Travel Bali, Everything on Bali!

joivyhn
post Sep 14 2008, 09:48 PM

109 posts

hi all, need a last advice from u all..

Izit enuf for me and my bf to spend if i only bring RM700 (~ 1.87m rupiah) for food and shopping for 7 days and 7 nights? Other expenses like transportation fee, tour fees, airport taxes and hotel fees, I already prepared and some already paid. So the problem is IF i only bring remaining 1.87Million rupiah does sufficient for me and my bf to eat good food and shopping like crazy? Please advice me how much should i bring more if not enuf??

FYI, i will be going on 17sept till 23rd sept.

thanks in advance..

This post has been edited by joivyhn: Sep 14 2008, 09:49 PM
stimix
post Sep 15 2008, 10:24 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Should be enuf if u hv paid all the transportation & hotel stay. & u dun buy lotsa souvenirs & clothing.. biggrin.gif

But it is good to bring xtra RM for contingency..or just use ATM card only-lah biggrin.gif
joivyhn
post Sep 15 2008, 10:42 AM

109 posts

Stimix,
ATM can used there? So based on the your experienced , can you advice me how much should i bring extra?
linkokkeen
post Sep 15 2008, 11:55 AM

278 posts

hi pro here, is my first go to bali with my wife, so need to plan a nice trip with her, is to celebrate our 5th anniversary marriage smile.gif.
Here have some place i want to visit but dunno where is those place in, coz all the forumer only write the travel place but dunno which town, dunno anyone here traveler can help me or not, and suggest to me go where first then ...... can or not ah? we go there 5 days 4 night .thank you very very much for who help me so much smile.gif

Here is the list :
1) Verona SPA - Ubud
2) Batu Bulan -
3) Bedugul (水神庙/Lake bratan) -
4) Tanah Lot – 海神庙- Watch SunSet -
5) Jatiluwih(梯田) – Tenggalang -
6) Nusa Dua -
7) Uluwatu – jimbaran(seafood place) – Watch SunSet -
8) Geneva (Shopping) -
9) Sukawati -
10) Kintamani – Lake Batur – See mountain & lake place -
11) GWK -
12) BluepointVilla -
13) Coffee Plantation -
14) Bali International Rafting / Bali White Water Raftin

This post has been edited by linkokkeen: Sep 15 2008, 11:56 AM
kucingfight
post Sep 15 2008, 05:11 PM

5,784 posts

woohoooo..goin to BALI tomoro..till 21Sept. Booked Pak Wayan as our guide. Can't wait for it. It's like endless of itinerary planning, and more n more infos keep flowing laugh.gif

Flight Booked with AA during february @ RM377 each. 6 Of us.

Rate i changed was 1Juta Rupiah= Rm373

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Sep 15 2008, 05:12 PM
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 16 2008, 08:53 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(linkokkeen @ Sep 15 2008, 11:55 AM)
hi pro here, is my first go to bali with my wife, so need to  plan a nice trip with her, is to celebrate our 5th anniversary marriage smile.gif.
Here have some place i want to visit but dunno where is those place in, coz all the forumer only write the travel place but dunno which town, dunno anyone here traveler can help me or not, and suggest to me go where first then ...... can or not ah? we go there 5 days 4 night .thank you very very much for who help me so much smile.gif

Here is the list :
1) Verona SPA - Ubud
2) Batu Bulan  - 
3) Bedugul (水神庙/Lake bratan) -
4) Tanah Lot – 海神庙- Watch SunSet  -
5) Jatiluwih(梯田) – Tenggalang  -
6) Nusa Dua -
7) Uluwatu – jimbaran(seafood place) – Watch SunSet  -
8) Geneva (Shopping) -
9) Sukawati -
10) Kintamani – Lake Batur – See mountain & lake place -
11) GWK -
12) BluepointVilla -
13) Coffee Plantation -
14) Bali International Rafting / Bali White Water Raftin
Are you getting a driver? If yes you may just tell the driver the places you'd like to visit and he will plan the itinerary for you. The itinerary is quite standard one.
babymiki
post Sep 17 2008, 08:39 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

how u guys book pak wayan? call or sms?

btw, anyone stayed in Oasis kuta before?
lonewolf
post Sep 18 2008, 12:24 AM

3,945 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Sep 17 2008, 08:39 PM)

call him or sms will do. if want fast reply i think you better call. anyhow, to those who book jhony, is the picture below the guy? And when he brings you guys around let say 2 person, does he like add other ppl into the van?

This post has been edited by lonewolf: Sep 18 2008, 12:31 AM
rehtselei
post Sep 18 2008, 01:46 PM

29 posts

I am back from Bali. i think the photo is not jhony, not sure though, I only met him once during airport transfer. He assigned Wayan, his bro for us. Humble and good service. They do not ask for tips or charge when if we exceed the service time.

To those who planned to shop in Geneva, be aware of the 10% tax. The price for souvenir is much better at Sukawati, Tampak Siring, Goa Gajah and Tanah Lot is much lower if you can bargain well.

Also, do not let anyone to carry your luggage. Those monkeys were dressed in formal wear, which we thought were service from the airport itself. They acted very quick on the moment you unload your luggage from van. No service is free.

alkt
post Sep 18 2008, 01:58 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

That is Jhony, i can confirm that cos he was my tour guide when i went to Bali on May. Very good service and yes he won't extra charge, if can give him good tips. He's also a very humble guy and when he brings u out for tour, it's only u and ur frens...no other people smile.gif
lawsh
post Sep 18 2008, 02:02 PM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Sep 17 2008, 08:39 PM)

not a bad place
could be easy to miss as the entrance is not at the front, its hidden inside a small lane

breakfast is just for you get your stomach full nothing fancy.
the complimentary drink which i got also did not tasted good BUT the location of this hotel is quite prime
nearby you can find food and the beach is walking distance, you may even walk to Hard Rock if you are those walking type smile.gif
jaaway
post Sep 18 2008, 02:34 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 18 2008, 12:24 AM)
call him or sms will do. if want fast reply i think you better call. anyhow, to those who book jhony, is the picture below the guy? And when he brings you guys around let say 2 person, does he like add other ppl into the van?

Hello.. if you all want, try this guide. brother of jhony. confirm 100% satisfaction. same price or sometimes cheaper. his name is wayan. smile.gif very humble and easygoing. photo taken when we were in waterbom. he got wet from the big waves. call or sms him. sure reply
081338612213. just sms him. no harm to find out. smile.gif
lonewolf
post Sep 18 2008, 02:57 PM

3,945 posts

i just sms jhony for my ubud area plan,

my plan was

ubud ->tegalalang -> tampak siring -> kitamani -> Lunch at Grand Pucak Sari -> Besakhi -> ubud

but he gave me

ubud ->goa gajah-> gunung kawi temple> tampak siring->coffee plantation-> kintamani->tegal lalang->ubud

do u guys think i should skip besakhi?
stimix
post Sep 18 2008, 03:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Whoaa..Besakith & bck to Ubud is realy far...for sure the driver reluctant.. biggrin.gif ..Anyway Gunung Kawi there is nothing interesting there actually although listed as 2nd most sacred temple in Bali...Bersakith is better but probably due to the distance, the driver reluctant-loh & easy way suggesting easier & nearer loop..rather than huge loop from Kintamani to Bersakith then bck to Ubud.

Although Bersakith is better but beware of the so called "expensive MUST hv porter", umbrella & sarong rental.

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 18 2008, 02:57 PM)
i just sms jhony for my ubud area plan,

my plan was

ubud ->tegalalang -> tampak siring -> kitamani -> Lunch at Grand Pucak Sari -> Besakhi -> ubud

but he gave me

ubud ->goa gajah-> gunung kawi temple> tampak siring->coffee plantation-> kintamani->tegal lalang->ubud

do u guys think i should skip besakhi?
babymiki
post Sep 18 2008, 05:35 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

i sms-ed him yester but it was the wrong num

it's not 081338612213 lah it's 281338612213 whistling.gif whistling.gif

he said no prob in fetching us from the airport smile.gif

lonewolf
post Sep 19 2008, 09:01 AM

3,945 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 18 2008, 03:25 PM)
Whoaa..Besakith & bck to Ubud is realy far...for sure the driver reluctant.. biggrin.gif ..Anyway Gunung Kawi there is nothing interesting there actually although listed as 2nd most sacred temple in Bali...Bersakith is better but probably due to the distance, the driver reluctant-loh & easy way suggesting easier & nearer loop..rather than huge loop from Kintamani to Bersakith then bck to Ubud.

Although Bersakith is better but beware of the so called "expensive MUST hv porter", umbrella & sarong rental.
yeah, i have thru the whole thread. need to to beware of "con men". anyway, i sms wayan, he gave me the same reply as he would prefer to skip besakhi. sweat.gif . another option i could think of is ubud->besakhi->kitamani->tegalalang->tampak siring->ubud. anyway, beside being far from ubub, is there any other thing that causes them not to go?..any taboo?..or too many con men around?..
stimix
post Sep 19 2008, 09:08 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If distance is not the reason probably his car cannot handle the steep slope around the volcano rim from Kintamani towards Bersakith hmm.gif Not sure any taboo on Bersakith..probably his own personal Taboo kok? biggrin.gif

Another option as what I did, Hire your own car & drive urself. Since u probably downloaded the Bali GPS maps by now, driving yourselves will be cheaper & more interesting... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 19 2008, 09:01 AM)
yeah, i have thru the whole thread. need to to beware of "con men". anyway, i sms wayan, he gave me the same reply as he would prefer to skip besakhi.  sweat.gif . another option i could think of is ubud->besakhi->kitamani->tegalalang->tampak siring->ubud. anyway, beside being far from ubub, is there any other thing that causes them not to go?..any taboo?..or too many con men around?..
lonewolf
post Sep 19 2008, 09:39 AM

3,945 posts

haha...driving, i was thinking about that. that will be my 2nd option. Just not sure should i drive as i have read that there is kinda alot of con men, where on the road..some joker will tell u ur car got problem. once u stop, he will come and straight do some stuff on ya car and claim got problem and have to tow for repair.

stimix..how safe izzit to drive there? can share some experience?

This post has been edited by lonewolf: Sep 19 2008, 09:46 AM
linkokkeen
post Sep 19 2008, 10:06 AM

278 posts

anyone here got go there at February 09 ah hehehehe me plan to go there liao but dunno feb is it a good time ah around 8-20 but me is still thinking to book the air ticket, dunno at end of the year got air ticket promotion for feb or not? now the price is rm450 per person do u all think is ok ah? airasia.

stimix
post Sep 19 2008, 10:06 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Both my trips to Bali were via renting & driving. The cheapest I got was from a car rental on the far right of the Exit of arrival hall ...I did post the name of the car rental but forgotten which post oledi blush.gif U really hv to bargain kaw-kaw..At the end I got the suzuki jeep for 120,000rupiah/day or about RM45/day

It's very safe driving in Bali. Even on my 1st trip, I was not using any GPS maps at all...The locals are so helpful...I got lost couple of time and once u stop the local, they will direct you especially seeing a Chinese speaking Indon!! biggrin.gif . Twice I was stopped by Policemen and after noticing me checking the paper maps..he personally ask me to follow him till I reached my destination at Goa Gajah!! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

Those con-men actually not really con-men, They are illegal toll collectors everywhere around Bali traditional villages such as Jimbaran, Benoa, Sanur beach, Kintamani & etc...They will collect ~5000rupiah -10,000rupiah or more for each car passing by their kampungs!! sad.gif mad.gif

On my 2nd trip last year, wth the GPS maps on hand...everything was so easy. Just find the location or create a waypoint from Google Earth/wikimapia for those POI not in the maps & just follow the instruction...Very accurate routable maps indeed!! thumbup.gif ..No need to ask...The GPS maps even lead me to Java Timur, where I took a ferry across the Bali street to Bayu Wangi - Supposely going to Mt Ijen (The famous Sulfure mining volcano) but too bad, I arrived late! sad.gif

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 19 2008, 09:39 AM)
haha...driving, i was thinking about that. that will be my 2nd option. Just not sure should i drive as i have read that there is kinda alot of con men, where on the road..some joker will tell u ur car got problem. once u stop, he will come and straight do some stuff on ya car and claim got problem and have to tow for repair.

stimix..how safe izzit to drive there? can share some experience?

134 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:38 AM