4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Windscreen insurance... A must?

TSkmed
post May 3 2013, 08:06 AM, updated 13y ago

107 posts

My SA includes this as part of the total amount, but is it a must? And it costs RM300+ (i assume per yr). Btw, my new car is a fiesta...
SUSMrUbikeledek
post May 3 2013, 08:25 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(kmed @ May 3 2013, 08:06 AM)
My SA includes this as part of the total amount, but is it a must? And it costs RM300+ (i assume per yr). Btw, my new car is a fiesta...
My screen cracked. I wait until renew road tax and took windscreen insurance. Paid RM150.00 only and then got my windscreen replaced for free. Save RM350.00.
TSkmed
post May 3 2013, 08:38 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ May 3 2013, 08:25 AM)
My screen cracked. I wait until renew road tax and took windscreen insurance. Paid RM150.00 only and then got my windscreen replaced for free. Save RM350.00.
is there different rate for windscreen insurance? who usually sells this kind of insurance?
yamato
post May 3 2013, 08:41 AM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

QUOTE(kmed @ May 3 2013, 08:06 AM)
its optional.
300 is slightly expensive. request for 150/y to cover up to rm1k is sufficient.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post May 3 2013, 08:42 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(kmed @ May 3 2013, 08:38 AM)
is there different rate for windscreen insurance? who usually sells this kind of insurance?
It depend on how much you want to insured. My insured amount is RM500 so i have to pay aruond RM150
yamato
post May 3 2013, 08:43 AM

760 posts

QUOTE(kmed @ May 3 2013, 08:38 AM)
its an add-on to your current car insurance. not standalone.
if you dont get it this year, u can add-on when u renew the insurance a year later.

recommend to get it if 150/yr is nothing compare to a fiesta.
TSkmed
post May 3 2013, 08:52 AM

107 posts

so there is actually cheaper option for the insurance...
hmm, i have no idea why my SA is asking me to insure this much also, i think from our conversation the insured amount is up to RM3K or something...
yamato
post May 3 2013, 09:05 AM

760 posts

QUOTE(kmed @ May 3 2013, 08:52 AM)
hmm, i have no idea why my SA is asking me to insure this much also, i think from our conversation the insured amount is up to RM3K or something...
3k sweat.gif

talk to SA to reduce insured amount to 1k. anything more than that, you are paying for nothing.
conti cars, suv, 4x4 could be more than 1k.
samlhc
post May 3 2013, 09:16 AM

166 posts

Did it cover tinted as well?
normally 15% of ur windscreen value.
dares
post May 3 2013, 09:17 AM

834 posts

Mine is the same car as you, the SA told me RM100-RM200 only hmm.gif

But he also told me the same thing as MrUbikeledek, if crack now, insure next year then claim. But if your whole windscreen shatter then different story la.

Windscreen insurance is a rider with your auto insurance. You can claim windscreen repairs also if you don't have windscreen insurance, but at the expense of forfeiting your NCD. If you have windscreen insurance then it will not affect your NCD when you claim for your windscreen.
WaCKy-Angel
post May 3 2013, 09:32 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(yamato @ May 3 2013, 09:05 AM)
3k  sweat.gif

talk to SA to reduce insured amount to 1k. anything more than that, you are paying for nothing.
conti cars, suv, 4x4 could be more than 1k.
I believe TS 1st car without any NCD thats why it could amount up to 3K/year.

But anyhow i think its still abit expensive coz for 3K u can insure the car up to 100K premium.. Fiesta so expensive?
yamato
post May 3 2013, 09:35 AM

760 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 3 2013, 09:32 AM)
I believe TS 1st car without any NCD thats why it could amount up to 3K/year.

But anyhow i think its still abit expensive coz for 3K u can insure the car up to 100K premium.. Fiesta so expensive?
windscreen insurance is fixed amount for every year, it has nothing to do with the car's NCD.
sevendogz
post May 3 2013, 09:37 AM

1,276 posts

correct me but I thought windscreen cover fee is 10% of the value, it's doesn't matter if got ncd or not, right?
unitron
post May 3 2013, 09:39 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(samlhc @ May 3 2013, 09:16 AM)
Did it cover tinted as well?
normally 15% of ur windscreen value.
Yes include tint
WaCKy-Angel
post May 3 2013, 09:40 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(yamato @ May 3 2013, 09:35 AM)
windscreen insurance is fixed amount for every year, it has nothing to do with the car's NCD.
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Obviously... And TS said "i think from our conversation the insured amount is up to RM3K or something..."
As in insurance + windscreen total to 3K.

So that makes sense for premium around 100K with 0% NCD it will costs around 2.5K + RM300 = about 3K
acbc
post May 3 2013, 09:42 AM

9,048 posts

Not mandatory... both of my cars never had windscreen insurance for years... just observe the road when driving and avoid lorries or tractors.
yamato
post May 3 2013, 09:52 AM

760 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ May 3 2013, 09:39 AM)
Yes include tint
not sure about yours, but legit speaking, tint is not in the insured list.

many ppl do get their tint claimed, but they r playing with loophole of T&C.
eg. insured is 1k, windcreen only cost 700, they workshop will "help" to claimed max 1k and returned the balanced 300 to owner.
but again, this is against the law.
also there are tricks that the workshop only return you tint voucher for 300 and ask you go to retint at XXX shop for YYY brant tint. well they have to cari makan also, u know.

im not teaching how to cheat, just let the new car owners knowing what why ppl keep saying tint can be claimed but actually its a wrong doing unless the policy stated tint is included.
janson_kaniaz
post May 3 2013, 09:52 AM

6,955 posts

typical value I think 15% of the total cost of replacement the windscreen.

This post has been edited by janson_kaniaz: May 3 2013, 10:24 AM
sleepwalker
post May 3 2013, 09:54 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 3 2013, 09:40 AM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Obviously... And TS said "i think from our conversation the insured amount is up to RM3K or something..."
As in insurance + windscreen total to 3K.

So that makes sense for premium around 100K with 0% NCD it will costs around 2.5K + RM300 = about 3K
No.. he was taking about the insured amount of the windscreen coming to 3k or something. Not his premium.
sleepwalker
post May 3 2013, 09:56 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

The premium for windscreen is 15% of insured amount and if the premium is around RM300+, the insured amount would be less than RM3K. For RM3k insured amount, it would cost you RM450 per year..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:37 AM