38 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Perfumes for Guys v3

edwardleong
post Feb 3 2014, 09:50 AM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 3 2014, 12:10 AM)
Ah my bad. I thought I read from somewhere that you ordered the sample set which consist of the Pour le Soir.
Bro, im so sad la working today... Then double bump from le labo lagi

They do not ship to malaysia yet their sg store in essential paragon has a markup of 30%... They carry city exclusive d butsuper expenvise 50ml for sgd480

Sotd rose 31... After i see it as a woody musky spicy frag i love it more n more lol
edwardleong
post Feb 3 2014, 01:12 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 3 2014, 12:11 PM)
Price hike by 30% for Le Labo at Essential? How do you know?
Fb friends in sg shared d info... By a group of fragheads residing in sg lol

I mean the retail price is around 30% mark up than wat we see in online store

The price is S$250/$375 for 50 n 100ml... Le labo international is €125/€185 and €630 for 500ml flacon

Luckyscent 50ml $160 100ml $240

This post has been edited by edwardleong: Feb 3 2014, 01:17 PM
edwardleong
post Feb 3 2014, 03:46 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 3 2014, 02:33 PM)
Oh you were referring to the retail price.

Yes it is about SGD250, and with about 4% GST (actual GST is 6% but after deducting all the admin bla bla bla fees you are getting back about 4%) refund at the airport, you are paying SGD240 for it, which is around Euro139 or USD183. I still find it to be 'reasonable' as if I were to order it online, I will pay slightly higher with international shipping inclusive. On top that, I get to sample the scents before buying and definitely be getting a few samples before leaving the outlet. It is about the whole shopping experience.
What bro u share here do make very logic sense... I forgot the killing international shipping cost lol...

To me, buy sth niche.. The shopping experience must be there lol
edwardleong
post Feb 3 2014, 08:50 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Feb 3 2014, 05:32 PM)
Thanks. Photography was my hobby before I discovered perfume appreciation. I get burnt out easily. Don't be surprised if you see me gone from this perfume thread and ended up only at [WTS] thread.

SOTD - Grand Cuir by Parfums Retro (Sample)/Fresh Impact by Adidas
I get fresh pine mixed with birch tar and lavender. To my untrained nose, all the other notes are well-blended I hardly able to pinpoint individually so I'll just quote what's written on card :-

"A leather with soul. Part One: A Leather Soul with notes of cistus-labdanum, clary sage and birch tar rectified. Part Two: A Multi-Dimensional Floral Heart with notes of orange-flower, geranium, lavender, violet leaf, carnation and rose. Part Three: Accents with notes of cinnamon leaf oil and tarragon. part Four: A Comfortable, Relaxed Base with notes of pine moss, musk, sandalwood, patchouli and rosewood oil."

Overall smell is actually quite good and unique with quality.

Fresh Impact for my shoulder workout just now. I'll be sampling Aoud Leather by Montale later this evening. Right off the bat, it's 99% identical with Golden Boy by Dueto Parfums.

Another perfume collection show off. Racquets Formula by Penhaligon's. My classy English scent. Would you care to join me for a cup of tea and scones?

nice shot bro! happy cny to u...

my photo skill still stays at amateur level despite spending 2 years with my Nikon D5000 lol....

SOTN - Noir de Noir... happy hour
edwardleong
post Feb 7 2014, 01:03 AM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(Fenrir7 @ Feb 6 2014, 10:15 PM)
Hi, thanks for a little more clarity. smile.gif

My idea was to wear a fresher, lighter scent for daytime (to work mostly) and leave the "heavier" ones for evenings.

mos def will get Allure Homme next, to replace the DHS. And I'll prolly not be so restricted with the day time/ night time thing.

In fact when my Bleu depletes, i'll get something else. Got to try em all lol.
Issey Miyake fits ur needs perfectly... if u r abit daring and dun mind about caraway n cumin.. do give Cartier Declaration pour un soir a sniff.. a poor man alternative to le labo Rose 31... good thing that u stick with designer first, get familiar with everything then move into the sacred niche territory....

one of the heavier designer price range frag.. DHI or Guerlain L'instant du Guerlain Extreme... top of my designer frag.. i still wear them to work sometimes
edwardleong
post Feb 7 2014, 01:26 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(Fenrir7 @ Feb 7 2014, 12:50 PM)
Thanks for the informative replies and great suggestions.

I did give L'Eau d'Issey a whiff but I didn't like it. In fact I discarded the test strip immediately lol.

Will give it a second go, and sample it on my arm. Better not make the same mistake like I did with Allure Pour Homme.

DHI smelt too much like a woman's fragrance to me, but I think most Diors smell that way. Will revisit.

Will have a look at Guerlain too.

By the way, I tried spraying DHS on my bare chest (which I didn't do before), and then sprayed twice on my shirt before putting it on. Now people are noticing haha
Allure homme sport is quite nice and last my friend... Orange popsickle... Ppl will notice..

Overall most of d aquatic in the designer pool not really long lasting n projects for just a few hrs... Becareful not to be attracted by the first spray on ur arm...

Most of the frags are sold by their very nice opening but when drydowns just ....... First impression is very important... So when u try let it settle on ur arm walk away from frag department... Clear ur nose walk around test it out... Then decide

Sotd - green irish tweed... Just now lunch with my branch lady boss, i got this projection of chocolate dirty rose opposite me.... I were thinking damn this is very familiar!! For sure i smell it recently... Rose31 no, lnph no, ah ha.... My oh my it is tom ford noir de noir lol....

This post has been edited by edwardleong: Feb 7 2014, 01:34 PM
edwardleong
post Feb 8 2014, 12:15 AM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 7 2014, 10:48 PM)
Your lady boss has good taste.
Haha.... Actually im very surprise to smell ndn on someone in penang lol..... Too bad shes married with 2 kids

Waiting for my decant of poal to arrive
edwardleong
post Feb 9 2014, 02:17 AM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Feb 9 2014, 12:03 AM)
That's a new one created by niche perfumer Lorenzo Villoresi. Based on its notes breakdown it looks like a promising one. IMO the house have disappointing releases after GPHI and GPHII. How does it smell like and where did you get it and how much if you don't mind me asking?
Never a fan of Gucci and its bags, but i like the frags though... I never tried GPH1, best is still Guilty Intense, imo....

QUOTE(maiself @ Feb 9 2014, 01:56 AM)
Im not really good at describing perfumes, I only use my scent sense to decide which 1 is good for me hehe - it smells woody + floral kinda scent.. U can get "Forever Now" at any Gucci boutique with a tag of RM6xx - only come with 100ml EDP
Not a bad price for Luxury Designer... since it is retailed at EUR170 in Europe... will drop by the boutique in KLCC to sniff it out when im in KL before i give any of my view about this botol...

the botol presentation reminded me of penhaligon
edwardleong
post Feb 11 2014, 02:05 PM

1,163 posts

Sotd mfk oud

Called up mfk sa of isetan klcc to enquire the new revised price... The increase between rm30-50

Men edt all now rm500, meaning my lumiere noire is 500 d sad.. Pour femme is rm550

Oud also increase to 880 and the trio oud mood now is 1250

This june they are opening a new boutique at 2nd floor, pavilion along side annick goutal

The sa is very friendly over the phone... Her name is aisah.. So if i wanna buy also buy from her...

This post has been edited by edwardleong: Feb 11 2014, 11:23 PM
edwardleong
post Feb 11 2014, 03:49 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Feb 11 2014, 02:55 PM)
Which side of annick goutal?

This is what annick goutal looks like in pavi:

U trying to be funny or sacrastic is it? Ppl here just share wat the sa told me over the phone.... U wanna act smart or wat by all means go ahead....

For hell i know where annick goutal is... Which side? My back side la.....
edwardleong
post Feb 11 2014, 08:11 PM

1,163 posts

lol... finally Malaysia got something which is cheaper edi lol...

MFK retail here is cheaper than luckyscent (excluding shipping) and more a less same price with MFK estore smile.gif

OUD.. Luckyscent $300, MFK EUR195, Isetan RM880
OUD trio... Luckyscent $375, MFK EUR272, Isetan RM1250
Lumiere Noire PH.. Luckyscent $175, MFK EUR105, Isetan RM500

So in conclusion... no markup from france price smile.gif
edwardleong
post Feb 12 2014, 11:12 AM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(anige @ Feb 12 2014, 10:56 AM)
SOTD: Oriza L. Legrand Chypre Mousse. This scent gets me compliments, well at least from my two colleagues who knows I'm into fragrance. I don't know why though. It's very green. Like freshly cut grass. Then as you move along into the day, the early morning freshness gives way to a dry, smoky phase, as the sun saps up all the morning dew. It is an easy scent to wear. And different from what you will get today. This house has taken century-old recipes to give the perfumes a modern twist. It has a real vintage vibe that I love and I really do love most of the line-up.
U make it sound so niceeeeeeeeer than green irish tweed... Must resist poison lol

U got it from monica?
edwardleong
post Feb 12 2014, 03:56 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(anige @ Feb 12 2014, 03:19 PM)
It IS nice!!! LOL! You can order sample set of the whole line from the Oriza L. Legrand site. Free postage. Here's the link!
http://www.orizaparfums.com/boutique_en.html
Only 9 euros ler!!! :PPPPPP
There's a patch scent, lovely carnation, sweet honey, this green scent, another green-floral scent, what else? Hmmmm... a rootbeer-ish scent to me. Yup. Something for everyone! Oh wait! No rose though! LOL!
Sample set a steal la... €9 for 8x2ml sprays

U really poison.. I already order 1 set lol... Looking forward for ur thoughts on jardins d'armide
edwardleong
post Feb 12 2014, 03:58 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(lene002 @ Feb 12 2014, 11:02 AM)
sotd: chanel coromandel
i like the white chocolate. but, the heavy patchouli turns me off

Desperately seeking Guerlain Iris Ganache  cry.gif
Awww... Tats just too bad... Initially i was ko punched by the patch in amen which make me repulsive to heavy patch scent but it is lidge tat showed me there are diff faces of patch lol
edwardleong
post Feb 12 2014, 07:56 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(anige @ Feb 12 2014, 05:39 PM)
Jarc, last time I ordered, shipping was free. I only paid 9 euros. Is it still free Edward???
unfortunately nope... add EUR7 lol but still a fairly good deal...
edwardleong
post Feb 12 2014, 08:07 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(anige @ Feb 12 2014, 05:41 PM)
Ok, set la. RM500 for Lumiere Noire not too bad mar... Lots of other scents that are pricier. Beli Beli Beli!
i dun mind getting.. if i got sponsors.. say would u part fund my purchase lol
edwardleong
post Feb 13 2014, 01:02 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(anige @ Feb 13 2014, 12:33 PM)
I think I'm on a no-buy for a few months now but somedays I just can't take it, so I sign-up for one decant. Then, another. Then, control. Then go see what people are swapping or selling for cheap! LOL! It's really hard! I TOTALLY understand! STAY STRONG!  biggrin.gif
Just surrender to the dark side...

2months no full bottle purchase too for me lol

QUOTE(anige @ Feb 13 2014, 12:38 PM)
Out of curiosity, where do you guys store your scents? As you know it's been freaking hot lately. I worry about my babies.  sad.gif Do you leave the air-con running whole day? Or maybe I should get a wine chiller (but it's not cheap! and I can buy another bottle or two for the price...)  icon_question.gif
Mine in cabinet no direct sunlight n stored in box

edwardleong
post Feb 13 2014, 01:09 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(lene002 @ Feb 13 2014, 01:02 PM)
i keep watching but keep resisting from buying...my wishlist is so damn long now...
but im still swapping to keep myself alive. is that count?  biggrin.gif
Haha.... Smart girl
edwardleong
post Feb 14 2014, 12:19 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 14 2014, 10:30 AM)
Well my wife surprised me with this on Valentine's Day:

She knew that i was a little disappointed for not being able to have a pit stop at NY due to the snow storm so she contacted her sister who is residing in Singapore to get me this. It was produced and bottled only yesterday.

Well, the thing is this bottle is still seated in Singapore. I will have to either wait for my in-law to fly back, or me flying down to bring this precious home.

Happy Valentine's Day and Chap Goh Meh everyone!
How sweet... Happy double vday to all.
edwardleong
post Feb 14 2014, 12:20 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 14 2014, 12:17 PM)
A bouquet of roses and a gift from Tiffany & Co.
Wow.... She still untung lol lol lol

38 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0632sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:16 PM