms of demographics and ...r*c*s. would it be because of this, the gomen would hesitate to make this difficult decision? to me, it's a bit similiar to petrol subsidy decision. tough choices. |
Jun 5 2013, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(joeblows @ Jun 5 2013, 09:46 AM) Malaysian Internal Debt vs External we are sooooooooooooooooo dead...... External debt = RM17B Internal debt = >> RM475B Its the internal debt one should be concerned about as it has higher repayment rates. Remember internal debt = EPF, LTAT, ASNB, etc and all these the government is duty bound to pay out >> FD Rates or risk public unrest. Imagine if EPF gave "dividend" (actually repayment) of 2-3%, how much complaints there will be. ASNB even worse, Govt needs to pay out about 7++% at a minimum. Any default on internal debt, guess whose money will be lost? Yep, ours!!! There can be no doubt Malaysian govt is in serious financial straits, otherwise they will not be looking at raising petrol prices, removal of subsidies and implementation of GST even though all these will be immensely unpopular moves. |
Jun 5 2013, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jun 5 2013, 04:35 PM) Not necessary. If price to high. I can still rent. If I feel that next year will have a property crash. You think it is still wise to buy even for own stay? boss, if you feel property crash happening next year, you may choose to wait.but, please do consider the following: 1. would the crash provides sufficient savings to you against your current expenditures awaiting the crash (if you are presently renting) 2. would the crash provides sufficient savings to you against your potential 'income' from rent or potential capital appreciation from today until the day of the crash (if you are looking into investment) but since you mention own stay, then option 1 applies lor. more importantly, would you be able to secure the margin of finance you intended for in the event of property crash. or in the event of property crash, what would be employment risk factor then? of course, the ever crystal ball question of, if property crash does not happen next year, what next? factor in your 'losses' of another year's rental into the property crash value before you make your move? |
Jun 5 2013, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(prody @ Jun 5 2013, 04:42 PM) Banks should put more restrictions in place. My wishlist: how high do you wish for rpgt?1 Higher RPGT 2 Lower LTV, maybe 4th house 50%, 5th house 30%, 6th house and above 10%. anyway rpgt still means profit to the investor. unless he's selling at a loss. and some tricky bastards do have creative accountants working for them. if set too high, might damper growth. perhaps more viable to lengthened the period? say 10% or 20% until 10 years? lower LTV? again, some creative investors can always opt to free up their liabilities through transferring 'profitable' assets into a company account, and they are able to reset their LTV quota. |
Jun 5 2013, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(wwwcomment @ Jun 5 2013, 04:54 PM) for me eventhough the price is up every year, if it is up with a precentage lower than inflasion, then it should be considered as down. based on cocr or through absolute amount of property?if cocr, should be able to achieve easily. if based on amount, not just property investment, a lot of investment also hard to beat inflation. all savings even in FD would be considered down. tough standards you set there but good for you. btw, if someone buys at RM100k the first year. upon VP is RM150k. he rents out at say 5% of ori price = RM5k/annum. adjusted to present price is only 3.33%. so consider beat inflation or not? |
Jun 5 2013, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(prody @ Jun 5 2013, 04:56 PM) First 5 years 50% will do. 10 or 20% is too low. that might work.It's no problem to hamper growth. Growth because of extreme housing price increases is not real growth anyway. I know some people will get around rules, but not everybody will. There will be some effect. i have no problem with this. at least reduces flippers. |
Jun 5 2013, 05:08 PM
| Change to: | 0.0474sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:41 AM |