130 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

RTS Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars, Patch v1.04 is available!

sE_vIxEn
post Mar 1 2007, 01:41 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

when i was browsing thru LYN, i saw C&C and got whisked here.

argh, laptop not enough space to install. sad.gif
H@H@
post Mar 1 2007, 02:32 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

Finally got around to giving the demo a whirl (Stupid installer took ages just to load)

I'm quite frankly speechless at how awesome the game is.

Its nice to see the game return to its roots. Its pretty much taken all the good stuff from RA 2, threw out most of the rubbish from Generals and plays like RA (The original C&C was an incredibly unbalanced game)

I'm glad to see its original rock-paper-scissors style (Where infantry, no matter how uber, are kinda weak and tanks own all) is back in place.

That being said, there's quite a few gripes with it. I dunno, but after being spoiled by SupCom and Company of Heroes, these seem pretty lacking:
1) Infantry squads are a pain to manage. They're not really distinguishable from one another and the badges only appear when selected (Which kinda defeats the purpose of it). Plus, locating your commando among dozens of grenadiers is near impossible.
2) The minimap is stupid. Enemy infantry appear as teeny tiny dots.
3) There doesn't appear to be proper model hit detection in the game (I had 3 mammoths overlapped over each other) which makes it look weird with lots of units bunched together.
4) The upgrades and unit special abilities part seem a bit cumbersome and have weird hotkeys (Ctrl and Alt keys? WTF!)

I am digging this. Everything from the build style, the fast economy system (Which no game but SupCom is actually still using) to the quick-paced action are classic C&C moments making a comeback.
Araes
post Mar 1 2007, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Mar 1 2007, 02:32 PM)
1) Infantry squads are a pain to manage. They're not really distinguishable from one another and the badges only appear when selected (Which kinda defeats the purpose of it). Plus, locating your commando among dozens of grenadiers is near impossible.
Actually I think you can select the an individual unit using the contextual tab under the minimap after you have selected the entire group. I do agree however that this needs to be made more easier to do.
fujkenasai
post Mar 1 2007, 03:04 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Mar 1 2007, 02:32 PM)
Finally got around to giving the demo a whirl (Stupid installer took ages just to load)

I'm quite frankly speechless at how awesome the game is.

Its nice to see the game return to its roots. Its pretty much taken all the good stuff from RA 2, threw out most of the rubbish from Generals and plays like RA (The original C&C was an incredibly unbalanced game)

I'm glad to see its original rock-paper-scissors style (Where infantry, no matter how uber, are kinda weak and tanks own all) is back in place.

That being said, there's quite a few gripes with it. I dunno, but after being spoiled by SupCom and Company of Heroes, these seem pretty lacking:
2) The minimap is stupid. Enemy infantry appear as teeny tiny dots.
3) There doesn't appear to be proper model hit detection in the game (I had 3 mammoths overlapped over each other) which makes it look weird with lots of units bunched together.
4) The upgrades and unit special abilities part seem a bit cumbersome and have weird hotkeys (Ctrl and Alt keys? WTF!)

I am digging this. Everything from the build style, the fast economy system (Which no game but SupCom is actually still using) to the quick-paced action are classic C&C moments making a comeback.
Good old CnC H@H@ have you herd of Universe at War: Earth Assault aparently they are being developed by the people of westwood.
H@H@
post Mar 1 2007, 03:11 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Araes @ Mar 1 2007, 02:56 PM)
Actually I think you can select the an individual unit using the contextual tab under the minimap after you have selected the entire group. I do agree however that this needs to be made more easier to do.
Yeah... but still is cumbersome.

I can see what they're trying to do considering how infantry in general in just about all C&C games were pretty much disposable and serve only to weaken tanks or structures.

That however doesn't work since infantry is now built in squads and hence are too expensive to be used that way so frivolously.

I mean, alright... We get the picture, they are trying to paint this picture that most infantry are weak and useless... But seriously, don't make it till we don't have a choice BUT to think that way as well.

To add insult to injury, infantry seem to want to shoot shit they are NOT proficient at killing. Grenadiers were lobbing nades at bikes while zone troopers were blasting infantry... doh.gif

Sylpheed
post Mar 1 2007, 04:02 PM

687 posts

That's the thing, thoguh i've only played 1 skirmish map, so it might be too soon to judge this.. but i get the feeling that Tanks > infantry.

Full group of manmoth thanks + APCs + bulldogs = eveyrthing else dies.

as for SC, i didn't do any graphic setting actually.. now that you mention about it.. maybe i should tweak it.

Now i'm not saying SC is ugly, it's already very very cool. My graphics card is 7800GS AGP. It should run SC to good standards. only slows down when i have gazillion of units shooting at each other (like a 100 bombers doing carpet bombing a base) But other then that, i do only have 1GB ram, so yes it's abit slow at times smile.gif (+ i'm using Vista)

but in comparison to CnC3, CnC3's graphics beats SC's graphics any day.

LittleLinnet
post Mar 1 2007, 04:03 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(Sylpheed @ Mar 1 2007, 11:17 AM)
GC? you mean which race? i played UEF campaign, going through the Cybrant campaign atm.

one thing i was very impressed with CnC is the transformable battlebase. I thoguht that was super cool. unfortunately i was expecting the manmoth tank to do some transformation too.. but i guess that unit can't do much on that part sad.gif

if Sup Com's fatboy can be transformed.. now that'll be cool. say it has to "deploy" to be able to be used as factory mode.. other times it's a mega moving fort.
GC, Graphic Card
fujkenasai
post Mar 1 2007, 06:27 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Sylpheed @ Mar 1 2007, 04:02 PM)
That's the thing, thoguh i've only played 1 skirmish map, so it might be too soon to judge this.. but i get the feeling that Tanks > infantry.

as for SC, i didn't do any graphic setting actually.. now that you mention about it.. maybe i should tweak it.

Now i'm not saying SC is ugly, it's already very very cool. My graphics card is 7800GS AGP. It should run SC to good standards. only slows down when i have gazillion of units shooting at each other (like a 100 bombers doing carpet bombing a base) But other then that, i do only have 1GB ram, so yes it's abit slow at times smile.gif (+ i'm using Vista)

Then what about CoH vs CnC3?
gestapo
post Mar 1 2007, 06:33 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

phew lucky lots of good comments bout the game. if not kinda wasting money for me. laugh.gif

restraining myself from playing the demo here. sweat.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Mar 1 2007, 07:46 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Juz installed and played tutorial (semacam i dunno how to play rts game..tongue.gif), and first mission. Gameplay wise, pretty much stayed to "good ole C&C" gaming wink.gif

And yes, as most has mentioned, great quality FMVs nod.gif

Imo, the gfx are pretty good esp. compared to C&C:Generals.

I gotta say its gfx almost on par with GroundControl2, not to mentioned a 3years old game..lol, juz that C&C3 has more "effects".. like heat-glaze, and so on.

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 1 2007, 06:27 PM)
Then what about CoH vs CnC3?
Imo, COH has the best gfx in RTS genre.

The best part its runs pretty smoothly considering on my "not-so-hi-end-rig".. blush.gif

Performance wise, Imo pretty much same performance i have with BFME2 : The Rise of the Witch King.

And another thing, worth to mention, esp. for an EA game!!!..

It has "WIDESCREEN RESOLUTION!!!"... waAHAHha.. finally EA did it..lol...heh rclxm9.gif

And heres some of my screenies:-

Cheers cool2.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Mar 2 2007, 12:03 AM
Loongy22
post Mar 1 2007, 08:12 PM

316 posts

I was just wondering, does anyone have any strategies for the GDI vs NOD skirmish when the computer is on brutal, when the computer is on hard, I usually just barricade 4 rockets and 2 inf in the structures in front of their base and it keeps them off me for about 15 minutes biggrin.gif and then just tapau them. No such luck with the brutal enemy.

If anyone has killed a brutal nod enemy could you post some rough build orders and strategies?
ahbenchai
post Mar 1 2007, 09:39 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

i am kinda sad cos my com would slow down when im in the middle of the city or huge enemy base is located on the 2 island sad.gif
ahpaul82
post Mar 1 2007, 11:12 PM

.:ä¿ç½—:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(SmileyJeff @ Jan 23 2007, 11:31 PM)
I wonder if C&C3 supports wide screen. From so many EA games i played. None of them support wide screen.
I also want to know this game is it can support Wide-screen ? hmm.gif
Hwoarang45
post Mar 1 2007, 11:58 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Mar 1 2007, 07:46 PM)
Juz installed and played tutorial (semacam i dunno how to play rts game..tongue.gif), and first mission. Gameplay wise, pretty much stayed to "good ole C&C" gaming wink.gif

And yes, as most has mentioned, great quality FMVs  nod.gif

Imo, the gfx are pretty good compared to C&C universe.

I gotta say its gfx almost on par with GroundControl2, not to mentioned a 3years old game..lol, juz that C&C3 has more "effects".. like heat-glaze, and so on.
Imo, COH has the best gfx in RTS genre.

The best part its runs pretty smoothly considering on my "not-so-hi-end-rig"..  blush.gif

Everything in "ULTRA DETAILS" at 1680x1050res, except AA at 1level, imo pretty much same performance i have with BFME2 : The Rise of the Witch King.

It has "WIDESCREEN RESOLUTION!!!"... waAHAHha.. finally EA did it..lol...heh  rclxm9.gif

And heres some of my screenies:-

Cheers  cool2.gif
bro can u test does it have 1440x900 wide res support? its my native, if got means i straight pre-order liao~

** agh nevermind hahaha pre-ordered already hahaha it support wide, 100% saw review at widescreengaming forum.

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Mar 2 2007, 01:16 AM
ahpaul82
post Mar 2 2007, 12:04 AM

.:ä¿ç½—:.
3,795 posts

Everything in "ULTRA DETAILS" at 1680x1050res, except AA at 1level, imo pretty much same performance i have with BFME2 : The Rise of the Witch King.

It has "WIDESCREEN RESOLUTION!!!"... waAHAHha.. finally EA did it..lol...heh 

From what he reply,
this game is Wide-Screen supported !
see the 1680x1050 resolution he mention ?
i guess 1440x900 is definitely supported too ! wink.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Mar 2 2007, 12:05 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 1 2007, 11:58 PM)
bro can u test does it have 1900x900 wide res support? its my native, if got means i straight pre-order liao~

Err.. dude what resolution its that?... typo izzit?.. are u sure not 1440x900res?.. unsure.gif

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Mar 2 2007, 12:06 AM
H@H@
post Mar 2 2007, 12:09 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Sylpheed @ Mar 1 2007, 04:02 PM)

You have to remember though, that up until RA2, ALL infantry in any C&C game was rubbish. They died ridiculously fast, they didn't do much damage and to add insult to injury, a single anti infantry base defence was more than enough to stop any infantry force of ANY size... It was downright ridiculous as to how crappy infantry was.

But in the big picture, it did make sense. The barracks is dirt cheap, infantry was dirt cheap, and there was no unit cap, so mixing units wasn't necessary.

It was the Blizzard line of RTS' which tried to make infantry have various strengths and weaknesses while Westwood just put their foot down and said "Infantry = teh sux0rz!".

And this is why C&C 3 is kinda broken... A mammoth is 2500, while a Zone Trooper is 2000. Almost nothing can kill a mammoth in a matter of seconds, an entire Zone trooper squad can get crushed by a lowly scorpion or something (Unlike earlier C&C games, infantry don't seem to dodge vehicles) or worst, get raped by a couple of riflemen squads. Its LAME.
jayjay
post Mar 2 2007, 01:54 AM

Jay Tiew Jin Jie
1,720 posts

we can probably see some patches or unit balance in full version
BTW, infantry are supposed to garrison buldings and hold areas for u, not produce damage
tanks are for tanking and punishing, and aircraft for flanking

too much medieval 2 in me brows.gif

ion canon is MUCH cooler than nuke
HOWEVER
enemy should move away troops during the animation, which explains why ION canon AOE damage > nuke smile.gif
H@H@
post Mar 2 2007, 02:13 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(jayjay @ Mar 2 2007, 01:54 AM)
we can probably see some patches or unit balance in full version
BTW, infantry are supposed to garrison buldings and hold areas for u, not produce damage
tanks are for tanking and punishing, and aircraft for flanking

Infantry in Company of Heroes didn't drop like flies if not garrisoned... Hell, RA2 GIs didn't drop like flies either when not garrisoned.

Well, they are different games and you could say that the dynamics are different... But DAMMIT, when $1000+ infantry die against sub-$1000 vehicles for no other reason than the fact that infantry die really fast, its just retarded. At 2000 bux, Zone Troopers die WAAAAAAYYY to fast and don't do enough damage to offset that weakness.

And if infantry is only good when garrisoned, why even build them then? Just stick with tanks all the way then. There's no pop cap to make using infantry a necessity, the rock-paper-scissor system is weighted too heavily against infantry (Plus, most anti-vehicle stuff are anti-building which rape garrisoned buildings) and tanks don't need to be hunkered down in order to be effective.

Infantry needs some SERIOUS work.

This post has been edited by H@H@: Mar 2 2007, 02:14 AM
shumaky
post Mar 2 2007, 04:21 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

sweetness, getting the demo off BT now.. its a long wait...

130 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:21 AM