5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V56, The White Paladins' Territory!

TSalexlimco
post May 17 2013, 12:28 PM, updated 13y ago

2,021 posts

Welcome to the Official Canon EOS Discussion Page!

The "Victim" List. ** let me know if I miss someone. Welcome to PM me to update the list.

Continue all Canon EOS discussions here. And please no congratulations, first, second and etc posts.

This post has been edited by alexlimco: Oct 23 2013, 04:36 PM
goldfries
post May 17 2013, 01:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Canon EOS 350D user reporting in. smile.gif Nice to meet all of you.
TSalexlimco
post May 17 2013, 01:03 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 17 2013, 01:00 PM)
Canon EOS 350D user reporting in. smile.gif Nice to meet all of you.
doh.gif My bad. Did not realise the 350D users missing from the list. blush.gif
C.P.U
post May 17 2013, 02:14 PM

------------------------------
2,280 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 17 2013, 01:03 PM)
doh.gif My bad. Did not realise the 350D users missing from the list. blush.gif
Hoorrrr Alex manyak jahat... But i think is my mistake, not mistaken the list start from my previous thread.. tongue.gif I forgot put 350D
C.P.U
post May 17 2013, 02:16 PM

2,280 posts

Clerickilla 7D already change to 5Dmk2
AronC 5D sold d
CPU 400D sold d as well..
adam_lss
post May 17 2013, 02:20 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

Inspire4x
congrats to daddy's club, finally got people to spam baby pics too! tongue.gif
goldfries
post May 17 2013, 02:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

wah all also upgrade already.
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 03:14 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

nobody using 100d? failed marketing?
dafreak
post May 17 2013, 03:15 PM

1,064 posts

waiting for 70D? biggrin.gif
Clem1982
post May 17 2013, 03:19 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ May 17 2013, 03:14 PM)
nobody using 100d? failed marketing?
Still new I guess, in the local market already?
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 03:24 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ May 17 2013, 03:19 PM)
Still new I guess, in the local market already?
i long time no visit camera shop but saw canon msia fb sometimes dy.
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 03:27 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 17 2013, 03:15 PM)
waiting for 70D? biggrin.gif
so much competition now, even small camera closing up the gap..
TSalexlimco

2,021 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ May 17 2013, 02:14 PM)
Hoorrrr Alex manyak jahat... But i think is my mistake, not mistaken the list start from my previous thread.. tongue.gif I forgot put 350D
Phew... at least someone quickly come to absolve me. tongue.gif

QUOTE(C.P.U @ May 17 2013, 02:16 PM)
Clerickilla 7D already change to 5Dmk2
AronC 5D sold d
CPU 400D sold d as well..
List updated. What model did AronC get to replace his 5D? smile.gif
Inspire4x

105 posts

Congrate with new house Opening !

Thanks @adam_lss ! next time want to try with lighting...

Btw I has sold my 60D to get 5DmkII..... Cannot resist, haha
faiz293
post May 17 2013, 03:32 PM

Working from Home
623 posts

add me, 650D user please!! smile.gif
adam_lss
post May 17 2013, 04:05 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(Inspire4x @ May 17 2013, 03:27 PM)
Congrate with new house Opening !

Thanks @adam_lss ! next time want to try with lighting...

Btw I has sold my 60D to get 5DmkII..... Cannot resist, haha
natural light is best, don't do direct flash for newborn, nanti mata baby @-@
goldfries
post May 17 2013, 04:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Go use reflector.

actually I use flash on newborn also but not directly la. I bounce to the ceiling. Baby eyes not open though.

Natural light is definitely best, use reflector if need.
adam_lss
post May 17 2013, 04:23 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 17 2013, 04:13 PM)
Go use reflector.

actually I use flash on newborn also but not directly la. I bounce to the ceiling. Baby eyes not open though.

Natural light is definitely best, use reflector if need.
eh goldie, where u post ur baby pics ar? I see in ur sites also like didn't notice also...
at least can try to steal some ideas tongue.gif
goldfries
post May 17 2013, 04:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i no put online. smile.gif

i haven't start to market my family portrait service yet. too many things to work on for now.

haven't prepare for talk (1st June), haven't prepare for IPA competition.

getting first overseas job too.
dafreak
post May 17 2013, 04:32 PM

1,064 posts

IMG_7607 by RJ(ern), on Flickr

adam_lss
post May 17 2013, 04:41 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 17 2013, 04:29 PM)
i no put online. smile.gif

i haven't start to market my family portrait service yet. too many things to work on for now.

haven't prepare for talk (1st June), haven't prepare for IPA competition.

getting first overseas job too.
superb!haha
fly where?
goldfries
post May 17 2013, 04:46 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if all goes well - Singapore. smile.gif not too far la. Nearby commercial shoot but a first one overseas lor.
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 04:56 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

My dslr n lenses seldom use nowadays, shall i keep (maybe just upgrade body later) or better sell before collecting dust? 1 body 5 lenses: 10mm to 300mm.
mingyuyu
post May 17 2013, 05:00 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ May 17 2013, 04:56 PM)
My dslr n lenses seldom use nowadays, shall i keep (maybe just upgrade body later) or better sell before collecting dust? 1 body 5 lenses: 10mm to 300mm.
sell it before collecting dust? since these electronics depreciate quite fast.
jitshiong
post May 17 2013, 05:01 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ May 17 2013, 04:56 PM)
sell to me. lol!
what lens u have?
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 05:05 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 17 2013, 05:01 PM)
sell to me. lol!
what lens u have?
im still considering..sig1020,can100macro,tam1750,can50 and tam70300usd. the reason i seldom use cos of mobility and my gx1 far better than 600d in many aspect yet so compact.

This post has been edited by kenary820: May 17 2013, 05:05 PM
adam_lss
post May 17 2013, 05:11 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 17 2013, 05:01 PM)
sell to me. lol!
what lens u have?
u got so much time for photography meh?
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 05:16 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ May 17 2013, 05:11 PM)
u got so much time for photography meh?
haha..any chances canon going to make crop body matching 6d iso performance any soon? very difficult to guess where the direction for crop user..too many discount on the spec.
fruitie
post May 17 2013, 05:28 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ May 17 2013, 05:16 PM)
haha..any chances canon going to make crop body matching 6d iso performance any soon? very difficult to guess where the direction for crop user..too many discount on the spec.
Then why don't get a FF? laugh.gif
mingyuyu
post May 17 2013, 06:27 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ May 17 2013, 05:05 PM)
im still considering..sig1020,can100macro,tam1750,can50 and tam70300usd. the reason i seldom use cos of mobility and my gx1 far better than 600d in many aspect yet so compact.
hehe if you wanna let go the 100mm macro i would be glad to be the next owner brows.gif

Got bored and went to edit some of my older photos.

Sky, House and Street by tuna97, on Flickr

must the at f2 the DOF is really shallow, even the lower right is so blurred.
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 07:31 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 17 2013, 05:28 PM)
Then why don't get a FF? laugh.gif
ditch the idea for ff as..it will incur more cost..smaller camera getting powderful..i hope canin will do justice for crop user..btw i luv all my lens..meet all my needs.
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 08:24 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

http://www.metabones.com/sony
bump to this adapter, canon ef to nex..good option?
mingyuyu
post May 17 2013, 08:32 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ May 17 2013, 08:24 PM)
http://www.metabones.com/sony
bump to this adapter, canon ef to nex..good option?
but i heard the price quite expensive sweat.gif
kenary820
post May 17 2013, 08:55 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 17 2013, 08:32 PM)
but i heard the price quite expensive  sweat.gif
ya i just check amazon usd300
TSalexlimco
post May 17 2013, 09:51 PM

2,021 posts

Playing with editing and effects.

nicotine
post May 17 2013, 11:31 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

no hwat ah moi.. only old ah moi with her dotter.

IMG_3165 by nicotine [braindead], on Flickr

SUSthelightside
post May 18 2013, 03:29 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

hmmm.... no 1dc/1dx user here? recently purchase the mega expensive 1dc
the monster power duo. wanted to get the 1dx but heck got some video project coming up so the 4k power is great!

mini review...base on I just got it...
pro:
1. the 5d3 AF is fast already...but this 1d focus system is holy freaking fast.
2. image is better...mainly shaper imho...
3. 12 fps sounds like cam oragasmy...you just want to hear it...kai is right about this!
4. they are more but malas 1 to list... ask is u want...
5. oh yeah almost forgot about the ability to record 4K google for video and be amazed! just like the 5d3 ml hack but this is no hack...

cons:
1. mother freaking shitting wtf%$#@# holy molly freaking expensive.
2. heavy as brick
3. the mode dial is gone need to use two hand to change mode which is stupid. (maybe go easier way but I just got this so dunno)
4. two hand again to change the flash compensation again stupid! (maybe go easier way but I just got this so dunno)
5. I prefer 5d3 way when 1 button can two function but on 1d 1 button 1 function! stupid! (maybe go easier way but I just got this so dunno)
6. heavy heay heavy
7. quite a few more but I malas want to list, most are just annoyances...

also alexlimco please add me to the 1dx/1dc user list ,also add me to 5d2,5d3,60d user if you don't mind...thanks

now need to makan really lots and lots of maggeeeeeee... sad.gif

This post has been edited by thelightside: May 18 2013, 03:42 AM
goldfries
post May 18 2013, 09:54 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

1D series all the while no mode dial. they know it's so heavy people don't use 1 hand operation wan.
adam_lss
post May 18 2013, 10:45 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 18 2013, 03:29 AM)

also alexlimco  please add me to the 1dx/1dc user list ,also add me to 5d2,5d3,60d user if you don't mind...thanks

wei, faster show some poison from ur 1D! tongue.gif
dafreak
post May 18 2013, 02:28 PM

1,064 posts

Hi guys, any idea why my 450D image numbering from IMG_XXXX.CR2 suddenly becomes _MG_XXXX.CR2? rclxub.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 18 2013, 02:29 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 18 2013, 03:29 AM)
hmmm.... no 1dc/1dx user here? recently purchase the mega expensive 1dc

the monster power duo. wanted to get the 1dx but heck got some video project coming up so the 4k power is great!

mini review...base on I just got it...
pro:
1. the 5d3 AF is fast already...but this 1d focus system is holy freaking fast.
2. image is better...mainly shaper imho...
3. 12 fps sounds like cam oragasmy...you just want to hear it...kai is right about this!
4. they are more but malas 1 to list... ask is u want...
5. oh yeah almost forgot about the ability to record 4K google for video and be amazed! just like the 5d3 ml hack but this is no hack...

cons:
1. mother freaking shitting wtf%$#@# holy molly freaking expensive.
2. heavy as brick
3. the mode dial is gone need to use two hand to change mode which is stupid. (maybe go easier way but I just got this so dunno)
4. two hand again to change the flash compensation again stupid! (maybe go easier way but I just got this so dunno)
5. I prefer 5d3 way when 1 button can two function but on 1d 1 button 1 function! stupid! (maybe go easier way but I just got this so dunno)
6. heavy heay heavy

also alexlimco  please add me to the 1dx/1dc user list ,also add me to 5d2,5d3,60d user if you don't mind...thanks

I got a feeling your current nick is an alter ego of someone else who used to be on this forum quite actively. tongue.gif

Will proceed to update the list as requested. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by alexlimco: May 18 2013, 02:31 PM
TSalexlimco
post May 18 2013, 03:28 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 18 2013, 02:28 PM)
Hi guys, any idea why my 450D image numbering from IMG_XXXX.CR2 suddenly becomes _MG_XXXX.CR2? rclxub.gif
You changed the camera color space from sRGB to Adobe RGB.
dafreak
post May 18 2013, 03:46 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 18 2013, 03:28 PM)
You changed the camera color space from sRGB to Adobe RGB.
didnt realise that it will do such thing to the numbering sweat.gif thanks
SUSthelightside
post May 19 2013, 04:12 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 18 2013, 09:54 AM)
1D series all the while no mode dial. they know it's so heavy people don't use 1 hand operation wan.
I understand they got rid of the mode dial for weather resistant...but I don't understand y they don't follow 5d style iso/flash compensation, can do two things in 1 go, maybe like you said this is the 1d way like it or not I just have to get use to it....

QUOTE(adam_lss @ May 18 2013, 10:45 AM)
wei, faster show some poison from ur 1D! tongue.gif
just got it, photo are beautiful but nothing extraordinary to show...yet...

wait till I go hunt animal where the 1d capabilities are utilize like in this commercial tongue.gif

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 18 2013, 02:29 PM)
I got a feeling your current nick is an alter ego of someone else who used to be on this forum quite actively. tongue.gif

Will proceed to update the list as requested. thumbup.gif
I have no idea wut u talking about rclxub.gif but thanks for adding me biggrin.gif

and here the comparison of the shutter sound I'm talking about previously...i still love the 5d2 shutter sound for some unknown reason more so than the 5d3...but the 1dx sound is orgasmic!!!! brows.gif

This post has been edited by thelightside: May 19 2013, 04:35 AM
adam_lss
post May 19 2013, 12:34 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

tembak burung mode tongue.gif

IMG_7528 by adam lee1, on Flickr

This post has been edited by adam_lss: May 19 2013, 12:54 PM
mingyuyu
post May 19 2013, 01:03 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Going to purchase a tripod since my cheapo one broke.

Any shops in Lowyat that sells good tripod? Budget around rm200.
fruitie
post May 19 2013, 01:10 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 19 2013, 01:03 PM)
Going to purchase a tripod since my cheapo one broke.

Any shops in Lowyat that sells good tripod? Budget around rm200.
I bought mine from online, last time bought from gstrapinuse. smile.gif
You could try mauinsons as well. smile.gif
Easy, no need to waste energy to go shops and choose. laugh.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 19 2013, 07:33 PM

2,021 posts

Was out for a shoot around Pavilion yesterday morning with some friends. Guards came to chase us away and only left us alone when we went to the side walls opposite Marriot hotel to shoot. Did not know that you have to apply officially to the mall for shoots within their compound. tongue.gif

_LX_1365 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
fruitie
post May 19 2013, 07:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 19 2013, 07:33 PM)
Was out for a shoot around Pavilion yesterday morning with some friends. Guards came to chase us away and only left us alone when we went to the side walls opposite Marriot hotel to shoot. Did not know that you have to apply officially to the mall for shoots within their compound. tongue.gif

_LX_1365 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
If normal shooting, like jalan2 and shot, they are OK.
But if the outing looks a bit serious, then they will chase. smile.gif

Got the same thing as well when our Company had our photography outing near to our office compound. sweat.gif
mingyuyu
post May 19 2013, 07:51 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 19 2013, 07:35 PM)
If normal shooting, like jalan2 and shot, they are OK.
But if the outing looks a bit serious, then they will chase. smile.gif

Got the same thing as well when our Company had our photography outing near to our office compound. sweat.gif
I jalan jalan shoot also kena chase by guards sweat.gif

You can see the guard in the picture, next second he whistled at me asking me to leave.
fruitie
post May 19 2013, 07:54 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 19 2013, 07:51 PM)
I jalan jalan shoot also kena chase by guards  sweat.gif

You can see the guard in the picture, next second he whistled at me asking me to leave.
laugh.gif Pavilion too high class already. laugh.gif
I didn't know that. tongue.gif
I know KLCC also has the same policy but not sure if it is still valid now.
I always go to KLCC and see many people hang DSLR on their neck and walk in the complex. laugh.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 19 2013, 07:56 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 19 2013, 07:54 PM)
I always go to KLCC and see many people hang DSLR on their neck and walk in the complex. laugh.gif
I wonder why they are so paranoid about people shooting in their compound. It's not as if we are doing it in the mall and disturbing anyone. sad.gif
mingyuyu
post May 19 2013, 08:05 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 19 2013, 07:54 PM)
But I'm on the street, not even in the building, does that means the road belongs to them? I don't think they have the rights to chase me away, I am just standing on the road, it should belongs to public right?
kenary820
post May 19 2013, 08:43 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 19 2013, 07:56 PM)
I wonder why they are so paranoid about people shooting in their compound. It's not as if we are doing it in the mall and disturbing anyone. sad.gif
Agreed people doing free promo around the world also dun wan rclxub.gif
chongkiatz
post May 19 2013, 09:29 PM

6,793 posts

1dx totally is machine guns shocking.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 19 2013, 09:36 PM
TSalexlimco
post May 19 2013, 09:32 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 19 2013, 09:29 PM)
1dx totally is machine guns  shocking.gif
Hope you can spoiler the videos when you reply. Thanks. smile.gif
C.P.U
post May 19 2013, 10:16 PM

2,280 posts

Some photo from meeeee. smile.gif

P.S
Purchase one Canon cheapest EF tele lens.. LOL RM200 for EF 80-200 F4.5- 5.6II

william1 by MichaelChng, on Flickr

william2 by MichaelChng, on Flickr

This post has been edited by C.P.U: May 19 2013, 10:17 PM
Icehart
post May 19 2013, 10:29 PM

14,902 posts

I think the guards apply some level of discrimination. If you bring a mirrorless, they won't kacau so much compared to those DSLR with BGRIP and some lens with huge hoods. tongue.gif
fruitie
post May 19 2013, 10:32 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 19 2013, 10:29 PM)
I think the guards apply some level of discrimination. If you bring a mirrorless, they won't kacau so much compared to those DSLR with BGRIP and some lens with huge hoods.  tongue.gif
They need to understand that DSLRs are the new PnSs. tongue.gif Almost everyone on the streets owns a DSLR these days. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: May 19 2013, 10:32 PM
razuryza
post May 19 2013, 10:47 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 19 2013, 10:29 PM)
I think the guards apply some level of discrimination. If you bring a mirrorless, they won't kacau so much compared to those DSLR with BGRIP and some lens with huge hoods.  tongue.gif
correct.. if u shoot with compact pns or phone.. they wont bother

harem betul
TSalexlimco
post May 19 2013, 10:56 PM

2,021 posts

Time to go look at the OMD-E5 then. brows.gif
dafreak
post May 20 2013, 12:11 AM

1,064 posts

anyone have experience with Giotto Vitruvian series tripods?
llsphinxll
post May 20 2013, 02:05 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

my dslr collecting dust. wish for more time (and subject) to shoot.
C.P.U
post May 20 2013, 08:57 AM

2,280 posts

Saturday challenge.. biggrin.gif RM20 camera with 36 shot(including camwhore shot), no LCD, no viewfinder and I can't swim.. First time go underwater..

adam_lss
post May 20 2013, 09:11 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 19 2013, 07:56 PM)
maybe u look like terrorist tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post May 20 2013, 10:02 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ May 20 2013, 08:57 AM)
Saturday challenge.. biggrin.gif RM20 camera with 36 shot(including camwhore shot), no LCD, no viewfinder and I can't swim.. First time go underwater..

I like the feel of it. What's that blemish on top of her arms in the first photo?
TSalexlimco
post May 20 2013, 10:28 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ May 20 2013, 09:11 AM)
maybe u look like terrorist tongue.gif
Probably my cap makes me look like one. tongue.gif
C.P.U
post May 20 2013, 10:35 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 20 2013, 10:02 AM)
I like the feel of it. What's that blemish on top of her arms in the first photo?
biggrin.gif thank.. Which part.. bubble maybe hmmm
Baronic
post May 20 2013, 10:52 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Just got a second hand canon 40d for to start up photography as a hobby. smile.gif havent played with it yet, still reading the manual lol
TSalexlimco
post May 20 2013, 11:01 AM

2,021 posts

Welcome, welcome to the club. Hope to see some shots from you soon. In the meanwhile feel free to ask away and have fun with your new gear. rclxms.gif
Icehart
post May 20 2013, 11:03 AM

14,902 posts

Is 650D, 700D, 60D and 7D sharing the same sensor? I check the hardware specs all have 18 megapixels. Is it really a coincidence?
goldfries
post May 20 2013, 11:04 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

not coincidence. FYI it's been 18MP on entry level body since the 550D, which was launched after the 7D.

the 7D is stuck as it is and it's probably a sign of 7D2 coming cos after the 7D there's the 550D / 600D / 650D / 700D. smile.gif
Icehart
post May 20 2013, 11:05 AM

14,902 posts

If that's the case then all should have similar IQ right? hmm.gif
sniper on the roof
post May 20 2013, 12:09 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 20 2013, 11:05 AM)
If that's the case then all should have similar IQ right?  hmm.gif
Yeah.. they only made changes to the jpeg engine.
goldfries
post May 20 2013, 12:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Canon IQ has been stagnant for a while. I think th only the 5D3 has improved IQ among the rest.
Baronic
post May 20 2013, 12:30 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

What is everyone referring to regarding IQ lol
dafreak
post May 20 2013, 12:32 PM

1,064 posts

image quality not the other IQ biggrin.gif
BlackWoods
post May 20 2013, 12:32 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 19 2013, 08:05 PM)
But I'm on the street, not even in the building, does that means the road belongs to them? I don't think they have the rights to chase me away, I am just standing on the road, it should belongs to public right?
Yeah, they always chase people away, they obviously got problem.
Baronic
post May 20 2013, 01:05 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ May 20 2013, 12:32 PM)
Yeah, they always chase people away, they obviously got problem.
Is there a photography etiquette? No photography in malls? Lol act like a tourist?
kenary820
post May 20 2013, 01:37 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

anybody here have experience using zeiss cleaning solution for lens? i currently using lenspen but still can see oily smudge.
dafreak
post May 20 2013, 05:28 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ May 20 2013, 01:05 PM)
Is there a photography etiquette? No photography in malls? Lol act like a tourist?
if you look at his picture that he posted, he was not even inside the mall..

I dont think the guard has any right to chase anyone away just for taking pictures on the streets
TSalexlimco
post May 20 2013, 06:09 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 20 2013, 05:28 PM)

I dont think the guard has any right to chase anyone away just for taking pictures on the streets
According to the concierge, any area within the compound managed by them are off limits for photography by a group. I think they don't mind 1:1 shooting but we were doing 4:2 on that day. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by alexlimco: May 20 2013, 06:10 PM
mingyuyu
post May 20 2013, 06:37 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ May 20 2013, 01:05 PM)
I know inside the mall is not allowed, but outside the mall and i'm not shooting anyone so that couldn't be a problem at all in my opinion.
goldfries
post May 20 2013, 06:38 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 20 2013, 05:28 PM)

did you check whether the walk way is under the premises of Pavilion?

If they are owned by Pavilion then they have the rights.

TSalexlimco
post May 20 2013, 06:45 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 20 2013, 06:38 PM)
did you check whether the walk way is under the premises of Pavilion?

If they are owned by Pavilion then they have the rights.
Unlike you and Ken the other day, we do not have a media pass to shoot so you're right. Any area within the compound managed by Pavilion is officially off limits. But when we went over to some quieter locations then they just keep one eye close lar. smile.gif
goldfries
post May 20 2013, 06:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Yeah we have the pass, cos we were shooting for Pavilion itself. tongue.gif hehe.
sjr
post May 20 2013, 07:04 PM

523 posts

Hi all. I'm a DSLR newbie. I just bought a 100D last Thursday.
Still looking into how to utilise my 100D better.
goldfries
post May 20 2013, 07:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

those with camera collecting dust and are located in Klang Valley, would you be interested in paintball photography?
TSalexlimco
post May 20 2013, 07:23 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 20 2013, 07:10 PM)
those with camera collecting dust and are located in Klang Valley, would you be interested in paintball photography?
Sounds interesting. We can have a mini workshop by you?
goldfries
post May 20 2013, 07:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh very simple. just go there, shoot and possibly get shot.

puchong. friday. 10am. details on my FB.

https://www.facebook.com/goldfries/posts/10151555125289016
sjr
post May 20 2013, 11:53 PM

523 posts

Newbie first attempt on DSLR. How can I do better?

SUSthelightside
post May 21 2013, 12:10 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 20 2013, 12:23 PM)
Canon IQ has been stagnant for a while. I think th only the 5D3 has improved IQ among the rest.
only 5d3? u sure boh??? cause the 6d and the 1dx also improve at least in term of noise both are slightly cleaner as compared to 5d3...
SUSthelightside
post May 21 2013, 12:15 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 20 2013, 11:03 AM)
Is 650D, 700D, 60D and 7D sharing the same sensor? I check the hardware specs all have 18 megapixels. Is it really a coincidence?
hmmmm some maybe I would say 650d and 700d is probably the same but the 7d lain cause that sensor is quite noisy not insulting to 7d owner just my observation...
mingyuyu
post May 21 2013, 12:43 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Finally bought my Yongnuo 560 II yesterday, was easier to use than I expected. A sample shot of using only one flash and bounced on a white wall.

Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 OS HSM by tuna97, on Flickr

Also borrowed the Sigma from my friend today, I must say the lens is really heavy to use and feel unbalanced on my 550D. Image is quite soft at f2.8 but sharp at f4. The focusing is quite slow imo, almost the same speed as my 18-135mm only, the sound of the OS is quite loud too.

But overall quite a good lens to play with .
goldfries
post May 21 2013, 07:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 21 2013, 12:15 AM)
hmmmm some maybe I would say 650d and 700d is probably the same but the 7d lain cause that sensor is quite noisy not insulting to 7d owner just my observation...
same sensor but different processing i suppose.

even 550D was better than 7D.
goldfries
post May 21 2013, 07:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 21 2013, 12:10 AM)
only 5d3? u sure boh??? cause the 6d and the 1dx also improve at least in term of noise both are slightly cleaner as compared to 5d3...
ok a lot of difference?

Just to note is that 6D and 1DX both have lesser pixel count that 5D3.

ifer
post May 21 2013, 08:34 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ May 20 2013, 11:53 PM)
Newbie first attempt on DSLR. How can I do better?

well, you can start by getting your horizontal line straight
post May 21 2013, 08:58 AM

1,447 posts

7D only goodness is it fast focus.... the rest i think more like cons.
goldfries
post May 21 2013, 08:59 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

it does have burst speed advantage over the rest, plus the body is weather sealed.
jaycee1
post May 21 2013, 09:08 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 21 2013, 08:59 AM)
it does have burst speed advantage over the rest, plus the body is weather sealed.
Yep...weather sealing is nice... just rinsed the back of the camera the other to the shock of my colleagues. Hahaha... just have to make sure the mount don't get wet since my lens is not weather sealed.

Not only that, the body is a lot stronger than the XXX and XX series camera. Will take minor bumps a lot better. Its more expensive for a reason.

The only thing I don't like about the 7D is the softness due to the strong AA filter.

Let me know when you are going to organize the paintball shoot. If I'm around in KL I might join.
goldfries
post May 21 2013, 09:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Friday, 10am. Puchong. smile.gif
ifer
post May 21 2013, 09:19 AM

4,637 posts

To me, the only items that were released by Cano lately that is revolutionary is their new 24-70 and the 1DX. The rest do not make much sense
SUSthelightside
post May 21 2013, 09:21 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 21 2013, 07:45 AM)
ok a lot of difference?

Just to note is that 6D and 1DX both have lesser pixel count that 5D3.
that's true which might explain why both got less noise, but the pattern noise for 1dx is cleaner than 5d3, you can google them for more info, not a lot of difference but an improvement non the less...
SUSthelightside
post May 21 2013, 09:26 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ May 21 2013, 09:19 AM)
To me, the only items that were released by Cano lately that is revolutionary is their new 24-70 and the 1DX. The rest do not make much sense
I think the new 5d3 and 6d also not bad...5d3 for the AF and 6d for its relatively low price full frame low noise sensor...but the rest like 650d and 700d really not much sense its almost the same thing lol...
goldfries
post May 21 2013, 09:33 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

6D is good. it has WiFi capability which you can output the liveview to handheld devices, damn cool feature.
David900924
post May 21 2013, 09:44 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

Guys, it is normal price to pay RM50 for postage fees to service my canon lens from east malaysia to west malaysia? n they say it may take up to 2 months. hmmmm i hav no choice but to wait now.

I got my filter stuck onto the lens, try several methods online but still failed to unscrew it. so have to use the warranty service to cut the stuck filter out from my lens.

will there by another charges? will canon call me before they charge me more?

This post has been edited by David900924: May 21 2013, 09:45 AM
XiuKeong
post May 21 2013, 09:47 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ May 21 2013, 09:44 AM)
Guys, it is normal price to pay RM50 for postage fees to service my canon lens from east malaysia to west malaysia? n they say it may take up to 2 months. hmmmm i hav no choice but to wait now.

I got my filter stuck onto the lens, try several methods online but still failed to unscrew it. so have to use the warranty service to cut the stuck filter out from my lens.

will there by another charges? will canon call me before they charge me more?
Postage fees should based on the weight of the parcel no?

Did you try this method as well?

David900924
post May 21 2013, 09:52 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 21 2013, 09:47 AM)
Postage fees should based on the weight of the parcel no?

Did you try this method as well?

sadly tats was my last method i try so hard n still unscrewable.
SUSthelightside
post May 21 2013, 09:58 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ May 21 2013, 09:52 AM)
sadly tats was my last method i try so hard n still unscrewable.
that looks dangerous, could damage the lens mount by putting so much weight to it....better ask canon to do it...
dinokun
post May 21 2013, 10:06 AM

77 posts

wanna ask is there a dedicated msia canon forum ka? hope see can catch up with fellow members
Clem1982
post May 21 2013, 11:11 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(dinokun @ May 21 2013, 10:06 AM)
wanna ask is there a dedicated msia canon forum ka? hope see can catch up with fellow members
looked for this sometime ago but not one thats really a forum.. the official site is more to membership and activities but not forums...

IMHO no need to look elsewhere, lotsa sifus here in LYN for Canon wink.gif
ifer
post May 21 2013, 12:23 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 21 2013, 09:26 AM)
I think the new 5d3 and 6d also not bad...5d3 for the AF and 6d for its relatively low price full frame low noise sensor...but the rest like 650d and 700d really not much sense its almost the same thing lol...
5d3's AF is from 1DX no? lol
difference between 5d3 and 5d2 for what i am doing (live view manual focus. low iso) is so small that i rather buy 5d2 at a cheaper price. furthermore, 5d3 has noise at shadow area at low ISO... blink.gif

i was contemplating about the 6d though for the low price and full frame sensor and 17 TSE lens
llsphinxll
post May 21 2013, 12:52 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

anyone checked out the new flickr layout? i like it, sorta feels like facebook, but more photos. thumbup.gif
XiuKeong
post May 21 2013, 01:23 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ May 21 2013, 12:52 PM)
anyone checked out the new flickr layout? i like it, sorta feels like facebook, but more photos. thumbup.gif
Never noticed it changed. Feel like 500px laugh.gif
Icehart
post May 21 2013, 01:47 PM

14,902 posts

Is it me or Flickr increase the price of membership?
http://www.flickr.com/help/limits/#150470666

But I checked with my subscription still renewable at $29.99 per year.

Oh, Pro account no longer available for purchase. laugh.gif

Free account - 1 TB of space.
Paid account also 1 TB of space ($49.99) but they remove ads
Doublr - 2 TB of space ($499.99) blink.gif

Pro - Unlimited with no ads $29.99 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Icehart: May 21 2013, 01:51 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 21 2013, 01:55 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 21 2013, 01:47 PM)
Is it me or Flickr increase the price of membership?
http://www.flickr.com/help/limits/#150470666

But I checked with my subscription still renewable at $29.99 per year.

Oh, Pro account no longer available for purchase.  laugh.gif

Free account - 1 TB of space.
Paid account also 1 TB of space ($49.99) but they remove ads
Doublr - 2 TB of space ($499.99)  blink.gif

Pro - Unlimited with no ads $29.99  laugh.gif
Means we can forever renew Pro account?
Icehart
post May 21 2013, 01:59 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 21 2013, 01:55 PM)
Means we can forever renew Pro account?
http://www.flickr.com/help/limits/#150487675

Seems so.
sniper on the roof
post May 21 2013, 02:01 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 21 2013, 01:59 PM)
This is the wording I'm afraid of

Recurring Pro users currently have the ability to renew

Icehart
post May 21 2013, 02:06 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 21 2013, 02:01 PM)
This is the wording I'm afraid of
We'll see how it progress further. A lot of people complaining in Flickr feedback page. laugh.gif
-kytz-
post May 21 2013, 03:18 PM

12,573 posts

Oh sh!t Flickr what have you done now mad.gif

hmm.gif

Btw, there is an option to let your shared pictures be viewable to a maximum of 2048pixels, but good thing is that the public can't access your original size smile.gif

Edit: I kinda like the change to be honest, I used to think the old Flickr UI is kinda boring, this is definitely something fresh. Btw love the homescreen, big picture thumbnails FTW! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 21 2013, 03:22 PM
Icehart
post May 21 2013, 03:29 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 21 2013, 03:18 PM)
Oh sh!t Flickr what have you done now mad.gif

hmm.gif

Btw, there is an option to let your shared pictures be viewable to a maximum of 2048pixels, but good thing is that the public can't access your original size smile.gif

Edit: I kinda like the change to be honest, I used to think the old Flickr UI is kinda boring, this is definitely something fresh. Btw love the homescreen, big picture thumbnails FTW! thumbup.gif
I like it a lot too, but not too fancy about pricing space la biggrin.gif

After reading pages of discussions I concluded that:
Re-curring Pro Flickr accounts can renew Pro subscription but minimum is 2 years.
One time pro account may not be able to renew subscription and will be switched to Free account.

This post has been edited by Icehart: May 21 2013, 06:26 PM
pengster
post May 21 2013, 08:56 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Hey guys, I'm back! biggrin.gif

When wanna yamcha and go shooting? laugh.gif
chongkiatz
post May 21 2013, 09:57 PM

6,793 posts

Did u guys facing flickr load very slow ?
kenary820
post May 21 2013, 09:59 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

Doesnt really like the new flickr..I cannot customize my home page. Like the new one gonna eat a loads bandwith doh.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 21 2013, 10:14 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ May 21 2013, 08:56 PM)

You're back where? KL? Penang? Or just back in this forum? tongue.gif
fruitie
post May 21 2013, 10:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

Welcome back! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

My stuff. tongue.gif
coduosp
post May 21 2013, 11:50 PM

443 posts

trying some star trail
a bit of a pollution though

Star Trail @ Long Beach by MEzairi, on Flickr
Positve_Guy
post May 22 2013, 03:02 AM

342 posts

Hi all

I found out my 7D video setting is different form others .

i see other people 7D with

1920*1080 [30fps]
1920*1080 [24fps]
1280*720 [60fps]
640*480 [60fps]

My video setting is

1920*1080 [25fps]
1920*1080 [24fps]
1280*720 [50fps]
640*480 [50fps]

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

I really don't understand why ? i using CF Sandisk Extreme (60mb) 16GB ...

anything that i need to set before i can have

1920*1080 [30fps]
1920*1080 [24fps]
1280*720 [60fps]
640*480 [60fps]

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

please advise , thanks
-kytz-
post May 22 2013, 03:27 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(AllItBatuPahat @ May 22 2013, 03:02 AM)
Hi all

I found out my 7D video setting is different form others .

i see other people 7D with

1920*1080 [30fps]
1920*1080 [24fps]
1280*720 [60fps]
640*480 [60fps]

My video setting is

1920*1080 [25fps]
1920*1080 [24fps]
1280*720 [50fps]
640*480 [50fps]

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

I really don't understand why ? i using CF Sandisk Extreme (60mb) 16GB ...

anything that i need to set before i can have

1920*1080 [30fps]
1920*1080 [24fps]
1280*720 [60fps]
640*480 [60fps]

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

please advise , thanks
Check your settings for NTSC/PAL
TSalexlimco
post May 22 2013, 08:57 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(coduosp @ May 21 2013, 11:50 PM)
trying some star trail
a bit of a pollution though

Star Trail @ Long Beach by MEzairi, on Flickr
Lovely sensor burning experience. Time for me to try this when I reach Mount Batur next month. smile.gif
XiuKeong
post May 22 2013, 10:04 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

Awaiting for the plan to happen smile.gif whistling.gif
goldfries
post May 22 2013, 10:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

already tell you guys Friday I got paintball activity.

siapa mau pigi can let me know.

XiuKeong
post May 22 2013, 10:11 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 22 2013, 10:08 AM)
already tell you guys Friday I got paintball activity.

siapa mau pigi can let me know.

Me tak ada >70mm lens laugh.gif
goldfries
post May 22 2013, 10:15 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

borrow from me la. break then you pay only. tongue.gif
XiuKeong
post May 22 2013, 10:56 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 22 2013, 10:15 AM)
borrow from me la. break then you pay only. tongue.gif
Break including bullet paint? tongue.gif
yankiat
post May 22 2013, 12:13 PM

Cameraman Wannabe
1,281 posts

I just came back from Seoul last Friday laugh.gif
Would like to share some photos with you guys laugh.gif

Please go over to my website and click full post for the remaining pics ya… (turn on your speaker if you wanna listen to audio while browsing the photos
Oh ya.. feel free to drop some comments smile.gif TQ!

My Webpage

This post has been edited by yankiat: May 22 2013, 12:48 PM
dafreak
post May 22 2013, 12:46 PM

1,064 posts

update firmware?
chongkiatz
post May 22 2013, 02:28 PM

6,793 posts

Guys, caseman c10 or lowerpro passport?
TSalexlimco
post May 22 2013, 02:50 PM

2,021 posts

Sick at home and bored. Did some edits of shoots from Synergy Masterclass with master Jim Liaw and Manny Librodo.

_LX_1018-2 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
fruitie
post May 22 2013, 03:21 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 22 2013, 02:50 PM)
Sick at home and bored. Did some edits of shoots from Synergy Masterclass with master Jim Liaw and Manny Librodo.

_LX_1018-2 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
Is the slant intended?
TSalexlimco
post May 22 2013, 07:50 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 22 2013, 03:21 PM)
Is the slant intended?
Lens distortion and bad angle. There was around 12 people crowded in the small corridor so can only use liveview mode and snap away. tongue.gif
Lurker
post May 22 2013, 08:02 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

hmm.. any idea how much the ts-e 24mk2 cost new?
TSalexlimco
post May 22 2013, 10:19 PM

2,021 posts

Perspective adjusted and re-edited. Used Abang Kentang's method to add some effects to the shot. smile.gif

_LX_1018-3-2 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
sniper on the roof
post May 23 2013, 12:33 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 22 2013, 10:19 PM)
Perspective adjusted and re-edited. Used Abang Kentang's method to add some effects to the shot. smile.gif

_LX_1018-3-2 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
Love the light beams... but the watermark is too big too distracting imo.
Inspire4x
post May 23 2013, 01:46 AM

105 posts

nice !
coduosp
post May 23 2013, 07:13 AM

443 posts

Milky way @ Long Beach, Perhentian Island

IMG_8397 by MEzairi, on Flickr

This post has been edited by coduosp: May 23 2013, 07:15 AM
C.P.U
post May 23 2013, 08:41 AM

2,280 posts

Good Morning guyssssssssssssss

Facebook quaility.. kakaka

This post has been edited by C.P.U: May 23 2013, 08:41 AM
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 08:55 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 23 2013, 12:33 AM)
Love the light beams... but the watermark is too big too distracting imo.
Okay, okay. Will adjust the size of the watermark. Thanks. smile.gif

QUOTE(Inspire4x @ May 23 2013, 01:46 AM)
nice !
Thanks. smile.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 08:57 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ May 23 2013, 08:41 AM)
Good Morning guyssssssssssssss

Facebook quaility.. kakaka
Looks good to me. You are getting there and later KZ will have a competitor on his hands. smile.gif
C.P.U
post May 23 2013, 09:35 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 23 2013, 08:57 AM)
Looks good to me. You are getting there and later KZ will have a competitor on his hands. smile.gif
Thanks.. I still far away from KZ... People always KZ photo editing skill was amazing but I can said how he use angle even more amazing..
goldfries
post May 23 2013, 10:33 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

EXACTLY!! I'm glad you saw that. not just angles. note the way he posed the couples, compose the scene and all.

problem is I see so many damn n00b, nothing of the above achieved already start to want to PP Keda style.

Did you know that if you manage to do all the above things correct, even without the PPing of Z style also your photo would score high marks already.

Knowing how to process colors Z style doesn't bring you anywhere. In fact why follow people's style, right? smile.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 10:47 AM

2,021 posts

I love the way Keda lights his subjects and the way he brings the environment into play. I look at his shots every week and every time I discover something new even though I've seen the shots before. Sometimes learning by imitating is the fastest way to go before we develop our own style. smile.gif

This post has been edited by alexlimco: May 23 2013, 10:48 AM
goldfries
post May 23 2013, 10:59 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Yes but many people are doing it the wrong way.

They start by imitating the PPing style. By the time they learn up the PP style - they still haven't learn the basics

1. pose
2. composition
3. lighting

All those are the basis to get a good base for PP to shine.

Many people don't see that.
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 11:31 AM

2,021 posts

Yah, that's the unfortunate truth. I'm looking to go for posing, framing and composition classes next. Hopefully Jim will hold another workshop soon.
C.P.U
post May 23 2013, 11:41 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 23 2013, 10:33 AM)
EXACTLY!! I'm glad you saw that. not just angles. note the way he posed the couples, compose the scene and all.

problem is I see so many damn n00b, nothing of the above achieved already start to want to PP Keda style.

Did you know that if you manage to do all the above things correct, even without the PPing of Z style also your photo would score high marks already.

Knowing how to process colors Z style doesn't bring you anywhere. In fact why follow people's style, right? smile.gif
Yes, that totally true. The composition and lighting are totally amazing.. Now I start use his photo as reference for compo and lighting. He playing around with scene, shape, line and unique angle to achieve a great photo.

Z style editing need to mix with Keda compo and lighting to achieve great stunning photo. Z style editing like decoration for a piece of great cake. Good to eat and nice to see.
gerald7
post May 23 2013, 02:41 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

is RM 8,000 for a 5dmk3 under 3000 shutter actuations used 3 months USA set a good choice ?
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 03:18 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2013, 02:41 PM)
is RM 8,000 for a 5dmk3 under 3000 shutter actuations used 3 months  USA set a good choice ?
Why not top up a bit to get local warranty set instead? Otherwise it looks like a good bargain but then be careful of scams as well.
gerald7
post May 23 2013, 03:49 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 23 2013, 03:18 PM)
Why not top up a bit to get local warranty set instead? Otherwise it looks like a good bargain but then be careful of scams as well.
confirm not scam. is from a friend who is a wildlife photographer in the states... who is upping to 1dx
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 03:52 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2013, 03:49 PM)
confirm not scam. is from a friend who is a wildlife photographer in the states... who is upping to 1dx
Looks like a might good bargain then.
XiuKeong
post May 23 2013, 05:06 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

FB picture. Taken during weekend event.

Should I remove that left side pipe? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by XiuKeong: May 23 2013, 05:06 PM
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 05:14 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 23 2013, 05:06 PM)
FB picture. Taken during weekend event.

Should I remove that left side pipe? hmm.gif

Front part of the car is overexposed and the back wheel looks underexposed. Distracting chain in the upper left portion of the frame and the right side not sure if it's a pipe or reflection. U did not use strobes?

This post has been edited by alexlimco: May 23 2013, 05:15 PM
XiuKeong
post May 23 2013, 05:17 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 23 2013, 05:14 PM)
Front part of the car is overexposed and the back wheel looks underexposed. Distracting chain in the upper left portion of the frame and the right side not sure if it's a pipe or reflection. U did not use strobes?
It wasn't a set up session with that car. It was parked inside the pit and only light source is from the pit entrance.
chongkiatz
post May 23 2013, 05:24 PM

6,793 posts

is RM 8,000 for a 5dmk3 under 3000 shutter actuations used 3 months  USA set a good choice ?
I thought market can get RM8.7k for new grey set or ever low right? Since it is a used set 3 month old from USA , mean u got no warranty in malaysia , and it use for wildlife shoot , if he can lower the price abit i would just grab it smile.gif

If u get grey set from shop u stil got 6 month or 1 year warranty from shop biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 23 2013, 05:24 PM
TSalexlimco
post May 23 2013, 05:25 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 23 2013, 05:17 PM)
It wasn't a set up session with that car. It was parked inside the pit and only light source is from the pit entrance.
Wow! They allow you to enter the pit to snap shots? Never knew it was allowed to do so. If that's the case then maybe you need to do a little PP to reduce the overexposure on the front part and to pull back some details from the shadow at the back. smile.gif
XiuKeong
post May 23 2013, 05:27 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 23 2013, 05:25 PM)
Wow! They allow you to enter the pit to snap shots? Never knew it was allowed to do so. If that's the case then maybe you need to do a little PP to reduce the overexposure on the front part and to pull back some details from the shadow at the back. smile.gif
Yea, got the media pass smile.gif
Icehart
post May 23 2013, 05:31 PM

14,902 posts

IMO not worth it.
First reason being the warranty.
Secondly the shipping costs to here also cost a bomb already.
Then there is the risk of lost in postage.
Then risk of scam, seller did not honor his/her part of the deal.

Better buy one here.
I see some new grey set 8.8k.
gerald7
post May 23 2013, 05:47 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

I have no idea whats the grey market price. My friend is now back in Malaysia to visit his father. Just no box.. the rest of the accessories are here also. If grey set 8,8k then less worth to get already... Hmmm.. need to decide fast, he leaving soon
chongkiatz
post May 23 2013, 06:43 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2013, 05:47 PM)
I have no idea whats the grey market price. My friend is now back in Malaysia to visit his father. Just no box.. the rest of the accessories are here also. If grey set 8,8k then less worth to get already... Hmmm.. need to decide fast, he leaving soon
It's stil up to ur decision smile.gif , buying the USA set is equal to Grey set in any shop in malaysia but malaysia set will have 6/12 month warranty while the one u grab from ur friend is without warranty in malaysia , and u need to pay RM8k for a 3month used unit with 3k SC , if u think the save of RM800 worth , just grab it

A question , did u own any FF lens? i would like to advise u to get bundle with 24-105mm which is more worth IMO laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 23 2013, 06:47 PM
kenary820
post May 23 2013, 06:55 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 23 2013, 05:17 PM)
Sometimes it worth to try auto mode and just work on composition, off course this without flash.
mingyuyu
post May 23 2013, 07:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Try using my flash to do something I always wanted to try.

Water by tuna97, on Flickr
goldfries
post May 23 2013, 08:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if buy from USA - get used from BHPhoto if need cos reliable. If other people, I won't dare to go for it.
gerald7
post May 23 2013, 08:07 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 23 2013, 06:43 PM)
It's stil up to ur decision  smile.gif  , buying the USA set is equal to Grey set in any shop in malaysia but malaysia set will have 6/12 month warranty while the one u grab from ur friend is without warranty in malaysia , and u need to pay RM8k for a 3month used unit with 3k SC , if u think the save of RM800 worth , just grab it

A question , did u own any FF lens? i would like to advise u to get bundle with 24-105mm which is more worth IMO  laugh.gif
Actually using 5dmk2 .. thinking of changing the 7d to 5dmk3
chongkiatz
post May 23 2013, 09:36 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2013, 08:07 PM)
Actually using 5dmk2 .. thinking of changing the 7d to 5dmk3
Why not try nego with the seller?
andie le-ta
post May 23 2013, 10:29 PM

38 posts

Hello to all sifus~ smile.gif
not-so-new 650d user here~

wanna ask,is there any risk of bringing my dslr up to a mountain? coz 650d is not weather sealed right? next month im planning to climb Mount Kinabalu ..afraid la if there's heavy rain or what up there,haha..(i've climbed Mount Brinchang with my dslr,but no heavy rain that time,and ive covered it with plastic bags~)
chongkiatz
post May 23 2013, 10:30 PM

6,793 posts

I never get that sharpness from tamron 17-50mm f2.8 @ f2.8 , canon 17-55mm make my 60D shine

大阿姨喂我吃蛋糕 by ChongKiat, on Flickr
LegendLee
post May 23 2013, 10:38 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(andie le-ta @ May 23 2013, 10:29 PM)

wanna ask,is there any risk of bringing my dslr up to a mountain? coz 650d is not weather sealed right? next month im planning to climb Mount Kinabalu ..afraid la if there's heavy rain or what up there,haha..(i've climbed Mount Brinchang with my dslr,but no heavy rain that time,and ive covered it with plastic bags~)
As long as it's not a torrential rain, your DSLR/lens should not stop working... however

For long exposure to light/medium rain ... worse come to worse, there is a chance that due to the humidity and colder weather that water droplets may condense inside your lens.
I had that occurred to me in my Nikon 17-55 f/2.8, basically it was exposed to a drizzle for about an hour or two.
It then dried up and left obvious stain inside a few elements. The lens became 10X more prone to flaring and ghosting as well.

So yeah, having a plastic bag or rather those specialised cover will help prevent that to a certain extend.
SUSthelightside
post May 24 2013, 12:18 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

while on the topic of warranty izit mean I can only service my cam at malaysia since all my cam are local set???

can I say go fix my thing in Singapore if I visit there for holiday ah???
mingyuyu
post May 24 2013, 12:38 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 24 2013, 12:18 AM)
while on the topic of warranty izit mean I can only service my cam at malaysia since all my cam are local set???

can I say go fix my thing in Singapore if I visit there for holiday ah???
Do you become a part of CPS since you bought the 1DC monster?
Mini Nici
post May 24 2013, 12:56 AM

446 posts

Just got myself a 6D. Try registering warranty online for free gift. Supposed to entitle a bag and a strap, however, there is no option to select the free bag. Anyone could share the opinion?
pengster
post May 24 2013, 03:42 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 21 2013, 10:14 PM)
You're back where? KL? Penang? Or just back in this forum? tongue.gif
KL. Haha laugh.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 21 2013, 10:24 PM)
Welcome back! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

My stuff. tongue.gif
QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 22 2013, 10:04 AM)
Awaiting for the plan to happen smile.gif whistling.gif
Thanks! All your stuff are with me. Bila mau collect? biggrin.gif
ianho
post May 24 2013, 06:27 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Yay! Got free kopi o session. I haven't met up with u guys for years. Forgot how to take pictures oso. laugh.gif
Reix
post May 24 2013, 09:00 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(andie le-ta @ May 23 2013, 10:29 PM)

Few years back I brought my 500D there. When not using store in weather proof bag and wrap in plastic bag.
As long as you dont shoot under heavy rain you are fine.
TSalexlimco
post May 24 2013, 09:12 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Mini Nici @ May 24 2013, 12:56 AM)
Just got myself a 6D. Try registering warranty online for free gift. Supposed to entitle a bag and a strap, however, there is no option to select the free bag. Anyone could share the opinion?
U need to get it registered first and when approved a "e-Promo" button will appear on the row that your camera is listed. Click that and redeem.
Mini Nici
post May 24 2013, 09:29 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 24 2013, 09:12 AM)
U need to get it registered first and when approved a "e-Promo" button will appear on the row that your camera is listed. Click that and redeem.
Yes, under e-Promo, I only have the luggage strap as free gift. There is no messenger bag. mad.gif mad.gif
chongkiatz
post May 24 2013, 09:51 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(Mini Nici @ May 24 2013, 09:29 AM)
Yes, under e-Promo, I only have the luggage strap as free gift. There is no messenger bag. mad.gif  mad.gif
Kena cheat by seller? @@"
TSalexlimco
post May 24 2013, 09:51 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Mini Nici @ May 24 2013, 09:29 AM)
Yes, under e-Promo, I only have the luggage strap as free gift. There is no messenger bag. mad.gif  mad.gif
Try to contact them directly. The staffs in the service centre are very helpful. Keep cool bro. cool2.gif
LaxxerS
post May 24 2013, 11:25 AM

34 posts

Penang by LaxxerS, on Flickr

New to Lightroom, messing up with the adjustments. C&C are welcomed.

Btw, add me to the list, I'm having 6D! rclxm9.gif
SUSthelightside
post May 24 2013, 01:04 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 24 2013, 12:38 AM)
Do you become a part of CPS since you bought the 1DC monster?
hmmmm ok will try to join, let's see how it goes...
XiuKeong
post May 24 2013, 02:25 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

fruitie
One of the shots from your lens tongue.gif

QUOTE(pengster @ May 24 2013, 03:42 AM)
KL. Haha laugh.gif
Thanks! All your stuff are with me. Bila mau collect? biggrin.gif
Anytime biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by XiuKeong: May 24 2013, 10:45 PM
GameSky
post May 24 2013, 10:54 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

also not-so-new 650d owner here, thinking to get a budget zoom lens like this one
http://shashinki.com/shop/tamron-300mm-tel...ort-p-7988.html

or any got better recommended stuff smile.gif?
fruitie
post May 24 2013, 11:36 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

XiuKeong Not too bad. biggrin.gif

I'll be buying the 40mm tomorrow because I need a short MFD. Miss my Tammy 28-75mm. My current 2870L's MFD seems to be a longer, difficult to get any food shots in restaurant. sad.gif
fruitie
post May 24 2013, 11:40 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ May 24 2013, 10:54 PM)
also not-so-new 650d owner here, thinking to get a budget zoom lens like this one
http://shashinki.com/shop/tamron-300mm-tel...ort-p-7988.html

or any got better recommended stuff smile.gif?
This is a great lens, although I have never owned one but so far I heard and read the reviews from sites, all give positive feedback. biggrin.gif
Of course you may consider the cheapest 70-200 f/4 USM without IS but again you will lose out on IS part... Though the focusing is fast in this lens but the lack of IS does make a difference. smile.gif

I had that lens before but was stolen. sweat.gif Now I have the 70-200 f/4 IS version and happy about it. biggrin.gif Though I seldom use tele-lens but it is a good companion among my other lenses. biggrin.gif
mingyuyu
post May 25 2013, 01:30 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Went here today.
IMG_9843 by tuna97, on Flickr

pano3 by tuna97, on Flickr
dafreak
post May 25 2013, 02:10 AM

1,064 posts

aircraft museum? where is that?

im thinking of getting a Sirui T-025X or T-1204X... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by dafreak: May 25 2013, 02:37 AM
GameSky
post May 25 2013, 10:00 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 24 2013, 11:40 PM)
This is a great lens, although I have never owned one but so far I heard and read the reviews from sites, all give positive feedback. biggrin.gif
Of course you may consider the cheapest 70-200 f/4 USM without IS but again you will lose out on IS part... Though the focusing is fast in this lens but the lack of IS does make a difference. smile.gif

I had that lens before but was stolen. sweat.gif Now I have the 70-200 f/4 IS version and happy about it. biggrin.gif Though I seldom use tele-lens but it is a good companion among my other lenses. biggrin.gif
aha..thanks..will post the results once i got the lens nod.gif
mingyuyu
post May 26 2013, 12:00 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 25 2013, 02:10 AM)
aircraft museum? where is that?

im thinking of getting a Sirui T-025X or T-1204X... hmm.gif
Not sure about the exact location as my father brought me there, but i think it's called Pangkalan Udara Tentera Malaysia.

Any comments sifu?

The Bug by tuna97, on Flickr
pengster
post May 26 2013, 01:51 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 24 2013, 06:27 AM)
Yay! Got free kopi o session. I haven't met up with u guys for years. Forgot how to take pictures oso.  laugh.gif
Haha thanks for the kopi in advance uncle biggrin.gif Yeah weih, so long never see you guys adi. Almost equally as long never take proper photos adi too sweat.gif
skysaw
post May 26 2013, 09:00 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 23 2013, 10:30 PM)
I never get that sharpness from tamron 17-50mm f2.8 @ f2.8 , canon 17-55mm make my 60D shine

大阿姨喂我吃蛋糕 by ChongKiat, on Flickr
17-55 IS make my 40D shine also~ very happy with it~ rclxms.gif
goldfries
post May 26 2013, 10:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ May 25 2013, 10:00 AM)
aha..thanks..will post the results once i got the lens nod.gif
more important you understand the lens. smile.gif after that you can do wonders with it.
chongkiatz
post May 27 2013, 10:56 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(skysaw @ May 26 2013, 09:00 PM)
17-55 IS make my 40D shine also~ very happy with it~ rclxms.gif
Yup , very sharp lens laugh.gif

Taiwan 九族文化村

Taiwan [10.05.2013] by ChongKiat, on Flickr
ClericKilla
post May 27 2013, 12:39 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 24 2013, 06:27 AM)
Yay! Got free kopi o session. I haven't met up with u guys for years. Forgot how to take pictures oso.  laugh.gif
You treat burger ah biggrin.gif

----- Photo spam ------

This post has been edited by ClericKilla: May 27 2013, 12:41 PM
TSalexlimco
post May 27 2013, 03:30 PM

2,021 posts

Share on blurry, shaky photo. I was on the truck pulling the car at the back while the commercial was being shot. Thank God for high ISO and the IS function on the 70-200 otherwise this picture would have been a real loss.

_LX_1468 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post May 27 2013, 04:35 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 27 2013, 03:30 PM)
Share on blurry, shaky photo. I was on the truck pulling the car at the back while the commercial was being shot. Thank God for high ISO and the IS function on the 70-200 otherwise this picture would have been a real loss.
Wonder what's so important about this picture until you still want to keep it even if it is so shaky and blurred? hmm.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 27 2013, 04:44 PM

2,021 posts

Long story short. Whole session the director was trying to get them to smile and laugh. But they are too tired after waiting for 7 hours for their turn. Somehow they managed to give a really good smile in the end and I only had this as keepers. blush.gif
mingyuyu
post May 27 2013, 05:46 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 27 2013, 04:44 PM)
Long story short. Whole session the director was trying to get them to smile and laugh. But they are too tired after waiting for 7 hours for their turn. Somehow they managed to give a really good smile in the end and I only had this as keepers. blush.gif
Oh... They are twins right? What was the commercial about?
dafreak
post May 27 2013, 06:06 PM

1,064 posts

I have a question on Canon's PhotoMarathon.

Are we allowed to convert our RAW to jpeg? or should just shoot with jpeg?
TSalexlimco
post May 27 2013, 06:15 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 27 2013, 05:46 PM)
Oh... They are twins right? What was the commercial about?
I think it's some kind of holiday seasons greeting and they are supposed to be enjoying as they are on the way to a holiday. But they were just too tired after waiting until 10pm before their turn.
TSalexlimco
post May 27 2013, 09:29 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 27 2013, 06:06 PM)

No restriction on shooting RAW and convert to JPG in camera. You are not allowed to use other softwares to edit the shots though.
dafreak
post May 27 2013, 10:25 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 27 2013, 09:29 PM)
No restriction on shooting RAW and convert to JPG in camera. You are not allowed to use other softwares to edit the shots though.
erm, i mean can convert using computer? like resize to get the file size requirement (no edits whatsoever)

This post has been edited by dafreak: May 27 2013, 10:26 PM
TSalexlimco
post May 27 2013, 11:28 PM

2,021 posts

Not sure about that. U have to read the rules very, very carefully.
dafreak
post May 27 2013, 11:38 PM

1,064 posts

Submitted photographs must not be altered by any editing software; only in-camera editing is allowed.

I guess no computer? hmm.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 28 2013, 12:00 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 27 2013, 11:38 PM)
I guess no computer? hmm.gif
I guess so then. U can change the size of the shot using the RAW processing in camera I think or shoot small or medium RAW.
SUSthelightside
post May 28 2013, 12:05 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 27 2013, 06:06 PM)

hmmm since the Canon's PhotoMarathon is a number of month away the rule may change better just wait till then and clarify with canon themselves...
dafreak
post May 28 2013, 12:11 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 28 2013, 12:00 AM)
I guess so then. U can change the size of the shot using the RAW processing in camera I think or shoot small or medium RAW.
I dont think my camera can do that..450D only tongue.gif in-camera jpeg ~2-3MB sweat.gif

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 28 2013, 12:05 AM)
hmmm since the Canon's PhotoMarathon is a number of month away the rule may change better just wait till then and clarify with canon themselves...
Not sure when is it going to be in Malaysia but in Singapore it's on 6th July
yikyeou
post May 28 2013, 12:18 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Do you guys have any experience sending camera for sensor cleaning? How long will it takes? Mine has a dust spot which I anyhow blow with blower also cannot remove.
SUSthelightside
post May 28 2013, 12:21 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 28 2013, 12:11 AM)
I dont think my camera can do that..450D only tongue.gif in-camera jpeg ~2-3MB sweat.gif
Not sure when is it going to be in Malaysia but in Singapore it's on 6th July
lol...icic
dafreak
post May 28 2013, 12:42 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ May 28 2013, 12:18 AM)
Do you guys have any experience sending camera for sensor cleaning? How long will it takes? Mine has a dust spot which I anyhow blow with blower also cannot remove.
depending on how many people they have, about 1-2 hours IIRC

been to Paremba once, people just leave it there for cleaning then come back later instead of waiting
yikyeou
post May 28 2013, 12:56 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 28 2013, 12:42 AM)
depending on how many people they have, about 1-2 hours IIRC

been to Paremba once, people just leave it there for cleaning then come back later instead of waiting
Oh, that's better! I thought have to put there for one or two days. Thanks so much! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
FeiZai_5155
post May 28 2013, 03:27 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ May 28 2013, 12:56 AM)
Oh, that's better! I thought have to put there for one or two days. Thanks so much!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
To be honest, if u gonna send in to do cleaning in penang and for my personal experience i was been told to put my cam for 1 weeks to do cleaning sweat.gif
Do update me if those penang service centre clean your sensor in few hours cause i also wanna do cleaning if can be done in short period. biggrin.gif
mingyuyu
post May 28 2013, 09:16 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

I just sent mine few months ago, around 1 hour to get the job done. Quicker than what I expected, the crowd wasn't really huge though that time.
skysaw
post May 28 2013, 10:41 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 28 2013, 09:16 AM)
I just sent mine few months ago, around 1 hour to get the job done. Quicker than what I expected, the crowd wasn't really huge though that time.
how much they charge now?
TSalexlimco
post May 28 2013, 11:20 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(skysaw @ May 28 2013, 10:41 AM)
how much they charge now?
I think it's RM50 for normal cleaning services at Peremba Square.
dafreak
post May 28 2013, 11:48 AM

1,064 posts

not free anymore? blink.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 28 2013, 11:57 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 28 2013, 11:48 AM)
not free anymore?  blink.gif
No more free sensor cleaning since 1st January 2013 except for CPS members.
skysaw
post May 28 2013, 02:39 PM

104 posts

any1 here using 50D?

now 50D can shoot FHD video

http://www.eoshd.com/content/10507/it-live...-cinema-monster
onghy
post May 28 2013, 03:49 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(skysaw @ May 28 2013, 02:39 PM)
any1 here using 50D?

now 50D can shoot FHD video

http://www.eoshd.com/content/10507/it-live...-cinema-monster
50D user here, but rarely take video, i still stick to 50D as video not an important add-on for my camera
that article do not say how to make 50D have video function?

This post has been edited by onghy: May 28 2013, 03:51 PM
Rice_Owl84
post May 28 2013, 04:13 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(onghy @ May 28 2013, 03:49 PM)
50D user here, but rarely take video, i still stick to 50D as video not an important add-on for my camera
that article do not say how to make 50D have video function?
The article says its done by Magic Lantern. A third party (hack) software for Canon cameras. Its like changing the operating system and unlocking more features to make the camera more capable.

dafreak
post May 28 2013, 04:13 PM

1,064 posts

50D is firmware locked..you need custom firmware like MagicLantern to get it
mingyuyu
post May 28 2013, 04:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 28 2013, 11:57 AM)
No more free sensor cleaning since 1st January 2013 except for CPS members.
how about under warranty ones?
TSalexlimco
post May 28 2013, 04:42 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 28 2013, 04:21 PM)
how about under warranty ones?
I don't think sensor cleaning is included under warranty services.
mingyuyu
post May 28 2013, 04:54 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 28 2013, 04:42 PM)
huh, i think i sent mine earlier this year, they didn't charge at all.
chongkiatz
post May 28 2013, 05:18 PM

6,793 posts

Is that my HDR overcook?

Taiwan [11.05.2013] by ChongKiat, on Flickr
goldfries
post May 28 2013, 05:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

that's a nice HDR work.
chongkiatz
post May 28 2013, 05:47 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 28 2013, 05:24 PM)
that's a nice HDR work.
Mean it doesnt overcook? Because my screen isnt calibrate well, I just use iphone screen look on it, and do u feel got abit senget? I tired adjust le, sometime see senget abit, sometime not hmmm....
goldfries
post May 28 2013, 05:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

don't feel senget. maybe you feel senget due to the hills at the background.
chucky
post May 28 2013, 05:55 PM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

I feel the sengetness can be felt because the picture is not symmetrical. See the road leading up to the mansion, if you shot from the middle of the road, maybe it won't feel senget.
chongkiatz
post May 28 2013, 07:00 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 28 2013, 05:48 PM)
don't feel senget. maybe you feel senget due to the hills at the background.
QUOTE(chucky @ May 28 2013, 05:55 PM)
I feel the sengetness can be felt because the picture is not symmetrical. See the road leading up to the mansion, if you shot from the middle of the road, maybe it won't feel senget.
I need to take note next time nod.gif nod.gif
SUSthelightside
post May 29 2013, 03:04 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

long time no midnight photo spam! so I spam! biggrin.gif
khaiandrew
post May 29 2013, 09:10 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Is that really me? by iAndrewLim, on Flickr

Just got my Sigma 30mm 1.4 a few days ago, this lens is so much better than the old one shocking.gif
onghy
post May 29 2013, 10:09 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ May 28 2013, 04:13 PM)
The article says its done by Magic Lantern.  A third party (hack) software for Canon cameras.  Its like changing the operating system and unlocking more features to make the camera more capable.
jz saw that at DPreview, the firmware still in development stage, anyway:

Of course, since the 50D did not include video capability, it provides no audio recording or input port. You'll need an external setup to record sound. Users attracted by the low cost of a used 50D must also take into account that recording video requires very fast CF cards, which are themselves expensive.

Stark Industries
post May 29 2013, 10:41 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 28 2013, 05:42 PM)
Hello all...

Fresh meat here....eos 600d reporting in.... smile.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 29 2013, 11:27 AM

2,021 posts

Welcome, welcome. rclxms.gif

No I wonder what happened to our original IronMan. Don't seems to see him around lately. hmm.gif
goldfries
post May 29 2013, 12:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

He busy la. Just met his brother a few months back, sold him my stuff. He busy with his video / photo production I suppose. smile.gif
Stark Industries
post May 29 2013, 02:19 PM

101 posts

I hope.....u guy can support me about canon...i am deserted here...surrounded by nikon guy....
XiuKeong
post May 29 2013, 03:23 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

Tomorrow me, pengster and fruitie will be having TCSS session. Anyone free can join us smile.gif

Time: 9pm

Note: goldfries and ianho are most welcome to join us tongue.gif

This post has been edited by XiuKeong: May 29 2013, 03:26 PM
azrul83
post May 29 2013, 03:23 PM

22 posts

hello guys!!
newbie here. Reporting duty with 60D.
anyone from KOTA KINABALU!!??

cheerssss
ben5113
post May 29 2013, 03:28 PM

60D Red Stripes Coming Through!!!
Coming Soon 5dMk3 GG!!!
TSalexlimco
post May 29 2013, 03:32 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ben5113 @ May 29 2013, 03:28 PM)
60D Red Stripes Coming Through!!!
Coming Soon 5dMk3 GG!!!
So are you a 60D owner? Should I update the owner's list?
TSalexlimco
post May 29 2013, 03:34 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(azrul83 @ May 29 2013, 03:23 PM)
hello guys!!

cheerssss
Welcome, welcome. Hope you will shoot many beautiful pictures with your toy. rclxms.gif
chucky
post May 29 2013, 03:47 PM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

I'm sure there are some Kota Kinabalu people lurking around...
TSalexlimco
post May 29 2013, 03:55 PM

2,021 posts

Is Digiboy from KK? Not sure but I'm sure some of us are from around there.
azrul83
post May 29 2013, 03:57 PM

22 posts

wah great2!! hope can c u guys soon!!
C.P.U
post May 29 2013, 04:13 PM

2,280 posts

any input regarding 70-200L f2.8 without IS? Thinking get one.. time replenish my L back
ben5113
post May 29 2013, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 29 2013, 03:32 PM)
So are you a 60D owner? Should I update the owner's list?
Yeap.. a proud owner of 60D =)
fruitie
post May 29 2013, 06:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ May 29 2013, 04:13 PM)
any input regarding 70-200L f2.8 without IS? Thinking get one.. time replenish my L back
I heard it is sharper than the IS Mark I. I cannot recall if it is sharper or the F4 IS, I think it should be sharper than F4 IS version.
goldfries
post May 29 2013, 06:35 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

no. F4 IS was the best among 70-200 range until f2.8 IS II came along.
Clem1982
post May 29 2013, 08:22 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

hello guys!!

cheerssss
Yes one here smile.gif currently in KL though tongue.gif

Bah, apa lagi? Bagus ko test try tuh 60D masa moginum nanti thumbup.gif
-kytz-
post May 29 2013, 08:42 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 29 2013, 03:23 PM)
Tomorrow me, pengster and fruitie will be having TCSS session. Anyone free can join us smile.gif

Alamak, next day got exam lerr sad.gif
LegendLee
post May 29 2013, 09:15 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ May 29 2013, 04:13 PM)
It's good.
Fast, very sharp, accurate and built like a tank.
One of my most reliable workhorse. Makes event photography a whole lot easier.

Only thing is that it's heavy, large, no IS and no weather sealing.

goldfries
post May 29 2013, 10:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

no IS and weather seal is fine. I just mind the weight. f2.8 is really helpful under some conditions.

change topic - 4 out of 5 speakers that day are Canon user. smile.gif

fruitie
post May 29 2013, 10:26 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 29 2013, 06:35 PM)
no. F4 IS was the best among 70-200 range until f2.8 IS II came along.
Good to know. Happy that I own the second sharpest 70-200. laugh.gif
goldfries
post May 29 2013, 10:30 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if you selling off then i get from you. tongue.gif

my 70-200 F4 is good for photos but video is a problem without IS when at long range and not on tripod. even on tripod also when do focusing, slight touch and it magnifies the wobble.
fruitie
post May 29 2013, 10:33 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 29 2013, 10:30 PM)
if you selling off then i get from you. tongue.gif

my 70-200 F4 is good for photos but video is a problem without IS when at long range and not on tripod. even on tripod also when do focusing, slight touch and it magnifies the wobble.
laugh.gif I'll remember you when I really want to sell it off. tongue.gif

Eh, the image you shared just now is a talk? I'm on mobile now, didn't view properly.
goldfries
post May 29 2013, 10:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah talk. this weekend.
razkal
post May 29 2013, 11:11 PM

416 posts

First attempt capturing motorcross event in Putrajaya last weekend. Using 6D and old zuiko 135mm. Only few came out sharp. sweat.gif

fruitie
post May 29 2013, 11:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

To me those are nice photos. biggrin.gif

But if me, (me only ah) I will edit it to be more punchy, to get the dramatic feel. biggrin.gif
And can crop a bit on the empty spaces. blush.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: May 29 2013, 11:13 PM
razkal
post May 29 2013, 11:15 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 29 2013, 11:12 PM)
To me those are nice photos. biggrin.gif

But if me, (me only ah) I will edit it to be more punchy, to get the dramatic feel. biggrin.gif
And can crop a bit on the empty spaces. blush.gif
The lens is less contrasty wide open and i'm using it wide open probably that's why it appears less punchy. I think if edit too much appear like overedit. Dun know how to make it more natural
andie le-ta
post May 30 2013, 12:43 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ May 24 2013, 09:00 AM)
Few years back I brought my 500D there. When not using store in weather proof bag and wrap in plastic bag.
As long as you dont shoot under heavy rain you are fine.
alright~ thx for the tips! biggrin.gif guess i have to bring lots of plastic bag~

hello guys!!

cheerssss
me from KK oso~ smile.gif but staying in KL now~

wanna ask the sifus,is it possible for me to shoot the milky way using cheap lens (18-55 or 50mm 1.8)? im hoping to take some pic of milky way up later when i climb mound Kinabalu (if kitlens can capture la~ haha)
dafreak
post May 30 2013, 01:55 AM

1,064 posts

me from KK oso~ smile.gif but staying in KL now~

wanna ask the sifus,is it possible for me to shoot the milky way using cheap lens (18-55 or 50mm 1.8)? im hoping to take some pic of milky way up later when i climb mound Kinabalu (if kitlens can capture la~ haha)

most important is u know which direction to point your camera, a wide lens is recommended though to prevent startrails..

at the widest for 18-55, you can probably expose for about ~20s
C.P.U
post May 30 2013, 08:58 AM

2,280 posts

Thank guy for the input.. I still consider it as my job rarely use on 70-200 unless candid
V-Zero
post May 30 2013, 09:04 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 29 2013, 03:23 PM)

SS2 mall is like 5mins from my place. hmm.gif
No Canon gears now can go ka? blush.gif
XiuKeong
post May 30 2013, 09:09 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ May 30 2013, 09:04 AM)
SS2 mall is like 5mins from my place.  hmm.gif
No Canon gears now can go ka?  blush.gif
Everyone is invited tongue.gif
TSalexlimco
post May 30 2013, 10:49 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(andie le-ta @ May 30 2013, 12:43 AM)
alright~ thx for the tips!  biggrin.gif  guess i have to bring lots of plastic bag~
me from KK oso~  smile.gif  but staying in KL now~

Yes you can. Expose for 20s @ f/1.8, 18mm. Use ISO 1600 at least and you should get the shot. If you need help, refer to my blog. smile.gif
dafreak
post May 30 2013, 12:19 PM

1,064 posts

18-55 cant go 1.8 lor tongue.gif 3.6 max
chongkiatz
post May 30 2013, 12:27 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 30 2013, 12:19 PM)
18-55 cant go 1.8 lor tongue.gif 3.6 max
I think alex mean to ur 50mm f1.8, and kit lens 1855mm can go 3.5 not 3.6 hehe
TSalexlimco
post May 30 2013, 12:36 PM

2,021 posts

Yah, yah. My bad. You can try with your 50 1.8 or your kit lens. I've got many friends who shot the Milky using the 18-55. smile.gif
fruitie
post May 30 2013, 02:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 30 2013, 12:27 PM)
I think alex mean to ur 50mm f1.8, and kit lens 1855mm can go 3.5 not 3.6 hehe
He said 18mm f/1.8 laugh.gif laugh.gif
C.P.U
post May 30 2013, 03:14 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 30 2013, 02:24 PM)
tongue.gif Take all moneyyyy...
llsphinxll
post May 30 2013, 03:44 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

not sure if this has been shared here before
videography on the 100d

link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBnPBJjT8MI

This post has been edited by llsphinxll: May 30 2013, 03:45 PM
dafreak
post May 30 2013, 04:32 PM

1,064 posts

improved touch focus speed? O.O
goldfries
post May 30 2013, 05:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ May 30 2013, 03:14 PM)
tongue.gif Take all moneyyyy...
http://www.dpreview.com/previews/sigma-18-35-1-8 tongue.gif
dafreak
post May 30 2013, 08:21 PM

1,064 posts

waiting for reviews for that lens tongue.gif

so the 100D touch focus is really that fast? unsure.gif
chongkiatz
post May 30 2013, 09:12 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 30 2013, 02:24 PM)
ops my bad didn't notice it , 18mm f1.8 laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSthelightside
post May 30 2013, 10:07 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 30 2013, 08:21 PM)
waiting for reviews for that lens tongue.gif

so the 100D touch focus is really that fast? unsure.gif
i doubt it that video is frm canon themselves lol biggrin.gif

we need actual user to test it to know for sure...
dafreak
post May 30 2013, 10:11 PM

1,064 posts

goldie was at their launch in malaysia today, so he must have tried it? hmm.gif
fruitie
post May 30 2013, 11:04 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif
goldfries
post May 30 2013, 11:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

was at the launch. i tested 101 other things on the 100D except touch screen cos I didn't even remember it has touch screen.

Sure I saw people touching it but I was busy getting the feel of the body and how it feels changing settings.

Overall - I'm pretty comfortable with it. The d-pad has no functions though, unlike the other entry level where the top / left / right / down buttons have some function tied to it.
SUSthelightside
post May 30 2013, 11:24 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

hmmmm.... need to bring in my 1dc to canon to update my firmware hmmmmmm....
http://www.canonrumors.com/2013/05/feature...r-the-eos-1d-c/
only in Europe wtf doh.gif I wonder why they won't release it to public...probably scared hacked 1dx can shoot 4k lol...think I'll send it in only when I need to...currently happily shooting with it...

anyway if there are any 1ds3 1d4 1dx owner here all got update from canon...
http://www.canonrumors.com/2013/05/firmware-canon-eos-1d-x/
http://www.canonrumors.com/2013/05/eos-1d-...irmware-update/

This post has been edited by thelightside: May 30 2013, 11:29 PM
dafreak
post May 30 2013, 11:26 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 30 2013, 11:04 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif
wah upgraded to 5d3 brows.gif tongue.gif
SUSthelightside
post May 30 2013, 11:27 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif
wah nice setup!
fruitie
post May 30 2013, 11:39 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 30 2013, 11:26 PM)
wah upgraded to 5d3 brows.gif tongue.gif
brows.gif
Not mine. cry.gif

QUOTE(thelightside @ May 30 2013, 11:27 PM)
wah nice setup!
Yeah, I like the 50L. biggrin.gif
LegendLee
post May 30 2013, 11:47 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

Recently shot a video for my friend's kickstarter project
Though I did shoot video quite a number of times before, I still really learn a lot from this project.... still got a whole lot more to learn though.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/pirate...veryone-can-use
andie le-ta
post May 30 2013, 11:47 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 30 2013, 01:55 AM)
most important is u know which direction to point your camera, a wide lens is recommended though to prevent startrails..

at the widest for 18-55, you can probably expose for about ~20s
QUOTE(alexlimco @ May 30 2013, 10:49 AM)
Yes you can. Expose for 20s @ f/1.8, 18mm. Use ISO 1600 at least and you should get the shot. If you need help, refer to my blog. smile.gif
thx for tips sifu alexlimco & dafreak~ biggrin.gif will look into your blog and more tutorials later~ smile.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 30 2013, 05:54 PM)
drool.gif hope that it's not as pricey as the L series~ laugh.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiFFqX4DEkc

is 100d combined with the new 18-55mm STM lens is really fast or the other lens is slower? hmm.gif
goldfries
post May 30 2013, 11:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

tested the 100D with 40mm STM. AF during video / live view is pretty fast.
SUSthelightside
post May 30 2013, 11:59 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(andie le-ta @ May 30 2013, 11:47 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiFFqX4DEkc
is 100d combined with the new 18-55mm STM lens is really fast or the other lens is slower?  hmm.gif
wah from the video it seems all the new lv focus with stm lens is really quite fast on this camera...
pengster
post May 31 2013, 12:23 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif
Wah sis upgraded to 5D3 and 50L adi ah. Imba brows.gif
fruitie
post May 31 2013, 12:30 AM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ May 31 2013, 12:23 AM)
Totally imba. sad.gif
Envy you.
XiuKeong
post May 31 2013, 12:39 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ May 31 2013, 12:23 AM)
She diam diam upgrade tongue.gif
C.P.U
post May 31 2013, 02:39 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 30 2013, 05:54 PM)
blush.gif my 5D are not supported by it.. or else I really buy it.. tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post May 31 2013, 05:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Had a chance to play with L lens for my first time. The 16-35 is just awesome! Its so quick in focusing and sharp, love the perspective produced by it. Another one is the 70-200 f2.8 is II, wow, this monster is so heavy, hand holding it is quick hard although with IS, the slowest shutter speed I can get with it is 1/20 only. This lens focuses even faster than the 16-35 imo, and it is crazily sharp, using it on crop sensor to shoot would be troublesome sometimes as the 70mm is still very tele for half/full body shoot, and you might get blocked by a lot of people if shooting in group.

damn, i couldn't justify my kit lens anymore sweat.gif but no money, nothing to do ahah
chongkiatz
post May 31 2013, 06:02 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 31 2013, 05:36 PM)
Had a chance to play with L lens for my first time. The 16-35 is just awesome! Its so quick in focusing and sharp, love the perspective produced by it. Another one is the 70-200 f2.8 is II, wow, this monster is so heavy, hand holding it is quick hard although with IS, the slowest shutter speed I can get with it is 1/20 only. This lens focuses even faster than the 16-35 imo, and it is crazily sharp, using it on crop sensor to shoot would be troublesome sometimes as the 70mm is still very tele for half/full body shoot, and you might get blocked by a lot of people if shooting in group.

damn, i couldn't justify my kit lens anymore sweat.gif but no money, nothing to do ahah
Not satisfy with 24105mm? Hehe, that the reason I stil not consider to go ff, 2470 f2.8 is so expensive and heavy, 1755mm f2.8 on crop is just too good that make me no reason to go ff yet, 70-200 2.8 II is heavy and hand will patah if carry whole day haha, and 70200 + 1635 will burn ur pocket =.=
mingyuyu
post May 31 2013, 06:28 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

nonono, i mean my 18-135mm kit lens, didn't even take out the lens for the 3 days trip. too bad non of my friends have ff, if not mounting the 16-35 on it would be so so so wide. they have rich parent brows.gif , but both lens are owned by two different people. such a pleasure experience to shoot whole day with these 2 canon's top L lenses. i carry my camera without strap before using the 70-200, but after mounting it, i can't stand the weight of holding it with bare hands, so i decided to use the strap and hang it around my shoulder and waist when not shooting, helps a lot. but when holding it up again, the weight is tiring.

Sharing one of the photos taken by the 70-200, the lens is quite hard to use for macro shooting, you need to focus really far from the subject, and at f2.8 with the closest focusing distance, things are a bit soft and CA is there.

the little flower by tuna97, on Flickr

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: May 31 2013, 08:03 PM
SUSthelightside
post Jun 1 2013, 02:23 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

its true that the canon 70-200 ii is heavy...but you'll get use to it in no time and in time you won't mind cause the quality is just excellent!
TSalexlimco
post Jun 1 2013, 10:03 AM

2,021 posts

5 more days and it is Bali, here I come. Super excited. rclxm9.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 1 2013, 12:25 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Bird picture taken with 70-200.

Reix
post Jun 1 2013, 12:30 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 1 2013, 12:25 PM)

If you didn't mention 70-200, I thought you taken this with cheapo lens.
A 55-250 can take better photo than this.

SUSthelightside
post Jun 1 2013, 12:33 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 1 2013, 12:25 PM)

hmmm its the the first version or second or the f4....
think ur pic suffer from motion blur...
mingyuyu
post Jun 1 2013, 12:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Jun 1 2013, 12:30 PM)
huh what do you mean by that? it was at f2.8 and 200mm. if the photo angle and composition not good enough, then it's my fault. but if you mean IQ, i don't know how to reply you.

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 1 2013, 12:33 PM)
hmmm its the the first version or second or the f4....
think ur pic suffer from motion blur...
quite sure it didn't, i zoomed in into 100% crop yesterday, everything was tack sharp. its the f2.8 is II
SUSthelightside
post Jun 1 2013, 12:45 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 1 2013, 12:38 PM)
huh what do you mean by that? it was at f2.8 and 200mm. if the photo angle and composition not good enough, then it's my fault. but if you mean IQ, i don't know how to reply you.
quite sure it didn't, i zoomed in into 100% crop yesterday, everything was tack sharp. its the f2.8 is II
icic maybe its just the the image compression...
mingyuyu
post Jun 1 2013, 12:49 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 1 2013, 12:45 PM)
icic maybe its just the the image compression...
could be tongue.gif forgive me for taking a bad picture of bird, since it's my first bird picture.
dafreak
post Jun 1 2013, 10:45 PM

1,064 posts

70-200 is really not suitable for macro la doh.gif

btw

just sharing tongue.gif biggrin.gif
chongkiatz
post Jun 1 2013, 11:42 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jun 1 2013, 10:45 PM)

btw

What mean by this pic? He using live view to take pic?
dafreak
post Jun 2 2013, 12:16 AM

1,064 posts

yup... biggrin.gif
chongkiatz
post Jun 2 2013, 12:21 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jun 2 2013, 12:16 AM)
yup... biggrin.gif
Actually quite alot pro using live view shoot, keda.Z sometime using live view to shoot too, can check out his video
SUSthelightside
post Jun 2 2013, 12:23 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

btw

think he shoot video lah... got red dot at top right corner...
SUSthelightside
post Jun 2 2013, 12:25 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 2 2013, 12:21 AM)
Actually quite alot pro using live view shoot, keda.Z sometime using live view to shoot too, can check out his video
really u mean he shoot "photos" normal angle using live view like what the guy is doing in the pic???
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 12:26 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 2 2013, 12:25 AM)
really u mean he shoot "photos" normal angle using live view like what the guy is doing in the pic???
Looks like he is shooting video sweat.gif
dafreak
post Jun 2 2013, 12:45 AM

1,064 posts

ok..if u guys say so tongue.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dafreak: Jun 2 2013, 12:45 AM
SUSthelightside
post Jun 2 2013, 12:54 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jun 2 2013, 12:45 AM)
ok..if u guys say so tongue.gif sweat.gif
its pretty much confirm...I just look at my 5d3 and looking at the pic he's at video mode as well smile.gif
TSalexlimco
post Jun 2 2013, 12:58 AM

2,021 posts

btw

I don't really see anything wrong with use LV for shooting and I frequently do that for my landscapes. Recently, I've watched the great Manny Librodo doing that for his shots and I do agree that it's easier to frame and compose the shots with LV too.
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 01:22 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 2 2013, 12:58 AM)
I don't really see anything wrong with use LV for shooting and I frequently do that for my landscapes. Recently, I've watched the great Manny Librodo doing that for his shots and I do agree that it's easier to frame and compose the shots with LV too.
but the bad thing for LV is, the focusing of course, you can get it right with manual. The main thing I don't like with LV is the shutter delay/lag, when you press the shutter, you have to wait for the mirror to flip and the shutter to do the job, it's a lot slower than viewfinder shooting.
fruitie
post Jun 2 2013, 01:24 AM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

I want to use LV to shoot also cannot... sad.gif

5D has no LV. sad.gif
LegendLee
post Jun 2 2013, 01:56 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Jun 1 2013, 12:30 PM)
I don't know what you guys are talking about.
But it seems pretty fine on my iPhone.
Sharpness wise pretty good too, can clearly differentiate the smaller feathers on its chest.

Composition wise, okla. it's not exactly the best but its not worth deleting.

Not to mention this is not a macro shot. I rather use a tele lens to shoot a bird then a macro lens.
mengsuan
post Jun 2 2013, 04:14 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Checking in Canon thread after some number of months/years of inactivity.

I'd like to hear from you guys about used 5D2 vs 6D. Which would you guys prefer?
fruitie
post Jun 2 2013, 04:16 AM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 2 2013, 04:14 AM)
Checking in Canon thread after some number of months/years of inactivity.

I'd like to hear from you guys about used 5D2 vs 6D. Which would you guys prefer?
Use your 40D first and end of story.
You know that you only need to go out and shoot.
Well, that's my wish as well. laugh.gif

Really need to close my eyes now. Goodnight. tongue.gif
mengsuan
post Jun 2 2013, 04:24 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 2 2013, 04:16 AM)
Use your 40D first and end of story.
You know that you only need to go out and shoot.
Well, that's my wish as well. laugh.gif

Really need to close my eyes now. Goodnight. tongue.gif
Our conversation at this wee hours has reignited the passion to bring out the old camera biggrin.gif

I'm not sure how many of the old timers that I know are still here.
chongkiatz
post Jun 2 2013, 08:24 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 2 2013, 12:25 AM)
Yes, when he is on 5dmark2, I saw he attach 70200mm and using live view to shoot, I not sure why but maybe he wan to break rules of third to frame his subject, but I think now he no need anymore since he got 5dmark3 which have more focus point and accurate
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 01:31 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jun 2 2013, 01:56 AM)
I don't know what you guys are talking about.
But it seems pretty fine on my iPhone.
Sharpness wise pretty good too, can clearly differentiate the smaller feathers on its chest.

Composition wise, okla. it's not exactly the best but its not worth deleting.

Not to mention this is not a macro shot. I rather use a tele lens to shoot a bird then a macro lens.
Maybe he thinks that the bokeh is not enough. But those grass/leaves are just few centimeters from the bird, so at 200mm f2.8 I couldn't think how I can make the picture looks better.
chucky
post Jun 2 2013, 02:43 PM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

maybe the key is "less bokeh". Next time try shoot at smaller aperture biggrin.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 03:08 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(chucky @ Jun 2 2013, 02:43 PM)
maybe the key is "less bokeh". Next time try shoot at smaller aperture biggrin.gif
huh? that would bring all the distractions into the picture a lot more.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 2 2013, 03:11 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 03:08 PM)
huh? that would bring all the distractions into the picture a lot more.
That's how you learn to pay attention to framing and composition. smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 03:59 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 2 2013, 03:11 PM)
That's how you learn to pay attention to framing and composition. smile.gif
I didn't have the opportunity to frame as I want that time, the bird was literally hiding inside a bushes and there are quite a lot of twigs around, making my view gets really blocked. hmm... but this is not the best picture that I can make, I just wanted to try to get some bird pictures using the lens as it was my first time using it.

Sharing a macro.

The Eyes by tuna97, on Flickr
TSalexlimco
post Jun 2 2013, 05:07 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 03:59 PM)
I didn't have the opportunity to frame as I want that time, the bird was literally hiding inside a bushes and there are quite a lot of twigs around, making my view gets really blocked. hmm... but this is not the best picture that I can make, I just wanted to try to get some bird pictures using the lens as it was my first time using it.
Sharing a macro.

The Eyes by tuna97, on Flickr
Lacking depth of field. What aperture did you set your lens to before reversing it?
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 05:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 2 2013, 05:07 PM)
Lacking depth of field. What aperture did you set your lens to before reversing it?
it's already f9/11 if I am not wrong. I actually liked the lack of depth of field, leading the focus to the eyes only.
-kytz-
post Jun 2 2013, 05:32 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 05:21 PM)
it's already f9/11 if I am not wrong. I actually liked the lack of depth of field, leading the focus to the eyes only.
Didn't quite work out as the eyes aren't quite visible. From what I know, fully capturing the eyes of the insects and their head is quite important. If the head was facing you(or the side) instead of the back, it could have worked IMHO smile.gif

http://www.flickr.com/photos/liewwk/308492...157607105893168

http://www.flickr.com/photos/liewwk/267944...157607105893168

http://500px.com/photo/4916125

mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 05:37 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 2 2013, 05:32 PM)
Didn't quite work out as the eyes aren't quite visible. From what I know, fully capturing the eyes of the insects and their head is quite important. If the head was facing you(or the side) instead of the back, it could have worked IMHO smile.gif

http://www.flickr.com/photos/liewwk/308492...157607105893168

http://www.flickr.com/photos/liewwk/267944...157607105893168

http://500px.com/photo/4916125
hmmm yeah. but i want to show the other side of the eyes, maybe it didn't worked out so well. sad.gif
-kytz-
post Jun 2 2013, 05:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 05:37 PM)
hmmm yeah. but i want to show the other side of the eyes, maybe it didn't worked out so well.  sad.gif
Shooting from the front is too mainstream~ tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 05:39 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 2 2013, 05:38 PM)
Shooting from the front is too mainstream~ tongue.gif
thats what in my mind that time.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 2 2013, 05:40 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 05:21 PM)
To me it is very distracting and the whole picture has only 10% in focus with the rest totally out of focus. sad.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 05:43 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 2 2013, 05:40 PM)
To me it is very distracting and the whole picture has only 10% in focus with the rest totally out of focus. sad.gif
could be, i will try to avoid shots like that in the future, didn't work quite well.

how about this?

TSalexlimco
post Jun 2 2013, 05:54 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 05:43 PM)
could be, i will try to avoid shots like that in the future, didn't work quite well.

how about this?

This looks good to me. Motion is depicted and the whole shot is well balanced. rclxms.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 05:55 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 2 2013, 05:54 PM)
This looks good to me. Motion is depicted and the whole shot is well balanced. rclxms.gif
Thanks! Didn't thought that this shot will turns out well, since I used the 200mm end of zoom instead of those UWA.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 2 2013, 06:18 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 05:55 PM)
Thanks! Didn't thought that this shot will turns out well, since I used the 200mm end of zoom instead of those UWA.
Not all landscapes and outdoor shots need to be in wide angle. Sometimes the compression of the zoom lens can bring the subject(s) more into focus instead of shooting wide. smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 06:23 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 2 2013, 06:18 PM)
Not all landscapes and outdoor shots need to be in wide angle. Sometimes the compression of the zoom lens can bring the subject(s) more into focus instead of shooting wide. smile.gif
yeap smile.gif when i switched to the 16-35, I don't really like the scene anymore, because the trees around are just so distracting.
LegendLee
post Jun 2 2013, 06:30 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 01:31 PM)
Maybe he thinks that the bokeh is not enough. But those grass/leaves are just few centimeters from the bird, so at 200mm f2.8 I couldn't think how I can make the picture looks better.
Technicality wise, it's ok.
DOF isn't exactly too shallow, most of the bird is in focus.
Did you increase clarity / contrast ? Doesn't seem too no d with that.

But it's not a very interesting picture
Perhaps a frontal shot, or shots of the bird flying/eating rather than just standing still will be nicer.

Of course it's easier said then done. Since you need a lot of luck and patience.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Jun 2 2013, 06:30 PM
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 06:31 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jun 2 2013, 06:30 PM)
Technicality wise, it's ok.
DOF isn't exactly too shallow, most of the bird is in focus.
Did you increase clarity / contrast ? Doesn't seem too no d with that.

But it's not a very interesting picture
Perhaps a frontal shot, or shots of the bird flying/eating rather than just standing still will be nicer.

Of course it's easier said then done. Since you need a lot of luck and patience.
those animals wouldn't stay there and pose for you, they can fly away anytime. so what i can do that time was to go near of it as quiet as possible then quickly grab a picture before scaring it away.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 2 2013, 06:51 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 06:31 PM)
those animals wouldn't stay there and pose for you, they can fly away anytime. so what i can do that time was to go near of it as quiet as possible then quickly grab a picture before scaring it away.
The answer my friend is in a 600mm lens or longer. tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 07:04 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 2 2013, 06:51 PM)
The answer my friend is in a 600mm lens or longer. tongue.gif
haha, but the money... sweat.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPVFPI4hIMs

this might be a better solution rclxms.gif
chongkiatz
post Jun 2 2013, 07:18 PM

6,793 posts

I miss this sad.gif sad.gif

LegendLee
post Jun 2 2013, 08:45 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 2 2013, 06:31 PM)
Of course, that's why you need patience and luck.
Especially birding. Some even spend months just to get that one perfect shot.
Even with a 600mm, that won't change the fact that the birds will pose for you.

mingyuyu
post Jun 2 2013, 08:46 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jun 2 2013, 08:45 PM)
Of course, that's why you need patience and luck.
Especially birding. Some even spend months just to get that one perfect shot.
Even with a 600mm, that won't change the fact that the birds will pose for you.
agreed. luckily I am not a bird shooter though tongue.gif insects are way easier for photos.
Icehart
post Jun 2 2013, 10:16 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 2 2013, 07:18 PM)
I miss this  sad.gif  sad.gif

What is that? Looks dam nice. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jun 2 2013, 11:05 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

why you all complaining Live View?

My commercial work almost all exclusively Live View leh. So convenient.

Some more 60D with adjustable LCD is awesomeness. That's why till now cannot go 5D3 / 6D.

I may go 6D once I find out how to HDMI out to small LCD or tablet device mounted on hotshoe or something.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 3 2013, 07:54 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 2 2013, 11:05 PM)
why you all complaining Live View?

My commercial work almost all exclusively Live View leh. So convenient.

Some more 60D with adjustable LCD is awesomeness. That's why till now cannot go 5D3 / 6D.

I may go 6D once I find out how to HDMI out to small LCD or tablet device mounted on hotshoe or something.
Use the on-the-go cable on your Android and DSLR Controller app.
goldfries
post Jun 3 2013, 09:18 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

1. need to find the mount for device.

2. DSLR controller app no where near the experience on LV screen la. The response a bit sluggish (last i tried, more than a year ago).

in fact I was just thinking to settle point #1 and use EOS tethering via WiFi on 6D last time but when I tested out 6D's LV over WiFi, it was quite sluggish as well.

I think HDMI out to small LCD is still best.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 3 2013, 10:19 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 3 2013, 09:18 AM)
1. need to find the mount for device.

2. DSLR controller app no where near the experience on LV screen la. The response a bit sluggish (last i tried, more than a year ago).

in fact I was just thinking to settle point #1 and use EOS tethering via WiFi on 6D last time but when I tested out 6D's LV over WiFi, it was quite sluggish as well.

I think HDMI out to small LCD is still best.
Try it with an Android tablet (10.1") and you'll love it. Get bicycle mounts that can fit around your tripod legs and you are set to go. smile.gif
mengsuan
post Jun 3 2013, 11:40 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Can 6D upload photos via Wi-Fi?
TSalexlimco
post Jun 3 2013, 11:50 AM

2,021 posts

Upload to handphone then only upload to social media. Saw it working right in front of my eyes, it's really cool. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jun 3 2013, 12:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 3 2013, 10:19 AM)
Try it with an Android tablet (10.1") and you'll love it. Get bicycle mounts that can fit around your tripod legs and you are set to go. smile.gif
hrm. good idea. http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/SK3-Bike-Bicycl...#ht_2349wt_1139

nmind i go hunt around first.

prefer 7" tablet types. eg Nexus 7.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 3 2013, 12:14 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 3 2013, 12:10 PM)
hrm. good idea. http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/SK3-Bike-Bicycl...#ht_2349wt_1139

nmind i go hunt around first.

prefer 7" tablet types. eg Nexus 7.
Been looking for one but not really seriously. If you come across one, do share it out here too. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jun 3 2013, 12:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

like this ah? http://www.amazon.com/BESTEK-generation-sm...ds=tablet+clamp

ahhh this one looks better. http://www.amazon.com/TAB804-Arkon-Inches-.../ref=pd_sim_e_4
dafreak
post Jun 3 2013, 02:08 PM

1,064 posts

clamps on flat stuff not round hmm.gif
goldfries
post Jun 3 2013, 03:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

add with this la http://www.amazon.com/CMP227-Motorcycle-Bi...rds=arkon+clamp

*there are others, direct mount to round areas. lz to browse. you guys have fun browsing.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 3 2013, 03:50 PM

2,021 posts

This one looks good. I think it's time for me to visit a bicycle shop soon.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bike-Bicycle-Motor...400489171707%26
goldfries
post Jun 3 2013, 03:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

for iphone la. i prefer one with 7" tablet support and some arm.
TSalexlimco
post Jun 3 2013, 04:00 PM

2,021 posts

That's why I said go to bicycle shop. Hmm... maybe Digicolor will have something like that. hmm.gif
goldfries
post Jun 3 2013, 04:02 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Bicycle shop sell things like that? DigiColor I haven't check out.

thinking of a combo of this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0074AVUI...=A11V2MDXFAC9IW

with this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00585CLV...d=ATVPDKIKX0DER

and / or

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005BON4K...=A12IPMVN62L4AI
TSalexlimco
post Jun 3 2013, 04:15 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 3 2013, 04:02 PM)
thumbup.gif Good idea. Very flexible setup for an external LV monitor. 7" - 10" some more. tongue.gif
dafreak
post Jun 3 2013, 06:13 PM

1,064 posts

anyone tried this before? hmm.gif

goldfries
post Jun 3 2013, 06:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i think ianho own this lens. donno if it's still with him.
mengsuan
post Jun 3 2013, 08:13 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 3 2013, 11:50 AM)
Upload to handphone then only upload to social media. Saw it working right in front of my eyes, it's really cool. smile.gif
Nice, that's pretty good because phones can have greater flexibility to upload to anything of our choice
mingyuyu
post Jun 3 2013, 09:27 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

http://fstoppers.com/review-you-should-wan...f2-8-sport-lens

wow, why can't canon make a lens like this?
ek_lim
post Jun 4 2013, 10:39 AM

i Am cRazY!!
734 posts

Just get a 100D yesterday as my second camera!! Love it so much!!
TSalexlimco
post Jun 4 2013, 10:46 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ek_lim @ Jun 4 2013, 10:39 AM)
Just get a 100D yesterday as my second camera!! Love it so much!!
Give us a short review soon and how much did you pay for it? smile.gif
ek_lim
post Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM

i Am cRazY!!
734 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 4 2013, 10:46 AM)
Give us a short review soon and how much did you pay for it? smile.gif
I get the body for RM1690 plus 40mm pancake lens RM688.

Smallest body and smallest lens... Damn small and light... haha... Can use as my travel camera already... Will go for shooting when free and give u guys a review... smile.gif
fruitie
post Jun 4 2013, 11:01 AM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(ek_lim @ Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM)
I get the body for RM1690 plus 40mm pancake lens RM688.

Smallest body and smallest lens... Damn small and light... haha... Can use as my travel camera already... Will go for shooting when free and give u guys a review... smile.gif
40 mm pancake lens for RM 688 is a bit too much though.
ek_lim
post Jun 4 2013, 11:06 AM

i Am cRazY!!
734 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 4 2013, 11:01 AM)
40 mm pancake lens for RM 688 is a bit too much though.
Opps.... I mention wrong price... it is RM588... Haha... Sorry...

Beside that... Just get a bigger dry box... So I am letting go my SunDry D026 cabinet, anyone interested can let me know. Hehe.. smile.gif
DecaPix
post Jun 4 2013, 11:06 AM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

hhhmm wont a 40mm lens on APS-c body seemed a bit too long for normal everyday use?
ek_lim
post Jun 4 2013, 11:08 AM

i Am cRazY!!
734 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jun 4 2013, 11:06 AM)
hhhmm wont a 40mm lens on APS-c body seemed a bit too long for normal everyday use?
Yup... But i like the size, easy to bring when go travel.... This is also the reason i get 100D smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 4 2013, 08:13 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Had a little question about manual focusing.

I am using the 550D currently, manual focusing is easy with small aperture lens (such as my 18-135), but when using the 50mm f1.8, things get a bit harder, I can still nail the shot, but the keep rate wasn't that high though.

I got interested in some manual lenses, but not sure if the small viewfinder on my 550D will make me hard to focus correctly using them. Sometimes even when the focus is right, the focus confirmation light won't light up.

I was thinking if FF cameras would make manual focusing easier?
SUSthelightside
post Jun 4 2013, 08:39 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 4 2013, 08:13 PM)
Had a little question about manual focusing.

I am using the 550D currently, manual focusing is easy with small aperture lens (such as my 18-135), but when using the 50mm f1.8, things get a bit harder, I can still nail the shot, but the keep rate wasn't that high though.

I got interested in some manual lenses, but not sure if the small viewfinder on my 550D will make me hard to focus correctly using them. Sometimes even when the focus is right, the focus confirmation light won't light up.

I was thinking if FF cameras would make manual focusing easier?
manual focusing for large aperture lens is quite difficult when you shoot wide open regardless on FF or crop imho...
two option that I know can help...

1. easiest if you don't mind using LV to shoot install Magic lantern and use the focus peaking feature.

2. use focus screen that may help but involve tinkering with ur cam... more info here : http://www.focusingscreen.com/work/550den.htm

or the best way just get a 5d3 and use the accurate AF tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 4 2013, 08:44 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 4 2013, 08:39 PM)
manual focusing for large aperture lens  is quite difficult when you shoot wide open regardless on FF or crop imho...
two option that I know can help...

1. easiest if you don't mind using LV to shoot install Magic lantern and use the focus peaking feature.

2. use focus screen that may help but involve tinkering with ur cam... more info here : http://www.focusingscreen.com/work/550den.htm
or the best way just get a 5d3 and use the accurate AF  tongue.gif
how about the larger viewfinder? I read somewhere saying FF camera have larger mirrors resulting larger viewfinders, easier to manual focus.

well... of course if i had the money for 5d3 i wont use manual lenses at all tongue.gif
fruitie
post Jun 4 2013, 09:00 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

Man, the waiting is crazy. My shorty forty...
SUSthelightside
post Jun 4 2013, 09:06 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 4 2013, 08:44 PM)
how about the larger viewfinder? I read somewhere saying FF camera have larger mirrors resulting larger viewfinders, easier to manual focus.

well... of course if i had the money for 5d3 i wont use manual lenses at all  tongue.gif
hmmmm on my largest OVF 1D series cam (a bit larger than my 5d3) I would say maybe only large/near object with easy to see distinct contrasty object maybe only can accurately MF...but as things get smaller/further MF using the ovf and shooting wide open is imho quite difficult without appropriate focus screen...maybe somebody with god skill can do it lol... laugh.gif

why not just try Magic lantern focus peaking? don't like shoot LV or u shoot fast moving subject?

This post has been edited by thelightside: Jun 4 2013, 09:07 PM
mingyuyu
post Jun 4 2013, 09:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 4 2013, 09:06 PM)
hmmmm on my largest OVF 1D series cam (a bit larger than my 5d3) I would say maybe only large/near object with easy to see distinct contrasty object maybe only can accurately MF...but as things get smaller/further MF using the ovf and shooting wide open is imho quite difficult without appropriate focus screen...maybe somebody with god skill can do it lol... laugh.gif

why not just try Magic lantern focus peaking? don't like shoot LV or u shoot fast moving subject?
nah i don't shoot fast moving subjects, but i don't really like shooting in LV, feels not so comfortable in holding the camera in such position. i shoot some portraits, but main thing would be macro. i don't really shoot far subjects so yeah most of the time manual focusing is still ok for me.
SUSthelightside
post Jun 4 2013, 09:17 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 4 2013, 09:11 PM)
nah i don't shoot fast moving subjects, but i don't really like shooting in LV, feels not so comfortable in holding the camera in such position. i shoot some portraits, but main thing would be macro. i don't really shoot far subjects so yeah most of the time manual focusing is still ok for me.
like that get the focus screen loh if u stick to ur cam or if u go FF like 5d2,6d all centre focus point is good...no need to MF just focus and recompose...
mingyuyu
post Jun 4 2013, 09:19 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 4 2013, 09:17 PM)
like that get the focus screen loh if u stick to ur cam or if u go FF like 5d2,6d all centre focus point is good...no need to MF just focus and recompose...
focus and recompose works most of the time, but when shooting wide open f2.8 or smaller, things will get OOF quite easily. no $$ for 5d II, i am thinking 5D since it costs almost the same for me to sell my 550d kit.
SUSthelightside
post Jun 4 2013, 09:21 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

lust.gif lust.gif lust.gif lust.gif lust.gif lust.gif lust.gif
http://petapixel.com/2013/06/03/review-can...th-and-wallets/

Sadly its too expensive cry.gif out of money after buying my 1dc sad.gif man sure wish it was around 1dx price then at least can buy second hand much cheaper laugh.gif

This post has been edited by thelightside: Jun 4 2013, 09:25 PM
SUSthelightside
post Jun 4 2013, 09:28 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 4 2013, 09:19 PM)
focus and recompose works most of the time, but when shooting wide open f2.8 or smaller, things will get OOF quite easily. no $$ for 5d II, i am thinking 5D since it costs almost the same for me to sell my 550d kit.
5d still a great cam its the camera that make me to go with canon...love the colours and sharpness! just beware of dust...hope to see some 5d photo from u soon!
mingyuyu
post Jun 4 2013, 09:41 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jun 4 2013, 09:28 PM)
5d still a great cam its the camera that make me to go with canon...love the colours and sharpness!  just beware of dust...hope to see some 5d photo from u soon!
still not sure yet, since i just got into photography for only 1 year. but i shoot pictures almost everyday, slowly finding out what kind of things i like to shoot. didn't really use the 18-135mm much now since it is quite slow and i like shooting with prime lenses more and more. what do you mean by beware of dust though? and is the LCD on the 5D that bad? since it is only 230k compared to those newer cameras with 921k.
dafreak
post Jun 4 2013, 09:55 PM

1,064 posts

why use manual focus in the first place? blink.gif
fruitie
post Jun 4 2013, 09:57 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

I'm using 5D and I thought the screen was bad until I saw it myself. Try 350D then you will appreciate 5D's screen. laugh.gif

I was using 550D before switching to 5D and yes the screen is kinda big difference but that doesn't matter to me. The screen is just to make sure whatever I want to shoot is in frame and to see if it's OOF.
SUSthelightside
post Jun 4 2013, 09:57 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 4 2013, 09:41 PM)
still not sure yet, since i just got into photography for only 1 year. but i shoot pictures almost everyday, slowly finding out what kind of things i like to shoot. didn't really use the 18-135mm much now since it is quite slow and i like shooting with prime lenses more and more. what do you mean by beware of dust though? and is the LCD on the 5D that bad? since it is only 230k compared to those newer cameras with 921k.
I read somewhere the 1st 5d is quite prone to dust just goggle for more info maybe fruitie can help...its not a big deal maybe just need more cleaning...

This post has been edited by thelightside: Jun 4 2013, 09:59 PM
chongkiatz
post Jun 4 2013, 11:37 PM

6,793 posts

spam b4 sleep

Rain Tear by ChongKiat, on Flickr
goldfries
post Jun 4 2013, 11:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

about manual focusing, the 50mm f1.8 is a cheap lens so it doesn't come with a focusing window.

on the more advanced lenses or some old lens, the focusing window will help you determine area of focus. that said, f1.8 is very narrow DOF.
Silverfire
post Jun 5 2013, 01:08 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

550d in the rain!
mingyuyu
post Jun 5 2013, 08:56 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 4 2013, 11:56 PM)
about manual focusing, the 50mm f1.8 is a cheap lens so it doesn't come with a focusing window.

on the more advanced lenses or some old lens, the focusing window will help you determine area of focus. that said, f1.8 is very narrow DOF.
Does focusing window helps a lot? I was thinking to get some f1.4 lenses sweat.gif
goldfries
post Jun 5 2013, 09:01 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yes. take for example situations where it's really dim. you can't see much.

what you can do is use the focusing window to estimate the area in focus.
mingyuyu
post Jun 5 2013, 09:12 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 5 2013, 09:01 AM)
yes. take for example situations where it's really dim. you can't see much.

what you can do is use the focusing window to estimate the area in focus.
hmm ok. different focal length lenses will have different DOF right? lets say getting everything in focus with a UWA will be a lot easier than a 85mm lens?
goldfries
post Jun 5 2013, 09:17 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

when you go more detail into it, DOF becomes the following

1. the plane that's in focus
2. the width of the plane that's in focus.

use this http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html
yenforyen
post Jun 5 2013, 11:47 AM

84 posts

Am new here! Canon 550D user wink.gif
TSalexlimco
post Jun 5 2013, 12:02 PM

2,021 posts

Welcome to the group. If you have questions, feel free to ask. If you need comments and critiques on your shots then send them to Abang Kentang for some free professional opinion.

Users list updated too. smile.gif
yenforyen
post Jun 5 2013, 04:33 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 5 2013, 12:02 PM)
Welcome to the group. If you have questions, feel free to ask. If you need comments and critiques on your shots then send them to Abang Kentang for some free professional opinion.

Users list updated too. smile.gif
Alexlimco, thanks! BTW, your write-up on how to shoot the milky way is thumbup.gif
TSalexlimco
post Jun 5 2013, 04:37 PM

2,021 posts

He he. Glad you find it helpful. After all sharing is caring. smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 6 2013, 09:50 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

bumped into a question today. mounting extension tubes on a lens and use it for macro shooting will result in worse IQ? read somewhere saying some lenses' IQ will degrade in closer focus distance compare to far. so does it affect the IQ when mounted with extension tube?
Clem1982
post Jun 6 2013, 10:06 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

Just felt like going to the top floor hehe

Grajindo
post Jun 6 2013, 10:19 PM

2,171 posts

Wondering do you guys know anyone does renting for 5D? The classic 5D. For 3 days. Or anyone owns 1 willing to do a renting for it? Thanks
mingyuyu
post Jun 6 2013, 10:40 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jun 6 2013, 10:19 PM)
Wondering do you guys know anyone does renting for 5D? The classic 5D. For 3 days. Or anyone owns 1 willing to do a renting for it? Thanks
I think won't be too expensive? tongue.gif I am looking for a unit too, but it's quite rare.
Grajindo
post Jun 6 2013, 11:26 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 6 2013, 10:40 PM)
I think won't be too expensive? tongue.gif I am looking for a unit too, but it's quite rare.
I hope so.. Haha.. Just getting it for an event next week for not thinking to buy one sweat.gif
SUSthelightside
post Jun 8 2013, 02:38 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

nikon fan on the 1dx (make sure watch in hd!)

actually imho its more to do with the lens 70-200ii than the 1dx cause probably a 6d can get such quality too with the same lens when u nail the focus biggrin.gif
the 1dx however will give you stratosphere keeper rate (razor sharp focus) more than even the 5d3 thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by thelightside: Jun 8 2013, 02:44 AM
ahseng2006
post Jun 8 2013, 02:13 PM

27 posts

Should i wait for Canon 70d Or buy 700d? anyone here pls advise. Thank you.
mingyuyu
post Jun 8 2013, 05:54 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(ahseng2006 @ Jun 8 2013, 02:13 PM)
Should i wait for Canon 70d Or buy 700d? anyone here pls advise. Thank you.
I would say wait the 70D, I don't really suggest people getting XXXD bodies anymore after seeing what Canon did in last few years. Basically if you buy the 700D(which is totally the same with the 650D except the 360 degrees rotatable mode dial, plain stupid), the 750D will out in probably a half year to 1 year period. However as the XXD is the semi-pro DSLR, it will hold it's value better, more useful features too. And try to hold the 700D, if you find it too small, then don't buy it, because after holding a small DSLR for a long time, your hand won't feel comfortable.
fruitie
post Jun 8 2013, 07:49 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

Regardless of anything, I still miss my ex-550D.

No doubt 5D has more sturdy built but holding it in long hours nearly breaks my hands. laugh.gif

That day I weighed my usual setup: 5D+grip+2870L+580EX II = 3KG

sweat.gif doh.gif

I have taken out the grip since last week, hope that discounts some of the weight away. laugh.gif
sjr
post Jun 8 2013, 07:50 PM

523 posts

Had an opportunity to snap pictures in Penang Floral Fest. Comment please...

This post has been edited by sjr: Jun 9 2013, 09:53 AM
mingyuyu
post Jun 8 2013, 08:57 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 8 2013, 07:49 PM)
Regardless of anything, I still miss my ex-550D.

No doubt 5D has more sturdy built but holding it in long hours nearly breaks my hands. laugh.gif

That day I weighed my usual setup: 5D+grip+2870L+580EX II = 3KG

sweat.gif doh.gif

I have taken out the grip since last week, hope that discounts some of the weight away. laugh.gif
haha i felt the opposite with you tongue.gif i liked the bigger grip for example the 60D more. didn't encounter into the grip problem at first, but after sometimes i do feel that the 550d is really too small, wondering if adding a battery grip would help.
rEktOr
post Jun 9 2013, 07:05 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 8 2013, 05:54 PM)
I would say wait the 70D, I don't really suggest people getting XXXD bodies anymore after seeing what Canon did in last few years. Basically if you buy the 700D(which is totally the same with the 650D except the 360 degrees rotatable mode dial, plain stupid), the 750D will out in probably a half year to 1 year period. However as the XXD is the semi-pro DSLR, it will hold it's value better, more useful features too. And try to hold the 700D, if you find it too small, then don't buy it, because after holding a small DSLR for a long time, your hand won't feel comfortable.
I also wanted to buy a second body, but after trying XXXD, I decided to wait for 70D. Right now using 60D. I found the top display really helpful. tongue.gif
Zelmel
post Jun 9 2013, 07:32 AM

495 posts

I am using 500D, now using Tammy 17-50mm, I want something wider. which lens recommended?
rEktOr
post Jun 9 2013, 08:03 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Jun 9 2013, 07:32 AM)
I am using 500D, now using Tammy 17-50mm, I want something wider. which lens recommended?
of course canon's 10-22, or you can try tokina 11-16
rEktOr
post Jun 9 2013, 08:13 AM

377 posts

example of canon 10-22 at 10 (repaired distortion)

kenary820
post Jun 9 2013, 10:41 AM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 8 2013, 08:57 PM)
haha i felt the opposite with you tongue.gif i liked the bigger grip for example the 60D more. didn't encounter into the grip problem at first, but after sometimes i do feel that the 550d is really too small, wondering if adding a battery grip would help.
i'm not sure young man shoulder but if you travelling early morning out going back late night you would wish you have the lightest body + lens combo smile.gif that not add up typical 300ml mineral water and maybe a tripod. Even with bagpack for me i still feel my shoulder crying.
DecaPix
post Jun 9 2013, 10:44 AM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

10mm shots?

IMG_0671 by decapix2008, on Flickr
chongkiatz
post Jun 9 2013, 12:08 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ Jun 9 2013, 10:41 AM)
i'm not sure young man shoulder but if you travelling early morning out going back late night you would wish you have the lightest body + lens combo smile.gif that not add up typical 300ml mineral water and maybe a tripod. Even with bagpack for me i still feel my shoulder crying.
I bring 60d+1022+1755 , tripod, 1 bottle water, wah almost wan die, last 3 day give up didnt bring tripod, leave it alone at hotel , and I feel that u got no time to change lens when travel, a general zoom is really more than enough haha
rEktOr
post Jun 9 2013, 01:19 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 9 2013, 12:08 PM)
I bring 60d+1022+1755 , tripod, 1 bottle water, wah almost wan die, last 3 day give up didnt bring tripod, leave it alone at hotel , and I feel that u got no time to change lens when travel, a general zoom is really more than enough haha
I was about to bring tripod along on my trip to Perth, but end up not. And it's ok. just used any thing posible to sub the tripod. Brought my 60D + 10-22 + 60 Macro + 55-200 for birding.

Checkout my gallery of the first day there. C&C are most welcome biggrin.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2842533

This post has been edited by rEktOr: Jun 9 2013, 01:19 PM
mingyuyu
post Jun 9 2013, 01:26 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 9 2013, 12:08 PM)
haha both the 10-22 and 17-55 are heavy lenses. wonder how about those who brought 70-200 to travel sweat.gif

how about just bring a 50mm prime and maybe a wide prime?
rEktOr
post Jun 9 2013, 01:43 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 9 2013, 01:26 PM)
haha both the 10-22 and 17-55 are heavy lenses. wonder how about those who brought 70-200 to travel  sweat.gif

I guess, because of the 60d, wide prime such as 24 or 35 just doesn't cut it for landscape/building shots. The are not wide enough, at least IMHO.

If FF, lain cerita.
mingyuyu
post Jun 9 2013, 01:48 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(rEktOr @ Jun 9 2013, 01:43 PM)
I guess, because of the 60d, wide prime such as 24 or 35 just doesn't cut it for landscape/building shots. The are not wide enough, at least IMHO.

If FF, lain cerita.
hmm yeah thinking the same, why no UWA prime for crop? the widest i can think about is the samyang 14mm only, but still after x1.6, it isn't that wide.
fruitie
post Jun 9 2013, 03:34 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 9 2013, 01:48 PM)
hmm yeah thinking the same, why no UWA prime for crop? the widest i can think about is the samyang 14mm only, but still after x1.6, it isn't that wide.
You have 8-15L laugh.gif
That's fishy eye for FF but UWA for cropped. tongue.gif
DecaPix
post Jun 9 2013, 03:45 PM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

errr...the 10-22 is not heavy eh
i prefer to lug that around than a 30mm f1.4 or even the 15-85 IS USM
mingyuyu
post Jun 9 2013, 04:05 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 9 2013, 03:34 PM)
You have 8-15L laugh.gif
That's fishy eye for FF but UWA for cropped. tongue.gif
i thought even after cropped it's still fisheye?
fruitie
post Jun 9 2013, 06:01 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 9 2013, 04:05 PM)
i thought even after cropped it's still fisheye?
Widest UWA for FF is Sigma 12-24, so I just took that as benchmark. laugh.gif
8x1.6 = 12.8mm tongue.gif

I personally have not tried this lens before so can't comment on the lens' perspective.
mingyuyu
post Jun 9 2013, 06:03 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 9 2013, 06:01 PM)
Widest UWA for FF is Sigma 12-24, so I just took that as benchmark. laugh.gif
8x1.6 = 12.8mm tongue.gif

I personally have not tried this lens before so can't comment on the lens' perspective.
Used the lens on a 60D before, it's still fisheye even cropped.
fruitie
post Jun 9 2013, 06:10 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 9 2013, 06:03 PM)
Used the lens on a 60D before, it's still fisheye even cropped.
Well, another one. Sigma 8-16mm, I read from reviews that it works well on cropped sensor bodies.
Seems like it's an UWA on cropped.
chongkiatz
post Jun 9 2013, 08:34 PM

6,793 posts

haha both the 10-22 and 17-55 are heavy lenses. wonder how about those who brought 70-200 to travel  sweat.gif

Actually i bring 3 lenses 17-55mm , 1022mm , 85mm f1.8 , 1022 is lighter than a primes 85mm , end up i use 17-55mm more than 10-22 -.-" Because i really lazy to keep change lens just because of the shoot , i stil can get such beautiful shoot even with 17-55mm f2.8

Day 2 @ Taiwan [12.05.2013] @ 清境 @ 青青草原 by ChongKiat, on Flickr
rEktOr
post Jun 9 2013, 08:54 PM

377 posts

_MG_4959 by zamanizakaria, on Flickr

If u see clearly, there's couple smooching in the yard biggrin.gif
sjr
post Jun 9 2013, 09:02 PM

523 posts

No one would give comment and critiques on my photo?
sjr
post Jun 9 2013, 09:04 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Jun 8 2013, 07:50 PM)
Had an opportunity to snap pictures in Penang Floral Fest. Comment please...

No one would give comments and critiques on my photo?
chongkiatz
post Jun 9 2013, 09:43 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Jun 9 2013, 09:04 PM)
No one would give comments and critiques on my photo?
maybe u can put them on ShowCase ? biggrin.gif
sjr
post Jun 9 2013, 09:50 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 9 2013, 09:43 PM)
maybe u can put them on ShowCase ?  biggrin.gif
Great idea. I have never thought of that. Thanx anyway...
goldfries
post Jun 10 2013, 10:22 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh the 10-22 is the 2nd lightest zoom lens I ever held, lightest being the 18-55.

you go try hold a 10-22 properly and see, the build quality feels towards toy side. It doesn't give you the solid feel like say a 50mm f1.4 / 85mm f1.8 / 15-85 / whatever L. Not even close.

It's so light, even my Sigma 10-20 felt more solid than it.
tzuen
post Jun 10 2013, 10:58 AM

430 posts

Good Day Canon folks.

May i know what's the current market price for Canon eos 6D? Currently i'm on eos 50D.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 10 2013, 11:04 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 9 2013, 08:34 PM)
Actually i bring 3 lenses 17-55mm , 1022mm , 85mm f1.8 , 1022 is lighter than a primes 85mm , end up i use 17-55mm more than 10-22 -.-" Because i really lazy to keep change lens just because of the shoot , i stil can get such beautiful shoot even with 17-55mm f2.8

Long long time already say ... when go travel.. one lens like 17-50 is more than adequate liao. laugh.gif

Hope you enjoyed your stay in betelnut land. smile.gif
chongkiatz
post Jun 10 2013, 06:40 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 10 2013, 11:04 AM)
Long long time already say ... when go travel.. one lens like 17-50 is more than adequate liao.  laugh.gif

Hope you enjoyed your stay in betelnut land.  smile.gif
I really miss that place alot , very cold and nice scene , i feel my life can increase 10 more year if stay there laugh.gif

i feel wan sell off my 10-22mm and 85mm f1.8 hmm.gif , since i got 17-55mm , this two lens really sleep in drybox only
-kytz-
post Jun 10 2013, 06:46 PM

12,573 posts

Must listen to the sifu tongue.gif
chongkiatz
post Jun 10 2013, 07:12 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 10 2013, 06:46 PM)
Must listen to the sifu tongue.gif
Ya , must listen to sifu , haizzzz , i feel so sorry to my 1022 and 85mm , like putting RM3k++ inside drybox for nothing shocking.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 10 2013, 07:41 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 10 2013, 10:22 AM)
ehh the 10-22 is the 2nd lightest zoom lens I ever held, lightest being the 18-55.

you go try hold a 10-22 properly and see, the build quality feels towards toy side. It doesn't give you the solid feel like say a 50mm f1.4 / 85mm f1.8 / 15-85 / whatever L. Not even close.

It's so light, even my Sigma 10-20 felt more solid than it.
blink.gif sorry for mistaken that as a heavy lens, since my impression for it was that it was a quite big looking lens, didn't think that it was going to be that light. A rm2k lens feel like a toy? shocking.gif

fruitie
post Jun 10 2013, 07:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 10 2013, 07:12 PM)
Ya , must listen to sifu , haizzzz , i feel so sorry to my 1022 and 85mm , like putting RM3k++ inside drybox for nothing  shocking.gif
I spent more than you and let them rest in a recycle bag, so shut up. tongue.gif laugh.gif
goldfries
post Jun 10 2013, 08:37 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 10 2013, 07:41 PM)
blink.gif sorry for mistaken that as a heavy lens, since my impression for it was that it was a quite big looking lens, didn't think that it was going to be that light. A  rm2k lens feel like a toy?  shocking.gif
big? no la the lens is small.

and it's light too, coming in at only 386g.

to give you an idea, an 18-55 is 200g.
EF 50 mm f/1.8 II is 130g

so you can image yourself, 2x the weight of 18-55, or 3x the weight of 50mm f1.8

heavy? smile.gif

17-55 is 645g
15-85 is 575g
mingyuyu
post Jun 10 2013, 08:40 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 10 2013, 08:37 PM)
big? no la the lens is small.

and it's light too, coming in at only 386g.

to give you an idea, an 18-55 is 200g.
EF 50 mm f/1.8 II is 130g

so you can image yourself, 2x the weight of 18-55, or 3x the weight of 50mm f1.8

heavy? smile.gif

17-55 is 645g
15-85 is 575g
oh... i'm fooled by the size of the hood, checked just now, it is even smaller than the 16-35, which is quite small and light too imo.
chongkiatz
post Jun 10 2013, 09:03 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 10 2013, 07:43 PM)
I spent more than you and let them rest in a recycle bag, so shut up. tongue.gif laugh.gif
Haha, at least u got carry them out ma haha, now when I join some party, my mind only got 1755mm @@" I just cant believe this lens is so sharp even at f2.8 @@"
chongkiatz
post Jun 10 2013, 09:05 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 10 2013, 07:41 PM)
blink.gif sorry for mistaken that as a heavy lens, since my impression for it was that it was a quite big looking lens, didn't think that it was going to be that light. A  rm2k lens feel like a toy?  shocking.gif
This lens is really light, as goldfries say, spending rm2k but toy feel haha, but its a good thing, at least u wont feel tired even hold it whole day, I wish 1755mm can be lighter and smaller
mengsuan
post Jun 10 2013, 09:18 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Jun 10 2013, 10:58 AM)
Good Day Canon folks.

May i know what's the current market price for Canon eos 6D? Currently i'm on eos 50D.
Cheapest I saw online is RM5299, Canon Malaysia warranty
mingyuyu
post Jun 10 2013, 10:51 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 10 2013, 09:05 PM)
This lens is really light, as goldfries say, spending rm2k but toy feel haha, but its a good thing, at least u wont feel tired even hold it whole day, I wish 1755mm can be lighter and smaller
haha yeah yeah, sometimes toy feel doesn't mean bad. i still like using my 50mm although many people complain about the toy build quality and bad focus ring, but i found myself using the focus ring just fine in manual focus. same to the weight, so light until mount on camera almost feel nothing.
tzuen
post Jun 10 2013, 11:06 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 10 2013, 09:18 PM)
Cheapest I saw online is RM5299, Canon Malaysia warranty
Thanks mate, means i'm on the right track as well.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 10 2013, 11:11 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 10 2013, 06:40 PM)
I really miss that place alot , very cold and nice scene , i feel my life can increase 10 more year if stay there  laugh.gif

i feel wan sell off my 10-22mm and 85mm f1.8  hmm.gif , since i got 17-55mm , this two lens really sleep in drybox only
Weather now is very hot liao... and if work here.. life will decrease 10 years so it balances off laugh.gif
vexus
post Jun 10 2013, 11:12 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

Any videographer wanna join Super GT 2013 this sat/sun ?
chongkiatz
post Jun 10 2013, 11:32 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 10 2013, 11:11 PM)
Weather now is very hot liao... and if work here.. life will decrease 10 years so it balances off  laugh.gif
haha , why say so? I found that taiwan life is nicer than malaysia thumbup.gif

My wife and i very enjoy when we at 清境 , such a beautiful place and relaxing

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Jun 10 2013, 11:32 PM
goldfries
post Jun 10 2013, 11:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 10 2013, 10:51 PM)
haha yeah yeah, sometimes toy feel doesn't mean bad. i still like using my 50mm although many people complain about the toy build quality and bad focus ring, but i found myself using the focus ring just fine in manual focus. same to the weight, so light until mount on camera almost feel nothing.
general purpose ok la. wait till you encounter the hunting and lack of FTM, then you'll appreciate the other 50mm.
mingyuyu
post Jun 10 2013, 11:45 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 10 2013, 11:34 PM)
general purpose ok la. wait till you encounter the hunting and lack of FTM, then you'll appreciate the other 50mm.
hmm maybe, i didn't use the AF most of the time XD it was so noisy and slow to lock, i rather use MF. most of the time i just reverse it and hold it with my hands for macros, works wonder. just that sometimes the pentagon looking bokeh is annoying.
kenary820
post Jun 10 2013, 11:52 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

Evening spam..

Blue hour by the Bay by m.s.@.n., on Flickr

An evening @ the Bay by m.s.@.n., on Flickr

mengsuan
post Jun 11 2013, 12:14 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Jun 10 2013, 11:06 PM)
Thanks mate, means i'm on the right track as well.
Have you got one on hand already?
Sky0ne
post Jun 11 2013, 08:03 AM

108 posts

Hello friends! New 600D user coming in! biggrin.gif
Sky0ne
post Jun 11 2013, 08:03 AM

108 posts

tzuen
post Jun 11 2013, 09:26 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 11 2013, 12:14 AM)
Have you got one on hand already?
Nope. Getting the price right then will hands on it biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Jun 11 2013, 01:39 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

Finally got my shorty forty... laugh.gif
chongkiatz
post Jun 11 2013, 02:08 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 11 2013, 01:39 PM)
Finally got my shorty forty... laugh.gif
When wan spam pic? drool.gif
fruitie
post Jun 11 2013, 02:40 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 11 2013, 02:08 PM)
When wan spam pic?  drool.gif
Haven't mounted on my camera yet. laugh.gif
Yeah, might take some portrait shots today.
First impression, light but looks solid. biggrin.gif
It definitely has better built compared to nifty fifty. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jun 11 2013, 02:40 PM
adam_lss
post Jun 11 2013, 03:33 PM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 11 2013, 02:40 PM)
Haven't mounted on my camera yet. laugh.gif
Yeah, might take some portrait shots today.
First impression, light but looks solid. biggrin.gif
It definitely has better built compared to nifty fifty. tongue.gif
makcik fruitie punya gears > gambar... whistling.gif
fruitie
post Jun 11 2013, 03:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Jun 11 2013, 03:33 PM)
makcik fruitie punya gears > gambar... whistling.gif
Sad but true. laugh.gif
sniper on the roof
post Jun 11 2013, 03:59 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 11 2013, 03:43 PM)
Sad but true. laugh.gif
Ya.. long time never see you post photo liao.
fruitie
post Jun 11 2013, 04:03 PM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 11 2013, 03:59 PM)
Ya.. long time never see you post photo liao.
biggrin.gif Actually I will snap some photos this Saturday if the dinner is on. biggrin.gif goldfries
And Sunday will go out shooting with mengsuan
chongkiatz
post Jun 11 2013, 08:53 PM

6,793 posts

I love this picture very much laugh.gif

Day 2 @ Taiwan [12.05.2013] @ 清境 @ 小瑞士花园 by ChongKiat, on Flickr
mingyuyu
post Jun 11 2013, 10:02 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 11 2013, 08:53 PM)
I love this picture very much  laugh.gif

nice picture, love the tone and the expression of the subjects rclxms.gif
fruitie
post Jun 12 2013, 01:01 AM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

Tried a few cincai shots. I'm impressed, it is sharp. biggrin.gif
Short MFD, how I miss this. Ever since I sold off my Tammy 28-75mm, I'm dying for short MFD lenses.

28-70L is just too long for me... sweat.gif
goldfries
post Jun 12 2013, 01:07 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

40mm shoot focus at mfd and shoot wide open give you bokeh nice nice.
fruitie
post Jun 12 2013, 01:10 AM

Rise and Shine
72,909 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 12 2013, 01:07 AM)
40mm shoot focus at mfd and shoot wide open give you bokeh nice nice.
Teach me how to take nice food photos with this lens please this weekend. biggrin.gif
adam_lss
post Jun 12 2013, 09:44 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 12 2013, 01:10 AM)
Teach me how to take nice food photos with this lens please this weekend. biggrin.gif
I think I need to start taking foodie shots again, hmmm, if I never finish eating maybe can try to shoot up some dumplings! tongue.gif
Stark Industries
post Jun 12 2013, 01:32 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Sky0ne @ Jun 11 2013, 09:03 AM)
welcome...ur 1st dslr? rclxms.gif
TSalexlimco
post Jun 12 2013, 02:43 PM

2,021 posts

Hi everybody, it's good to be back where Internet is available 24 x 7. biggrin.gif

Shot these in Jatiluwih, Bali over the last weekend.

Milky in the sky with shooting star by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr

Milky in the sky with meteor and shooting star by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
Sky0ne
post Jun 12 2013, 03:04 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Jun 12 2013, 01:32 PM)
welcome...ur 1st dslr? rclxms.gif
Thanks! Yup, my very first DSLR. Actually my wife persuade me to buy it for her. Turns that it's only a trick for me to take picture of her posing with make up stuffs. LOL

Stark Industries
post Jun 12 2013, 03:40 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 12 2013, 03:43 PM)
Hi everybody, it's good to be back where Internet is available 24 x 7. biggrin.gif

wonder when i can take this kind of photos...owesome... rclxms.gif
onghy
post Jun 12 2013, 03:51 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 12 2013, 02:43 PM)

curious, what is the green light at bottom right of 2nd pic, look like aroura shocking.gif

QUOTE(Sky0ne @ Jun 12 2013, 03:04 PM)
Thanks! Yup, my very first DSLR. Actually my wife persuade me to buy it for her. Turns that it's only a trick for me to take picture of her posing with make up stuffs. LOL
after sometimes, ur wife will complain that's bulky,then it become yours brows.gif

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Jun 12 2013, 03:40 PM)
look at sifu alex's siggy, he got put tutorial how to shot milky way
TSalexlimco
post Jun 12 2013, 04:55 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Stark Industries @ Jun 12 2013, 03:40 PM)
Thanks. We can always organise an outing for this but be prepared for cold, dark and scary locations. tongue.gif
TSalexlimco
post Jun 12 2013, 04:57 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(onghy @ Jun 12 2013, 03:51 PM)
curious, what is the green light at bottom right of 2nd pic, look like aroura shocking.gif
That's a comet that I captured in the frame while I was exposing the shot for the 30s duration. And when I reached home, I realised that I also captured a shooting star at the top of the Milky in the same frame. Double whammy. thumbup.gif
Stark Industries
post Jun 12 2013, 08:06 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 12 2013, 05:57 PM)
That's a comet that I captured in the frame while I was exposing the shot for the 30s duration. And when I reached home, I realised that I also captured a shooting star at the top of the Milky in the same frame. Double whammy. thumbup.gif
very lucky shot...its looks like paranormal entity lol.... rclxms.gif
mingyuyu
post Jun 12 2013, 08:20 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Anyone knows places in KL or Selangor which sells cheap or reasonably priced lighting accessories?

Saw these quite cheap selling at B&H

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/2530...Duty_Light.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/9082...robros_Kit.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3976...i_Boom_Arm.html

and i wanted to ask, buying these things from US will get taxed anot?
TSalexlimco
post Jun 12 2013, 08:28 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 12 2013, 08:20 PM)
Anyone knows places in KL or Selangor which sells cheap or reasonably priced lighting accessories?

Saw these quite cheap selling at B&H

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/2530...Duty_Light.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/9082...robros_Kit.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3976...i_Boom_Arm.html

and i wanted to ask, buying these things from US will get taxed anot?
Try DigiColor at Ipoh road. But their stuffs are mostly from China so the quality and price will be lower.
lin00b
post Jun 12 2013, 08:30 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

sifu sifu sekalian, what are your opinion on the 100D as first dslr? attracted by its small size
mingyuyu
post Jun 12 2013, 09:09 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 12 2013, 08:28 PM)
Try DigiColor at Ipoh road. But their stuffs are mostly from China so the quality and price will be lower.
I went there almost everyday, but the price isn't that low imo, or i am expecting too much?
chongkiatz
post Jun 12 2013, 10:44 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jun 12 2013, 02:43 PM)

sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSalexlimco
post Jun 12 2013, 11:04 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 12 2013, 10:44 PM)
sifu  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Thanks. I was just lucky at that time. smile.gif

Below the reflection by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr
SUSthelightside
post Jun 12 2013, 11:12 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

that milky way galaxies sure makes me want to shoot some galaxies one of these days... thanks for sharing alexlimco biggrin.gif
TSalexlimco
post Jun 12 2013, 11:41 PM

2,021 posts

I think it's time to arrange a night gathering for LYN Paladins. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jun 13 2013, 12:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Super GT here i come! Finally can use my 1.4x TC.
ianho
post Jun 13 2013, 12:18 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 13 2013, 12:00 AM)
Super GT here i come! Finally can use my 1.4x TC.
70-200 with 1.4 tadak cukup for Sepang. Must have 300 or 400 baru got kik!
TSalexlimco
post Jun 13 2013, 12:38 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 13 2013, 12:18 AM)
rclxms.gif Unker Fisherman is back at his venomous best. Welcome back. tongue.gif
SUSthelightside
post Jun 13 2013, 12:41 AM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

well if one only want to shoot the gt girls then with media pass+70-200 would be enuf... smile.gif
70-200+1.4 then most probably want to shoot something else...maybe get a 2x tele with some drop in IQ sweat.gif

or better yet maybe can get one of these JUST RELEASE! laugh.gif unfortunately me no money liao sad.gif
Canon EF 200-400mm f/4L IS USM Lens with Internal 1.4x Extender <--Click ME!

This post has been edited by thelightside: Jun 13 2013, 12:42 AM
ianho
post Jun 13 2013, 12:47 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

The 400mm f2.8L is beautiful for Sepang. Hehehe

Like lightside said.......70-200 for sooting the gals. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Jun 13 2013, 12:48 AM
goldfries
post Jun 13 2013, 12:49 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

not so lich but mine is 1.6x mah

200 x 1.6 x 1.4 tongue.gif approx 450mm ........ @ f/5.6 la.
ianho
post Jun 13 2013, 01:10 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 13 2013, 12:49 AM)
not so lich but mine is 1.6x mah

200 x 1.6 x 1.4 tongue.gif approx 450mm ........ @ f/5.6 la.
Ini.......ini.......tadak best..........
sukhoi37
post Jun 13 2013, 01:52 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

200-400f4 1.4x compared with other lenses at CameraRental
http://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2013/06/ca...uick-comparison

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2432sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:21 AM