Meal for Student University, budget spending for bodybuilding

TSugmonk
post May 13 2013, 07:12 PM, updated 13y ago

265 posts

Hi everyone. I want to start bodybuilding. Not started yet. When i read some of the topic in this forum, the way to bodybuilding are eat more with healthy diet and do workout. But I have a money limitation since i only depends on my study loan. What can I get for eating with a low budget spending?

This post has been edited by ugmonk: May 14 2013, 06:58 PM
alien9
post May 13 2013, 07:20 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

Low budget spending is hard to come by in Malaysia but cooking the food yourself will be the biggest money saving method.
SUSLdee
post May 13 2013, 10:11 PM

442 posts

hi i uni student also, stop hanging at mamak! it found myself an idiot paying rm5 for nasi goreng kampung..

nw bulk meal : 2 serving fusion mass.. solid meal sometime chicken rice / kebab.. dun waste ur money and good luck!
TSugmonk
post May 14 2013, 12:35 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ May 13 2013, 07:20 PM)
Low budget spending is hard to come by in Malaysia but cooking the food yourself will be the biggest money saving method.
Maybe I should learn how to cook from YouTube after this laugh.gif
TSugmonk
post May 14 2013, 12:36 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Ldee @ May 13 2013, 10:11 PM)
hi i uni student also, stop hanging at mamak! it found myself an idiot paying rm5 for nasi goreng kampung..

nw bulk meal : 2 serving fusion mass.. solid meal sometime chicken rice / kebab.. dun waste ur money and good luck!
i don't like eating at mamak. so damn expensive. so you depends on fusion mass? but sometimes solid meal? serious?
alien9
post May 14 2013, 04:54 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(ugmonk @ May 14 2013, 12:35 AM)
Maybe I should learn how to cook from YouTube after this  laugh.gif
I would say that it is not that hard to cook by yourself and learn to cook in huge amount. Before this, I would cook porridge for 8 servings and store it in the fridge. Whenever I need to eat, I just reheat em. Same goes to my Spaghetti Meatball.
SUSLdee
post May 14 2013, 10:08 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(ugmonk @ May 14 2013, 12:36 AM)
i don't like eating at mamak. so damn expensive. so you depends on fusion mass? but sometimes solid meal? serious?
my area only mamak.. arab restaurant can get good food, but too expensive
TSugmonk
post May 14 2013, 06:46 PM

265 posts

Anymore suggestion?
TechnoG
post May 14 2013, 06:51 PM

9,338 posts

get your food from hypermarkets, seriously. But yeah, the food might not be that fresh at times..
bought a roasted bird at RM7 at my nearby AEON Big, split it for both lunch and dinner.

TSugmonk
post May 14 2013, 07:04 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ May 14 2013, 06:51 PM)
get your food from hypermarkets, seriously. But yeah, the food might not be that fresh at times..
bought a roasted bird at RM7 at my nearby AEON Big, split it for both lunch and dinner.
Before this i had bought it too at Tesco. The price is not so expensive as much as i remember.
revelation91
post May 14 2013, 07:22 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ May 14 2013, 06:51 PM)
good tips but I don't hv problem getting enough protein.. calories tips?
TSugmonk
post May 15 2013, 02:29 PM

265 posts

Anymore suggestion?
TechnoG
post May 15 2013, 02:39 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(revelation91 @ May 14 2013, 07:22 PM)
good tips but I don't hv problem getting enough protein.. calories tips?
top it up with peanuts? tongue.gif
joejee
post May 15 2013, 02:41 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(ugmonk @ May 15 2013, 02:29 PM)
Anymore suggestion?
How do you define "money limation"? RM5 per day, RM10 per day. Some people told me eating healthy is expensive but they got money to buy chattime,coffee bean..baskin robbin. rclxub.gif
tineagle
post May 15 2013, 04:40 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

make eggs your best friend. cheap and nutrient packed.
TSugmonk
post May 15 2013, 10:23 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(joejee @ May 15 2013, 02:41 PM)
How do you define "money limation"? RM5 per day, RM10 per day. Some people told me eating healthy is expensive but they got money to buy chattime,coffee bean..baskin robbin. rclxub.gif
Frankly speak, I never buy those foods. With RM 10 can get many food ah in one day? Because my budget on food everyday like RM 7 - RM 10. Based on your experience, how much do you spend money for food per day?
TSugmonk
post May 15 2013, 10:26 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 15 2013, 04:40 PM)
make eggs your best friend. cheap and nutrient packed.
Thank you for sharing info with me. Usually what time and how many to eat eggs?
tineagle
post May 15 2013, 11:05 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(ugmonk @ May 15 2013, 10:26 PM)
Thank you for sharing info with me. Usually what time and how many to eat eggs?
hard to answer this question as there isnt exactly a fixed timing for meals for everyone. it all depends on your schedule and lifestyle.

a good start would be to try and fit in 3 whole eggs a day(avoid deep-fried). scrambled, hard-boiled, soft boiled..etc.

slowly work that up to 6 , 8 and 10 a day should be a good reference to start with. have eggs with your normal meals, or sometimes in between as a snack.

as you eat more eggs, you may want to remove some of the yolk. for example, 6 eggs total but 3 whole egg and the other 3 only egg whites. me personally i cant stomach that many yolks due to taste and stomach gas.. adjust according to your body smile.gif
*before anyone flames me for the various reasons he should be eating all whole eggs, this is a discussion for another topic.
HonMing
post May 16 2013, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(ugmonk @ May 15 2013, 10:23 PM)
Frankly speak, I never buy those foods. With RM 10 can get many food ah in one day? Because my budget on food everyday like RM 7 - RM 10. Based on your experience, how much do you spend money for food per day?
Don't think RM 7-10 is enough. Packing up these healthy calories and proteins won't fit in your budget. I suggest you count your budget per 2 week or per month. Imagine you need a lot of eggs, milks, protein shakes, meats, and other high calories stuff. Some of them are really not cheap especially in Malaysia. Something like peanut butter, cheese, and nuts are quite expensive here. Personal experience. You will need more that your budget per day.
Manlet
post May 16 2013, 11:12 PM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

consider supplement

sometimes i find that downing weight gainer shakes for calories actually cheaper thn going out for a meal

or cook yourself, cook once in a big portion, and store them in the fridge
reheat when u wanna eat

0.0239sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:32 AM