Proton Saga FLX 1.3 upgrade/modify, Improve performance & fuel consumption

theanswer
post Apr 10 2013, 12:51 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 10 2013, 12:50 AM)
Well the argument is purely academic. If I have 10k to spend on performance, BOT will be a natural choice. Except before BOT you need to fork out for better brakes and suspensions lest you boost into longkang  laugh.gif
bot into longkang. heheheh.
stormlcc
post Apr 10 2013, 12:53 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 9 2013, 09:22 PM)
I respectfully disagree. But first, yes, a 1.3l will be a 1.3l, if you are looking to squeeze a few more Nm or bhp it is kinda pointless as it will never be a 1.6l, no replacement for displacement.

I don't think the TS is going after a monster racer. From his list of mods, I surmise he is just looking to improve driveability, maybe some spirited short sprint whenever the opportunity arises. As for handling, you don't need a powerful car to throw your car around corners. Whats wrong with wanting a smoother, more eager ride to let off some steam on an empty stretch of road? If the TS wants to challenge larger cc cars with a 1.3 mill....well then too bad lah (Actually, I believe it can still challenge a 1.5l Dugong) .

As for the bit where torsion beam not for aggresive driving, look at the Fiesta ST and Megane RS, 'nuff said. Of course, the Saga is different, but it is not half bad even with stock suspensions.
that's why i said change to manual gearbox, with that CVT, ferrari also become kancil

and i stand by my point, WASTE MONEY doing all other upgrades because they won't make any difference at all because a) it's a bloody 1.3 and b) it's got a CVT gearbox
theanswer
post Apr 10 2013, 12:58 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Apr 10 2013, 12:37 AM)
Currently I had 2 cars, one is Sentra n16 using multi-link really felt the car not so stable as torsion beam on my sylphy now. Even my ex Livina also using torsion beam can feel the car handering much better on cornering.

Do you know why?
Torsion beam meant like added racing bar to tie together on both side.
actually sentra n16 not really multilink..on paper yes. but actually i dunno what to call it. suspension setup mostly based on tuning. torsion bar on tb suspesion already works like anti roll bar..but adding extra arb will give more torsion rigidity. cars like vios got built in arb inside the beam. to enhance its rigidity.
usually manufacturer will built one tb system to suit several car..from there they can decide the size of arb to 'enhance' the rigidity in order to suit several type vehicle.
dares
post Apr 10 2013, 01:00 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Apr 10 2013, 12:58 AM)
actually sentra n16 not really multilink..on paper yes. but actually i dunno what to call it. suspension setup mostly based on tuning. torsion bar on tb suspesion already works like anti roll bar..but adding extra arb will give more torsion rigidity. cars like vios got built in arb inside the beam. to enhance its rigidity.
usually manufacturer will built one tb system to suit several car..from there they can decide the size of arb to 'enhance' the rigidity in order to suit several type vehicle.
Why does it still handle like a boat unsure.gif
dares
post Apr 10 2013, 01:20 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 10 2013, 12:53 AM)
that's why i said change to manual gearbox, with that CVT, ferrari also become kancil

and i stand by my point, WASTE MONEY doing all other upgrades because they won't make any difference at all because a) it's a bloody 1.3 and b) it's got a CVT gearbox
I'm gonna say I disagree, but I know you're gonna disagree with me again anyway. So I'll just leave it at that sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Apr 10 2013, 01:20 AM
shelby_yong
post Apr 10 2013, 04:22 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 10 2013, 01:20 AM)
I'm gonna say I disagree, but I know you're gonna disagree with me again anyway. So I'll just leave it at that  sweat.gif
no point argue la...
most bagus way, save money and get better car....
but i still lose to vios..
damm
Quazacolt
post Apr 10 2013, 04:56 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Jonathan.J.Wolf @ Apr 9 2013, 02:52 PM)
First option:
1. All available product for Saga FLX (accept Room Bar) from Ultra Racing.

2. 15" rims with 195/50/R15 tyres.

4. ECU tuning, remove speed limit and improve FC.

3. Aftermarket high flow stock replacement air filters for Saga FLX.

5. Aftermarket high quality or braided stainless steel brake hoses.

6. Aftermarket Rear skirt diffuser.

7. Aftermarket 4-2-1 exhaust manifold with ceramic coating, keep stock catalytic.

8. Aftermarket S-flow muffler.
all 8 options seems good, and yes do keep the stock cat-con on so you don't compromise the environment unnecessarily thumbup.gif

if i may recommend:
- get good brake pads such as EBC ultimax/greenstuff (if more braking power is desired along with low brake dust/noise) brake pads
- get good engine oil (eg: torco, liqui moly, motul)
- get good CVT fluid (eg: lubegard/torco/motul)
- get good performance oriented tires (NVH will be a concern though, consider 2 sets of tires if you want both)
- get good lightweight rims, japan oem'd tech such as advanti, lenso would be good, if budget permits can go higher such as original japanese rims
- get good suspensions, adjustable if budget permits (at least 2-3k or more for the good ones) or get good progressive based sport springs such as eibach or H&R along with good absorbers (consider sport/performance based gas types as you're going for lowered springs (good ones only lower a bit so not much to worry) and it'll stress the absorber more than stock springs
- stick with 4-2-1 + s flow, and try to go for proven reputable brand while at the same time leaving the stock cat-con
damone
post Apr 10 2013, 08:14 AM

123 posts

The reason why the megane and other sports car using torsion beam has good handling is the chassis itself. See how rigid it is. Compared to our saga.
theanswer
post Apr 10 2013, 08:43 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 10 2013, 01:00 AM)
Why does it still handle like a boat  unsure.gif
it's all abt tuning. the main advantage of tb is cheap, durable and use less bushing, simple, space saving. some manufacturer like proton, renault,ford put more effort and budget in tuning department. the rest like toyota, nissan..just so2 with the handling department. tongue.gif

theanswer
post Apr 10 2013, 08:45 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(damone @ Apr 10 2013, 08:14 AM)
The reason why the megane and other sports car using torsion beam has good handling is the chassis itself. See how rigid it is. Compared to our saga.
yep true. but saga rigidity is good among its class. i wont compare it with more expensive sports car..but if u drive old standard wira and saga blm..u can feel saga blm is more solid and rigid. smile.gif
damone
post Apr 10 2013, 10:11 AM

123 posts

Hmm. Opinions might differ. For me i still think a wira is much more capable in terms of comfort and handling. But again to each his own.
cannavaro
post Apr 10 2013, 03:55 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 9 2013, 10:32 PM)
If u're an aggressive driver. Y not upgrade the shocks to adjustable ? Recommend go ask Titan and quote 1 set for you. Plus their shocks are serviceable, means you can repair it if spoilt, no need replace entirely.link here. Your cornering will improve a lot compare to a full set of Ultra Racing bars only. Me recommend you if want put the ultra racing bar, put fender bar as well, it does make a difference.
Wanted to recommend Titan Absorbers as well, glad to see someone beat me to it biggrin.gif
I've been using their shocks since 2005 or thereabouts, still working fine till now, just have to service every 2 years for optimum performance.

I have UR front strut, rear strut and fender bars installed (installed one by one in that order) and I felt the fender bar makes the most difference.
kadajawi
post Apr 10 2013, 05:49 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(damone @ Apr 10 2013, 10:11 AM)
Hmm. Opinions might differ. For me i still think a wira is much more capable in terms of comfort and handling. But again to each his own.
Isn't the Wira lower and wider? That makes a big difference IMHO. Our Xsara has rather soft suspension, but can still go around corners nicely and is stable at higher speeds. At least the cornering is probably because the center of gravity is low. A Saga is rather high and narrow...
dares
post Apr 10 2013, 06:39 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Apr 10 2013, 05:49 PM)
Isn't the Wira lower and wider? That makes a big difference IMHO. Our Xsara has rather soft suspension, but can still go around corners nicely and is stable at higher speeds. At least the cornering is probably because the center of gravity is low. A Saga is rather high and narrow...
The Saga FLX have stiffer suspensions, which also makes a difference. I remember dropping off my old Waja (trade in) and picking up my new FLX SE, the first thing I notice is that the Saga has less bodyroll than the Waja, which was mind-boggling for me at that time rclxub.gif But you are right, it is the tallest sedan I have ever driven. The trade-off was that the ride was quite harsh, partly due to the pieces-of-crap low profile Silverstones. It improved dramatically after I changed to a higher-profile tire.

This post has been edited by dares: Apr 10 2013, 06:39 PM
kadajawi
post Apr 10 2013, 09:52 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 10 2013, 06:39 PM)
The Saga FLX have stiffer suspensions, which also makes a difference. I remember dropping off my old Waja (trade in) and picking up my new FLX SE, the first thing I notice is that the Saga has less bodyroll than the Waja, which was mind-boggling for me at that time  rclxub.gif But you are right, it is the tallest sedan I have ever driven. The trade-off was that the ride was quite harsh, partly due to the pieces-of-crap low profile Silverstones. It improved dramatically after I changed to a higher-profile tire.
Yup. But the Wira/Waja can be set up more comfortable while having the same cornering abilities (though with more body roll).

A Megane RS just sits flat on the floor, with a wide track. That must help.
dares
post Apr 11 2013, 01:24 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Apr 10 2013, 09:52 PM)
Yup. But the Wira/Waja can be set up more comfortable while having the same cornering abilities (though with more body roll).

A Megane RS just sits flat on the floor, with a wide track. That must help.
Talking about Wira/Waja/Saga then suddenly Megane RS is brought up rclxub.gif I'm experiencing whiplash laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Apr 11 2013, 01:25 AM
_H20_
post Apr 12 2013, 03:38 PM

95 posts

change your extractor and add middle box.

change air filter to KN.

then use lightened crank pulley.

then you will get fast throttle respond and improved acceleration.
Beyonce_standard
post May 17 2013, 12:03 PM

39 posts

just leave it as stock =)
u can minor modify it, like drop in filtr, irrium spark plugs,
Front n rear UR bar, 15inch sport rims (change only when ur 14inch tayar botak),
always stick to fully syntactic engine oil. it wont cost you more than 3k.
the remaining 5k? spend it for food, shopping and entertainment =)
im driving a 1.3 flx too and im enjoying it at it's cost^^

monthly installment is very comfortable too as i got lots of spare money to go genting, go telok gong eat seafood, go melaka, penang, johor during my weekend.
drfeelgood
post Jun 1 2013, 12:57 AM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 9 2013, 03:52 PM)
Saga price at RM42k, so you said upgrades & add up would be less than 50k?
Only 8k to get all the upgrades & add up TS wants?

Not sure if you are drunk, to me at least 10k is needed to get ori parts. Except TS want it for decoration purpose. whistling.gif

Yes, ford fiesta is a good car, good handling especially. Since you are not upgrading all at once, hand so itchy need to upgrade already?
It would be better if you can work harder and save up more money to get the Ford fiesta you wanted. Then only start to upgrade from there. brows.gif
not everybody can afford the crazy prices of better cars. how much is the excise duty? how much is the ap? you rich, good for you but TS did mention his salary cant pay for it.

even janji dicapati already, somebody promised that he will copycat PR manifesto but now flip flop on the janji and car prices will not reduce anytime soon.
Bobdog118
post Jun 2 2013, 11:41 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(Jonathan.J.Wolf @ Apr 9 2013, 03:59 PM)
Need car fast back then, my big brother take away my previous car (vios), long story and I don't want talk about. mega_shok.gif
I Owe Proton Preve CFE and FLX CVT, I don't think can add-on more speed on stock engine bro. My friend clock 190+ km/h with 1.3 FLX stock engine without any tuning. After he change this and that the whole car performance drop shocking.gif and FC keep on increasing doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Now he still wanna go for ECU tuning for RM80... Haiz shakehead.gif By the way, I still happy driving with original setting and only returning for ECU and TCU re-flashing once in a while at SC biggrin.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0238sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:00 PM