Windscreen insurance... A must?
sleepwalker
May 3 2013, 11:57 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(yamato @ May 3 2013, 11:45 AM) haha, trying to insult huh? you do not believe & agree on an insider statement, but still believe yourself, be my guess. And how do you know that I don't come from a group of insiders myself? Hey, I'm not the one beating my chest with 10 year R&D. OEM is OEM, there is no insider statement that will change that. If you are not sure of the term, don't beat up yourself on it. OEM term applies to all industries, not just automotive. Get that in your head.
sleepwalker
May 3 2013, 12:11 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(samlhc @ May 3 2013, 11:34 AM) The replacement for new car will be genuine parts/OEM parts, but FORD didn't make windscreen. It could be FORD authorized manufacturer A or B or C... The replacement source may not directly from FORD but it does from OEM manufacturer, so it still consider as OEM parts. But can you ensure the workshop wont repair with aftermarket parts/used/recon or non genuine parts. =.= That is exactly what we were trying to clarify as there were questions on what OEM is as the term OEM has been thrown around and overused. If you go back to Ford, they will only supply you with the screen made by their approved manufacturer who makes the Original Equipment (hence the term OE) used on Ford cars. If they don't have it in Malaysia, they will ship it over and hence the increased cost. However, whether you can trust the workshop/service center, that would be another question. We had original Subaru windscreen shipped directly from Subaru factory Japan since none can be found anywhere else in this region (Singapore no stock too) and there is no OE Manufacturers around this region at that time. There is also the Dr Cermin version which cost a lot less but the quality and the original tint could not match the OE.
dares
May 3 2013, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ May 3 2013, 12:11 PM) That is exactly what we were trying to clarify as there were questions on what OEM is as the term OEM has been thrown around and overused. If you go back to Ford, they will only supply you with the screen made by their approved manufacturer who makes the Original Equipment (hence the term OE) used on Ford cars. If they don't have it in Malaysia, they will ship it over and hence the increased cost. However, whether you can trust the workshop/service center, that would be another question. We had original Subaru windscreen shipped directly from Subaru factory Japan since none can be found anywhere else in this region (Singapore no stock too) and there is no OE Manufacturers around this region at that time. There is also the Dr Cermin version which cost a lot less but the quality and the original tint could not match the OE. Is there a category of manufacturers that does not supply parts to the carmaker's assembly plant, but is contracted to built same spec replacements locally? For example, Malaysian windscreen manufacturers contracted by Ford to build Mondeo windscreens to Ford's specs, so that they don't have to ship replacements from Europe?
sleepwalker
May 3 2013, 03:06 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(dares @ May 3 2013, 12:39 PM) Is there a category of manufacturers that does not supply parts to the carmaker's assembly plant, but is contracted to built same spec replacements locally? For example, Malaysian windscreen manufacturers contracted by Ford to build Mondeo windscreens to Ford's specs, so that they don't have to ship replacements from Europe? Yes and No. Unlikely for one reason.. economics of scale. It would be difficult to get somebody willing to setup for such low volumes... however.. you can't rule out the suppliers of local Dr Cermins.... but will not be considered as OEM. Whether those specs meet Ford's specs is another story. What you mention can be applicable for CKD industries as it would be in larger volumes creating local content for CKD cars. Those are still considered as OEM as they are making the original part used in local assembly approved by the manufacturer. So for example, if your Mondeo comes to Malaysia as CKD without a windscreen and gets its windscreen from Manufacturer A as a local content substitude, then for local Mondeo that windscreen would be considered as OEM. Suddenly we have Manufacturer B who thinks that it is economical to make windscreen according to specs but not used in the assembly of the local Mondeo, then you can't call Windscreen B as OEM. To avoid any further confusion.. here's a simple one sentence to define OEM.. "When referring to automotive parts, OEM designates a replacement part made by the manufacturer of the original part." Should be quite simple to understand. This post has been edited by sleepwalker: May 3 2013, 03:08 PM
kadajawi
May 3 2013, 03:24 PM
OK. Very enlightening. I always thought of OEM as brands that are not the one that supplies the car maker (Venlo or something like that in the case of Renault), but that also doesn't produce a fake version that carries the original name. The quality can be good, can be bad and anything in between. In most cases for example thus Brembo would be OEM. But OEM replacement would be the correct term, right? Though come to think of it I believe shops in Germany say OEM quality. That makes the most sense.
sleepwalker
May 3 2013, 03:40 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 3 2013, 03:24 PM) OK. Very enlightening. I always thought of OEM as brands that are not the one that supplies the car maker (Venlo or something like that in the case of Renault), but that also doesn't produce a fake version that carries the original name. The quality can be good, can be bad and anything in between. In most cases for example thus Brembo would be OEM. But OEM replacement would be the correct term, right? Though come to think of it I believe shops in Germany say OEM quality. That makes the most sense. Some calls it OEM quality or built to OEM specs but they are not OEM unless that same part is also used in the building of the car. The problem with most OEM is that they don't have any brand stamping. You don't know who makes them. Somebody has to make it for the car manufacturer and it could be a famous brand or it can be from a cap-ayam-kambing brand. Some parts have brand stamping like suspension and you can easily identify the brand and part number used as OEM. Parts like brake disc and brake pads may be harder to identify. This post has been edited by sleepwalker: May 3 2013, 03:40 PM
azfamy
May 3 2013, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 3 2013, 03:24 PM) OK. Very enlightening. I always thought of OEM as brands that are not the one that supplies the car maker (Venlo or something like that in the case of Renault), but that also doesn't produce a fake version that carries the original name. The quality can be good, can be bad and anything in between. In most cases for example thus Brembo would be OEM. But OEM replacement would be the correct term, right? Though come to think of it I believe shops in Germany say OEM quality. That makes the most sense. Whoa, didn't realize it's hot in here. Anyways, I call those branded parts like Brembo, ABT, etc as aftermarket parts. My understanding on OEM parts is that they're original parts manufactured for the car but supplied directly from the manufacturing plant to 3rd party stockist/retailers. Some these parts are distributed before being 'stamped' with 'car brand logo' hence they're sold slightly cheaper.
unitron
May 3 2013, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(yamato @ May 3 2013, 09:52 AM) not sure about yours, but legit speaking, tint is not in the insured list. many ppl do get their tint claimed, but they r playing with loophole of T&C. eg. insured is 1k, windcreen only cost 700, they workshop will "help" to claimed max 1k and returned the balanced 300 to owner. but again, this is against the law. also there are tricks that the workshop only return you tint voucher for 300 and ask you go to retint at XXX shop for YYY brant tint. well they have to cari makan also, u know. im not teaching how to cheat, just let the new car owners knowing what why ppl keep saying tint can be claimed but actually its a wrong doing unless the policy stated tint is included. hmm...  If not mistaken I did read the T&C and tint included.
kadajawi
May 4 2013, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ May 3 2013, 03:40 PM) Some calls it OEM quality or built to OEM specs but they are not OEM unless that same part is also used in the building of the car. The problem with most OEM is that they don't have any brand stamping. You don't know who makes them. Somebody has to make it for the car manufacturer and it could be a famous brand or it can be from a cap-ayam-kambing brand. Some parts have brand stamping like suspension and you can easily identify the brand and part number used as OEM. Parts like brake disc and brake pads may be harder to identify. Hm. Renault typically uses Valeo for pretty much everything, including IIRC the windows, but also brakes, electric parts etc. (though I did happen to see some other brand on a plastic part for the interior). Valeo also supplies parts to other brands, including Toyota and BMW. Probably to a lesser extend though. BMW seems to use either Textar or ATE for brakes, sometimes Jurid. But yes, it can be hard to tell. I believe there is a Valeo print on our Citroen windows, but other than that...
louiswonging
Jun 14 2013, 02:45 PM
Just bought my Honda CRZ and the windscreen insurance coverage make me go Woahhhhh!! Paid RM690 for the sum insured of RM4200..>.<
EP6CDTM
Jun 14 2013, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(louiswonging @ Jun 14 2013, 02:45 PM) Just bought my Honda CRZ and the windscreen insurance coverage make me go Woahhhhh!! Paid RM690 for the sum insured of RM4200..>.< so "cheap", as a comparison peugeot is asking for 2.4k for original windscreen with labour included
cybermaster98
Jun 14 2013, 03:23 PM
Just replaced my K5 solar windscreen which costs about RM 2,500. Did it at an outside workshop and the windscreen came with a sandblasted Kia Korea symbol and product number. Should be fine rite?
vk_flyingfox
Jun 14 2013, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 14 2013, 03:23 PM) Just replaced my K5 solar windscreen which costs about RM 2,500. Did it at an outside workshop and the windscreen came with a sandblasted Kia Korea symbol and product number. Should be fine rite? hahaha.cybermaster98 asking for advice whether izzit fine or not to replace part at certain shop? i thought u do research at least 9 times before buying/replacing anything so that u can be sure tha it wont go wrong?
Chisinlouz
Jul 13 2013, 05:02 PM
sorry for interrupt . any OEM supplier for windscreen, Suzuki? My windscreen (new suzuki swift) cracked about 10cm-15cm. Quoted from 1 shop in Subang Jaya, 1k for change.. and too bad my insurance is about 600.
This post has been edited by Chisinlouz: Jul 13 2013, 05:03 PM
Quazacolt
Oct 28 2014, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(laith @ Oct 28 2014, 11:05 AM) Guys, any idea of the total cost including labor for the laminated windscreen replacement for Proton Iswara? for ori, afaik it's between 400-500 including labor for front laminated windscreen replacement.
Zack Styler
Oct 29 2014, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(laith @ Oct 28 2014, 11:05 AM) Guys, any idea of the total cost including labor for the laminated windscreen replacement for Proton Iswara? Did mine for about RM350 few months back..
Quazacolt
Oct 29 2014, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(laith @ Oct 29 2014, 09:48 AM) Thanks guys. I'm going to add in windscreen on my upcoming insurance renewal to claim it.  By the way, is it including any tint? tint not included. also if your iswara still factory bonded windscreen (basically never replaced), i would highly advise against replacing unless the crack is not repairable and/or it is obstructing vision too much.
victor_hoh
Oct 29 2014, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(laith @ Oct 29 2014, 09:48 AM) Thanks guys. I'm going to add in windscreen on my upcoming insurance renewal to claim it.  By the way, is it including any tint? Your insurance company might want to inspect your car before allowing you to add windscreen coverage.
alwinnng
Oct 29 2014, 03:31 PM
not a must
optional
but better take la
cause if got chip or anything can claim..
glass chip liao go on highway dangerous..may crack anytime..
thinktankz
Feb 23 2015, 05:49 PM

my windscreen insurance cover up to 1500k and i already call honda service centre and its cost around 1200. how about my existing 3M tinted? can replace without charges also?